Customer reviews for Columbia Manifest™ II Backpack

Columbia Manifest™ II Backpack

We’ve kept the price the same but upgraded this legendary commuter pack with more carrying capacity and the latest in materials and technologies.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Manifest™ II Backpack
Review 1 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daytrip

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
kernal99
Location: Rural, Iowa
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband got one of these backpacks to use when we go to the races a couple of days a year. I bought a different brand. After wearing both his and mine, I sold my other brand and bought the Manifest II, identical to my husband's. I like the comfort in the straps and the chest and hip belts for added support. I am small 5', 110 lb and this pack still fit great and was easy for me to carry all day. It also holds all that we need for being at the track all day. Great overall day pack.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manifest II Backpack Review

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
UrbanAnglerMiami
Location: Miami, FL.
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the Manifest II for a few months now and the backpack has been of great use so far. As a freshwater guide in Miami, Florida, I use the backpack almost everyday, from on foot trips to vessel excursions in both fresh and saltwater. With the harsh elements of South Florida, namely the heat and humidity, the backpack has held up amazingly well. The straps are very comfortable and feel very sturdy. The quick access pocket in the front is convenient for almost anything and will fit a full size helmet which I use for my GoPro often. The zippers are durable and plastic, great for saltwater environments. The stitching is of great quality as well. I have the black backpack and not a bit of color fade over the last few months and I spend 30-50 hours on the waters a week. The Backdraft design allows ample air flow, keeping me cool and comfortable. Overall, awesome backpack and if it ever gets worn out, I will definitely get another bag without any hesitation or second thought aside from which model to get next.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't ask for more...

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
danceclubninja
Location: Norfolk, VA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm moving out of an everyday Nike backpack and I'm ridiculously pleased. The quality is rigid, but definitely up to Columbia standards. The pack feels a bit stiff, but that's the shoulder straps needing to be worn in a bit. Simply put, if it's in the description of the bag, it's absolutely true. This thing is great!
The only negative aspect of the bag is that when it's packed, it's a little tight on the bottle sleeves on the side; it makes you think you're going to split them open. Of course, they don't split because they're not cheap :-D
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backpack

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ToughMudder
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned a Columbia backpack before and I was in need of a new one. I looked at several stores and knew I wanted to replace it with another Columbia brand. I couldn't find any Columbia products, so I shopped online.
I received the backpack expeditiously and in excellent condition. I am very pleased with the functionality, comfort, and quality of the Manifest backpack. I went on a bike ride yesterday and it was sunny, in the 60's, enough to work up a little sweat. I was amazed how dry my back was with the pack on the whole time. They have really put a lot of thought and research into this and it has surpassed my expectations.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has a place for everyting

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
sparky53
Location: portland,or
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this backpack has excellent features and quality finish that I expect from Columbia
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Motorcycle backpack

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
vgon706
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a gift for my brother since he recently purchased a motorcycle and needed a sleek and functional backpack to lug his things around. Got the yellow one for him and he absolutely loves it! The straps are very comfy and I am sure they will not do any wear and tear on the shoulders while driving a motorcycle. Material quality is excellent. There are many pockets that can stow away items safely, but my favorite was the laptop compartment - the lining is some sort of soft microfiber. Would recommend for anyone looking for a stylish backpack that actually serves a purpose.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Suprisingly good

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben52
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was skeptical when I ordered this. I have plenty of "Stuff" to haul around (Macbook 13, iPad, notebook, associated power supplies and cables, tape measure, etc. etc.). Inititlaly I didn't think that this would all fit, but it does.
Shoulder straps are VERY comfortable and the sternum strap does its job well. This bag also does well using one shoulder strap. No slippage.
I would have rated this 5 stars with a better handle on top. A nice rubberized handle would be a great addition.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A product with great features

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melodygolfer8
Location: Los Angeles vicinity, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this backpack, traveled across S.W. USA and Taiwan, southern China, been very happy with it; packed laptop, camera, light clothing, notebook, plenty space to work with, feel comfortable on shoulder with full load, the air flow design work well while travel in humid southern China, is the most I appreciated it. The only drawback is it can't stand, must lay flat or lean on support, but with so many other great features, I still regard it as 5 star.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review of Manifest II, Technical Pack

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
rsandy
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Initial impressions are great. Makes for an easy carry of a large laptop and accessories.
I have recommended it to others!
Activities: Commuting
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great fit, but a little to narrow

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mddogmk
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this as my commuter pack, I love it but it could be a little bit wider in the area of thickness. It holds my big lap top, Day planer and the other odd stuff for Seattle commuting. I love that it's pretty bomb prof , But the only thing I don't like is that I have difficulty putting my lunch and small thermos in it. The best feature is that it does not fall off your shoulder when you have it slung over one shoulder.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manifest (II) Destiny Pack

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
TinkPickler
Phenomenal design of the more "manly" sized structure. If you continue designing high quality products (including higher sticker price) then the good folks will pay for the goods. Easily fit 2 work laptops on my back in the pack with room to spare. After experiencing a Recon pack that did not have a removable waist strap and much less adequate padding, finding this gem was quite a delight. The omni-shield should be useful when hauling anything through Wintery rain-soaked Seattle on various forms of transportation. This thing is way better than the Seahawks!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Backpack gift

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary12341234
I bought this online for my daughter who is a young mom and wanted the convenience of a backpack while toting 2 kids (2 and under) around. She loved the color and many of the features but it fit uncomfortably in that it was too broad for her frame. She ended up taking it back and finding a backpack made for women. I would recommend it for a man or larger woman.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The prefect college backpack.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChuckB
Location: PDX, OR
Spacious, well made and designed with great ventilation!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Technical" or "Commuter"?

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
JY720
Location: Colorado
I was sucked in by the "Technical" label, and got a "Commuter" pack - a great commuter pack, very well thought-out laptop compartment. But the wonderful ventilated straps and back are wasted sitting on a car/bus/train seat. And the high strap attachment without shoulder tabs makes correct fit for actually carrying stuff on your back impossible. Bottom line, its a great commuter pack to sling over one shoulder. Nothing more.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing backpack

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chase
This backpack seemed like the ideal choice when I was looking for an awesome school bag and yet a very functional second hiking backpack. I love the laptop compartment along with the spot for an iPad that's nice. There's plenty of space in this pack for books and supplies I generally carry 3 to 4 college books with a binder and other supplies along with my iPad and change of clothes for weight training. And for camping it's not a very heavy capacity backpack but will get the job done.the built in backdraft is nice cause it keeps you from sweating when it's really hot and the breathable straps are nice to. Over all I give it 5 stars awesome pack.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Manifest™ II Backpack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great pack!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Portland, OR
this is the most comfortable pack i have ever had. columbia's new L.O.A.D. technology with vented straps is awesome! i love the secure and lined dedicated laptop pocket. i haul a 13" macbook pro w/charger, several books and all the misc stuff i need for the day, and this pack has plenty of room and is super comfortable. appreciate the thought put into designing with the removable hip strap and durable materials. really pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.