Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes

Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
47 out of 47(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my new Jacket!!!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is very warm and looks fantastic at the same time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My New Winter Coat

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Mount Vernon, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So many people have complimented me on my new winter coat. Anyone who lives in NY knows how fickle the weather can be, so I feel this was a smart purchase on my part. On November 12, 2013 I wore the entire coat b/c of the temperature drop. Before the weather changed I only wore the inside jacket. Which I also received a lot of compliments on. I love and I do mean love my new coat, it has served its purpose; which is to keep me warm. At one point I was too warm and I had to unzip my coat. The only issue that I have is that the zipper is a little stiff, but nothing a little chapstick cannot fix. Otherwise the coat is perfect. It is the right fit, non-bulky, sleeves are perfect length and most importantly it fits over my hips :) . Needless to say I am one satisfied customer.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my coat!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: SD
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very in love with the thumb hole cuffs.
Warm without being bulky. Can quickly put liner into jacket to make the warmest option. Thanks for the great coat!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Jacket!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this in October and it arrived quickly. It fits well and zips easily. The hood seems pretty nice too. It covers well without obstructing my vision. I usually take the hoods off jackets because they're bulky or uncomfortable, but this one is okay.
This jacket doesn't have many pockets, which is kind if disappointing. My old Columbia had hand-warmer pockets, but this one doesn't. I'll make do, but I do miss those pockets. This one does have those odd, little hand things at the ends of the sleeves. I have no idea what they're called but they have holes for your thumbs. They're okay, but the stitching isn't very quality on them. Since I have no real use for them, I don't find this a problem.
That, coupled with the scarcity of pockets keep this from being a truly epic jacket. What it does have going for it:
1. WARM. It's darn warm, which is good considering winter arrived today with a vengeance and the temps fell below zero.
2. It's comfortable. The hood doesn't bulk up in back and fits nicely over a hat. The jacket itself isn't bulky as heck and it's easy to carry when inside a shop or restaurant.
3. It's stylish and comes in a wide range of colors.
Overall, I'm very pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort!!!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and light and WARM but not over-warm. Also the sleeves are long enough for my arms.
Being 6' tall, I could do with a couple more inches in length of the body though.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Green Bay, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with the jacket, the Omni-heat liner does work. Just had a week of very cold weather in Wisconsin, at times just had a lightweight long sleeve knit top on. Also, the jacket did well with blocking the wind and snow. The jacket does allow for extra layering with a sweatshirt or a heavy sweater as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the color, the fit is perfect. The perks include - three-in-one jacket, hood removes, both lining jacket and outer jacket have the inside zippered hidden pocket, the outside pockets zipper, the wrist lining has thumb holes. It is so warm, I have had to take it off during out "not so cold" winter days!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Jacket!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first time ordering a a jacket online. Normally, I would have been leery being a size 1x. However other women's reviews helped me tremendously. The fit is amazing! I love the fact that the back is tapered slightly longer in length. A feature, I find very flattering in a larger size. Light weight, warm and very comfortable. I got this jacket for work, as I'm outside year round. However, I like it so much I'm going to get another one for other occasions. It has a really nice pulled together look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank You

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a coat in XL that looks good, is comfortable and functional. I am a middle aged woman with little around the middle and with long arms to boot. Looking for a good winter coat has always been a hassle. I was nervous buying online as it is difficult to guess the size and with my arms, it has never gone well in the past. But tonight, I opened the box, put on the coat , fit perfect and out into the snow to walk the dog. And this time we were both happy to be out in the elements.....
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great replacement

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace a Columbia coat purchased twenty years ago. I love the color and style of this obviously very updated version of my old ski jacket. I've only worn it once so far, on a snowy and very cold day in Colorado, and I was plenty warm wearing this coat. I haven't tested it out on the ski slopes yet but can't wait to do so. I smile just looking at the beautiful Red Hibiscus color of my new coat. Ended up buying ski pants to match. :)
My only reason for not giving five stars is my inability to find a Columbia ski jacket that has as many pockets as my twenty year old ski jacket. I'll adapt, I'm sure.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this is a beautiful jacket

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the jacket. The size runs very small. I usually wear an xlarge but had to get a 1x and the 2x might have been even better. The weather here in Wisconsin can get very cold, like the last few days. I thought the jacket would be warmer than it is, just a bit disappointed in that feature. The color, red, is beautiful. Overall, I am happy with the jacket. But would I order another one, not sure.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot jacket!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Apple Valley, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Whirlibird jacket in red hibiscus. Pretty hot color for an old lady! I love it! My daughter has last years Whirlibird and her friend got a new one this year. They both love the warmth and the thumb holes. I purchased this for myself because it is long enough to cover the rear so I have some protection from the cold car seat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This prouduct is AWESOME!!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my jacket today and I LOVE IT!!!
I live in Rochester, NY where the winters can get very cold.
I do not feel the cold at all! I have been nice and warm without getting to hot and sweaty. Best coat I ever had and I highly recommended buying this coat. Just as a warning tho it does run small so i suggest you buy the next size up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Huron, SD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this jacket about 10 days ago and have loved it since I pulled it out of the box. I was a little leery about how warm this jacket would actually be, but man does the Omni-heat live up to its hype. I had to be outside in -30 weather for about 30 minutes, The areas that this jacket covered were NEVER cold! I am so sold on the technology and great quality of this jacket, that I am ordering the snow pants to go with it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Comfortable

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is amazing how warm this jacket keeps me. I walk our dog every day and today it was well below freezing. My cheeks were chilled when I got back home; other than that I was warm.
I normally wear an XL but ordered a 1X. I tried an XL in the store and it was too small. After reading reviews that suggested to order a size up, I decided to give it a try. I am very glad I did. This jacket is excellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm but a bit big

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every jacket I've ever purchased from Colombia has been on the small side but this one is a little larger than I expected it to be. When I tried one on in the store it was a bit small so I went for one size bigger but the one that came is more like 3 sizes bigger. I have gotten lots of compliments about how nice the jacket looks, it is warm and easy to zip even with gloves on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strange Color, Great function

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I order this coat as my second Interchange Jacket and am overall pleased. The sizing runs small I ordered a size up for from my usual jackets and it fits great even over a few layers. The design in comfortable and functional I ordered this in a color entitled "black plaid". But it looks more like a hunter-green with blue strips ( not as sleek as I imagined).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Edgerton WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat. Very war and light weight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Warmth

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE THIS JACKET!!!!!! I love the color and the style. It would be better if it was a little bit longer.
But here in Upstate NY it gets bitter cold. I was driving home with the heat on, I actually had to roll the window down to get some fresh cool air.
This jacket will keep you warm.. I highly recommened getting this jacket!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This jacket is great looking!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Williston, Vt.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I was so excited to open this package...but was quickly disappointed when I tried it on and could barely zip it up...runs very small...I should have ordered two sizes bigger. When I went to reorder there were no more in stock! Bummer! 'Maybe next year...with all the wrong size comments maybe you should find a different vendor???
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>