Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket

Columbia Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket

Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.254 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
50 out of 56(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dusk2Dawn Jacket A Winner

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Great looking jacket with Omni Heat plus a hood! Bought it in the navy plaid which is more subtle than the white/black. Cuffs are adjustable so you can fit them around the wrist. Hood doesn't puff out the back and lies flat against the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLmarie
Chicago
 
Please wait while more information about Lmarie is loaded.
Additional information about Lmarie could not be loaded.
Nice coat
onMarch 28, 2012
Been wanting this coat and bought it last night. I am cold most of the time and walk alot in Chicago. The coat looks great on. I am small and the XS fits good and I could layer if I wanted too. This can be worn with jeans and dress pants. I bought the grey plaid. looking forward to next years color. AS far as the sleeves, they are long but the snaps around the wrist fix that issue for me.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this Jacket

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
I purchased this jacket about a week ago and I get compliments every time I wear it. The jacket is fitted and flattering but I don't think I could fit a bulky sweater underneath it. I ordered a small and am 5'8" and 125 lbs. The sleeves are a little on the long side. Other than that, I love it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect Oregon jacket

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Just love this. I'm so glad I bought it. The hood is awesome--great coverage, and I have a big head:) Coat is so cute and perfect for work or play. Great length, weight, and the omni heat lining is amazing. I will wear this all the time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's great but not for a Chicago winter

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat runs a little small in the hips. It has no lining other then the omni heat liner. If you are a warm person your own body heat might be enough I need more then this coat provides. I assumed at 225.00 it would be a winter coat. I was able to go to the Columbia store and find the perfect coat for me instead.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byksnellen12
 
Please wait while more information about ksnellen12 is loaded.
Additional information about ksnellen12 could not be loaded.
onNovember 6, 2012
What did you buy instead?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not warm enough for a cold winter

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Arlington, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I get compliments on this coat all the time -- it looks great on. I like the longer length (hits at mid-thigh) and the dark plaid is subtle and stylish. This was my first purchase of Omni Heat, and I must admit I am disappointed. I thought it would be warm enough for the full-on winter, but I don’t think it will. I live in Virginia, so it doesn’t get too cold here, but it definitely gets cold enough! It is, however, perfect for the rain.
PROS: Stylish, waterproof
CONS: Sleeves a little too long, zipper hard to get up, not suitable for very cold days
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excllent fit and super warm

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this jacket has been amazing in both wet and cold temperatures. this is the best winter coat i have ever purchased.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sleeves too long

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this coat was made of lovely fabric, pattern, function - but I showed it to several people around my same size and we all agreed that the SLEEVES ARE EXTRAORDINARILY LONG, LONG, LONG. way out of proportion for my long arms. had to return the coat. return service in the store was very good. While in the store, I tried on the other color - same sleeve cut. another product purchased for my daughter in a different size also had long sleeves. not sure how you think average people are built!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket for Portland's fall/winter/spring seasons. I am 5'9, 135 lbs and the small is a perfect fit. Great length, fitted waist with nice long sleeves.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a present for my daughter. She absolutely L OVES it!
She is inside and outside a lot in her job. She says it keeps her wondefully dry, looks very stylish, and keeps her the right temperature regardless of where she is. We would definitely recommend it!
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: minneapolis, Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs very small, should have two way zipper. only works from top down.
Had several people try on, too small.
Minnesota winters are harsh, need to layer, no room for vest or sweater underneath.
Conditions: Snowy
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coat ever

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I walk 3 miles to work daily and I live in snow country. I wanted a coat that was both stylish and functional. This coat is gorgeous and weather resistant. The black plaid is stylish and sophistocated and the omni heat keeps me warm and dry without the need of extra clothing. I like the fit, roomy enough but still slimming. and the longer length is perfect as a townie coat. I wouldnt mind another inner pocket. but the one I do have fits my iPod nicely.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

dusk2down

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Exeter
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All columbia products are the best quality out there, UNSURPASSED. This coat is top quality and very functional. Gorgeous design.
I just did not want to return it but I had estimates done to have the sleeves hemmed and it was not worth it to me.
I LOVE THIS COAT. The sleeves were exceptionally long but I think the quality of Columbia is unsurpassed.
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal for Wet Weather

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am extremely pleased with this coat. The deep adjustable hood and the length were big selling points for me. The fabric is lovely, and of course repels water as advertised.
I wanted to clarify a few things from previous reviews for those who like to shop online (like I do).
As mentioned already, this is an ideal coat for the Pacific Northwest, and I will get three seasons of wear out of it. It is functional enough for walking the dog in a downpour, and looks sharp enough to wear as a dress coat. I do not think it would be a good winter coat in a colder climate.
The zipper is very stiff (as mentioned) but I remedied that with a little face powder on the catch (or parafin or whatever trick you prefer would work). It DOES zip from the bottom as well.
It is true that the sleeves are long, but have snap adjustments so that they don't hang over your hands if you don't want them to. If you want a sleeve that ends at the wrist, you will likely not like this. Personally I prefer very long sleeves that go over the tops of my hands, so this was perfect for protecting my clothes.
Finally, I was a bit concerned after reading reviews that I would not be able to wear it over a winter sweater. I ordered medium (I am 5'8", 135 lbs, and I am not very curvy), and it fits beautifully even over my heaviest sweater. That said, it is a fitted coat, and not designed to layer a bunch of fleeces or sweaters under (which I guess is what others were attempting to do), but it should fit fine over your regular clothing.
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and very functional. The length worried me at first as if I wouldn't be able to bend down or squat to get at my children's level to assist them, but it has great stretch in it.
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too small

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: montana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I returned the item as it was much too small (large usually always fits fine).
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wisconsin Commuter

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this jacket for everyday use for my commute to and from work in Wisconsin. So far, it's been about 50 degrees outside and the jacket has kept me warm when I have a long sleeved shirt on underneath. The quality of materials is superb. My only grumbles are that the zipper can be a bit sticky (because it is lined with wet suit like material) and the sleeves could be a tad shorter. Overall, I love the functionality and the A-Line shape of this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE this jacket! it is stylish, yet practical. I love the fact that the sleeves are very long; I am 5'6.5" tall, and have had a difficult time finding coats with sleeves that are long enough. The only criticism I have is that this coat runs small. The waist area is somewhat fitted, and while I normally would get a large, ( which I initially ordered and had to return), I had to get an XL. the zipper is a little hard to pull up, but I think that is due to it being waterproof. This is not a heavy winter jacket; more of fall/spring raincoat.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fashion and Function

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket for it's looks and purpose. It's definitely waterproof and also offers a special built-in lining for insulation.
My only suggestion to consider is regarding size. I'm typically a small but I bought a medium. The small was a bit too fitting and I couldn't wear a light sweater underneath. I think it's because it's tapered at the waist. Anyway, the medium allows a bit more room for versatility with clothes and works great. I'm 5' 5" 135lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best raincoat ever.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat. We live in Portland, and it seems like the other reviewers from Portland said the same. I never fail to get a compliment when I am wearing it- people always seem jealous that they don't have one. I don't think it runs small, infact, I tend to buy larger coats just to have more room, but I bought this in a medium which is probably my usual size, and it fits perfectly. (5'5" and 137#) I couldn't remember if the sleeves were too long, so I just went to go try it on. Yes, the sleeves are long- but I've had this coat for nearly a year, and I had to go verify that, so obviously it's not a problem. In fact, it keeps my hands dry and warm; absolutely not an issue. It is FITTED, but has great lines and is absolutely waterproof. I love it. It dresses up well. I've lived in the Midwest and suffered through many winters there- it is not warm enough for that, but it's perfect for Portland.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute and Functional

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. The flattering A-line style is perfect for casual or dress. The darker color make it look a bit more dressy. Having a hood is great for a sudden downpour! The only thing about this jacket that is not perfect is that the sleeve length is quite long.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>