Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Columbia Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Street-worthy aesthetics combine with performance in this waterproof-breathable, critically seam-sealed hooded jacket. The belted waist, faux fur hood and elbow patch details earn style points while inside the Omni-Heat™ thermal reflective lining keeps you extra warm when temperatures drop.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love this coat!

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Columbus, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so glad I went with this coat! There were a few I was deciding between and the other reviews I read on here helped me to decide on this one. It is the warmest coat I have ever owned and not bulky at all. Actually right after I got my coat we dipped down to -0 temps and it did awesome!! I have to walk outside for work, so this coat definitely made me happy!
I am tall and was concerned about arm length....now based on other reviews I was going to order a medium, but I ordered a large because medium was sold out. So glad I got the large because the arm length is perfect...I have some room in the body but nothing too big. I am 5'11" and 170...usually wear medium/large shirts, have a large bust, and size 10 pants if that helps anyone.
The hood on this coat has worked great, the only part of the coat I didn't care for was the belt...it's not ideal for on and off situations. I just took it off and the coat is still super cute and very flattering.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NEW WINTER STAPLE!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: NYC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS JACKET. I was looking for a warm, yet sleek jacket. All my winter coats are so bulky they made me look 20lbs bigger and I couldn't carry my son in his bjorn. This jacket is perfect, nice lean fit but still very warm. classic, a must have!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat about a month ago and I love it. I tend to be cold and this has been a wonderful and stylish way to stay warm. I'm going to be bummed when I have to put it away for the warmer months.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best coat in this winter

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat so much, great quality, great looking, inexpensive price, very warm, really so perfect. I have tried so many coat from different brands, this is the best. So happy and lucky to own it. Thanks for Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The intersection of fashion and function

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat so much I find myself doing little fashion shows in the mirror at home lol. I ordered an XL as I am 5'4 and about 175 lbs with wide hips. It's the perfect length and I can layer underneath and still keep the slim fit, no bulk. Temperatures have been steady around 30 F in Boston and so far it's kept me perfectly warm, day or night. No confirmation on how it holds up in lower Temps yet but I am confident that it will. The omni heat definitely makes it different (re: better) from other coats I've had in that as soon as you slip it on, you can feel the heat generating inside instantaneously. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Memphis, TN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
It is so much more than just a jacket. I wanted something that covered hips and little more,waterproof, and warm and met all those needs and more. Lots of roomy pockets one on outside of chest that iPod fits perfectly easy to get to. Long sleeve shirt or maybe fleece shirt (colder days) underneath. I searched for several days locally and internet and found this perfect. Price is excellent. So glad I got it. Love it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love The Details

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicacgo
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
So far I'm in love with this jacket. I love the well thought out details. It has great pockets. The construction of the jacket is pretty amazing. The fit it very flattering. I live in Chicago so I haven't put it to the test with the ultra extreme cold weather we get, but so far I'm pleased with the warmth and it's been in the 20's.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Long island, new york
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best jacket I have ever owned. It's warm and has a ton of pockets!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable and Warm

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second omniheat jacket, I got my first last year and it survived an usually cold WI winter so I decided to get another one that is longer. I love that this doesn't look like your typical bulky winter coat, however is warmer than most down coats. I also love that this is water resistant with a hood(minus the fur), great for 40 degree rainy days .I'm 5'2 and it comes about mid thigh. I like be able to wear heavy sweaters underneath and still have some room to move so I got a large. I weigh 130 and would typically get a medium, but the large is perfect, not too big. I have found that Columbia runs small in the chest and butt areas. I usually wear 6P pants and only a 34C for reference, maybe I just like things a littler looser.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect in Minnesota, USA winter!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
online purchased this coat and a 32" long down coat from a certain brand rhyming with ..snorthface. I was worried the omniheat wouldnt be warm enough compared to the down. received both coats and the columbia omniheat was way warmer. BTW we have ice covered everything and average of about 0 degrees right now in MN. I wear just a tshirt underneath and am walking around outside for probably 20 minutes each time multiple times a day commuting. SO WARM.
secondly, im 6 ft. tall and 150 lbs. finding ANYTHING as a tall thin woman is very hard. I always have a problem with womens coats having too short of sleeves and bodies, and too tiny of shoulders requiring me to buy an XL when my body fits in a small. I purchased a Medium in this coat and the other brand's. This coat fits me perfectly, the back just covers my butt. the other coat wouldnt even go on (both sites sized me as a medium via size chart).
I do a lot of outdoor skiing, walking, and just standing around waiting for the train. This coat keeps me almost TOO warm, and fits so amazingly I can't believe it. I will be a lifelong columbia customer.
I will also say the other coat was 300 while this was 170. this one was of much better quality. I sew and have been a tailor for 2 years; I can definitely see quality in material, stitching, and especially zippers. Ive rarely ever had columbia coats in my shop compared to other brands and I can tell ill never have to bring this one to work. it's exceptional quality for a low price considering the market.
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes you look good, perfect shape

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I first wanna to purchase a winter outwear from The North Face, but almost all winter outwear make you look like a huge bear in it. But, this one does not. The belt and design makes you look perfect. Besides, really water proof and keep you warm. Loving it. The only reason I do not give it 5 stars is because it is not pure black, not as seen from the picture, actually, the picture from zappos can be more realistic. I am not very in to this black.
Suggestion on size: I am 5'8'', 140 lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter coat for PNW

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love having a stylish jacket that is functional and SO warm. Lots of internal and external pockets without being bulky, I appreciate that the fur lining on the hood is detachable and that I can unzip from the bottom for access to internal pockets.
Really happy with my purchase !
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to jacket for low temps

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm originally from SoCal and this is my second winter. I've been looking for a jacket that is perfect for temps below 45 degrees in rain, dry, and windy conditions. Amazingly, this jacket kept me warm in temps to the low 20's, with high winds, and all I had under was a lightweight fleece top. My legs and face were freezing, but not my upper body.
I am 5'1" and 165lbs. I typically am between a medium and large in Columbia jackets. I bought the large so I could layer if needed, it fits perfectly and I don't need to layer. I am short, so the arms are a bit long, but I like that it covers my behind. Also, love that it has two zippers so when I sit down, I can unzip the bottom portion so the jacket doesn't bunch. I have broad shoulders and the armpit area is a tad tight, but otherwise, everything else is comfortably loose.
I don't use the belt, but I like having it in case I want to accentuate my waist, without having the jacket be fitted. I also like that this jacket is more fashionable and not techy. Great to wear for any occasion.
Love all the pockets! The fur works great in the wind. I take it off when it rains though, not sure how it'll hold up and don't want to chance it. This is definitely my go to jacket when temps get below 40-45 degrees.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it!

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Columbus, OH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've worn it only twice but I really like this coat. Very warm. I love the cuffs on the sleeves, and the inside pockets are great. I got a small which is what I wear in the Mighty Lite jacket and it fits well. Just maybe a bit big through the waist but the sleeve length is perfect. Just so you know, I got the brown (mineshaft) but it's more of a brownish gray color. If you're looking for a chocolate brown coat, this isn't it.The only reason I gave the function a 4 is because it's a bit stiff but I think it will soften up with more wear.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is amazing

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love in northern canada and just received this jacket today and I am amazed!! I'm 5 foot 10, 130 pounds and usually wear a size 2. I have really long legs (36 inseam) and long arms. I ordered the small and was worried the sleeves wouldn't be long enough but they are perfect, I was actually pretty surprised but thankful of course! The belt in really nice too and it covers my butt. Theres also lots of pockets which is good. I highly recommend this jacket
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this jacket

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually don't write reviews but I love this jacket so much!! I am 6'0 tall and have a hard time finding jackets that have long enough sleeves and fit in the shoulders, this jacket fits perfectly! highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wayne, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do love the jacket but I'm 5 foot 8 and am very thin. I got the small and the waist is a bit big and the sleeves are a bit tight. If I went to a medium, the waist would be way too big but the sleeves would probably be perfect. Other than that, so many pockets to choose from and it's very warm. In Ohio, winter is just about here and it is definitely going to keep me warm.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket it's so cute, I get compliments on it all the time. I'm 5 2 124 lbs and a small fits perfectly. My only concern would be for others who get cold easily. I love the winter and often get over heated in other jackets but this one is perfect! If you tend to get cold easily you may want a heavier jacket
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and warm

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pocono Pines, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect fit for combining outdoor fun and style
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'1 so finding flattering warm coats is hard but this jacket is perfect. I got it in Medium, grey. Great arm length (not as long as the Kaleidoscope jacket, but still very pleased). SUCH a flattering fit, it makes me look very lean, no added bulk. And so warm. I walk a mile to work and I am super comfortable in 20 degree weather with no extra layering needed. The jacket fully covers my butt but doesn't reach my thighs, since I am so tall. Hood is functional and everything is gorgeous. I am returning the Zenith trench in black for this jacket in black when it comes back in stock!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>