Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size

Three jackets in one – a warm microfleece liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam sealed shell; and a combination of both – our classic Bugaboo comes in a wide assortment of colors and will keep you warm, dry and protected in cold winter weather.
Overall rating:
3.968 / 5
4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
25 out of 29(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dont buy unless you try it on first.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered the next smaller size as the store only had the larger size which was way, way too large through the shoulders and many inches too large through the torso. The jacket arrived and it was too tight throughout, as if it was 2 sizes and not 1 size smaller and I had to return it.
While I am greatly disappointed it didn't fit, this was my ideal jacket for a layered system and waterproof jacket for anyone that can find a good fit. The construction is great except Columbia should have spent the extra dollar to install a 2-way zipper.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Coat but Get a size up!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a good heavy winter coat for an upcoming trip overseas (S. Korea/Japan) where I plan to go skiing. I wanted a coat that was versatile so that I that would be waterproof and warm. So far the coat has exceeded my expectations. I'm looking forward to the use of the inner layer as an outer layer for running while the whole coat will be used on my adventures. I'll have to followup on my experiences in a few weeks.
One thing to note though is that the coat does run small. I recently lost weight and thought that I could actually wear a 1x coat with sweaters or layers underneath but it was too small. I increased the size to a 2x to give myself some room with additional layers and I was completely satisfied with the increase in size. Be prepared to do the same if you want to wear underlayers of any kind...UPSIZE!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Product!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Huddersfield, England
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For someone who is very active this is an amazing product! The jacket fits perfectly while giving me load of functionality. The ability to remove the fleece is fabulous and probably my favorited feature! The jacket provides comfort and warmth from all types of weather. This is a must have for living in England!
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Right concept, wrong color

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this jacket in sea salt, and realized after I got it that keeping a white coat with a new puppy in the muddy winter...that that probably wasn't the smartest thing to do. I returned it for a darker color because the fit was true to the reviews (a little small), but was well made and perfect for the upcoming winter conditions. I've always had great success with Columbia Winter Coats, only ordering new ones when I needed a different size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful coat!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful and warm coat. The reviews said it ran a little small so I ordered one size larger and it works well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This jacket was not what I was expcting at all. It was a bit of a let down.

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Keystone, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered this jacket because I am moving to Keystone, CO for the winter where it is extremely cold and snowy. The jacket is warm enough but could be a little thicker. Also, the color is NOT accurately portrayed on the website. I ordered the "Fuse Green" which appears to be a light forest green color, instead it came out of the box the color of an obnoxious green crayon!! It also has white piping on the front of the jacket which is not shown in the picture. It does have good hip coverage and cut but I am very dissatisfied with the way it was portrayed on the site and what I actually recieved.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket design that I could not find in town

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wausau, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a new jacket. I did go shopping online and in stores. In stores I tried on similiar jackets to get a feel for the sizes. I couldn't find this particular jacket print in stores so ordered it online. If I would not have tried on similiar ones in stores I think I would have ordered it too small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the jacketexcept for 1 flaw

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the jacket is warm and soft. the only problem i have is that the upper sleeves are very tight. if you're a bigger girl with fairly big arms this jacket isnt for you. other than that its great. fits lose around your middle and the fleece is very warm on its own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as pictured

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The green jacket on the website arrived green and white. Sent it back, not the same color as on the website.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coat!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bloomington, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat. Like other plus sized items I have bought from Columbia this coat is truly designed for a true plus size vs being a size 8 they simply added inches to. As someone stuck with men's winter activewear coats in the past I love having something truly shaped to fit me. As someone who carries their weight in their waist I love that it fits there without appearing boxy. My one complaint is that the shoulders in the fleece liner could be 1/2 inch bigger. As someone with broad shoulders when I first put the coat on (both pieces together) the shoulders feel snug. within a few minutes of wearing I no longer feel this snuggness so i believe the fleece gives a bit. Fortunately the outer shell is big enough to allow room for this to occur. If you don't have broad shoulders it shouldn't be an issue for you and if you do have them...if it feels snug when you put it on give it a minute or so...that may go away. This is the only reason i am giving this excellen jacket a 4 instead of a 5.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Toronto
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket online, and because I had heard Columbia jackets run small, I was very nervous about sizing. I ended up emailing customer service and asking for detailed measurements of a couple of sizes. BTW Customer service was crazy amazing!! With the information I had, I ordered 2 sizes, hoping one of them would fit. The smaller size fit perfectly in the body but the arms and shoulder were where I found them to be small. So, because of this, I picked the larger size. It's way too big in the chest, but if I need to wear a thick sweater then it should be perfect. I also found when I wear the layers separately they're way, way too big. I would bet if the arms/shoulder in the smaller size had fit, then this wouldn't be an issue. The only two things I was a little disappointed in, was the picture on the website shows the cut of the jacket as having a narrowing in the waist and this isn't the case. The other thing is there aren't many pockets, it would be nice if there were maybe two more. In saying all that, winter hasn't quite hit Toronto yet, but I suspect this jacket will be super warm. It's very well constructed and I anticipate having it for many years to come. I also had to return the other jacket and that process was easy and quick. In summary, excellent customer service, excellent returns, excellent quality, I love it!!! It just runs a bit small.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned Columbia's my entire adult life and have never been disappointed with the warmth of the jackets. Because I live in MN, I was a little skeptical when I received this because it was so thin, but it does the job. I would recommend this coat to anyone and everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs Small

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tacoma. WA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So glad I read the reviews and ordered my coat 2 sizes bigger. Roomy enough for a sweater without feeling like Ralpie's little brother on Christmas Story!!
Love my coat!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs really small

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WV
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a beautiful coat that is warm and constructed really well. The only problem with it is that it runs really small. It runs so small in fact that I was not comfortable wearing it. Luckily, I was able to give it as a gift to my mother so I didn't have to return it. The coat is great but I could only give it an average rating because of how horrible the sizing is.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

runs small

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was a beautiful jacekt but...it ran small around the hip area. I definately would not have been able to wear anything heavy under it with the liner zipped in. Other reviews stated small in chest area, as I'm not large busted I didn't think this would be an issue since I consistenty wear a 2x in all my other clothing. The shoulder/chest area fit fine. No exchange available so I had to pay $12 to ship this back, no jacket and out $12 pretty frustrating.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sleeves

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: granby ct
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The overall jacket is lovely to look at and has a nice fitted shape to it. I am still considering sending it back due to the narrowness of the upper arm of the sleeve. The arms are so tight it does not allow room to wear a sweater under the coat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain & Wind Protection

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable fit with excellent hip and thigh coverage keeps the wearer dry and warm in gusty winds and rain. Could use an extra larger pocket inside to keep necessary personal belongings dry. Zippered pockets are well located & easy to open but fussy to close. Great light weight zip out fleece liner which, when removed, made layering much easier for frequent indoor/outdoor travel changes. Don't expect a beautiful hair style or dry glasses when the rain hood is used. It is a bit shallow but keeps the wind and rain at bay if the neck warmer is snapped in place. For its purpose, this is a great choice for rainy cold traveling because it is easy on and easy off and maintains dry warmth.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: brookline, ma
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! I love the color (green) and the fit. The sleeves are a little long on me but I can tighten them with the velcro. I am very happy with this item.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Waconia, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only thing I wish it had was draw string for waist. My mistake not looking into that before ordering. Little big without under shell. Love the warmth & color. Always a great choice-Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but small

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket and from reading prior reviews I knew it would run small. I didn't think it was going to run quite that small but I'm lucky I'm warm blooded because there is no way I'll be able to wear a sweatshirt underneath my coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>