Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket

Columbia Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket

For daytime excursions or a night on the town, the Dusk2Dawn offers waterproof protection and loads of plaid attitude.
Overall rating:
4.241 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
49 out of 55(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dry and Happy In the Rain

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Martha15
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket on line and got it just a few days later.
It fits well and it's warm.
I get many complements and am very happy I made this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new rain jacket

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
2animals
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great & great looking rain coat. I particularly like the longer length. I look forward to experiencing the reflective material & its warmth. It is certainly interesting looking when you see the inside. I see people notice it. Zipper is v. impressive. And the price is the icing on the cake..
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great spring coat

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Indigo
Location: Portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is just right for spring in Oregon. Waterproof and just right weight for spring.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fabric is pilling

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
agoodday
Location: Pacific Northwest
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket about a month ago in the gray color. It is very cute style, does run a bit small and initially I couldn't have been happier with the jacket. Great functionality. HOWEVER, the fabric began pilling, first where the seat belt fits across my lap and side and then other areas--I expected more as I have other Columbia coats that still look new even after years of outdoor activity. I plan to call and ask for an exchange if other colors/fabrics are holding up better.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket for sale price!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
LAnderson
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket does run small but the material is stretchy. It's like wearing a dress not a jacket. The zipper seems a little flimsy so I hope it holds up. You know that feeling when you sit on a leather couch? That's what it feels like putting the jacket on. It takes some getting used to. Takes a few minutes for it to warm up. I would not pay retail price for this jacket. Overall I am happy with my purchase and enjoy the jacket, it’s cute.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great coat, color is a bit dull

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luisa
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this coat in the black plaid and it arrived in the grey. I later learned that there was a coding mix-up and that the black plaid was no longer available but the gray was. The rep that I contacted was very helpful so no real problems there. The arms are crazy long..... that is a bit of a problem. The sizing is very small. Order up at least one size. The coat hangs very well and is very attractive in its cut. The features are great and I think it will serve me well for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a winter coat

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
oreas
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With its $250 price (one of the most expensive one) I thought it was a very good winter jacket but it is not. It can be worn in 3 season, to be honest it is not logical to wear it in weather conditions under 0 Celsius. I believe it is a perfect fall or spring jacket though.
I need to say that, I have the black plaid but it is not black, it is truly grey. I liked the color i didn't send it back but it is not black.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Incorrect color and style

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
JamesDatCA
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this jacket for my wife to surprise her as I haven't been able to get her anything for her birthday and Christmas. I paid for the fastest shipping, sadly, the jacket we received is not black, also the plaid part is no where to found on the jacket. Horribly disappointed at Columbia's ordering system.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For now great jacket

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Johanna2014
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat to a trip so I have not use it yet in winter time. I usually wear a size 6 and bought the medium. It seems to fit fine except the sleeves are a little long. It's a very light weight. The black one is not really black but dark grey anyway is a beautiful color. Let me try the coat on vacations and I will let you know..... I will be back.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Absolutely wonderful product... until the zipper broke

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely loved this coat. I have it in the grape color from last season. I love the length, the fit and that it is extremely waterproof. It is perfect for walking the dog in the Portland downpours. The hood is quite large so it covers more of my head than any raincoat I've ever had and the cinch mechanism around the hood works well. I also love the fact the omni heat lining; it keeps me warm, even in the winter rain. The overall quality of the material is very high (except for the zipper).
It was literally my favorite item of clothing ever purchased from Columbia, and my favorite jacket... that is until recently when the zipper broke at the bottom. The metal piece came off of the teeth at the bottom. Now the coat is essentially useless. For such a high-priced item and at only about a year's worth of use, I would have expected it to last a lot longer. I think it's because the waterproof zipper, while nice because it doesn't let any water through, is so much less flexible than a normal zipper that it couldn't take the wear and tear of use. I am really very upset about it breaking because it is now just an expensive waterproof hooded cape. I am going to see if I can perhaps get the zipper replaced under warranty, but we'll see. They might consider that 'normal wear and tear'. However, I've never had a zipper break on a coat that wasn't at least many many years old. I am torn about the rating... I would have given it 5 stars without the zipper issue. If you don't wear the coat much then I'm guessing it would last a while, but if you love it as much as I did, it's not worth the purchase just to have it last only one year.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too cold for winter

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
valentine
Location: boston
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was expecting a nice winter jacket to use in boston, but this product is a great jacket for spring and autumn. I tried it at 25degrees and I was super cold. It is a pretty model but not for boston winter. I send it back.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Form and function

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
MelanieInPDX
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat so very much. The texture of the material is soft, you would not guess it is waterproof, but it absolutely is. I'm not sure that the Omni-Heat adds much warmth, but I got the coat in a size roomy enough to add a layer of warmth. I am 5'3", 125lbs, 34B and a small is perfect. Looks good alone or with a long-sleeve shirt and fleece underneath. Very flattering cut. Quality seems exceptional, I could see wearing this jacket for many years.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Tall Girls too!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
judypal
Location: Rainy Vancouver, Canada
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 6'1" and 155 lbs (size8-10, broad shoulders) with very long arms and the sleeve length is amazing! Even a bit long but would never say its a problem. Those girls with shorter arms can always take it up a bit. I ordered a Large (I am generally a Medium elsewhere but at Columbia I am a Large in tops) and the fit is perfect although on the slimmer side. The coat is cut beautifully with a slight 'A' line and very flattering. The fabric isn't 'noisy' when you walk and doesn't look waterproof but it is. I have tested it in torrential rain!!! My ONLY complaint is that the plaid fabric should have been cut to match up the plaid pattern at least on the front of the coat. I have been a sewer for years and that small extra attention to detail would have been justified at the $250 retail price on this item. Would LOVE to see this same exact coat in some classic solid colours like, BROWN, TAN, NAVY, KHAKI, etc. Thank you Columbia for this great coat!! Would also LOVE to see more TALL lengths in active rain/ski pants ---34" or even 36" inseams!! THANKS!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ann48
Location: Albany, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket was an exchange for my first coat with a faulty zipper. This one however is perfect…zipper works great. I love the fitted style and long sleeves (as I'm 5'11"). Excellent choice if you want a versatile coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wheather proof, warm but not hot, and very flattering

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jkatajisto
Location: Cambridge, MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I'm so very pleased with this purchase. I'm 5' 8" and about 140 lb and size M fits very nicely. It leaves room for layering, and the waist is quite loose, but still the cut is so nice that it looks very flattering (normally size M in Columbia is way too big for me from the waist, but otherwise almost short...). The length of the sleeves is perfect for actually moving(!): lifting your kid and biking... So far it has proven to be water resistant, and also very easy to clean from sand and dust. Material feels good, and yes, the zip is super tight, but many water proof zips are, and it has been functioning well (I like that it works both ends). I haven't been using the jacket during real winter time, but for cold spring winds it's perfect and it feels quite same whether it is cold or warm outside so it also breaths well. Btw, I ordered color Collegiate Navy and it was exactly as pictured, light blue-gray background with navy plaid.I'm giving 4/5 cause the zip could be easier and the waist line could be little bit mote tight, but I'm rarely as happy about my purchases that I'm with this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dusk2Dawn

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynnebee
Location: Beaverton oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't know why they call this coat navy because it's a purple coat, no navy at all. I usually wear a size 6 and bought the medium. It seems to fit fine except the sleeves are very long. It's a very warm coat but very light weight. I would recommend this coat to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ananaries
Location: Bx NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased to have purchased this product. I just received it but have gotten compliments already. It kept me warm and dry during 30 degree temperatures.
It fits a little snug but comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable Simple Rain jacket

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
JEngel
Location: Arcata, Ca
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A simple jacket for chilly days, It has some type of thermal heat trapping layer inside, but it isn't too bulky or removable. The jacket is thin and stiff material, not too cuddly, but good for getting through the windy day! Wish they sold a fashionable matching cap!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great except zipper

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdaE
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Attractive jacket. Good in the rain of course! The zipper is small and very stiff. Hard to get the zipper to move!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Dusk2Dawn™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no bulk jacket with great long sleeves

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
greenT
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for a day of going inside and outside. keeps me warm in Michigan winter down to the 20s but not warm enough to walk the dog in 10 degree weather. I've worn it to the movies and was warm enough to walk into the theater at 18 degrees, yet cool enough to keep it on during the movie (loosened sleeves and unzipped). I guess that means it breathes well.
I keep a silk scarf with it to wrap my neck under the jacket. I also like layering it with a hoodie and having a double hood over my head.
The hood snorkels a bit when zipped all the way (a feature I will appreciate in the rain). When zipped just to the neck the hood is a bit large and droops over my eyes. It's too fussy to push it back only to have it fall forward again so I often wear the hood like a giant turtle neck. I may try folding it under like the sleeves.
The sleeves are indeed long. They cover the palms of my hands. If I want them shorter I roll them under (not over like cuffs) or push them up. Most of the time I like them covering my hands.
I bought size XL. My clothing size is 18. Fits fine. It is form fitting not baggy. I zip up from the bottom when I drive to keep it from tugging. I expect it to be more layer-able as I continue to lose weight.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next>>