Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant

Columbia Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant

Winter sunrises cast an ethereal glow that is not to be missed, but low temperatures can make rockin’ the dawn patrol a chilly endeavor. Slide into the Back Beauty Heat pant for low-profile, high-performing warmth that will keep you cozy while you wait for Mr. Sun.
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
39 out of 41(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Review 1 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants ever

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Queensabine
Location: East texas
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a fishing guide and in the cold months these pants are awesome. They look nice, professional, comfortable, and function able. They keep you warm but when the temp rises they are not uncomfortable. I have several pair
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Casual outings

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ScotGirl
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants keep me nice and warm in wind and snow. They run a bit small but are well worth the purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointing

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennfier46
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the design and assumed the snug fit was intentional to increase mobility and warmth. The disappointing aspect is that the "heat shield" offers no extra warmth despite the flashy lining.
According to the fabric content, it is a thin layer of polyester. I have other soft shell pants that fit and perform better.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for snow-shoe hiking

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine67
Location: Strasbourg, France
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, very warm and breathable and water-repellent: everything you need for a winter hike
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PANTS EVER!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
outdoororegon
Location: portland, or
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease don't stop carrying these pants. They're warm, functional and look good. More colors please ;) Prefer these over the Roffe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Don't run small anymore

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Windwitch
Location: Wi
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these online and based on the reviews ordered a size up. They are too big. I think Columbia must have fixed the size issues. My regular size would have fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Comfortable

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
orygundaytripper
Location: Pacific NW
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'd give this five stars if the fit wasn't so far off. I had to go up two sizes from my usual Columbia fit. The pant is also too long for my 5'6" frame, and I have long legs. That being said, the fabric, Omni-heat lining and details were what I needed for casual work, dog walking in inclement weather, and playing in the snow.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot pants!!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
jo1918
Location: Lakeside, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants! I always thought Columbia should make a pant like my soft shell jackets. These are it. They are comfortable and warm. I am in and out of and office and an unheated warehouse all day. They keep we warm in the warehouse without making me sweat in the office. They also have a very nice stretch to them . They move great. They do run small. I am a 6 or 8 in pants usually 5'2" 135 lbs. I bought a 10 short and they fit perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants-super versatile

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
golfnut0405
Location: portland oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok, so they run small..very small. I am a 2-4 and I bought a 6. but its only a number so not worth getting upset over, except if you purchase online..add 1-2 sizes. Aside from that, these are awesome. They are super warm, stretchy, fit me ( which is quite nice since most columbia pants stick WAY out the back waist ). I love the side zipper on the bottom for when I wear them over boots. I wear these golfing in questionable weather because they resist water, but I also wear them at work because they look perfectly acceptable there too. they look like pants and feel like sweats. I liked them so much I went back and bought a second pair. The only thing I wish they had was belt loops so I could wear a belt to attach my cell phone holster .
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Trail Pants!

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmmieR
Location: Juneau
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these, they have a flattering fit and kept me very warm and comfortable on a 28 degree morning hike.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fabulous pant

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
FreezingInChicago
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but the size 8 was perfect in this pant. It is extremely functional. In fact, I wore it yesterday biking in 45 degree rain, and I was very comfortable. I'm looking forward to wearing it playing paddle this winter.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants, run small

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jocy
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had a chance to use these pants yet for their intended use, but I can comment on the fit and style of the pant. They run small. I usually wear a 6 or 8, but had to get a 10 in these pants. I'm about 5'6" and got the regular inseam. They are fitted and very flexible/stretchy which I think will be good for active winter sports. They are a boot fit, but they have a zipper which allows the bottom to be widened to allow them to slip over boots. They aren't extremely thick, but they do have the Omniheat lining on the inside. Great pants! I'm glad I bought them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for hiking, etc

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cflyrun
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This flexible pant is excellent for hiking, walking, and general activities outdoors when it's cold and wet. I'm in the Pacific NW and hike a lot with my dogs so wanted something lightweight and flexible that I could MOVE in but that would still be warm for when I wasn't moving around. This pant is perfect for that!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pant

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rose67
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the pant. The size runs very small. I normally wear size 0 or 00. Reading other people reviews, I ordered size 4 and it fits me perfectly, but it's 3 inches longer than I need. It has zipper on the side so it's not easy to fix the length. I had to return it :-(
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm exercise pants

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanne1
Location: Wernersville, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a warm pant to dog-walk daily, and these fit the bill! They are warm, but flexible.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous pants!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ann11
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received these pants for a birthday present and I absoltuely love everything about them! I live in cold Bavaria, Germany and I wanted pants that keep my legs warm while being waterproof and stretchy enough to allow for lots of movement when I'm indoors or outside. They do run about 2 sizes small because the size 8 fits me perfectly and I normally wear a size 4. The zippered pockets are a very nice bonus and also the zippers on the bottom of each pant leg which opens up enough for me to wear my snow boots with them. I will definitely be purchasing another pair of these pants!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SWEET!!!!!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusieQ2
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've have never had a snow pant that is warm, fits and looks GREAT on!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous fit, function, and look

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy595
Location: Walla Walla WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the fit. I usually wear size 8 - 10, so when I bought size 12 and 10, I sent them back. The 8 (short) is perfect for me at 5'2 and 130 pounds. I have muscular thighs from biking and they fit my legs well. The length is an inch longer than I need.
The heat mirror feels like soft fleece on the inside, and the pant is a relatively thick soft shell fabric, not thin like a yoga pant. But they are quite stretchy and even though they are tight, there is no restriction.
I love the higher back so that I can bend over with confidence.
As far as warmth, they stop the wind and they keep my legs warm. So far I've been out in windy 20 degree weather, and felt comfortble. They are not like insulated ski pants, but are definitely a lot warmer than plain soft shell pants. I like them for winter walking, xc skiing, and even errands on cold days when I am in and out of the car.
The look is just what I wanted, not too bell bottom. I think that with the leg zippers open they will go over ski boots, and since there is a fabric gusset there they should be fine. I plan to use them for downhill skiing on relatively nice days.
I will get another pair.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, with a little advise...

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mon4li5a
Location: Collegeville, PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are warm, sleak, and feel great! I have read other reviews and was advised to buy a couple of sizes bigger (I am a size 6, and ordered a size 10...could not imagine what an actual 6 would fit like because 10 is perfect), and they feel great. I am going to Iceland in the next couple of months and wanted something warm without the bulk, and that looked good too...These pants fit the bill! They have a zipper and the pant cuff to fit over boots too. I highly recommend these, just be warned about the sizing needs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Back Beauty™ Heat Straight Leg Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They are excellent.

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stead
Location: Newberg, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They have work great for exercising in the cold. I don't tolerate the cold/ wet and these make it great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next>>