Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Columbia Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Street-worthy aesthetics combine with performance in this waterproof-breathable, critically seam-sealed hooded jacket. The belted waist, faux fur hood and elbow patch details earn style points while inside the Omni-Heat™ thermal reflective lining keeps you extra warm when temperatures drop.
Overall rating:
4.343 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
57 out of 61(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Coat

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Queens, New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a great experience with this jacket. Ever since it came in the mail I knew it was good. It is a very warm jacket, and it's a head turner. My friends have been asking asking me where I got it from. I have received compliments I have never received before. Thank you Columbia for a great warm and stylish jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat for tall

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester,ny
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect fit for tall/thin and long sleeve.... Very warm! I'm happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat about a month ago and I love it. I tend to be cold and this has been a wonderful and stylish way to stay warm. I'm going to be bummed when I have to put it away for the warmer months.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, waterproof, form-flattering coat for many seasons!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last year, I purchased the Carson Pass (I) in Black. I decided I wanted this coat in another color - that's how much I love this coat! However, they had already sold out. This season, Columbia unveiled the Carson Pass (II) and I purchased the Grey right away.
The new coat is improved in the following ways: the coat zips and buttons, as opposed to zips and velcros, which should last longer, as my velcro is already fraying with 1 season's wear. Also the belt has increased in thickness and the belt loops have improved. My one suggestion for further improvement would be to give the hood more sturdiness, like a built-in-visor effect, so that without the fur, the hood does more to prevent rain from getting on your face and hair.
In terms of size choice: I am 5'2", weigh 130, and wear size medium in tops. I purchased a small in both coats and they fit perfectly. I am short so the coat's length is perfect and hits just below my butt. On taller women, perhaps it would hit on the hip. The zipper unzips from both top and bottom, which is great for when you need to sit down, and don't want to unzip the whole darn thing. Buy it! (and Columbia - keep making more!)
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'1 so finding flattering warm coats is hard but this jacket is perfect. I got it in Medium, grey. Great arm length (not as long as the Kaleidoscope jacket, but still very pleased). SUCH a flattering fit, it makes me look very lean, no added bulk. And so warm. I walk a mile to work and I am super comfortable in 20 degree weather with no extra layering needed. The jacket fully covers my butt but doesn't reach my thighs, since I am so tall. Hood is functional and everything is gorgeous. I am returning the Zenith trench in black for this jacket in black when it comes back in stock!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable and Warm

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second omniheat jacket, I got my first last year and it survived an usually cold WI winter so I decided to get another one that is longer. I love that this doesn't look like your typical bulky winter coat, however is warmer than most down coats. I also love that this is water resistant with a hood(minus the fur), great for 40 degree rainy days .I'm 5'2 and it comes about mid thigh. I like be able to wear heavy sweaters underneath and still have some room to move so I got a large. I weigh 130 and would typically get a medium, but the large is perfect, not too big. I have found that Columbia runs small in the chest and butt areas. I usually wear 6P pants and only a 34C for reference, maybe I just like things a littler looser.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Long island, new york
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best jacket I have ever owned. It's warm and has a ton of pockets!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stylish but not as warm as I expected

PostedDecember 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Wausau, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in central WI and am a person that loves the outdoors but unfortunately gets cold easy. I have always been a lover of down coats but don't like the bulk that comes with them. I figured I'd give this a try since it is so much thinner. I love the way the coat looks but am disappointed in how warm it keeps me. It is very nice for mildly cold weather (25-40 degrees and not a lot of wind) but when it is truly cold I am definitely not warm enough. I think I will go back to a down coat next time.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is amazing

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love in northern canada and just received this jacket today and I am amazed!! I'm 5 foot 10, 130 pounds and usually wear a size 2. I have really long legs (36 inseam) and long arms. I ordered the small and was worried the sleeves wouldn't be long enough but they are perfect, I was actually pretty surprised but thankful of course! The belt in really nice too and it covers my butt. Theres also lots of pockets which is good. I highly recommend this jacket
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

England

PostedNovember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Mexico
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this coat to go to England in December. I am not there yet but know already that this coat will be perfect. It's warm and keeps you dry. I think the quality is really great. It is the nicest coat I own in terms of functionality. I love all of the pockets. The fit is true to size. I am normally a medium but I am pregnant so I got a large. I have room to grow and I am tall so the arms fit perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Color issue

PostedDecember 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Taiwan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
The color from the on line screen is not similar the actual goods. The actual goods is like grey not like the screen color "Mineshaft". I'm disappointed the color"Mineshaft". I think it should be more like brown color on goods.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Customer

PostedFebruary 18, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Syracuse, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket! I live in Upstate New York and it has kept me warm during this current winter. The length is exactly what I was looking for. I am 5'4" and it sits at about my mid thigh, a little bit above the knee but covers my entire rear which is what I wanted. It is very comfortable. The jacket is not too heavy and does not make me feel like a marsh mellow. The hood is a tad too big, but I have a small head. Overall very pleased with this purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashion & Function

PostedMarch 2, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Eugene, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've worn it for winter travel all season. Keeps me warm and dry, and cute. I'm 5'9", 170 lbs and the XL feels like it was made just for me. Sleeves are perfect length and it covers my bum. Would be great if the hand warmer pockets were a little deeper.
Love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this jacket!

PostedOctober 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this jacket! This is my second Carson Pass jacket. My first jacket is now too large for me due to a 30 lb. weight loss, so of course I have to replace the jacket with a new one in a smaller size. This jacket is warm (because of the omni-heat) and has kept me warm during the brutal Chicago winter last year. This is my go-to jacket. Kudos to you, Columbia, you have a winner here!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat!!!! It keeps me very very warm!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Belt & hood functionality disappointment

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love the color, Omni-heat (never too warm and stays dry), pocket space is great, and the length is good. My disliking for the jacket is with the belt because it looks unflattering for an apple-body shape and when sitting down, the jacket bunches awkwardly. The hood is heavy and works well for wind prevention when up. But if not in use, it's uncomfortable and restraining in the neck.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket it's so cute, I get compliments on it all the time. I'm 5 2 124 lbs and a small fits perfectly. My only concern would be for others who get cold easily. I love the winter and often get over heated in other jackets but this one is perfect! If you tend to get cold easily you may want a heavier jacket
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect in Minnesota, USA winter!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
online purchased this coat and a 32" long down coat from a certain brand rhyming with ..snorthface. I was worried the omniheat wouldnt be warm enough compared to the down. received both coats and the columbia omniheat was way warmer. BTW we have ice covered everything and average of about 0 degrees right now in MN. I wear just a tshirt underneath and am walking around outside for probably 20 minutes each time multiple times a day commuting. SO WARM.
secondly, im 6 ft. tall and 150 lbs. finding ANYTHING as a tall thin woman is very hard. I always have a problem with womens coats having too short of sleeves and bodies, and too tiny of shoulders requiring me to buy an XL when my body fits in a small. I purchased a Medium in this coat and the other brand's. This coat fits me perfectly, the back just covers my butt. the other coat wouldnt even go on (both sites sized me as a medium via size chart).
I do a lot of outdoor skiing, walking, and just standing around waiting for the train. This coat keeps me almost TOO warm, and fits so amazingly I can't believe it. I will be a lifelong columbia customer.
I will also say the other coat was 300 while this was 170. this one was of much better quality. I sew and have been a tailor for 2 years; I can definitely see quality in material, stitching, and especially zippers. Ive rarely ever had columbia coats in my shop compared to other brands and I can tell ill never have to bring this one to work. it's exceptional quality for a low price considering the market.
I would recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes you look good, perfect shape

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I first wanna to purchase a winter outwear from The North Face, but almost all winter outwear make you look like a huge bear in it. But, this one does not. The belt and design makes you look perfect. Besides, really water proof and keep you warm. Loving it. The only reason I do not give it 5 stars is because it is not pure black, not as seen from the picture, actually, the picture from zappos can be more realistic. I am not very in to this black.
Suggestion on size: I am 5'8'', 140 lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it but linty

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this jacket on-line and love almost everything about it! Fits true to size, comfy, lighweight, flattering for my figure. The only drawback is that the material collects every object of lint, dust, string. I have a knit scarf that cannot be worn with the jacket because it leaves little bits of fuzz everywhere and looks weird. But I would still recommend it becuase I love the look and the fit.
Make this coat again, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKiBoPi
USA
 
Please wait while more information about KiBoPi is loaded.
Additional information about KiBoPi could not be loaded.
LINT collection issue
onMarch 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. So, it is not just me, who hates the fabric's lint collection tendency...
I am not sure if other reviewers noticed but this jacket is a magnet to ANYTHING that is around. Hair, lint, dirt, dust - you name it.
I love everything else about the jacket - the breathability is actually not just words in the description. The warmth is amazing for its weight. Not overheating in it, but real comfortable.
But the fabric... :(
Debating to return or keep it...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 Next>>