Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – give you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
29 out of 35(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Coat I Have Ever Bought!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Coat. I had to buy it online because most stores do not have 1x for a size choice. I found a 1x at a store and I tried it on. It fit great but I didn't like the coat they had. So I ordered one online. It fits great in the arms and even the shoulders. I am a women with man shoulders and this coat fit me. I am so excited! I also got to wear this coat snowboarding and outside for 4 days in Northern Michigan and I was not cold at all!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
allen2sr
Location: Owosso, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I get compliments on this coat all the time. The best part about it is that even when I am snowboarding I feel warm but not overly warm! It's a wonderful coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way to small.....

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
small
Location: lynn, ma
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat as far as quality was fine. The fit was way off. I had ordered a coat 2 months ago and it was way to small and sent it back. Ordered this one 1 size up and this one is Way too small also.
Columbia need to adjust their sizing charts. I was talking with some co-workers and they don't order columbia due to this...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
emarie412
Location: Welches, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love everything about this coat. The versatility is wonderful, definitely great for riding in all weather conditions; and it is a huge savings if you ask me, 3 coats for the price of one. The powder cuff is great, fits well. I love the warmth of the inner coat, and how it has thumb cuffs for wearing inside gloves to keep snow out, genius. The fit is PERFECT. Runs very true to size. Color/design is great. It's nice to FINALLY have a fully functional AND adorable plus size coat for those of us who like to ski/ride hard AND look good. If only there were more like it
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Color not what is pictured, but love the jacket too much to return

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kenzie82
Location: Athens, GA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking everywhere for 'bigger girl' nice quality winter coats. I found that Columbia offered Extended Sizes. I found the perfect jacket. I ordered the Black Printed Plaid. The pictured showed it was a black jacket with light white almost grey plaid. I love everything about the jacket except for the fact that the jacket is HUNTER GREEN with black plaid. You can barely even see the black. So it's basically a green jacket. Overall love the jacket, very angry about the color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally, true plus size

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
49chowderheads
Location: Northern Utah
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So many plus-sized garments forget to plus size the sleeves as well. Not this coat. The sleeves were generous enough for me to wear a thick sweater underneath and still be able to bend my arms. The omniheat worked great. The coat was true to size. The only cons were that the zipper doesn't slide smoothly, especially near the top. Also, the sleeves aren't as heavy as the body of the coat. It cannot be worn with short sleeves under it in cold weather or your arms will freeze while the rest of you is toasty warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
missa685
Location: Suffern, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am in love with this coat! It is extremely warm without that bulky winter coat feeling. Also, for those worried about the sizing, I went by the size chart measurements and it fit perfectly! Another great Columbia jacket :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda99
Location: Fargo ND
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this jacket but it is really...really...really small. I had a jacket that Columbia replaced because the zipper broke. It was probably 8 years old. It was an XL and was very roomy. I could easily where hoodies underneath of whatever I wanted. They sent me an XL of this jacket and I couldn't even get it on with a t-shirt on. It was tiny. I ended up getting the 1X which fits ok. The 2x was absolutely huge in the middle. The only thing that I don't like about the fit of the 1X is the sleeves when I put a sweatshirt on. It fits but kind of feels like you are poured into the jacket.
I love the jacket just not the size. It has these thumbhole things at the sleeve openings so cold air doesn't blow up your sleeve. Its great!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Small in arms.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lino06
Location: Saginaw, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally purchased an XL, but found I needed a bit more room in the waist. I thought I would try the 1X, despite the reviews that it runs small in the arms. The arms fit fine with the XL, so I thought it would be fine. I was wrong. It was so tight in the arms it was borderline uncomfortable. Their return policy was good though!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely Feminine Jacket

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
feliciac
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket at Boxing Day. As a plus sized woman I thought I was doomed to be forever cold and and wrapped in oversized men's color and shaped jackets.
This jacket changes everything. It's warm, it has a feminine cut (even with the two layers), it has pockets, thumbholes, and it's pretty.
It's a great jacket for running errands, heading to the mountains and staying warm for the entirety of winter.
It's easy to change the layers. I keep both in the car, and use either one or both as the weather dictates.
Note: I bought the 2X, but if I would get the 3X if I wanted to wear bulky sweaters with it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my ski trip

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess11
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat was great for skiing.
The high collar protected my neck and half of my face from the elements.
The omni heat feature kept me very warm, even at the top of the mountain.
The inner layer was great for walking around town after the long ski day with minimal bulk.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!! I'm SO excited!!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crozmom
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, no joke I had to drive out to Mall of America in traffic to go to the store...UGH!! It was TOTALLY worth it!! I LOVE my new jacket! I am 5ft 5inch and about 250 lbs. I carry most of my weight in my chest and stomach. The only jackets that ever fit are never cute or trendy. Then I found this one!! I was excited to go to work today just to wear my new jacket! It fits great! I don't feel like a huge snow beast like I usually do! I actually feel...cute!! The inside lining jacket is even cuter than the outside. All three ways are cute and comfortable. Thank-you SO much Columbia!! I now am excited for more snow to go and play outside with my son!! p.s. They have great fitting snowpants also!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MNmomDIYer
Chisago Lakes, MN
 
Please wait while more information about MNmomDIYer is loaded.
Additional information about MNmomDIYer could not be loaded.
What size?
Posted January 23, 2013
Hi! Love your review, and I was paying close attention as you sound like you are my exact build. I'm trying to decide between sizes; which size did you end up buying and what type of layering can you fit while wearing the coat? Also, does this coat have a two-way zipper and can you access the snow skirt inside with the liner zipped in place, it appears to be in the way? Many thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True fit and warmth

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
KristinM
Location: Lynn,MA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Whirleebird is great so far. I have only had to use he inner liner so far but I absolutely love it. Extremely comfortable. Calle dcustomer service on this product and was so helpful. I found Columbia to have one of the best customer service departments I have dealt with. Thank you
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Whirlibird

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
skeet
Location: minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this jacket, my only issues are that the sleeves could be a little longer for my needs, I have torn the thumb hole areas a few times reaching for stuff.
It is very warm, I love the outside, I love the liner, I love the color I chose. Overall I would definitely recommend to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
amanda15
Location: canada
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great warmth in our cold winters
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I almost cried! Happy Tears!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coolnessa8
Location: Southern Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've spent hundreds upon hundreds of dollars through the years searching for a warm, functional & stylish coat to get me through Michigan winters. I've put on some weight since having my kids, and every coat I tried on was too small, esecially in the shoulders. The "extended" size coats were often too large & lacked style. It's very frustrating & demoralizing. I just got this coat, and I LOVE it. I'm 225lbs, 5'7". I do have some weight in my arms & chest, so I was hesitant to buy this coat because so many reviews said it was tight in the shoulders/sleaves. I purchased a 2x & it fits perfectly. There is plenty of room for me to wear a sweatshirt underneath, but it's not at all baggy or bulky. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this coat & strongly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interchange

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa05
Location: Minnesota
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never found a Jacket more comfortable then this one. The Omni-heat is worth having. I love the colors you can choose from and very fashionable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE COAT BUT ORDER AT LEAST A SIZE BIGGER

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JESSI1728
Location: WAUKESHA, WI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I GOT THIS COAT FOR CHRISTMAS AND I LOVE IT! HOWEVER IT RUNS REALLY SMALL IN THE SHOULDERS, I AM GLAD WE ORDERED THE SIZE LARGER WHICH IS A BIT BIGGER EVERYWHERE ELSE EXCEPT THE SHOULDERS. OVERALL, IT IS A NICE COAT BUT AGAIN MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SHOULDERS I WISH THEY WOULD MAKE THEM A BIT WIDER SO THE COAT DIDNT FEEL SO SNUG.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Farida
Location: brooklyn, New York
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Columbia keeps getting better and better. This is my second Winter jacket from Columbia in 11 years, they are made to last forever, you just wash & wear. I did not want to throw it out so we donate it. every one commend me on the beautiful jacket they wanted to know where I purchase it from. me and my husband both bought jackets together. I definitely recomend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ARMS TOO TIGHT!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
YANNA
Location: BROOKLYN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read ALL THE TIME that the arms of the jacket runs small . Guest what?? IT DOES!!!! PLEOPLE THAT WORK MAKING CLOTHES oversize means oversize all over not just in the mid-section, OKAY...PLUS DONT MAKE THE SIZES RUN ONE SIZE SMALL AND CALL IT one size biggeerrr, please that will make us oversize people feel more inferior to those skiny people....PLEASE AND THANK YOUS
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>