Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

Columbia Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket

The combination of Omni-Shield advanced repellency, Omni-Heat thermal reflective and 550 fill power down insulation make this jacket super toasty to keep you warm in cold weather; feminine design lines and buttery soft sateen fabric mean it’s also perfect for every day wear.
Overall rating:
4.67 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(309 reviews) 309
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 309 reviews
5 Stars
240
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
286 out of 301(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super cute yet WARM jacket!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
This is a great down jacket. I am 5'9" but small so it is very difficult for me to find jackets that are long enough while still flattering my frame. The arms are long as well and have an UnderArmor-like sleeve at the ends for your thumb to go through. I did a couple months of research to fond the perfect jacket because here in Michigan the winters are freezing, and I'm always cold. I compared this Lay D Down with Mountain Hardwares Chiller jacket ($325) and the Columbia's details far exceed the more expensive coat. For example, the Columbia has a snow skirt, the pocket zippers have a waterproof enclosure, the neck is fleece, the cinches for the removable hood have their own tuck-away pocket, there are internal pockets, and many vents ideal for when you get toasty while skiing/snowboarding. The fabric also feels like it won't be prone to tearing. It even looks good too :)
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Alaska
This jacket is amazing! I just moved to Alaska from Oregon and it keeps me warm and dry. The omni-heat breathes well and still produces enough heat to keep me dry. The thumb holes are great for wearing your gloves over to prevent snow from getting up the sleeves. Its still light enough to move around in but produces enough heat to keep you warm all day!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Alaska
Light weight and very warm! I'm very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: tacoma,washington
I feel this jacket is "Just Right". It keeps me warm and it keeps me from sweating.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Coat

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: North Dakota
The coat is very nice fitting and looking!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks Cool!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the look of this jacket. I got the Dark turkquoise colour. I just wish it had more pockets on the inside. It has a goggle pocket and a mp3 player pocket, could have done with another one for money,cards etc, or cellphone. Could do with a ring or hook to hang my ski pass on. the zips need long tags so they can be opened/closed without taking your gloves off. These are simple things that I was supprised were missing, considering the price. It makes a great casual jacket as well but would be great if you could take off the powder skirt or at least button it out of the way when your not using it. Over all the jacket kept me wonderfuly toasty warm(the underarm vents were great) and is very stylish.(Very Important!) Would love a matching hat!
Activities: Skiing, Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE my new jacket!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: northern vermont
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best coat I have ever had. I just love it. I got the teal color and its so beautiful. I can't say anything bad about it so far so that must be a good sign. I looked at alot of other coats but the material didn't seem as durable as this one which was a big reason for picking this one.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
Well made, very warm, flattering fit, not too puffy. Overall I really like this coat and know I am going to be toasty warm this winter...from the hockey rink to outdoors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Coat, Color Inacurrate

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Washington DC
I found that this coat was quite a bit more green and more truly turquoise (and less dark turquoise) than shown in this picture which makes it look nearly blue. The coat also has kind of a glossy look to it that makes it seem more light in color than this picture. The coat itself fits great, warm, nice features, so I returned this one and exchanged it for the black one.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, IL
I love the fit of this coat. Luckily (or unluckily depending on what you want to be doing) it hasn't been real cold yet to test the OmniHeat. But I know I'll be warm!
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and cute jacket!

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Mn
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket!!! Very warm!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best winter jacket. The sleeves are long enough, the fit is perfect. It is light but still keeps me warm. No "over-stuffed" feeling. Plus it's adorable. I am 5'7" and about 180 lbs. I got the XL size.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ZIPPER PROBLEMS

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Warwick,New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found the jacket of my dreams! It has everything I was looking for, except the zipper. Before I even took the tags off wearing it around the house the zipper broke. Looking at it more closely it's just too small of a zipper for all that bulk. Very disappointed, I was really looking forward to that jacket! Is very toasty!!!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Other
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zipper Issues and too cold

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The zipper gets stuck (not necessarily jammed) on the zipper flap while zipping up the jacket.
Also, the first cold snap just hit and I was expecting to be very warm in this jacket, but I could feel the parts of the cold wind breezing through my jacket, especially through the sleeves.
Activities: Other, Mountain Biking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Jacket!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'8 and 120 lbs and I got the xs. It fits very nice and snug. The sleeves are plenty long enough and I love the thumb holes to keep my wrists warm. This jacket keeps me so warm. Everybody else is shivering and I am nice and toasty in this jacket. I love that I can remove the fur if I want to or I can remove the entire hood, too. There are lots of hidden pockets on the inside so things don't get lost. I am overall very pleased with this jacket and the quality of it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Crowley,Tx
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It came very quickly and is very warm !
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Other
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a few more tweeks could have made it perfect.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Marshall, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am still debating between the Xs and the s. I am 5' 7" and 115lbs. The xs fits so nice and is not bulky, but the arm holes and shoulder area is not spacious enough - armpit area definitely annoyed and for skiing it may become constricting. But the small is too large around the waste so it just feels too big. I just wonder if they actually put xs people in the coats, because the shoulder area should fit, and I don't know of people with smaller arms than I do who are adults. The zipper could be better quality, because if you don't get it snugly at first it sometimes comes undone from the bottom. It is VERY warm, though, Love the hand extensions. But again, it isn't perfect. when I stretch my arms forward like I would skiing where it goes between my thumb and finger there is NO stretch. If it had an extra piece of really stretchy material it would have been much better, because the way it is just makes me hands hurt without the stretch between the very tender area. I will definitely be adding my own piece of extra material there. But yeah, because it's warm enough to ski in all day (haven't tested it I guess, but I did go outside at night in MN and I felt like I could be there all night!) and cute enough to wear everyday, it will have to do! Wish it came in brown, too.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried on 20 Jackets and this is going to be my new Winter jacket

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: SF Bay Area - Tahoe
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I generally do not like puffy jackets when skiing. I am quite fashion conscious but demand the best function of especially my ski jackets. If my ski jacket doesn't have a little ring to attach the glove hook or ski pass, soft fleece at the collar that contacts the face area, or iphone pocket or even faux fur, I will buy the materials at a good sewing store, sew it, "fix it" somehow and make it happen to my clothing as I am quite handy with sewing.
I went to a popular store that had 50 styles of jackets. I tried on 20 of them, really examined all their features and wore each one for at least 5 minutes doing this and that to see how it would work. I could not take this jacket off. It was the warmest even among the down jackets I tried, that Omni heat stuff really does work! Also it is so comfy even with arm movement in the chest and arms, which alot of jackets mess up on. It is so functional, has powder skirt, pit zips to expell excess heat. I think the only things I wish it had was a little pocket containing a goggle wipe cloth on the left sleeve. I love the sleeve ends, the thumb holes create a great secure and comfortable wrist and hand area with velcro closures.
The faux fur on the hood is the best designed trim of any jacket today. It can fold out to be more protective on a windy and snowy day, or be folded back, or completely zipped off as well as the insulated hood altogether. I wish the fur was real fox or coyote.
There is not much that I can tweak on this jacket to make it more perfect.
For me, I was surprised that the XS fit me perfectly, so I think this jacket runs large, with a decent amount of room in the chest. I am 5'5" 120 and usually wear a size 4 jacket because I am a 34D chest and the XS was perfect, the size S was just too huge and sleeves too long.
Also, the price is absolutely a steal for this quality!!
Activities: Skiing, Mountaineering, Snowshoeing, Snowboarding, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around a very nice jacket,well constructed and cool technology.
Activities: Trail, Skiing, Other, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Lay ‘D’ Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty Warm

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice warm winter jacket. I liked that the hood zips on and off. Columbia spent a great deal of attention on the design of this coat. After I received it, I went out and tried on many other brands of comparable coats and nothing came close to quality, look, and feel. Very happy.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next>>