Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket

A pro out in the wilderness, and no stranger to a cold-weather day in the city, the Trailbreaker™ is a winner in any setting. No matter where your trail takes, this coat will keep you dry, comfortable and looking the part.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
21 out of 23(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
The jacket is great! I love it and it fits perfect to size.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not true to size

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket was not true to size. Had I known it runs small I would have ordered differently and not wasted the shipping fees.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Albany Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this primarily for the waterproof quality. My job takes me outside back and forth between two buildings and I needed something to keep me dry without the heat and bulk of a heavy coat. This works great.
The one caution about the fit would be that I don't think this style would work well on a short, wide frame even though the shape is flattering.
Activities: Snowboarding
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh Well

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
I returned the jacket as I had thought I was ordering a jacket worthy of winter wear. It was a great jacket though.
Maybe you should add temperature guides to your products, it would save on expensive returns. What ever happened to winter jackets like the Pacific Trail fleece lined coat that I would dearly love to replicate as this one is getting old? If something ain't broke, why fix it? because nothing comes close to this old coat of mine. Oh well.
I will tell you that your customer service personnel are great and I had a fun chat with a a great guy who actually knew where I live( on the eastern edge of America) and had actually seen the History Channel program about the Old Sow Whirlpool here in Eastport,Maine that my honey actually went in and came out again to tell the tale. In fact if you could come up with a coat that would satisfy the winter requirements of Eastport, Maine "The Old Sow' would be a great name for it!
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bellingham, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket online and was a little hesitant due to the fact that I don't usually order via the internet, but this item is great. I am a petite girl, 5'2", 125 lbs., and this jacket fits very well. The tailoring throughout the body is excellent and contours to the body nicely. Also, the sleeves were a little long considering my height and extremity length, but I just rolled them up one time and now they're perfect. Super lightweight, ability to shed water is great, and perfect to layer over a sweater for colder, wet days. Also, adjustable hood is really convenient for those breezy days when you need it to stay put.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent rain jacket

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased as a gift, size was just right, good fit and the color was exactly what was in store.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trailbreaker Jacket

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Los Altos, California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket and it fit perfectly. Loved the Berry color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Attractive and Functional--but runs small

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After debating the size, I ordered the Trailbreaker jacket in an XL. I am glad I did. The Large would have been much too snug. I generally wear a size 12 in other clothing, so I am not a huge person. This jacket, although nice looking and good at repelling rain, is hardly roomy enough to allow a sweater or sweatshirt under it, which is definitely a "minus" for me. One feature I do like is the design of the hood--soft and unobtrusive when not being used. Most jackets now have stiff visors in the hoods that are very uncomfortable when the hood is down--just in the right position to stab the back of the neck or head. I do wish that Columbia would design another rain jacket like the one I bought in the mid 90s and wore for many years until its water repelling properties gave out. It was called the "Marsupial" and could be folded into a pocket in the interior of the jacket. A great feature for travel. It was also a fuller cut, allowing for "layering" in cool weather. One more comment about Columbia products in general: I noticed that they now include many "high tech" items--I suppose to compete with the snob appeal of North Face and other suppliers. This merchandise is way too expensive and the "technical" features often border on the ridiculous. This is clothing--not a smart phone or computer!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Louisville, KY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket for a summer trip to Alaska and was delighted by everything about it. It is water proof, there is room for layers underneath, and it fits! The jacket is tapered at the waist so even with layering underneath, it doesn't have that boxy look that so many jackets have. I wear a 12 but am large busted and I took the advice of readers and purchased the XL, just to be sure. I am confident that I will wear this jacket for many years to come. I just love it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Trailbreaker has great lines

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has quickly become my favorite jacket. The sleeves are light and stretching, so they form fit, without being heavy. good wind resistance. Excellent lightweight jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Rain Jacket

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Cruz
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am in love with this rain jacket! I like it's feminine shape. I don't feel like I'm swimming or frumpy in it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Kidron
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, heavy duty and comfortable
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love the coat not the color

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat and was so excited to get in the mail- the first thing my daughter asked was why I chose a green coat. The black is not a true black and ends up looking very green when put against anything black. I was so disappointed as I really needed and wanted this coat to work- alas it got returned.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit tight but a great deal!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Lincoln, NE
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love several sporting good companies, but I always choose Columbia due to it's high quality and low cost. I am a curvier female, so I wish I would have gone a size up. It fits...just more snug than I would have liked. Overall, I love the color and quality of this piece!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too small

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 5'3 and 125 pounds. I got a size "Small." It is too tight for me if I have one or two layers inside. I wish I had order Medium size. Also, the color on the zipline is not the same color as the raincoat ;purple , it is a totally different color. Overall the Jacket quality and function is pretty good and well made.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional Rain Jacket

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am typically a size medium in t-shirts. I ordered a Medium. It is a bit snug. I cannot layer too much with this jacket. it is a bit tight in the bust. I'm a 36 and fall into the Medium category according to Size Chart. I would definately advise in trying on (if possible) before purchasing. I would have gotten a Large had I known.
This jacket serves its purpose. A light rain jacket. The black is not a true black. Kind of a faded black. The hood covers my head and keeps me dry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's trailbreaker jacket

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got htis as a waterproof shell to wear over base and fleece. The fit is long and narrow. It is a little tight through the arm holes, but it is light, water proof, breaks the wind, and the stitching is solid.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returned this item

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to return this product because it did not fit. The product ran a bit small.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good "inexpensive" rain jacket

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Brussels/Belgium
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Normally wear large, but thankfully upsized to an XL. still loose enough to layer but not enough to look like a trashbag. quality is decent, but seems could be a bit better for $100, so deducted a star for price vs. quality; will update once i've "fielded" it a bit more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Trailbreaker™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket in a size Small despite the many reviews saying it ran small. I think its very true to size. I am 5'8" & 120lbs, usually wear a size small, and finding tops that fit can be a pain sometimes. Sleeves are usually too short, or the torso is too wide. But this jacket is slender for a feminine look, and the sleeves are a great length! Even a tad long. The body is long enough to cover over my waist line so bending over doesnt expose skin, but short enough to look more sporty. Only worn it twice so far but I definitely love it. The sleeves have a mesh inside and the rest has a thin lining material. Nice!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>