Customer reviews for Columbia Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Columbia Carson Pass™ II Jacket

Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kira
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket it's so cute, I get compliments on it all the time. I'm 5 2 124 lbs and a small fits perfectly. My only concern would be for others who get cold easily. I love the winter and often get over heated in other jackets but this one is perfect! If you tend to get cold easily you may want a heavier jacket
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and warm

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
erbaird73
Location: Pocono Pines, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A perfect fit for combining outdoor fun and style
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anna3688
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'1 so finding flattering warm coats is hard but this jacket is perfect. I got it in Medium, grey. Great arm length (not as long as the Kaleidoscope jacket, but still very pleased). SUCH a flattering fit, it makes me look very lean, no added bulk. And so warm. I walk a mile to work and I am super comfortable in 20 degree weather with no extra layering needed. The jacket fully covers my butt but doesn't reach my thighs, since I am so tall. Hood is functional and everything is gorgeous. I am returning the Zenith trench in black for this jacket in black when it comes back in stock!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter coat

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
awally12
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I walk to work every day and this is a great, stylish coat for winter. Very warm against wind and snow but doesn't feel heavy or bulky to wear. The belt adds nice detail and waist definition. It's also a tad longer that normal jackets which adds warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it but linty

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheShopper
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this jacket on-line and love almost everything about it! Fits true to size, comfy, lighweight, flattering for my figure. The only drawback is that the material collects every object of lint, dust, string. I have a knit scarf that cannot be worn with the jacket because it leaves little bits of fuzz everywhere and looks weird. But I would still recommend it becuase I love the look and the fit.
Make this coat again, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KiBoPi
USA
 
Please wait while more information about KiBoPi is loaded.
Additional information about KiBoPi could not be loaded.
LINT collection issue
Posted March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. So, it is not just me, who hates the fabric's lint collection tendency...
I am not sure if other reviewers noticed but this jacket is a magnet to ANYTHING that is around. Hair, lint, dirt, dust - you name it.
I love everything else about the jacket - the breathability is actually not just words in the description. The warmth is amazing for its weight. Not overheating in it, but real comfortable.
But the fabric... :(
Debating to return or keep it...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Belt & hood functionality disappointment

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
afc048
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love the color, Omni-heat (never too warm and stays dry), pocket space is great, and the length is good. My disliking for the jacket is with the belt because it looks unflattering for an apple-body shape and when sitting down, the jacket bunches awkwardly. The hood is heavy and works well for wind prevention when up. But if not in use, it's uncomfortable and restraining in the neck.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nazzy
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't feel cold or freezing when I wear it. It also look good on me. I love how I have some zippers in my jacket, I can put my phone, money, lipstick in my zippers. I love it! Thank you, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat for tall

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kath04
Location: Rochester,ny
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect fit for tall/thin and long sleeve.... Very warm! I'm happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

NYC Winter Coat

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kay1
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pros: This coat is so warm. I love it. I wore it for the first time the day a massive snow storm hit the East. I walk a lot so I need to be warm and this coat more than takes care of that. It has several functional pockets. I'm very very petite and the coat falls perfectly mid-thigh and the sleeves are also the perfect length.
Cons: The fur trim is removable which I thought I would like, but the hood is not deep so when I pull the hood forward the trim comes off. The coat runs a bit tight around the neck and arm pits. These are the only reasons I didn't give it a perfect score.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KiBoPi
USA
 
Please wait while more information about KiBoPi is loaded.
Additional information about KiBoPi could not be loaded.
The hood...
Posted March 7, 2014
Agree, the hood is not deep enough without the trim. I cannot wear the fur trim because, firstly - the fabric of the jacket collects every bit of lint, including the hair of the trim, and, secondly, the faux fur looks simply awful...
The hood hardly fits over my head with no pony tail, - WITH it - the hood falls right off my head(((
I noticed, though, that it is a tendency nowadays. Hood are VERY shallow, OR huge, if they are meant to accommodate a helmet...
Sad...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A smart, stylish jacket.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahV
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After reading previous reviews on this jacket, I want to give potential customers some input. This jacket does indeed run small--I am 5'4" and weigh 130lbs. I typically wear between a small and medium in tops, but prefer winter jackets to be a size larger so I'm able to wear sweaters, et cetera comfortably. I had my eyes on the Mineshaft color but it was only available in large. I took a chance and ordered it anyway (even though I would normally order a medium and no smaller with this type of jacket) and it fits perfectly. The only exception is that the belt is a tad long but I plan on sewing in an extra hole.
Performance: I have been wearing this jacket for three days now in 15 degrees or below Chicago winter weather. I am active and am outside a lot and needed a reliable, warm and durable jacket to wear to stand up against those unbearable cold days. The jacket is lightweight and keeps me DRY and warm. I have tried on and returned several different winter jackets either because the cost doesn't equate to the overall durability of the jacket or I just wasn't pleased overall. So far, I am very pleased and would recommend this to someone who appreciates good 'street' style but also wants to stay dry and warm (two huge aspects I look for in winter clothing).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh so cozy

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
LMP820
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is so warm I've thrown it on over my yoga top and gone out in 20 degree weather. I would recommend another layer if you are going to be outside for a while but for my 10 minute walk to the gym and it's all I need. I've worn it on rainy and snowy days and the hood keeps you well protected, goodbye umbrella I always lose! Plus you'll actually be dry when you get where you're going. It's incredibly well made and though I've only had it 3 weeks I believe it'll last a long time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice coat.

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liza52
Location: Waldorf, MD
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but runs small. I had to send the coat back and didn't have time to wait for a larger size.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Coat

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
MBCH1
Location: Queens, New York
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a great experience with this jacket. Ever since it came in the mail I knew it was good. It is a very warm jacket, and it's a head turner. My friends have been asking asking me where I got it from. I have received compliments I have never received before. Thank you Columbia for a great warm and stylish jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, waterproof, form-flattering coat for many seasons!

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
SueT
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last year, I purchased the Carson Pass (I) in Black. I decided I wanted this coat in another color - that's how much I love this coat! However, they had already sold out. This season, Columbia unveiled the Carson Pass (II) and I purchased the Grey right away.
The new coat is improved in the following ways: the coat zips and buttons, as opposed to zips and velcros, which should last longer, as my velcro is already fraying with 1 season's wear. Also the belt has increased in thickness and the belt loops have improved. My one suggestion for further improvement would be to give the hood more sturdiness, like a built-in-visor effect, so that without the fur, the hood does more to prevent rain from getting on your face and hair.
In terms of size choice: I am 5'2", weigh 130, and wear size medium in tops. I purchased a small in both coats and they fit perfectly. I am short so the coat's length is perfect and hits just below my butt. On taller women, perhaps it would hit on the hip. The zipper unzips from both top and bottom, which is great for when you need to sit down, and don't want to unzip the whole darn thing. Buy it! (and Columbia - keep making more!)
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sad this didn't fit

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MKinChiTown
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved this jacket. It was the perfect color. Perfect style. But it was too small. I'm a plus size and was hoping the XL would fit. The generous sizing wasn't generous enough.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Carson Pass™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made for a taller person

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ceebee
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have loved this coat if it had fit me properly. I decided to get a belted coat because puffy, warm, coats tend to make me look puffy as well. Unfortunately, the belt sat so low that it wasn't even on my waist, it was nearly on my rear and looked very odd. I am a little shorter than average (5'3"), but I have tried other belted coats from Columbia and they have hit me in the right place. I wish it had fit me, because I liked the coat otherwise: warm and waterproof (although I never got to test it out).
I would recommend this product.
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.