Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket

Durable ripstop nylon repels stains and rain while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining give this jacket points in the warmth department; offered in a rainbow of colors from conservative to super bright, it’s no wonder the Shimmer Me is a favorite of those who like conquer cold conditions in style.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
44 out of 47(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer avatar
azoe
Location: San Juan, PR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter love it. Very warm and light.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect step down jacket from my winter, down coat

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
smiles4crissy
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot speak to the longevity of this product, but I’ve been wearing daily for almost two weeks and so far, so good. The jacket fits well, true to size. I'm 5'9" 148 lbs and the medium is perfect. The shape of the jacket is stylish and shows off a woman's figure instead of "puffing it out." It provides the right amount of warmth for hiking in as cool as 30 degree weather (others may like it for cooler temps, but I am really cold- all the time), the thumb hole inserts insulate the wrists, the hood is not intrusive and serves to protect my neck from drafts when down. I like the draw cord for the hood and the way it tightens provides a little edge to direct rain so it doesn't hit your nose. The hood streamlines my head- not too loose / not too tight. The draw cord around the waist is well constructed and I like how it is adjustable on both sides. The pockets are ultra soft and warm. The green color is bright and fun. I tried six other hooded jackets before deciding on this one, and I could not have asked for a better jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really is warm!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Sparkle
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little skeptical as to whether this "coat" would really be warm. It's as thin as a spring jacket or most hoodies that I already own. I was amazed, though... this coat is awesome! It's light-weight, and so warm I don't even need a sweater underneath. And that's saying a lot... I get cold very easily. I love this coat so much, I just may buy another in a different color when it becomes available. I have the Neon Light color now and it fits my Sparkley personality to a T!
My only issue is that it's a little too long for me (maybe it should also be made in petite) and it's a little big in the torso area. Otherwise, I LUV THIS COAT!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not totally what i was expecting but like a lot

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
LindseywithanEY
Location: Indianapolis
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is not as warm as i was expecting when the temps are in the teens. I am normally a medium except in jackets and there I am a large. I am 5'8, 150 lbs & it fits well. Columbia does not pay return shipping which is a little frustrating so read the reviews and decide carefully.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Mills007
Location: Connecticut
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Medium size is perfectly fit (maybe even runs a little small) so choose large if you are used to medium size being a little large. Jacket is nice and warm. Looks really good. The inside gloves are nice as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

UH! UH!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
SJChi1
Location: Chicago,IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The day I wore this jacket was 38 degrees in Chicago. It really is a cute jacket but it is not warm. I thought the reflective panels was supposed generate heat. Did not happen. Although I did get it zipped it was tight. Order up a size. I did order medium but I should have ordered large.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket ever!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
EKChase
Location: Ridgefield, CT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new jacket! Its super warm, fits perfectly and has everything one could ever need to keep warm. The hood fits perfectly, it has a pocket for your cell phone, cool wholes for your thumbs and the interior reflective lining keeps me super toasty. Also, the two front pockets are lined with a super warm fleece. Love this !!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's bright, but it's warm!!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DNJG
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is awesome. I am a very cold person so this was perfect for me. We've had a cold winter already & when I go out in the 17 degree weather, my legs are cold...but not my torso. It's very light weight & doesn't "get in the way" when I'm driving or shoveling snow. By the time I ordered the jacket, the only color available was the Neon Light. I wasn't so sure about it, but I found it makes a statement & I love it. A plus of the shimmery lining...if you turn it inside out and shine a flash light on it you have a disco ball!! jk All that really matters is that it is WARM!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
warm1
Location: Corona CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket. It is lightweight but warm. There is really no bulk. It is easy to move around in and you can get a seatbelt withouth feeling like you are trapped.
I am sure I will get many years of use out of it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Although a light weight jacket, keeps one very warm

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Runner26
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been having very cold weather in Portland, OR and I do not need to layer with this jacket to stay warm. Very happy with this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cjr45

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
cjr45
Location: Wilmington DE
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOME the jacket actually is the warmest one I have ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thin but warmer than you'd think.

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
TRB83
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs small. It's a lot thinner than it appears on this website. But it's also warmer than you'd expect. However, I would not call this a "Winter" jacket by any means.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for Chicago wind

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
MMarie
Location: Chicago, Il
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is very comfortable and warm. Given on very cold days I wear my North Face fleece under for more warmth. Overall its a good fit, a little long on my arms but I'm able to roll the sleeves up. I only go from the car to my house or work; therefore not in the cold too much..only when I walk my dog. It does the good.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cozy in seattle

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
swyman28
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! I love that it is not a puffy jacket with all of the warmth! I have worn it for about a month now in 30 degree temps and is still warm. I think that any lower and you would either need to layer more or wear a coat for colder weather. The pockets are lined which makes your hands warm quickly. The fit is just right. Roomy enough for a sweater underneath but not so bulky it looks too large. I also love the thumbholes. Wind does not get in ; ) Also, the color black is a true black.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Melis
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this coat for my birthday and I love it! It fits true to size and it's really light weight yet very warm. I ordered it online and I was concerned that it was going to be bulky but it's not at all.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm!

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Sarah31
Location: Pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! I have a hard time finding jackets where the sleeves are long enough for me and these are just long enough! I am 5' 10", 135lbs. and went with a small. Overall fit is good too, would have liked it to be just a tad bit longer in the torso, but still fits good. I ordered this online and when I got it, I was little worried because it was lighter than other jackets I have, but I have had no trouble staying warm!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bright Color! Very Warm!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Lisa1234
Location: Oregon
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally wanted to purchase this jacket in any color other than the Neon Light or Black. However, all colors were out of stock at the time expect those two. So I went with the Neon Light. It's very bright but I really like it and have gotten many compliments. I am 128lbs, 35" bust, and 29" hips- went with a Small and it fit perfectly. Read some other reviews and I agree that it is not the best coat for aesthetic use, but it does do its job of keeping me warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it, can't take it off.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
robotlollipop
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm petite (5'4", 105lbs), and sometimes it's hard to find a puffy jacket that looks right on me. They usually look HUGE and shapeless. I decided to take a chance on the Shimmer Me in black., I bought it online without seeing it in person. I am so glad that I did, as right now there is a serious cold snap in my area (The highs have been below 50), and none of my coats are keeping me warm. This jacket is perfect. It's a puffy jacket without the puffyness! The arm length is just right. There's plenty of room for me to wear a long sleeved shirt underneath or a sweater. There's really no need to because the jacket keeps me sooooooo warm. The thumb holes are great. It's the perfect length. Often times with other xs coats I've tried on, I notice that the length can sometimes be too short, while the rest of the jacket fits fine. This just touches the top of my thighs. Also, it seems like it's fitted, because I can still see the curve of my waist...another big issue I have with puffy jackets is that they have no shape. Shimmer me is so light you wouldn't think it would keep you soooooo warm, but it totally does. I don't even want to take it off after I get home. :) I'm glad I went with the black, but I think I want the graphite one too (I read that it's actually more of a green color!). If you're reading this, you must be trying to decide if you want it, just go ahead buy it. You know you want to, it's worth the $.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Winter Jacket!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Brenda14
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is absolutely the best winter jacket I have ever owned. I had read several reviews about the Omni-heat jackets before I purchased it. I hate wearing a coat, especially when I'm driving, but the winter's are so cold in Utah that I don't have a choice. I was looking for something warm and light weight. This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. In fact, I went in search of it around town and every store was sold out, which gave me my first clue it was a great jacket! So I ordered it online from Columbia. It came quickly and needless to say, I haven't taken it off since. We've had an extremely cold winter, even by Utah standards and have routinely seen temps below zero. I haven't been cold yet wearing my jacket. Taking the dog for walks in sub-zero hasn't been bad at all. At least not for me, maybe the dogs not that happy though. :) I would recommend this jacket to anyone looking for great style, super warmth and light weight. Love it!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Shimmer Me™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC Jacket!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
coldgirl1
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got this jacket last week, and wear it all the time. The fact that it keeps me so warm is the huge bonus as I'm often times cold.
The best thing I have to say about this is that it works everywhere! I was heading to the mountain to ski yesterday and halfway there I realized that I had forgotten my ski jacket at home. This was the only jacket I had so thought I'd give it a chance. I was able to ski all day long - kept me as warm as my ski jacket does, and was easy to maneuver in as well.
This jacket is now my favorite!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>