Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant

Winter sunrises cast an ethereal glow that is not to be missed, but low temperatures can make rockin’ the dawn patrol a chilly endeavor. Slide into the Back Beauty Heat pant for low-profile, high-performing warmth that will keep you cozy while you wait for Mr. Sun.
Overall rating:
4.054 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
50 out of 52(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sums up the product

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
I bought this product in a size 10 which normally fits a bit loose in Columbia products so I could wear layers. When I got them I measured them against some size 8 and 10s that I have and they measured considerably smaller than both. I can get them on but they are not as comfortable as I would like. I am very disappointed in the sizing. I did like the material and design. They would have worked great for snowshoeing if they had fit better. They are warm if you are moving but if you are sitting at a game they are not that warm.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for cold weather

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Usually wear extra small and I did not have the sizing problems others had. Very comfortable while playing cold weather golf and I'm sure will be great for all activities.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very small fit

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Ordered these pants on line in size 8 but it fits more like size 6! The legs fit perfectly but not in the waist so I'm worried that a larger size would then be too large in the legs. Other than that they look great, but I'll be returning mine.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

They're OK...

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Eugene, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I returned these- I think even if they hadn't been too small I would have returned them because they make that loud swish sound when you walk. I read reviews that said to get a size bigger because they run small. The size chart placed me at a 6, so I ordered an 8. Too small! I think I would've exchanged them if they weren't so loud. They were very warm and I may have just been irritated about the sound because I was miffed about the fit. who knows. Get these pants in at least 1 size bigger that you think you need, maybe you'll love them.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flattering fit, but order at least one size larger!

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are fantastic. They are not heavy, like a ski pant, they are not at all bulky. I am using them when I caddy for my son's winter golf league and they hold up in the cold, wet conditions of northern California. They are not noisy pants when you walk. You can wear regular shoes with them and it looks normal. The pant cuff does tie from the inside to keep the cold and wet out. Flattering fit! However, they do run at least a size smaller than you would expect so order a size up.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Way too small

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: DC
  • Expert
Sadly I had to return these pants because they were too snug. I'm 5'5, 120, with a 25in waist and 35in hip. I ordered the 2, which according to the size chart would fit perfectly. No such luck. I was able to get them on, but there is no way I could wear them. The hip and butt felt like they would bust out with any slight bend. I really liked the cut and material, but the sizing was way off.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm, easy to move around in

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Tennessee
These pants perform great and really keep me warm. The only drawback is that they seem a tad snug through the butt, and wearing layers beneath give a "lumpy" appearance. You may want to go a size up to allow for baselayers.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
These are a great design - concept, warmth and the streamlined look fit with modern pant styles. They just run a bit small - I am an XS in other Columbia pants, but needed a "S" in these. And that is NOT wearing any tights under them.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Way too small

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
I just received these today, since I ordered them online.
I thought they were mismarked because I usually wear a size 14 but they fit like a 10! Then I read the other reviews which said they ran way too small also. Otherwise I would love to be able to wear them to stay warm while playing golf. I like the quality and the style. Just know to order one to two sizes up.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Small

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh
I ordered these pants one size larger and they were still too small :(. I really like the weight of the fabric so I am just making an exchange, but you may want to consider going up a size or two.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sizing

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
The Omni Heat in a typically stretchy fabric redues the give. I was greatful I went up a size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snow pant

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: SE IDAHO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants for shedding snow, I wear them snowshoeing, and all the snow my shoes kick up on my behind, slides right off. I'm not sure they keep me THAT much warmer but they fit good and I REALLY like the way they fit higher in the back. And the fact they aren't real low fitting pants. I did order a size 12. In other pants I wear from a 8 -10. Reading the reviews where they ran small, the 12's were perfect. And the length, surprisingly, was good for me. I have a long inseam and was afraid these would be too short- they aren't. I'm also happy they are a straight leg, I have another brand and the legs remind me of bell bottoms from the 70's. May have to buy another pair........
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fits only Barbie

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5'3" and 103 lbs -- hardly a large person. The cut of these pants was super tight in the waist, hips, and butt, with the cuffs dragging on the floor. They are designed for someone about 5" taller, but 15 lbs lighter -- proportions for a Barbie doll, not a human. The fabric of the pants looks terrific, and I think that if I could actually wear them, I'd love them. But for now it's back to the drawing board on the sizing.
Activities: Trail, Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Windy
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant,bad sizing

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chagrin Falls, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
The fit is great if you go up a size or two because the sizes are inconsistent. However once you overcome that they are a great pant for winter paddle (platform tennis), snowshoeing, XC skiing and more. Let it snow!
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another pair of Columbia pants to love!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Upper Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They fit my body type great, although I agree with previous reviews that they are a bit on the tight side, so order a size or two up if you would like to wear a first layer. The inside of the fabric is very soft and comfy, and they have been warm enough for me in around 30 degree weather.
The only improvement on these pants would be an extra zippered pocket further down on the leg.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very small

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on the reviews, I ordered a size up in these and they still fit very tight. I strongly recommend ordering two sizes up. They are very warm, they feel great next to your skin and the fabric seems to repel water rather nicely. The design deserves 5 stars but the small cut forced me to give the overall product 4 stars.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Hunting Waterfowl, Hunting Big Game, Fishing - Deep Sea, Hunting Upland, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Big

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
The pants were bigger than expected. After reading the reviews I thought they would fit. Sent them back.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Small

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Lower Burrell, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I love the look and the feel of the pants, but I could not even wear them outside because they were too small. I even read other reviews and went with a size bigger and they were still too small. I can't even exchange them because they are unavailable in a size 6 :(
Activities: Trail, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ugh!

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA (right now)
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really, two sizes too small?! Who are these pants made for stick people? I'm a no shape six and the 8 barely fit over my thighs. There are no 10's left and I've never worn a 10 in my life. Anyway, I can imagine the waist will be super big and there's no belt to cinch the material together. In other Columbia pants I wore an 8, shouldn't the sizing within the same company at least be consistent? I really wanted to love these pants.
Signed,
Frustrated
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Rocky
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great idea

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect for spring skiing or around the ski town BUT runs really small. I am thin and athletic and usually wear a size 0 but needed a size 4 in this pant. And I don't usually wear Columbia pants because they run wide and big for me. Go figure?!! (It hasn't been cold enough to wear yet, so can't say how they will function.)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>