Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

The combination of Omni-Shield advanced repellency, Omni-Heat thermal reflective and 550 fill power down insulation make this jacket super toasty to keep you warm in cold weather; feminine design lines and buttery soft sateen fabric mean it’s also perfect for every day wear.
Overall rating:
4.708 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(185 reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 185 reviews
5 Stars
149
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
173 out of 181(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest coat I've owned

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
sarahmariha
Location: Indiana, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'4" and 125lbs and the medium works well on me. When I got the coat two years ago, I was probably 135lbs, and I tried the small and decided it was too snug in the shoulders. The extra space allows me to have layers underneath, but honestly I rarely need anything else! This coat is so warm that when I had a 20 minute walk to class I had to unzip it when wearing only a t-shirt underneath to cool down. Now I frequently spend 6 hours outside at a time in the winter and it keeps me toasty the whole time. After two winters of use there still isn't a thread out of place! I look forward to breaking it out of the closet every winter.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Winter Jacket!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Heatheraconn
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so pleased with this jacket. It fits perfectly. Winters get cold here in WI, and this jacket is so warm, but without the bulk. And oddly, I don't find myself sweating in it when I get inside either. I love the thumb holes, they really help keep my hands and arms warm. I Highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest Coat I've Ever Had

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Alexxx
Location: Michigan, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this coat and it's honestly the warmest thing I've ever owned. We got out first snow today and I didn't feel a single thing other than warmth. I am 5'6, 135 lbs and wear 34DD and although the medium fits well, I should have gotten the small. Love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Minnesota approved

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
SJK1988
Location: Duluth, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Duluth, MN (northern MN, last major stop before Canada...and the 8th coldest city in the US). In addition, I have Raynaud's, a condition where my fingers and toes lose circulation in weather below 50 degrees. This whole line of Omni Heat products has saved me living in such cold climate. I bought this jacket to replace my other Omni Heat jacket I bought a couple years ago. It got here just in time for Duluth's first winter storm. It's tremendously warm... the hood keeps out most of the wind, and the jacket is very comfortable. If you wear this inside for even a minute, you probably will get very hot. The jacket runs small: I'm 5'7", 122 lbs, and usually wear an XS shirt/S jacket. I got a Medium and it fits just right. It's just a tiny bit big for me, but you want that in a winter coat for extra layers. The hood is particularly nice on days when you other ladies don't want your nicely done hair to get messed up. It's big enough and wide enough to go over hair without mussing. I bought the coat in Harbor Blue, and it's a very feminine color. I love it.
When out for longer than a few minutes, I wear an extra Omni Heat shell under the coat for even more warmth. I have the pants, gloves, hats, coats, and boots in Omni Heat, and they're a god send.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heavy Jacket

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
MeEML
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This jacket has a lot of weight to it for a down jacket. Seemed heavy and weight-y to wear.
There is alot of blue contrast and doesn't seem obvious in the picture. When wearing casually, it will show.
This jacket appears to have a feminine style and shape to it, but it actually is really puffy and shapeless.
Usually wear M/L and got a large. It fit well but was not flattering at all.
I returned it for these reasons.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Tlegs
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect! It is exactly as described and fits me true to size. I am so pleased with my purchase I actually look forward to wearing it this winter!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
anna13
Location: Wisconsin
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket last year in black. I am 5'11 and about 135 pounds and the small fits me well. The sleeves fit pretty good, the only thing is that I wish the area for the thumb holes was longer; my arms are a tiny bit too long for me to use them. I really love this jacket. I live in Wisconsin and it gets super cold in the winter, but this jacket keeps me very warm. It's a bit of an investment, but it's worth it. I would definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Jacket

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Bluelass
Location: Maplewood, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a warm feminine jacked. Love the fur on the hood. Nice color blue. Very pretty. I usually wear a size small, ordered a medium and fits perfect. Probably because it is a fitted style. Love it, nicest jacket I have ever had!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too snug/short

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
WindyCityLass
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unfortunately this one will be going back. I have no doubt it would keep me very warm on my top half, however it was beyond snug (even more-so than other "athletic fit" items I've tried) and felt a little too short to keep my bottom half warm in our brutal Chicago winters. The Harbor Blue also wasn't the powdery blue I was expecting it to be - it was darker and a little less "girly."
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHY did I not buy this jacket sooner!!??

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer avatar
itzabits2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Chicago and have had to endure quite a brutual winter this year. I used to have a peacoat from JC Penny, but after that -16 degree temperatures in January that required me adding about four extra layers underneath the coat, it was obviously time for a change. I'd been eyeing a Columbia jacket for awhile and practically jumped when I saw this one on sale.
I was skeptical to say the least in the beginning. I didn't see how this Omniheat would keep me warm. Granted, we haven't experience the -16 degree temperatures yet this month, but it's been tried and true tested in some -4 degree temperatures, with only a long sleeve shirt on underneath and I was SWEATING. Most of the time I was around in it with no additional need for layers over top of my work clothes to keep warm, which has been amazing. The hood is great too and is detachable as described.
I really kick myself for not having invested in a Columbia jacket before this winter started. If there's one drawback I could say, it's a little tight around the hips, but I understand why. You can't exactly trap body heat if it's loose fiting and letting body heat esacpe. I'm actually waiting for this jacket to stock back up in order to buy my mother one for her birthday! Would absolutely recommend this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lay D Down Jacket

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Yooper72
Location: Calumet, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this for its style and warmth. I live on the Keweenaw Peninsula-Michigan's UP, where our annual snowfall hovers at 250" and this year's temps haven't seen 20 for weeks and weeks. So a warm jacket on the snowshoe trails is imperative. The fit runs small, but I knew that from reading other reviews. I am 5'8", 135 lbs, and normally wear a M, so purchased a Lg which fits fine. This morning, I took my pup for a walk on a -25 windy trail, and my jacket was cozy. The furry hood was a great wind break, although I need a hat underneath. The red hyacinth is a bit over the top, but cheerful.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
jrhudson3
Location: Oklahoma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love everything about this jacket. Not too bulky but super warm!! Love all the pockets too!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
HollyW
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has been a very cold winter in Chicago and my old coat just wasn't keeping me warm. I replaced it with this one and I couldn't be more impressed. It's very warm but light and the fit is sculpted to my figure. It also has a few special features that put it over the top like the cuffs with the hole for your thumb and the back waist rubber stripping so your jacket doesn't slide up when you bend over or get in the car. I love it!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Claire33
Location: Northern VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thick durable outer layer, Pit zips, plus everything on the item description. I LOVE this jacket. It keeps you EXTREMELY warm.
The profile is slim and long. I am 5'8 and 140 lbs, usually a medium slim fit, but the Small in this Jacket is a perfect fit. Even the sleeves are long.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for really cold weather

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
UNLGradStudent
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since I moved to Nebraska, I was looking for a jacket/coat that could keep me warm in this crazy weather. When temperature is in 0F i only wear my long sleeve with this jacket and it keeps me warm. When temperatures go below zero (i'm talking -28 F) I sometimes wear a slight jacket under it, if i'm walking for long distances. But this is THE BEST Jacket i have. It is worth every penny.!!! In shirt size I'm between small and medium (mostly medium) (34 C so you have an idea) and I bought it Large, just in case I wanted to have a few layers. It feels very comfortable with my long sleeve, and the slight jacket underneath. The hoodie works well when it's snowing covering your ears and forehead, and if you close it completely it covers your mouth too! If you are looking for something that can keep you warm even in the minus degrees, I Highly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Colette
Location: Mass.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I orginally ordered an XL because the reviews all said it ran very small. I'm not a small girl, by any means. I'm large busted, 5'2" and chunky . The XL was not only too big but as soon as I zipped it, the zipper split from the bottom up. I returned it for a Lg which def was a slimmer fit, zipper functioned perfectly. I really won't be able to layer underneath but there's no need. It is very warm, with a base layer it's just enough. I really love it! Its cute, especially with the furry hood.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Blondie3803
Location: Weston, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is very warm & very comfortable to wear! Very stylish!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME Jacket!! Going to LOVE it!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
TDalton
Location: Western, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I had to try this jacket on as soon as I received it, as we we're having our 1st snow of the year and it was blistering COLD! Needless to say, I DID NOT feel any cold! I'm going to LOVE this jacket! Thanks to Columbia for OMNI Shield that I feel 100% confident to have ordered a WHITE jacket! It's stunning! Thrilled!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm and light weight

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Peppers5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love love love this coat. It is so warm and light weight. We have had below 0 temps and I am nice and toasty. It is so cute on too. I have had many complaments on it. I did have to get a size larger than normal but it is a fabulous coat. I would recommed this coat to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT Red

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
SkierWannabe
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It would be nice if all the Hibiscus Red was the same color. Have gloves that are Columbia and ordered coat to match and it is a different re.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next>>