Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s The Compounder™ Shell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s The Compounder™ Shell

Big time big mountain protection in a low-profile shell that packs easily and weighs next to nothing . The 2.5 layer construction features our ultrabreathable, fully seam-sealed Omni-Dry® technology for the ultimate in protection and comfort during high-octane adventures.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Review 1 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight and multipurpose

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
BlueTree
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was surprised how well the reflective inner quality kept my heat in, making it as warm as waterproof jackets I've had in the past that weighed 2 x + what this coat weighed. I've only had it a month, so can't rate durability/ longevity, but seems solid. I've worn it in a downpour w/ great results, and in cold windy seattle weather and stayed cozy w/ a fleece layer underneath. The price is great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Wind and Rain

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Katherine351
Location: Lopez Island, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live out in the San Juan Islands and this coat has been a great addition. It is light but also keeps me warm with just a light sweater underneath. Keeps the wind and rain out and I love the fact it is so light weight great coat for Spring it might be too light for fall or winter. Overall nice coat great quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This products has great features

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Jam1
Location: Syracuse, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My experience with Columbia and their products has been great. I had an issue with one of their products, it was taken seriously and resolved in a timely manner. This coat, is a great coat. Being in the Northeast, you never know what the weather is going to do. I am warm in this coat even if I have something lightweight on. It whisks away the snow and rain nicely. No more balk for me! I would recommend this coat to anyone. Love that it has lots of pockets to, never to many for me! I have gotten lots of complements on this coat. 5 stars.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for layering!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Brookedc15
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is just the thing I've needed for all these years living in the PNW! It's quality and function are excellent and finally I have a winter rain coat that I can layer underneath and a spring rain coat that has more weight and thickness than a plastic bag. I'm very happy to finally have a coat that gives me year round rain protection. Th one thing to note is I purposely bought a large for layering purposes and I am usually wear a small sometimes medium and this large almost fits me perfectly so perhaps order larger than you think.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome coat!

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
kap627
Location: Longmire, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket!!! I purchased it in Black, and not only is it very waterproof, but its super slimming as well. Very happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Casscm
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Chartreuse color in this jacket because I wanted something brighter since I walk home from work in the dark. I was very happy with the fit after using the draw cords to adjust the waistline, it fits perfectly snug around my hips and doesn't scrunch up like other jackets I have tried. I live in Portland and it rains a lot, so this jacket has come in handy this time of year, the water just rolls right off. I also love that the hood has velcro so you can adjust it along with more draw cords to cover your face away from wind.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stylish and utilitarian at the same time

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
vegimoto
Location: Ashburn, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket while on vacation in Seattle. At first I was hesitant to buy this because of the price. However, I got this in the black/grey version so it will still be stylish years from now. At first the zipper is a little hard to get going, but I was assured by the sales person that it will break in after a few uses. Its a little tight because the zipper is watertight.
Yep, sure enough, the zipper is getting easier to zip up as I wear it more. Its amazing how much this thin shell keeps out the wind (not just the rain). It fits very nicely. I wear an XS, and it feels feminine and figure flattering.
I'm trying to find every excuse to wear this now that the weather is getting cooler..I love it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best rain jacket ever? I think yes.

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
KatieB
Location: On The Road, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Frankly, I've never owned a dry shell before - which means I've spent a lot of my adventures sopping wet. The Compounder shell was a total game changer for me. Living in the southeast, I experience a lot of rainy days, and this shell has saved me on multiple occasions.
The 'dry' component of this jacket is 100% effective. You stay dry, bottom line. The jacket fits perfectly, which is a big deal for a tiny gal who is used to swimming in her outerwear.
I also really love how well you can fold up the Compounder. Perfect for shoving into the bottom of your pack, just in case. It shrinks down small, which is a big plus since I hate carrying bulky jackets around.
Isn't the best at keeping you warm if it's very cold outside, but that's not what this jacket is made for!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It arrived just in time

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
stormyG
Location: Marysville Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
the day my gear arrived it was pouring down rain. The wind was blowing and the amount of rain coming down was unbelievable. I wore my new outer shell jacket and it was perfect. It kept me dry and the wind didn't bother me a bit. The fit was unbelievable and I had no problem with movements and touching up against things didn't cause my new jacket to suddenly stop being water proof. I highly recommend one if you live in a place like I do. As I am sure everyone is aware of how much rain we can get here in the Seattle area. I can't say enough about how happy I am with my new jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.