Customer reviews for Columbia Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange

Three jackets in one—an Omni-Tech waterproof-breathable shell, an Omni-Heat thermal insulated and reflective liner that’s also water repellent, and the combination of both. It’s the ultimate in versatile winter performance.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Review 1 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First Impression

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
smith7
Location: Germany
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an initial review. I bought this jacket for my 8-year old son to wear next winter. Who would have thought he would have needed to wear it during his Spring Break? He wore the jacket at Legoland here in Germany where it averaged mid 30s and overcast the entire time. He never once complained about being cold and the jacket kept him dry on the log ride! The construction seems very durable - at least as durable as the old Columbia coat he wore our after two winters. The coat seems to be just a bit big on his frame now (size 8) which is good because we want him to grow into it. I just hope he doesn't out grow it before next winter. We should be okay this winter, but want the coat to last for two - even with the adjustable sleeves it may be a stretch. The only complaint with the product is that the shell picks up lint and pet hair very easily (we have two dogs).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and good

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer avatar
mili
Location: Montevideo
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought an XS size for my 5 years older doughter and It runs perferct for her. It has excellent quality fabrics and usefull features like numerous zippers in both jackets!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

too short

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
nis65
Location: cokato, mn
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this product and think its mismarked for sure. Orderd a 14/16...comparable to a 10
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zip very difficult for younger children to manage

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Diedre12
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Due to the way this jacket is constructed, the bottom layer continually interfered with the top layer when trying to zip it up. Not only could my 6 year old daughter not manage the zip; my husband has substantial difficulty as well!
We finally gave up and returned it. We are sticking with our second bugaboo parka, which is much more functional.
Too bad; we loved the inner lining of this jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice ski jacket

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Mcdullna
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coat serves nice as a ski jacket!!!love it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kids love this jacket

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
kdunaske
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own a jacket with Omni-Heat and it has kept me very warm. We are skiers/snowboarders, plus we live in upstate NY, where winter is mid 20's and snowy.
I bought this jacket for both of my kids and they have never been happier. Both have told me how warm and dry they are. The jackets fit true to size and look really good.
The only down side so far is the zipper comes unhooked at the bottom of both jackets when zipped up. Not sure if this is a design flaw, or user error. Seems not to be a problem if the bottom snap is snapped. If not for that, I'd give the jacket quality a rating of Excellent.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byColumbiaExpert
Clio, MI
 
Please wait while more information about ColumbiaExpert is loaded.
Additional information about ColumbiaExpert could not be loaded.
Zipper Issues
onFebruary 25, 2013
If it keeps happening you can contact Columbia directly and if they can't repair it, if it is a flaw, they will replace it. Hope this helps
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Grand Daughter Loves It!!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
FredL
Location: Federal Way, WA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The title says it all, when you can please a little girl its worth the money.. She plays in it all the time, she is a little tomboy and the jacket holds up tp the abuse she inflicts upon it.
Her parents love the versitility of the system.
Well done Columbia, Well Done!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
MsMB
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, but runs slightly large (not fitted).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Youth Tonpaite™ Interchange
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for the kids

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Star, Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought this jacket for two of our kids who will use them to ski/play in this year. Both kids are tall and skinny for their age. They both LOVE the down jacket and this will be their primary jacket all year, using the outer layer for skiing and rainy days.
We really wish the fit was a little more trim and snug against the body (the fit is pretty boxy) but once layers are added, it shouldn't be too bad.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.