Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench

Columbia Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench

A classic trench with high-tech, weather-ready upgrades. All the timeless trench details are there: belted waist, button front and adjustable button-tab cuffs.
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
32 out of 37(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Review 1 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coat ever!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
pjgris
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a coat that was warm enough for northern Ohio winters, but professional looking to wear to work. This coat is perfect! Plenty warm with the Omni-heat inside, hidden zipper, and removable hood and very classic look with the buttons and belt. The length is perfect for business attire underneath. Many small features, like a small hidden zipper pocket in the left sleeve, make it extremely functional as well as beautiful! Rain and stain resistent, too. I love this coat!
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Am I missing something?

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ewka
Location: Washington DC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very excited to get this coat, I like the fabric and design-very stylish...BUT when I wore it on a 45 degree day I FROZE. So cold! How is this a winter jacket?! Am I missing a layer? I can't return it since I wore it and removed the tags, but I am worried about how I'm going to make it through the winter. I read the reviews before I purchased it, and everyone stated how it is so warm. WHAT?!
Cold and Disappointed!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful coat!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ksee
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the material and the fact that it has a hood..I would recommend this coat to anyone who is looking for a comfy, flattering, warm winter coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
gemini40
Location: Calumet,MI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat to wear over my dressier work attire, something that was long enough to wear with a skirt or dress, be stylish but warm enough for our cold UP winters. We've already had snow and 3o degree weather and this coat did not disappoint! I'm curious to see how warm it is when the weather gets real cold but for now, I'll give it 5 stars! The only thing that I would change? The hood is entirely too big and you have to hold it closed. Otherwise, a great coat!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdrenalineRush
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having purchased this item at half price, I am thrilled with the value for my money. I strongly feel this coat would be worth the full value as it is very well constructed and thoughtfully designed.
The only reason I am giving this a 4-star rating is because I am not convinced it will outlast Thunder Bay, Ontario winters. South of this, I would have no concerns.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great trench coat for bicycling

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
dorisp32
Location: Philadlephia, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great trench for urban bicycling in cold weather. A hood is necessary but you also have the style of a trench coat.
All items I purchased from Columbia Sportswear are very comfortable.I have some reservations about how the poly shell will wear.
Some of my Columbia Sportswear made of synthetic fabrics form "poly balls" limiting their usefulness as work wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!!!!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
knossar
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my trench and I love it: warm, elegant, ideal for a formal wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Construction is weird

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
AndiS
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I'd say the design concept was far better than the execution with this jacket. The twill fabric is pretty nice looking though it will attract lint, and the fit in the upper body is quite flattering. However, something is very wrong with the front seaming, which causes the lap area to look puckery and poofy, so that throws the whole look off and makes it look cheap. I thought it might be the lining that was causing it and was hoping if I just detached it at the bottom hem, it would fix the problem. But on closer inspection, the lining is fine. The problem is definitely in the front seams and around the pockets, as though the stitch/thread tension was too taut and that caused all the front seams to pucker. Also, it is surprisingly heavy, so for traveling it would have to be worn and not packed if you're trying to keep luggage weight down. It is heavy to carry over the arm, too, which would be a deterrent for me when I'm out all day and not sure I'd want to keep the jacket on if the weather warms up or I'm indoors (like in a museum.) Not an issue though since it is going back for a refund.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with the quality, features and overall look of this coat

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anita88
Location: Edelstein, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I could hardly wait to get this coat, and when I did, it was BEAUTIFUL! I got the oyster plaid. The workmanship was outstanding. My problem with it was that I should have followed my instinct and gotten a L. I followed the reviews and got a M. I am 49, 5'6" tall and weigh 150, and wear M clothes. I tend toward larger outerwear for roominess. I am broad shouldered, long armed and long waisted. It was tight through the shoulders and the belt was too high. I am ordering a size up and can hardly wait until it comes in again! I was very impressed with the look and feel of the coat. The fabric is not slicky, which is a big plus. I will update when I get my replacement.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anita88
Edelstein, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Anita88 is loaded.
Additional information about Anita88 could not be loaded.
Update 8/7/13
Posted August 8, 2013
I got my replacement coat already, just 6 days after the 1st coat. I returned a M for a L and it. is. PERFECT. Room to move, sleeves long enough, won't feel like the Hulk when I raise my arms, belt at just the right level. I am (almost) looking forward to winter now.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
GmaKit
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoy everything about this coat. The only drawback is that one of the buttons is poorly connected and I am going to have to repair it myself.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bullet proof

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Xuxan
Location: PDX
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wear this coat downtown on a cold rainy day and you're bullet proof. Light weight, fashionable, this coat keeps out the bad weather without making you look like an arctic explorer.
The coat fits great, allows comfortable movement in all directions, and performs as advertised.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite coat!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
jeano
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this coat - warm and fashionable. This will replace my other wool coats, because it is much warmer. Also, because it is hooded it is good for winter wear in the Pacific NW. The Omni-heat liner is a must have! What a great design by Columbia!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish and warm

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mmmtm
Location: Mpls, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this coat. It is stylish - a perfect length for me. And it is warm but not bulky. Sleeve runs a bit long for me, but that is no one's fault and doesn't bother me!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful coat

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ttiigeerr
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been wanting this coat since the previous season & I finally purchased it & it has worked out well.
I wanted another nice coat to wear with dressier clothes for church & dates with my husband. This has completely fulfilled that desire. It looks nice enough with dressier clothes as well as a everyday jacket if I wanted to use it that way.
The sleeves are a little long but I'm 5ft 4in & I'm a little short in the arms but it keeps me warm & doesn't bother me too much. Also, I'm a small in most clothes but the coat is a little big around the waist but that allows for layers & it also has a belt to cinch it in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dress it up or dress it down - form & function!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat! Dress it up or dress it down - form & function! Live in Chicago. I wear it to/from work, special occasions and just out and about. Omni heat works great, its nice and warm when you need it and cooler when you need it. I'm 5'6", 140 lbs and it fits great everywhere, can move well in it. Adjustable/removable hood is great, sleeve length great, coat length great, protects from the wind, collar is high enough to protect the neck (no scarf needed - could use a thin neck gator if needed), pockets are nice and big, color (black) great, outer fabric/shell is good quality - no pilling. I am extremely sensitive to wool and wool-like fabric (iches like crazy!) so I wish there was a softer fabric around the inside of the collar; that said, I still find it comfortable. :) Wish it was a little lighter in weight - just a little. Wish there was an inside zipper pocket and an outside Napolean pocket instead of the sleeve pocket but maybe it will just take some more getting used to. Also, wish the internal iPod pocket was higher (or there was a Napolean pocket) as unzipping 1/2 way down to get to it is inconvenient and sometimes cold. Last wish, don't mind the double-loop belt but would have preferred the prong type. Have not worn it in wet weather (snow or rain) yet so no comment on that. Nitpicking aside, I really like this coat. I am a tough critic and I would/will buy this coat again. Best all around - really!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor quality on button attachment

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Avid60model
Location: Vancouver WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, I like the look, ware-ability, and warmth of the jacket. However, I was deeply disappointed that several of the buttons began to fall off within the first three days of use.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

professional,classy yet functional !

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
raj16
Location: beaverton
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my daughter loves this coat..!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricy but I really like it.

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ARL24
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splurged on this coat. Very warm and fits well. Looks professional and can be casual.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mittens
Location: Fl
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the red one based on others comments. It's pretty. I tried once and it made me pretty warm. ;) I give a four star for function since I didn't try it in cold winter yet. I will travel to Seattle next week and I will see how it works. Anyway, I recommend this coat!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Zenith Vista™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the city

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jingrbread
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for NYC.Keeps you very warm without having to wear bulky layers but you aren't sweating either. Hood is very functional; never fell off my head, even during windy days. I'm 5'3", 120 lbs and the small size is a little large.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>