Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – give you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
29 out of 35(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for plus size gals

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat because I loved the print in the store. I tried the XL on and it didn't fit around my hips. I am 5'2 and wear a size 16 pant. I carry all my weight in my hips and rear. I emailed Columbia support for measurements on the 1X coat in black plaid. They were very quick in response.
These are the measurements (from outside of garment) for the extended sizes:
1X - 53.0 chest, 50.0 waist, 54.0 hip
2X - 57.0 chest, 54.0 waist, 58.0 hip
3X - 61.0 chest, 58.0 waist, 62.0 hip
The arms a little long on me but overall I am very pleased with the fit of this coat. I do feel that there is a significant difference between the standard XL and 1x for this coat
I would recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She loved it!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jackeyt for a gift for my daughter. She loved the jacket and stated that it is very warm and versatile. I didn't care for the color. I thought it was blah but, her primary concern was fit, comfort and warmth. She got what she wanted.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it a lot!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like this coat! Its made well and fits well. The only negative is that I am one of those "always cold" people and it is not quite warm enough for me in the Michigan winter. I did however buy a size bigger so I can fit more layers. :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the extended sizes you offer

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Reno Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has surpassed my expectations and I love it. I did not think I would be able to find a GOOD functional coat in extended sizes so I am thrilled. It fits great and I love all three options the coat offers. I had a bugaboo years ago but I so much love the lining in this coat. I will be looking out for more extended sizes through Columbia
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs Small

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love all the features of this jacket, but found it runs small. I had to order a size larger than I normally do, for it to fit in the shoulder/upper arm area and it is still a little tight in the upper arm.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looking

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice coat. Soft but durable material.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aweseome jacket

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Central Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in the Grape color for my daughter. She is in the extended sizing and it fits great all over, but at her shoulders. She is built like her father with WIDE shoulders and finding a jacket is tough. There is enough stretch in the material that she can wear it with out any real discomfort. The jacket is slim enough it doesn't add on any "extra pounds" to her frame, which she is VERY happy about.
Over all, an excellent jacket. I will be getting one of my own soon.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Doesn't look very plaid

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit was good, very true to size. I ranked it low for a few reasons. It doesn't look as plaid as the picture portrays. I opened the box and was disappointed at the lack of gray (the grey is extremely faint and hard to see). I was also very boxy and lacked shape. Also, the main reason why I returned it was because it looked like a man's coat. The shape along with the boxy shape of it lacks the girly style I'm accustom to. I would recommend this coat to anyone who intends on using it for function more than style because it was built or the Michigan weather.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Clarksville, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this jacket because I felt that it would provide me with the warmth, comfort and dryness I need to be able to perform my job as an Outdoor Educator. During the first week of wear, a snap fell off and a small nick appeared on a pocket of the Omni-Tech rain jacket. About a week later a hole made itself present in the upper front pocket. I also was left soaking wet after wearing the outer core, which is Omni-Tech, during light rain over the course of 2.5 hours.
I feel that a $250 jacket would be made with better quality material and care.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ikego, Japan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'7 and 180 lbs. I was alittle concerned when other reviews said it runs small, but I researched and bought a 1x. The moment I slipped that jacket on I knew it fit me. The arms weren't constricting and I was able to zip it all the way up without feeling stuffed into it. I love it. It's exactly what I needed and wanted. It keeps me warm and cozy in the chilly windy and rainy weather of Japan. I love the inner sleeves and the thumb hole and the warm pockets and how it zips up all the way to my nose and the ginormous hood. I am just so happy with it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SKI

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Freehold, New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was having a hard time finding a jacket that fit. This one not only fits but makes me look good by its style and cut. Its comfortable and keeps me warm. I have not had the chance to get to really cold temperatures yet, but it was very comfortable with temps in the 20s and only a base layer and light weight top layer.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A lot of the reviews focused on the fit of the arms and shoulders. I did not take these as seriously as I should have. Honestly, the size chart should have an arm diameter. VERY small and tight - impossible to wear, even though I fit the size per the size chart. Order 1-2 sizes bigger and hopefully the arms and shoulder area will fit...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just received my new jacket in light grape color; it is beautiful, very light, quality workmanship.
It does run smaller, I am 5'11" usually wear XL or 14-16 and I ordered size 2X after reading another reviews. It fits me perfectly at the shoulder and chest ( 44.5 inch chest), a little loose on my stomach and hips (43 inch hips). I have long arm and it is perfect, back length is 29.5 inch outside shell and 28 inch is the length of inside jacket.
Maybe 1X would be OK too, hard to say.
I am yet to see, how warm it will keep me, never had omni-heat jacket before.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful --- but very small

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved the jacket. Am very sorry that I had to send it back, but it was wayyyyyyy too small and I wasn't even sure the next size would fit. I'm not a huge woman and ordered a 2X (normally wear a 1X) and I couldn't even get it on. Sorry!!
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ARMS TOO TIGHT!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: BROOKLYN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read ALL THE TIME that the arms of the jacket runs small . Guest what?? IT DOES!!!! PLEOPLE THAT WORK MAKING CLOTHES oversize means oversize all over not just in the mid-section, OKAY...PLUS DONT MAKE THE SIZES RUN ONE SIZE SMALL AND CALL IT one size biggeerrr, please that will make us oversize people feel more inferior to those skiny people....PLEASE AND THANK YOUS
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: brooklyn, New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Columbia keeps getting better and better. This is my second Winter jacket from Columbia in 11 years, they are made to last forever, you just wash & wear. I did not want to throw it out so we donate it. every one commend me on the beautiful jacket they wanted to know where I purchase it from. me and my husband both bought jackets together. I definitely recomend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE COAT BUT ORDER AT LEAST A SIZE BIGGER

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WAUKESHA, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I GOT THIS COAT FOR CHRISTMAS AND I LOVE IT! HOWEVER IT RUNS REALLY SMALL IN THE SHOULDERS, I AM GLAD WE ORDERED THE SIZE LARGER WHICH IS A BIT BIGGER EVERYWHERE ELSE EXCEPT THE SHOULDERS. OVERALL, IT IS A NICE COAT BUT AGAIN MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SHOULDERS I WISH THEY WOULD MAKE THEM A BIT WIDER SO THE COAT DIDNT FEEL SO SNUG.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interchange

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never found a Jacket more comfortable then this one. The Omni-heat is worth having. I love the colors you can choose from and very fashionable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great warmth in our cold winters
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I almost cried! Happy Tears!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Southern Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've spent hundreds upon hundreds of dollars through the years searching for a warm, functional & stylish coat to get me through Michigan winters. I've put on some weight since having my kids, and every coat I tried on was too small, esecially in the shoulders. The "extended" size coats were often too large & lacked style. It's very frustrating & demoralizing. I just got this coat, and I LOVE it. I'm 225lbs, 5'7". I do have some weight in my arms & chest, so I was hesitant to buy this coat because so many reviews said it was tight in the shoulders/sleaves. I purchased a 2x & it fits perfectly. There is plenty of room for me to wear a sweatshirt underneath, but it's not at all baggy or bulky. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this coat & strongly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>