Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket

Asymmetrical baffles set this 550 fill power down jacket apart while Omni-Heat thermal reflective technology increases its heat-keeping capacity so you stay super warm in cold, winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
CLeM
Location: California
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is so pretty! Way nicer and better cut than I was expecting. I would sleep in this thing, it is almost a sleeping bag for me (I am short). I need this since I coach Ice Skating and stand for hours in the cold, I am really excited about all the great little features, cuffs, zip from each end, smaller baffles on side, that make this really easy to wear. And it looks classy for professional needs. I am normally an XS, but I ordered 1 size up so I can layer underneath, and I have wide shoulders.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits small, but good.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
decrac
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as a gift, and so far they are pleased. I bought it larger than usual, and as most Columbia coats, they fit a bit smaller than other brands. So far, I've heard nothing but good things about the jacket. It's very warm and stylish.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Windy City Stamp of Approval

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Val46
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is AMAZING!!!I wore it on one of Chicago's windiest and coldest days and I remained nice and toasty the entire time I was outside. I ordered a size small and it does run slightly small (I am a petite and curvaceous size 6). It is a little snug in the hips but not enough for me to return it plus it gives you a great figure with the cinched waist. I have to admit that I was skeptical as I am anemic and normally a cold natured person but after wearing this without a sweater as well as another recent Omni Heat purchased coat, I am now a true believer! Way to go Columbia!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great coat; only, it runs very small.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adriana1016
Location: Iowa City IA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered a large which is usually more than enough for my 60'sh and rounded figure. Alas! it fit really tight around the armpits, crushed my bust, and did not feel comfortable enough so as to put a sweater underneath. I ordered an XL but color no longer available in the grey color, which I really really liked.
Had a good service call from Columbia staff and will look online to see what the black will look like.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and cute!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sara12
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome coat! Perfect for walking around campus in the cold Wisconsin winters. It keeps me very warm. 5'4, 140 pounds, and a medium fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Coat

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
sara22
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is absolutely worth every penny spent on it. A great investment! Keeps me warm in -10+ windchills and looks cute.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE the coat, not the zipper

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonnaB
Location: Snowbelt, USA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the coat overall. I would have given it 5 stars but I have had the coat a week and I fight the zipper everytime I put it on. I agree with the other review of why such an expensive coat but a cheap zipper?
I hope it gets better because I was actually late to work trying to zip up my coat!!! And I refused to leave until it was zipped because it was 8 degrees outside and the whole point of me buying the coat was to stay warm.
On the other hand the coat is super toasty after I finally get it zipped. In fact, I went to turn off my heated car seat because I was getting too warm and then I realized it was never turned on. I am a "freeze-baby" and I am finally warm! I love the fit too. I am 170lbs and 5'8 and I fit perfectly in an XL.
PS- Do not wear inside the store!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heavy winter coat

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ash188
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a long, warm winter coat for the Chicago winters. This coat is just what I needed - I wear it out in weather in the low teens and stay warm (with a scarf and hat on as well!). I am 5'7'' and it goes down to my mid-thigh. It isn't overly bulky and is easy to move around in. I definitely recommend it for cold weather!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for cold weather

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Quincy44
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket for winter in Wisconsin because I am always cold. It's been great in the zero degree weather we have been having and I only wear two light layers underneath (a thin long-sleeve shirt and either a long-sleeve dress shirt or light sweater). The jacket is lightweight, very warm, and fits well. I normally wear an 8/10 or M/L, so purchased a medium, based on the other reviews. Was disappointed when I received it, because it was just a little tight in the waist, then figured out that the waist can be loosened by unsnapping the back of the jacket. The little extra space in the waist was perfect!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aweseome for Chicago

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
amandaks
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wore my coat for the first time this morning - it was 8 degrees outside and felt like -7 with a windchill. I was thrilled with how warm this coat kept me. Of course, it was still cold, but I really could feel it warming up when I was walking. I had to wait outside for my train for ten minutes, and my fingers and toes were freezing, but the coat kept my torso from getting cold. It looks like it's going to be a very cold winter in Chicago, and I''m thrilled that I will have this coat to get me through it.
I do think the coat runs a bit small. I normally wear a XS in Columbia coats, but ordered a Small because they were out of the XS. It actually fits me very well, and has just enough space for an additional layer if I choose to wear a fleece or something underneath for additional warmth.
It looks like right now Columbia doesn't have any more f these coats. I hope they are just out of stock and not discontinuing them... the coat is awesome!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie33
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very warm jacket - great for those cold winter days. I am usually a small but ordered one size larger so I could wear a few layers underneath. We just moved to Minneapolis from the West Coast and it has been an adjustment. My old winter coat was no match for the MN cold ... this jacket plus my Omni-heat long underwear makes it manageable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm jacket!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shay85
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first omni-heat jacket and I LOVE it. It's so warm and the quality is great. I bought a small and it fits perfect (I'm 5'2 and 140lbs). It's form fitting and not boxy, and there's an adjustment in the back to bring the waist in even more if you want. The sleeve length is perfect and the thumb holes are a cool feature. There's a double zipper so you can unzip the bottom and sit more comfortably in the car. Overall a great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Toasty

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
JenR
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! It keeps me warm everyday to and from work. However, I recently ventured to a Penn State Football game and I don't know if I would have survived without it! It kept me nice and warm during the tailgate. I was able to move comfortably, setting up, playing games and grilling food. It was great during the game, too! I didn't need anything to sit on the bleachers because of its length. It blocked the wind and snow perfectly!! Now, I just need to find something to keep my toes warm!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm!!!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ALBOSTON
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an extremely warm coat- you can feel it heating up as you walk around!! Bravo, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you my Omni-Heat

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
nycgirl15
Location: new-york
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I moved in NYC after 4 years in Miami ! Thanks Columbia ! Warm, cozy and comfortable ! Thanks !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmyinBoston
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought this jacket to replace my super puffer lands end down coat. This one is equally warm, but about half as big! I'm 5'8 and 135 lbs, the small fits me perfectly. I wanted someone a little more tapered and professional than my ridiculous puffer jacket and I think this jacket accomplishes that without sacrificing warmth.
I wore it out in 34 degree weather and was actually a little warm, so thats a nice change.
The hood has a detachable faux-fur extension, and the cuffs have thumbholes which are nice luxuries.
My one complaint is that a jacket of this caliber came with a junky zipper, i was really disappointed about that. I'm going to call columbia, not sure if its just my jacket or if its a manufacturer's flaw.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Madraune™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish sleepbag with sleeves and hood

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZestyBrady
Location: Portland
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my girlfriend for her birthday. She tried it on and loved the look and fit, especially the hood. BUT the first day it turned really cold and wore it, she can't stop talking about how amazingly warm and comfortable it is. She also got many many compliments on how great it looks. Now, what do I get her for Christmas? haha! Thanks Columbia, score!!
I would recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Barbie52
France
 
Please wait while more information about Barbie52 is loaded.
Additional information about Barbie52 could not be loaded.
The Best Coat
Posted November 25, 2013
My daughter went to work teaching english in the Alpes Mountains in France. I purchased this coat when I learned how cold and snowy the winters were. She is delighted at the inner heat retainer and recommends it to everyone. (Loves the sleeves and the hood). I would recommend if going overseas to purchase the coat before leaving the US as the postage and import tax were quite high. BUT, I would pay them again knowing how much warmer this coat is.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)