Customer reviews for Columbia Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler

Columbia Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler

Someday your little boy is going to be a big-time adventure buff. You know why? Because you were smart enough to bundle him up in the classic Steens Mountain Fleece during the early years.
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
23 out of 25(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Review 1 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

To small

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luco
Location: miami
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I found the size too small, for a Columbia 2t boy. And the fleece in not really soft and nice. It seems to be old.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size Runs Small

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
LilLuv
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought my toddler this jacket in a size 3t (which is the size he wears). When he tried it on, it fit like him like a 2t. The price and quality was great, the size was definitely smaller than average.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toddler jacket

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kstauffer
Location: Shawnee, KS
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love all your products. I buy your coats for my sons and they work well. I do think your coats run a little small. I wish I could get a 4T but you are out of that size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs small as others said

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
mama2012
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son is 22months, 32lbs 35-36'' luckily I followed others suggestions and went for the 4T and it fit great! Seems pretty warm and he likes it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Fall!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
cebr
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had this fleece for about a week now. It is so soft and warm for Fall mornings. I took the advice of the other reviews and ordered my 18 month old (who is very tall) a 3T. It fits him great. I will order this product again once he grows out of it for next year.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Yes, reviews are right, they run very small, but still good!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mummy
Location: Conecticut
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My son is slightly taller than an average 15month old so I decided to take a risk, after reading some reviews, and buy a 4T. This does sound crazy as I sit here and write this, but the length is perfect, not too long at all. It isn't too baggy at all and he is below average in weight. The sleeves are slightly long, but I can roll them although this is not too necessary because the sleeves have snug wrists which means that the sleeves do not actually fall down anyhow. The material is quite thick, so it should be a nice fall jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Toddler Jacket

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JKJG
Location: Charleston, WV
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket for my 2.5 year old son. I ordered a 4T because a lot of the reviews said it ran small. It fit my son (Approximately 37" and 32 lbs.) perfect right now, but if he grew, or if we had to wash it, it would be too small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs incredibly small!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
GiovannisMom
Location: Derry, NH
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this fleece for my son. It's warm and adorable. The only issue is the sizes for this item are way off. He is in between sizes: 24 months & 2T at the moment, and the 4T fits him perfectly, with a LITTLE room to grow.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JDS1

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDS1
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit is so unbelievably small , it was a disappointment. All other clothes my son wears is 4t, which is slightly large on him....the 4t on this jacket was so small could not even get it on. it was sized more for a 1-2 year old.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toddler boy's fleece

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoveMyKids
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the jacket; can't beat the price. It's warm; it's cool-looking; and it washes great. All of my kids get a new Columbia fleece every fall. But, for some reason, I purchased the 3T for my average size 2-year-old and it was SNUG. I always go up one size, but this time I had to get a 4T for my 2-year-old, and he is not big at all. My 6 1/2 year-old wears an 8, and he's slim, as well. So definitely go up a size or two.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as nice as the Benton but still good

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
megjemima
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the Benton Fleece for my daughter and the Steens for my son (twins). Even though both wear 18M-2T, I got the 3T so that they could grow into them by fall. The Benton 3T is big (how I wanted it) but the Steens just barely fits my son. They are both made from the same material, which is a bit stiff. Also the color was a bit off, more purple than blue. All of this is rather nit picky, and my son didn't seem to notice and loved his every bit as much as his sister loved hers. Kept him warm and happy, so that is main thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat, though slightly small...

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
BensMomma
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love all Columbia products and the quality of this jacket is wonderful; however, in my opinion, all Columbia products run smaller than others...My son was wearing a 2T fleece Columbia jacket, but outgrew it rather quickly...I decided to order a 4T this time, instead of a 3T (which he currently wears) and it fits him snuggly but it is long enough...He is not overweight (75% on height and 75% on weight compared to his peers so he is right in the normal range for a 3T toddler). Order a size up...you won't be sorry you did!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bike Ride Jacket

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram16
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It keeps him cozy at Daycare or on the 27 mile Mayor's Bike Ride last weekend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it - we are buying our second one

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
KaytGrasshopper
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket was great for our 3yr old, fits him perfectly. The only reason we had to replace it after 12 months was because the zip-pull broke off (the teeth of the zip are fine, that was not the problem). We figure that was a one-off problem and replaced it with the exact same jacket because otherwise it was great value. We chose the medium blue (electric avenue), it's nice and bright.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
red2
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my little one's second Columbia Fleece. He seems nice and warm in it and it fits well. The first one has held up great (after lots of playing and washing); just starting to get a little short. I was super excited to find this one at a great price online since the outlet store near our home was out of his size.
My only complaint is the fleece does run a tad bit on the small size. My little one turned two last month (he's a very averaged size two year old) and the 2t is starting to get too short, sleeves still fit fine, though. The fleece I just ordered fits great, room to grow but not way too much room that he looks sloppy. Anyway, just beware the sizes run a bit small...maybe about a half size.
I'll definitely be ordering more of these.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fleece good price

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cory939
Location: Surrey, BC
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought the T3 for my 18 month old he's big about 30 pounds. It is a little big now but he can totally wear it fine and I know it will fit for at 2 years as I tried it on my 3 1/2 year old and it fit her too (the arms were getting a little short). I wouldn't have wanted the size smaller the T2.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice jacket, runs small

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
highpockets
Location: north-central Minnesota
Just like several other reviewers, I'll agree this jacket tends to run about 1/2 to a full size small. If you take that into consideration, it's a nice jacket. Soft hand, thick enough to be warm but not real bulky. Wish they made one with a hood!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

first answer

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
ambar
Location: virginia, EEUU
excelent!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish, comfortable and functional

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
brecky
Location: Portland, OR
My boys are 2 1/2 years old but often wear 18 month old sizing. They're above average height but very thin. I thought 2T would be fine for them for the next 6 months, but it was clear the 3T was a better choice -- fits fine now with some room to grow. The spring green and burnt orange colors with gray trim are very stylish as is the fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boy's Steens Mountain™ Fleece — Toddler
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steens Mountain Full Zip Fleece

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
esja
Location: NY
Cute and warm fleece jacket. Runs small, though. My son is only 2 yrs and approximately 37" but needs a size 4T which fits him perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>