Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – give you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
29 out of 35(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love everything except the delicate stitching on the inner layer

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Anchorage
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is great fitting (review of a plus size), looking, great performing both as a unit and as separate components. My only complaint is that the stitching on the inner liner / inner jacket was easily snagged and has pulls in it after a year of wear. Don't get me wrong - this jacket will be worn at least another year and I won't hesitate to buy another once that time comes. I think the outer layer will last indefinitely. I love the omni heat feature and the snow guard in the lower back (no cold drafts). Walking mid-late winter in Anchorage I had to unzip this thing several times due to not wanting to sweat. Granted - I was chasing a spaz of a dog.
I would recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for plus size gals

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat because I loved the print in the store. I tried the XL on and it didn't fit around my hips. I am 5'2 and wear a size 16 pant. I carry all my weight in my hips and rear. I emailed Columbia support for measurements on the 1X coat in black plaid. They were very quick in response.
These are the measurements (from outside of garment) for the extended sizes:
1X - 53.0 chest, 50.0 waist, 54.0 hip
2X - 57.0 chest, 54.0 waist, 58.0 hip
3X - 61.0 chest, 58.0 waist, 62.0 hip
The arms a little long on me but overall I am very pleased with the fit of this coat. I do feel that there is a significant difference between the standard XL and 1x for this coat
I would recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She loved it!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jackeyt for a gift for my daughter. She loved the jacket and stated that it is very warm and versatile. I didn't care for the color. I thought it was blah but, her primary concern was fit, comfort and warmth. She got what she wanted.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs Small

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love all the features of this jacket, but found it runs small. I had to order a size larger than I normally do, for it to fit in the shoulder/upper arm area and it is still a little tight in the upper arm.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A lot of the reviews focused on the fit of the arms and shoulders. I did not take these as seriously as I should have. Honestly, the size chart should have an arm diameter. VERY small and tight - impossible to wear, even though I fit the size per the size chart. Order 1-2 sizes bigger and hopefully the arms and shoulder area will fit...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just received my new jacket in light grape color; it is beautiful, very light, quality workmanship.
It does run smaller, I am 5'11" usually wear XL or 14-16 and I ordered size 2X after reading another reviews. It fits me perfectly at the shoulder and chest ( 44.5 inch chest), a little loose on my stomach and hips (43 inch hips). I have long arm and it is perfect, back length is 29.5 inch outside shell and 28 inch is the length of inside jacket.
Maybe 1X would be OK too, hard to say.
I am yet to see, how warm it will keep me, never had omni-heat jacket before.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful --- but very small

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved the jacket. Am very sorry that I had to send it back, but it was wayyyyyyy too small and I wasn't even sure the next size would fit. I'm not a huge woman and ordered a 2X (normally wear a 1X) and I couldn't even get it on. Sorry!!
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ARMS TOO TIGHT!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: BROOKLYN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read ALL THE TIME that the arms of the jacket runs small . Guest what?? IT DOES!!!! PLEOPLE THAT WORK MAKING CLOTHES oversize means oversize all over not just in the mid-section, OKAY...PLUS DONT MAKE THE SIZES RUN ONE SIZE SMALL AND CALL IT one size biggeerrr, please that will make us oversize people feel more inferior to those skiny people....PLEASE AND THANK YOUS
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I almost cried! Happy Tears!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southern Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've spent hundreds upon hundreds of dollars through the years searching for a warm, functional & stylish coat to get me through Michigan winters. I've put on some weight since having my kids, and every coat I tried on was too small, esecially in the shoulders. The "extended" size coats were often too large & lacked style. It's very frustrating & demoralizing. I just got this coat, and I LOVE it. I'm 225lbs, 5'7". I do have some weight in my arms & chest, so I was hesitant to buy this coat because so many reviews said it was tight in the shoulders/sleaves. I purchased a 2x & it fits perfectly. There is plenty of room for me to wear a sweatshirt underneath, but it's not at all baggy or bulky. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this coat & strongly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Whirlibird

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this jacket, my only issues are that the sleeves could be a little longer for my needs, I have torn the thumb hole areas a few times reaching for stuff.
It is very warm, I love the outside, I love the liner, I love the color I chose. Overall I would definitely recommend to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True fit and warmth

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lynn,MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Whirleebird is great so far. I have only had to use he inner liner so far but I absolutely love it. Extremely comfortable. Calle dcustomer service on this product and was so helpful. I found Columbia to have one of the best customer service departments I have dealt with. Thank you
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!! I'm SO excited!!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay, no joke I had to drive out to Mall of America in traffic to go to the store...UGH!! It was TOTALLY worth it!! I LOVE my new jacket! I am 5ft 5inch and about 250 lbs. I carry most of my weight in my chest and stomach. The only jackets that ever fit are never cute or trendy. Then I found this one!! I was excited to go to work today just to wear my new jacket! It fits great! I don't feel like a huge snow beast like I usually do! I actually feel...cute!! The inside lining jacket is even cuter than the outside. All three ways are cute and comfortable. Thank-you SO much Columbia!! I now am excited for more snow to go and play outside with my son!! p.s. They have great fitting snowpants also!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMNmomDIYer
Chisago Lakes, MN
 
Please wait while more information about MNmomDIYer is loaded.
Additional information about MNmomDIYer could not be loaded.
What size?
onJanuary 23, 2013
Hi! Love your review, and I was paying close attention as you sound like you are my exact build. I'm trying to decide between sizes; which size did you end up buying and what type of layering can you fit while wearing the coat? Also, does this coat have a two-way zipper and can you access the snow skirt inside with the liner zipped in place, it appears to be in the way? Many thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my ski trip

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat was great for skiing.
The high collar protected my neck and half of my face from the elements.
The omni heat feature kept me very warm, even at the top of the mountain.
The inner layer was great for walking around town after the long ski day with minimal bulk.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally, true plus size

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Northern Utah
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So many plus-sized garments forget to plus size the sleeves as well. Not this coat. The sleeves were generous enough for me to wear a thick sweater underneath and still be able to bend my arms. The omniheat worked great. The coat was true to size. The only cons were that the zipper doesn't slide smoothly, especially near the top. Also, the sleeves aren't as heavy as the body of the coat. It cannot be worn with short sleeves under it in cold weather or your arms will freeze while the rest of you is toasty warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Color not what is pictured, but love the jacket too much to return

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Athens, GA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking everywhere for 'bigger girl' nice quality winter coats. I found that Columbia offered Extended Sizes. I found the perfect jacket. I ordered the Black Printed Plaid. The pictured showed it was a black jacket with light white almost grey plaid. I love everything about the jacket except for the fact that the jacket is HUNTER GREEN with black plaid. You can barely even see the black. So it's basically a green jacket. Overall love the jacket, very angry about the color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Coat I Have Ever Bought!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this Coat. I had to buy it online because most stores do not have 1x for a size choice. I found a 1x at a store and I tried it on. It fit great but I didn't like the coat they had. So I ordered one online. It fits great in the arms and even the shoulders. I am a women with man shoulders and this coat fit me. I am so excited! I also got to wear this coat snowboarding and outside for 4 days in Northern Michigan and I was not cold at all!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it a lot!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this coat! Its made well and fits well. The only negative is that I am one of those "always cold" people and it is not quite warm enough for me in the Michigan winter. I did however buy a size bigger so I can fit more layers. :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the extended sizes you offer

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Reno Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has surpassed my expectations and I love it. I did not think I would be able to find a GOOD functional coat in extended sizes so I am thrilled. It fits great and I love all three options the coat offers. I had a bugaboo years ago but I so much love the lining in this coat. I will be looking out for more extended sizes through Columbia
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looking

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice coat. Soft but durable material.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aweseome jacket

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Central Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in the Grape color for my daughter. She is in the extended sizing and it fits great all over, but at her shoulders. She is built like her father with WIDE shoulders and finding a jacket is tough. There is enough stretch in the material that she can wear it with out any real discomfort. The jacket is slim enough it doesn't add on any "extra pounds" to her frame, which she is VERY happy about.
Over all, an excellent jacket. I will be getting one of my own soon.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>