Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket

Durable ripstop nylon repels stains and rain while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining give this jacket points in the warmth department; offered in a rainbow of colors from conservative to super bright, it’s no wonder the Shimmer Me is a favorite of those who like conquer cold conditions in style.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
44 out of 47(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good... For the most part.

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really enjoy how this coat fits and looks, LOVE the thumb holes, and the interior reflective dot whatnot is pretty cool (whether it works or not I couldn't tell you). I ordered the Charcoal colored coat initially. When I took it out of the package, I swear it was dark green. In most lighting (including natural/outdoor lighting) the coat looks like a dark greenish gray. In some indoor lighting I can tell it looks gray, but its such a "gray area" (like my play on words?) that I didn't want to risk it being mistaken for dark green. I sent it back and ordered black instead. Just a warning to anyone thinking about the Charcoal color!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warning on colors

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: north cascades, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits great and I love every physical aspect of it but the color is not at all what I expected. The colors in images provided here are much more subdued! I ordered one in red and one in green expecting what is pictured but the red is a very bright, fluorescent red and the green is a Kelly green, also very bright. I ended up giving them both away to people who love bright colors... just an fyi! Size was as expected; I usually where a small and the small was great. I'm 5'8, 135 lbs with a longish torso and 32c/26/38 measurements. The hood is nice and big, great for up-dos in the woods.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket, wish it fit a little better

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket in a Medium (as I do with everything) and I wish I had gotten a small. Everything I have from Columbia is Medium and fits great so I was surprised that this jacket fit so loose. I got the Emerald color and it looks great, exactly as pictured. The jacket is super warm and light. Overall a good jacket. I love the thumbholes and the sleeves on all my Columbia gear are nice and long for my long arms. I am 5'7" and 140 lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It will be a chilly semester

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first year at college I couldn't be caught in my high school varsity jacket. This is a great coat that is sure to keep me warm this semester.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Kiel, wi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my daughter. It is perfect for her. It's thin, yet extremely warm. She loves it! The color is absolutely beautiful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a warm, comfy jacket that isn't bulky at all.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO WARM

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'2" and about 105 lbs and the XS is a perfect fit. It's very lightweight, yet keeps me very warm. I don't know how it does in the rain/snow yet but I absolutely love it!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so warm

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just moved to snowy utah, and this jacket is perfect! It is so light weight and so warm! It's a little bit big on me, but perfect for wearing sweatshirts underneath, however, it's warm enough without another layer.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket offline and I LOVE it! The green was a little brighter than I thought based on the picture, but it is sweet. It fits great, the hood is awesome and the zip in front comes up high so you can bury your face in if it is really cold. I don't have any complaints about this jacket, very happy with it! (Which says a lot since it is my third down jacket-the first two weren't quite right!)
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byjamigls
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about jamigls is loaded.
Additional information about jamigls could not be loaded.
onNovember 19, 2012
Your 3rd "Down" jacket? The Shimmer Me isn't a down jacket. Is this review for the right item??
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket. It keeps you very warm!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This prduct is light weight.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
This is a great prodict but it runs slightly small and it is difficult to fit with the bugaboo shell.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Coat!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fairmont, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is everything I expected! Light weight, no bulk, yet very warm. The reflective lining absolutely works! This is actually the third coat with the same lining that I own. Love them all!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased with my Shimmer Me Jacket!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Shimmer Me Hooded Jacket is a nice, light weight, but very warm jacket. At first, I was shopping around for a more full, fluffy coat because that is what seems to bring warmth... however, with the features of this coat, it is very toasty despite the lightweight feel. It's very comfortable and non restricting at all. The arms of the jacket give a very comfortable fit so that you can move easily. The size runs slightly big and the sleeves are oddly long. About 2 to 3 inches longer than I would have wanted. I'm 5'6 and 125. I typically wear a small, sometimes medium, and very glad I went with a small in this jacket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Jacket to Have

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performs well:
Lightweight, blocks wind, good size hood, very warm. My only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the arm holes run small. It is fine if you are wearing a t-shirt or something similar, but snug otherwise. Could use more room in the arm holes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving it!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I usually don't wear short jackets because I don't like it when my legs are cold, but I love the warmth of this jacket. I wore it today, a very windy and cold day in NY. I was sooo warm! The wind couldn't penetrate and the omni-heat lining really did keep my body heat in, almost to the point of making me sweat. I'm sure that I will get a lot of wear out of it this winter. It's my weekender jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect present

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Findlay, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave coat to daughter for X-mas. She LOVED it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied Wife

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Newberg, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my wife as a Christmas present. She loves it (and now loves me more) and has gotten a LOT of compliments on it. Seems to be well-made and plenty warm. Great coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good improvement from last year, better fit

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the new version of the Le Lustre Columbia offered the last couple of years. I was debating between the Le Lustre & the Kaleidaslope II last year. I ended up deciding that I wanted the Kaleidaslope more & got that one (liked the fuzzy, warm collar & decided I didn't need the hood... otherwise they're the same). I had to size up to a large (I'm normally a medium in Columbia) because the liner in both jacket styles was too tight.
WELL, a friend told me they've corrected that this year with the new designs so I went to my local Columbia & sure enough... they fit much better. So, for Christmas, I asked for & received the Shimmer Me in the GRAVEL and in my normal medium. FITS PERFECTLY! So happy they corrected the arms but now I am really unhappy with my Kaleidaslope II because it looks way too big in comparison now (I got the Metal color which is gorgeous & replaced by the Mystery which is not!). So for all of you who tried on & passed up on these styles last year, you must revisit them!
The GRAVEL color is weird (but totally works for me). It looks like a charcoal grey (kinda what I think of the color in "gravel") online & indoors... but outside it's dark green. A pretty green, but green nonetheless! SOOO... if you're not a fan of green in any way, take this into consideration if ordering online!
The hood on this jacket isn't bulky & I barely notice it's there. I love the tall collar in the front so I can hide my face down inside when it's cold & windy. I am a gal with longer than normal arms & these jackets (thanks to the long liner) cover my wrists well (except I really can't use the thumb hole... about 3/4" too short to use comfortably). The liner is thinner than last year's designs.. makes it feel more delicate when pulling the coat off. I love the jacket length, gives me good coverage w/out feeling like I'm baring all when lifting my arms (I'm 5'10"), I sits below my hips. This jacket isn't great for layering as the sleeves are still a little slimmer (primarily the liner) but I don't think you need to add much bulk under this jacket, it's pretty warm. I've worn it before w/a t-shirt under it & was getting hot & clammy that I had trouble getting the jacket off because the liner was sticking to my arms... just an FYI!
I reduced the "quality" rating because there's lots of loose thread on all the "quilting" lines.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wife' s Christmas gift.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
She loves everything about this coat. The little thumb holes, the way the hood fits and the little style. I got her the red one.
She said she has never been warm in the middle unless it was a huge bulky coat. She's small and thin. She now says she feels warm in a smaller coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does NOT run big.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Buffalo,NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
If you have a large bust, move on to something else, this jacket is not for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket I own

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was worried about it being too small but it fits perfectly with enough room to wear sweaters underneath, etc. Super warm and the hood is a great size cause it actually covers your head. Probably the best coat purchase I've made in a long time! I am 5'6" and 135 pounds and I bought a size Small.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>