Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket

Columbia Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket

Both wet stopping and thermal regulating, this svelte Omni-Heat® jacket packs a huge performance punch at a nice price.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
18 out of 24(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: stillwater, oklahoma
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product for the price. Light and thin but the omni-heat technology really does keep you warm. Doesn't do an amazing job blocking wind though, in my opinion.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: Windy
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bycolumbiareview
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about columbiareview is loaded.
Additional information about columbiareview could not be loaded.
So far so good
onApril 15, 2012
Since I purchased, I have only used it in one light drizzle. It wasn't very cold but I'm not so sure this would be very helpful torwards wind and chilly temps by itself. For me personally that isn't an issue because I purchased it specifically to protect against rain and snow over my columbia fleece. It did however work well against the rain, and left me feeling completely dry instead of feeling like a wet sponge with just my fleece. I was leery about the price because it was double the price of some of their more simple rain shells but I bit the bullet, got it, and after a rain test, I don't regret my purchase. Stitching is done well and it is more sturdy than some of their other simple rain coats, but it still folds up pretty small. It has velcro on the wrists to tighten, which is both a pro and a con (I think velcro is faster and more of a personalized fit, but it doesn't last as long as I think snaps or the drawstrings do). It has two outside zip pockets to keep things dry, one inside velcro quick access pocket and the drawstring waist to hold in heat and keep air out which are musts for me. The hood was also a good size, it kept rain from falling on my face. The hood has a velcro adjustion on the outside for personal fit AND a drawstring on the inside of the hood to tighten it around your face so it doesn't blow off in wind. Recently while playing with it on my lap I found it has arm pit zips as well! Which I will be so excited to use when snowboarding next winter. It had everything I was wanting and more that I didn't even find until after I bought the jacket. I think it will last me many years. I would recomend this jacket even at full price.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket EVER

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True to fit, I'm about 5'4 and weigh in at 110, fits great with room to wiggle! I ride horses and was looking for a nice warm jacket that was thin enough that I'd still have full range of moving with out feeling confined or weighed down. Because I live in the mountains, I go trail riding in ALL seasons. I'm actually excited for winter to try this sucker out! Perfect jacket! The green is so vibrant, and no dog hair! Ahh! So perfect! This is the perfect jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bycherinicole418
 
Please wait while more information about cherinicole418 is loaded.
Additional information about cherinicole418 could not be loaded.
Sizing
onJune 11, 2012
Hi, what size did you order?? You mentioned your measurements, but I was wondering what size fits your measurements. Thanks!
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only One Problem

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket has been fantastic in the cold and light rain. However, I just took it with me on a trip to Orlando. It rained the entire time, but I thought I'd be safe in this jacket. This was not the case. I stood in fairly heavy rain for a little less than an hour one day and when I took it off my shirt was drenched, especially around the seams. My shoulder blades and arms got the worst of it. I thought that a jacket from such a reputable brand would perform better, but I was mistaken.
I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Size ran small, didn't keep warm at all

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bloomington, IN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was extremely disappointed. This jacket ran small, could barely get it zipped. I wore this on a cooler day, 40 degrees, and it was not warm at all!!!!! I wish I could return it,but I have already removed the tags. I'm not only disappointed, I'm disgusted!!
I do not recommend this product.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket that has the techonolgy to keep you warm, dry and comfortable yet it is extremely lightweight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice looking jacket

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love the Hot Thought jacket I bought. It looks great on. The price was a bit higher in price than I would normally pay for a light jacket like this, but I'm very satisfied with the look, feel and functionality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right weight

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for day to day in the wet in the Northwest. Heat reflection technology keeps the jacket light while keeping me warm. So far, so good.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Jacket

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Costa Mesa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needed a jacket for sailing, water spray and wind and thought it worked great for morning launches into the day.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product Defective

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The seam attaching the zipper to the jacket comes apart. This happened to the first Hot Thought jacket I bought after only owning it for a couple months. I sent that one to be replaced. Two moths later I received a new Hot Thought jacket, though unfortunately no longer available in the color I originally bought. I have had the replacement jacket for only about a month and have only worn it a couple times, but sure enough, the seam next to the zipper ripped apart - same as last time. Not sure it is worth the time and effort to mail it back to Columbia again. This one will probably just end up at Goodwill.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is really a great, light and confortable jacket! I recommend this product, it really keeps you warm.
The only drawback: the zipper, it is very tough to open and close it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not So Hot

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Green Bay, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really like the Hot Thought jacket, however it is not as warm as I was anticipating. It's great in that it is light weight and a good wind block, but it's only November, and I'm concerned that this jacket won't stand up to the long, cold Wisconsin winter ahead of me. With a sweatshirt or a few layers underneath, I think I will be fine, but the jacket is not enough on its own to keep me warm.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Northwest rain jacket

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I saw this jacket at the Columbia outlet store for a great price, so I had to buy it. I've worn it all day in the rain, with baselayer and tshirt underneath, and it kept me warm and dry in 45 degree weather. It's still roomy enough to fit a thinner jacket or sweater underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good against wind, bad for cold weather

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I expected a jacket that would help me with the cold weather with a comfortable light material. The material is actually light but you need more warm clothing inside to stay warm.
Not what I expected.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hot Thought

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket. It really does conform to your body temp. I have worn as an outer layer and by itself. It does run a little small, I usually fit XS but I got a S and it fits great.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the Omni Heat lining in my jacket

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Carlisle PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We discovered the value of Omni Heat lining comfort by accident in gloves. I have recently ordered jackets for myself and husband. We ride a Harley D, and this is a comfortable and lightweight jacket to wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and Warm

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Carmel, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased for my Granddaughter who is in College. Great design, easy to drive and get around in. Can fit in your purse if you get too warm!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute jacket but not spectacular

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: philadelphia, pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I usually love Columbia products. Typically they are of great quality but recently I have been disappointed with my purchases. The zippers seem to be flimsy and get caught pretty easily. This jacket is definitely waterproof and super cute but it isn't insulated so when the top layer gets weighed down with rain, you skin is cold, despite the omni heat lining. I ended up returning this item.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

well made

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket is well made. However it runs small enough that I can't add a fleece under it, so it is not great for warmth. I love the style and the color, so I am keeping it for the midseason weather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Oxford, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket to have for rainy days at work, and I'm glad I picked this one. It's waterproof, wind proof, and warm. The thermal lining is soft on the skin, not sticky like most rain jackets. It runs a little small. I would typically wear a medium, but saw that others had said it ran small so I bought a large. I'm glad I did, I can just barely wear a fleece underneath when I need some extra warmth. I would say it is warm enough on its own down to about 45 degrees, then you need another layer.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice for Spring and Fall

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a school teacher and needed a new jacket for outside duties.The jacket is nice and light, waterproof....but the thermal lining did not keep me as warm as I had hoped, while wearing my professional attire of blouse and cardigan. The jacket was helpful against the wind, but the hood was a bit cumbersome in keeping it on my head. I could only think while standing outside, cold that this jacket is would be best for hiking trails on a rainy afternoon spring/fall time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>