Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket

Columbia Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket

Updated with durable new ripstop fabric, this performance-packed jacket cancels out the cold with a decidedly feminine flourish. It’s Omni-Shield® advanced water repellent and packs extraordinary heat retention thanks to Omni-Heat® thermal insulation and thermal reflective technology.
Overall rating:
4.701 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 144 reviews
5 Stars
118
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
137 out of 141(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite jacket!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is so thin and light weight, but warm and cozy too. The special thermal lining keeps your body heat in and the cold wind out. It is thin and comfortable for everyday active wear.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Paper thin

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I expected this jacket to be a little thicker. I think I can probably wear it for early winter when the temp is in the high 50's but probably not when it's colder.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacing my old coat

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already owned this coat and had finally worn out the elbows. It had white stuffing coming out after several years of owning it. So I finally purchased the exact same one to replace it. I love this coat. I have Raynauld's so love the omni-heat to keep me warm. It can keep me warm without being a big or bulky coat. I can also wear it as a light jacket if needed. I would have loved it in the purple color but only the black was on sale.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Athletic - MUST HAVE..

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Bronx
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm in LUV with this jacket...Great for running!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totes needs a hood

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Tigerville, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was surprised by how light the jacket was, but after wearing it, it is very warm and toasty. I really just wish it had a hood. The tall collar keeps your neck warm, but when it's literally snowing, a hood would be really beneficial. Other than that I LOVE this jacket. *with the size, I bought a small in a Columbia vest, and a small in the jacket and the fit is very similar and both fit ideally.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE this jacket!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Omaha, NE
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical when I bought this jacket because it is so light and I was looking for a warm winter jacket because I like in the midwest and walk outside to get around. I even made sure at the store I bought it if the jacket didn't do all it promised that I could bring it back.
I LOVE this coat! I hate being bundle up and it has no bulk at all. I also wear a backpack and that was another criteria for wanted a coat with little bulk.
This jacket has keep me comfortable in 0 degree weather with hat, gloves and scarf and as comfortable in 30-40 without being too hot. I bought the jacket just a little bit big for me and although I have found it unescessary, I can comfortably layer a fleece under this jacket and BAM!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1chic

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Salem, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This is the second jacket I have purchased, enjoying both. They keeps me warm, sometimes when in a car, too warm. It is light weight, fits perfectly. Would purchase more, but I think 2 are enough.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and VERY warm!

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Reading, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 14 year old daughter wore this jacket while snow tubing in 20 degree weather and it kept her very warm with only a tee shirt underneath. She loves the furry collar against her neck. I chose a medium for her. She is about 5'7" and 110 lbs with a 36" chest. A small would have fit a bit slimmer but she prefers a looser fit. The jacket is very lightweight and thin but very, very warm. I would highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

kaleidaslopeII silver bad luck

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Grayslake, IL, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased 2 of these jackets in a medium one in "black and one in "silver/gray"for my twins for Christmas. The silver colored jacket was much smaller than the gray jacket. The black one is a perfect Medium fit the Silver/gray was skin tight. I had both of the girls try on each color as one twin is slightly bigger. The Silver was tight on both of them. I did call to get a RGA and a return label. Customer service was very pleasant. Unfortunately someone stole the package off the dock at my workplace before it got picked up. (I am furious!) I am however going to order another one. We love Columbia products and this is the first problem we have ever had.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looks and Feel

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality and comfort. Runs a little small, upgraded one size and fits perfectly.
Very light weight but warm. Will use for skiing because of function and fit, with a mid-layer. Will be perfect not bulky, light and trim looking.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Leavenworth, WA 98826, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought when I got the jacket it looked too lightweight for our Leavenworth winters. I wear it on my morning walks...only down to 22 degrees so far and it is keeping me warm and cozy. The slim fit is flattering and I love the Raspberry color. I'm 5'5"and 120 pounds.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKasey
 
Please wait while more information about Kasey is loaded.
Additional information about Kasey could not be loaded.
Size
onJanuary 17, 2015
I am the same size and am looking to get the jacket. What size did you get?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Returned Due to Size

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I am 5'9" 38DD. I'm more of a boxy shape on top. I got a Large because it said it fit 42-45 bust size. It does not. My roommate who is much smaller in bust and more of an hour glass shape couldn't fit into it either. I have no comment on the warmth or quality as I couldn't wear it. Thinking I may try to get an XL or find a comparable men's style.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Louisville, Ky
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love this jacket! Keeps me so warm but I don't look like a marshmallow. I've worn it every day since it came in the mail, just wish I would've gotten it sooner!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket as an add-on to my interchange 3-in-1. I wanted the omni-heat for the coming winter months. The jacket is very comfortable and true to size. The fleece along the neck is nice and soft since that part comes in contact with your face. I ordered the dark raspberry color and I love it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this coat. I like it so much I actually bought two in different colors. It is very lightweight, yet keeps you nice and warm. I love the lining in the sleeves that you can hook on your thumb to keep the coat from creeping up. The coat is attractive enough to wear with nicer clothes or with jeans. I get compliments on it all the time.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaleidaslope jacket

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this jacket in navy for my active 16 year old daughter who is normally hard to please when it comes to clothing. She loves this jacket! It's been warm enough for our cold Wisconsin weather and it's not bulky when driving in the car.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE ~ LOVE ~ LOVE ~ This AWESOME jacket!!!!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Western, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter bought this jacket from a local store & they did not have my size, so luckily Columbia.com DID!!! I wore my this jacket yesterday and I'm THRILLED with it!!! It's light and warm not to mention CUTE! I wish there were more colors available
in my size! This jacket is so versatile I can wear it from church to hit the trail hiking! LOVE this AWESOME jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: North Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I love this jacket! Stylish, warm and light weight!! Does run a bit small though - had to get XL
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly warm for weight and price!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket before a ski trip. It was on sale so I got an excellent price. I was very skeptical of how warm it would be as the material is incredibly lightweigt and the price was much less than other ski jackets I looked at.
It turned out that the 3 days of skiing we did in northern Michigan were in the single digits for temperature. Although I brought extra layers (in case!) I had on only a thermal base layer, a fleece layer and then this jacket. I did have a scarf and head covering too. Amazingly I stayed warm (and I am also a person that gets cold easily). I also got compliments on the appearance of the jacket.
I gave it 4 stars for quality only because I have had it just a week so I don't feel I can give it an "excellent" until I see how it holds up. I think the size was true for me (small) as I was able to layer under it and still have unrestricted movement. I do wish the sleeves were just a little bit longer but as I have longer arms than average I didn't mark it down for that. I used the thumb holes but they do get a little tight and uncomfortable after wearing all day (I have this problem with other products with thumb holes too).
Although the days I used the jacked were very cold, there was little wind. At times there were a few gusts and it seemed to block the wind but I would need more use in windy conditions to adequately assess how it performed.
Overall a great jacket, I think it will be a favorite!
I would recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my daughter lives in it - warm enough outside in MI, somehow not too hot for brief trips inside. lightweight yet WARM. my other daughter wants one!! great value
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>