Customer reviews for Columbia Half Track™ II Technical Daypack

Columbia Half Track™ II Technical Daypack

From trail to campus to skatepark, this tough-yet-talented daypack has its priorities straight.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Review 1 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, Sturdy, Comfortable, Cool

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carow
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this backpack from Colombia after looking at many other options from competitors. I liked the HalfTrack because it had a sleek and unique look, and reviewed well.
I have to say- I LOVE this backpack. I use it mostly for school (and once and a while for hikes). It's great because it keeps all my heavy books and binders close to my back and secure! The cross body straps are great for the heavier loads too. It is also the most comfortable pack I've ever used. I can wear it for hours and my back doesn't feel sore.
My favorite part about it is the straps on the front of the bag that I can tuck my coat into, though it would be great for a skateboard too. I've gotten multiple compliments on this backpack. Buy it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all purpose pack

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
DLBJR
Location: Knoxville, TN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pack's use, while certainly good for day hikes, is great for travel and general use if you are biking are walking to work or school with a lot of gear. I use is on my motorcycle for shopping trips because it has good capacity and the chest strap keeps it from shifting around. Great feel with the solid backing between the compartment and your back. I have a more expensive bicycle pack from another company, with a more elaborate harness, but its capacity is too small and some the fastenings don't make sense. This pack also provides great cushioning for a laptop when you are traveling. The outside compartment has a little pocket in the top that is ideal for phones and glasses cases, the things you don't want to have to dig out of the bottom of the pack. Not too many pockets to misplace those needed items. It has replaced my brief cases during business trips because it is easier to carry through airports with the weight of laptops, power cords etc.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Versitile Backpack

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
TASF
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A year ago my teenager bought this backpack to use for school. We were so impressed with the style, size and durability. that recently we bought a second back pack (for our other teengager). It is well worth the money to buy Columbia - Columbia cannot be beat for style, price, selection as well as their warranty! Thank Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
yemeni716
Location: Buffalo, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shipping was very fast and fairly cheep and the product was excellent. quality is very good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Gift!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lee867
Location: Laurel, Mississippi
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this daypack for my boyfriend's birthday. He works in construction and carries various items from his office to the job site. This was the perfect size to carry his tablet, folders, etc. Because he works outside, often in hot temperatures, he appreciated the light weight of the pack as well as the mesh and padding against his back. Great gift!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best daypack!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Quinton
Location: Louisville, KY
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great backpack! Work for a camp and we are ordering it for all 100 of our staff. Has plenty of room to store all you gear.
Activities: Climbing, Swimming, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Camping, Boating, Other, Kayaking, Running, Mountain Biking, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rowsdower
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size, very comfy. This is EXACTLY what I wanted
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Other
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a good one for girl or women

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
PangPang
Location: Chicago, IL
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this just 2 weeks ago and like it so far. Just if it could be a little bit shorter, but a little bit deeper, that would be perfect.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Running
Conditions: City, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Two-in-one

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Crazian
It is my last semester of college, and I wanted a backpack for school and hiking. I did not want invest in a regular school backpack, so I wanted one that could support my last semester collegiate needs and future hiking adventures. This is the perfect backpack to do so. It does not have enough little pockets with zippers, but I would still recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Small and Shallow

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
bezik1404
Location: Wisconsin
When the backpack arrived I was most disappointed with the stiffness and uncomfortability of the pack. The pockets are small and barely fit more than two big textbooks and two binders. When my textbooks are in the backpack there is not enough room for my laptop, so that compartment is completely useless for me. The pack fits perfectly on the small and mid of my back, I'm a short girl and don't like packs that sag too far down on my lower back and onto my butt. I just wish this pack was larger with deeper pockets.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Half Track™ II Technical Daypack
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact and Comfortable

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ABlueCanary
Location: West Kentucky
When I first read that this pack was designed to keep your back cooler when wearing it, I didn't expect too much out of it. Afterall, a pack is a pack. This gear really does live up to its promises to keep contents dry and you cool. I sweat less with this pack than any I have ever tried. It could be a little larger, so if you are planning on carrying more than a full day of supplies or more than one or two college textbooks, you may want to consider a slightly larger bag. The pack distributes weight very well, despite how unevenly loaded it is. Thus far, I have taken it hiking, biking, all over campus and even on the jet ski (water did eventually get through, but the pack dried rediculously fast). I haven't been caught in the pouring rain with it yet, but light showers haven't been an issue. This is a great, compact, and comfortable pack for just about anything you can throw at it.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.