Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

The combination of Omni-Shield advanced repellency, Omni-Heat thermal reflective and 550 fill power down insulation make this jacket super toasty to keep you warm in cold weather; feminine design lines and buttery soft sateen fabric mean it’s also perfect for every day wear.
Overall rating:
4.691 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 204 reviews
5 Stars
162
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
191 out of 200(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WAIT to buy price drops quick

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
linda99
Location: Pottsville Pa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paid $230 for jacket and 2 weeks later it was $170. Jacket is nice but price adjustment policy is not.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ski jacket

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Meggie
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing! So warm but not to bulky. I normally buy a medium but the reviews mentioned that the jacket ran small so I purchased a large. I am so glad I purchased a large because the arm length is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional yet stylish

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
FitGirl
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this jacket for my everyday wear. Wow! Very, very warm and a nice selection of colors to choose from. The Hyper Purple is such a rich vibrant color that it makes me happy. Beats the black that I've been wearing for so long. The jacket is not too puffy and has a feminine shape. Far from being utilitarian, this jacket keeps you warm and is downright pretty.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent coat!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kidworks
Location: Port Huron, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my girlfriend and she loves it! She loves the look of the coat and the warmth it provides. The sizing is a little smaller but she is petite so it fits her very well. I think she looks sexy in it!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sizing

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
cluckcluck
Location: arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I ordered a large just to be safe but upon arrival, beautiful jacket, but very very small, I usually wear a medium in coats but could not begin to get into this one.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
DLT96
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a high quality coat, and I definitely got it with this jacket! It fits great and keeps me warm! I wanted to test it out so I took my dog on a walk a day or so after I got it, when it was somewhere below 30 degrees with the wind blowing, and although my legs were freezing (poor choice of pants), the rest of my body was kept warm! The only negative with this jacket is the thumb holes can get a little snug, but otherwise it fits wonderfully!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely coat

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
MKsmom
Location: Virginia, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Very nice coat, well made, made for warmth!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kz10
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live near chicago so winters can get brutal. This jacket is sure to get me through the next polar vortex. I wasn't a fan of the fur accent on the hood so I was thrilled to find the zipper to remove it. I would highly recommend buying this jacket to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Everday in the Winter

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Winter411
Location: Fargo, ND
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been searching for a winter coat for a long time and it is hard to find something that is stylish, comfortable, and warm enough. This coat is all three of those things. I ordered the black metallic color and it is more of a flat black which is perfect because it gives it a classy look and the fur on the hood is attached by a zipper so you can take it off and on. Love this coat.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat has ultimate warmth

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Jfak
Location: Chicago IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prior to buying I read all the reviews to base the size I would order. I would generally wear a medium, but more comfortably a large in such a fitted design. The sleeve length is great, so is the length. The thumb holes are practical and are not an issue if you don't want to use them. The hood is so impressive too, it stays on even in the highest wind. I am 5 foot 5 and about 165 pounds and I am still able to wear a hoodie comfortably under this. Since it has a feminine fit the zip does tighten at the natural waistline but I don't have an issue with it because it actually lessens the bulky look of the coat. The putter material is soft as silk. I love this coat. I actually get warm when I'm out in the cold weather.
Chicago, IL
I would recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for anyone with a full bust.

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Chricky
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a medium. I typically wear a size 8 on top and 10 on the bottom, bust 37.5", hips 39". The medium did not offer enough room across the chest to wear with a sweater underneath and was a little snug around the hips. I don't think bib pants would have fit comfortably under the coat. The raglan shoulders offered good room for arm movement. Had I bumped up to a size large, the arms would have been way too long. Also, the jacket does not have exterior chest pockets and the zipper is only a one way zip. Purple was a great color, though. I looked to buy a different Columbia jacket, because I generally like Columbia products, but interestingly many of them were also described as "runs small." Thus, I am returning, not exchanging, this coat.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
JenniferWLP
Location: Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love that this works to keep me warm. I get cold easily and with this coat I was able to go 4 wheeling with my boys in 20 degree weather. It does run extremely small though, I wear a large in children's and ended up having to purchase a large for this coat. The sleeves that you put over your hands, I wish they zipped out to wash easier. I love them but they get dirtier than the coat quickly and being able to zip them out and throw them in the washer would be great. Other than those two things this is the perfect coat - very well made, comfortable and definitely keeps you warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all-around winter coat EVER!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JDJO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'2" and a 34DD bust. In most Columbia and Mountain Hardwear garments that have stretch I am a Medium. This jacket does not have any stretch, so I went with the Large and it fits PERFECTLY. I was a little concerned about the sleeves because I am so short but, for some reason, the sleeves are PERFECT. Omni Heat is phenomenal and the "puff" from the down is not bulky at all. I love the hood.
Now, let's talk about performance: 3 days at 5,000 - 9,000 feet elevation, 1.5 feet of snowfall during that time, temps from low 20's to mid 30's F. I was WARM THE ENTIRE TIME. I had my doubts when I first put it on because it is so not bulky, but they were quickly wiped away as the days progressed. All snow hit the jacket and slid off, or else melted and flew off. COMPLETELY SNOW-PROOF the entire time. After about 5 minutes into a mid-level hike, I was SWELTERING. I had to open up the pit zips and the front zipper to let in air - while the outside temp was around 33 degrees. This is with only a sports bra, long-sleeve t-shirt, and a Silver Ridge blouse underneath. I thought I had worn too few layers--turns out I had worn too many. Once done, it packs away into a backpack very easily. This might be the best coat I've ever worn. Ladies, this is the one across a WIDE RANGE of activities. PS: it also looks really cute at the restaurant afterwards!
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good jacket

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
MNmom01
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket. I only have two minor complaints: when the zipper is up all the way, it's a little tight in the neck and the detachable hood doesn't connect all the way on the sides (there is a couple of inches on each side where the hood is not attached to the jacket). Otherwise, it's very cute and warm.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Southern Girl Up North

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Sgirl25
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coming from the South I was definitely not ready for the freezing cold temperatures of northern weather. This jacket, however, does wonders at keeping me warm. The tag says, "the jacket that makes you want to go outside," and that is totally true. I personally hate being cold, but when I'm wearing this jacket I can't feel any of it. Add some layers underneath (I usually wear a windbreaker beneath as well), and you should be fine all winter long. I wear a small but buying a medium was a great decision because the jacket does fit small.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so warm and comfy

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
em123
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'7" and 138lbs and ordered a large in the black metallic. I'm glad I got this size, it fits great! It is very warm and I love the thumb hole sleeves, they're long enough to cover your hands when driving and holding a cold steering wheel. I wore it for about 10 min outside and was sweating. I'm a very cold person and needed a very warm coat. I recommend this product to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minnesota Approved - Warmest coat I've ever owned!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
peanut952
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has been absolutely amazing! I couldn't have survived the winter last year (several days below 0 and high winds). This coat does fit snugly, but I really didn't need to wear bulky sweatshirts underneath. It does a great job of cutting the wind. The coat itself has so many great features. There are zippers under the arms to allow for cooling, which I have used on warmer days when I've worked up a sweat (snowshoeing, etc). The fur trim on the hood folds down to provide extra warmth to ears and face. And the built is powder sleeves are great - no snow up your sleeves! :) There are pockets inside, even a media hole for your cell phone/ear buds. And even though this is a puffy down coat, it really isn't overly bulky like some are! Honestly, my only complaint was I bought the white (only color available on the clearance rack) and it shows dirt. If I can find a black or gray one on sale, I'd definitely buy it!
I purchased a Size Small. I'm 5'0", 120# and an athletic/muscular build (size 4 dress size if that helps)
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Blythe
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is amazing! I'm usually very cold but not with this coat. It seems to adjust to the weather to keep me toasty warm. I also love the hood!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Winter Jacket

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiWCP
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of the warmest jackets I have ever owned. Functionally, I highly recommend it. That being said though, it doesn't quite look like the online photos. It's not as feminine as it appears and is a lot bulkier. (It's pretty puffy) The color is also way off too. I ordered the harbor blue and expected it to be much darker. It's actually very light. I'd say it's almost like a pastel blue or a light Carolina blue. The jacket pattern also is a bit different than it appears online.
I'm 5'3'', 110lbs and I ordered a medium. It's fit perfectly and there's plenty room even when I have on a fleece or sweatshirt underneath.
I'm a little disappointed that there don't appear to be matching (colored) accessories for purchase but I'll find something go with it.
Overall, I'm pleased with the product and chose to keep it instead of the North Face I'd originally purchased.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byChiWCP
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about ChiWCP is loaded.
Additional information about ChiWCP could not be loaded.
Correction to original review
onDecember 7, 2014
I actually purchased the color MIRAGE which isn't currently available on the Columbia website. It is a baby blue/sky blue. The Harbor blue is more of a deep blue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest coat I've owned

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
sarahmariha
Location: Indiana, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'4" and 125lbs and the medium works well on me. When I got the coat two years ago, I was probably 135lbs, and I tried the small and decided it was too snug in the shoulders. The extra space allows me to have layers underneath, but honestly I rarely need anything else! This coat is so warm that when I had a 20 minute walk to class I had to unzip it when wearing only a t-shirt underneath to cool down. Now I frequently spend 6 hours outside at a time in the winter and it keeps me toasty the whole time. After two winters of use there still isn't a thread out of place! I look forward to breaking it out of the closet every winter.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>