Customer reviews for Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Designed for long, hot hours in the sun, this Omni-Freeze® ZERO arm sleeve packs serious UV protection for supreme protection from the heat and sun.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Review 1 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peng
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had a chance to use them, but it's true to size and is in good quality.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for biking

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric43
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use these for road biking and love them. They work great for keeping both the sun off my skin and for keeping everything cool. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for its use

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
troxel87
Location: Africa
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit for my skinny arms (S/M), and it does cool quite a bit. Only problem is that I do have to adjust them pretty frequently at the wrist, as they bunch up quite a bit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Deceiving

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephkiki
Location: Denver, Co
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mirage is NOT white. It would be great if the color name truly described a real color. Mirage is pale blue/gray. I needed white to match a uniform so they were returned. I really wanted this to work but I didn't even open them to try on so I'm not sure about the fit or quality.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

JDub

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
DjShifta
Location: Las Vegas
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using Pearl Izumi sun sleeves for a few years now and got really excited about the Columbia ones with Omni-Freeze. Sadly though, I am greatly disappointed with the product in general. The fit is pretty terrible unfortunately. The length is too short (I am 6'3'' and got the L/M) the bicep part doesn't stretch enough to fit my bicep (And I am not a body builder) and the CUFF at the wrist is LOOSE (Super annoying)!!! The length barely goes from about 1'' under a T-Shirts sleeve to about 2'' SHORT of my wrist (Barely covering JUST enough area!! The material is NOT very stretchy AT ALL so they don't stretch to fit and they don't GRIP very well to the arm so if your say, Mountain Biking, they will end up falling down!!
Very disappointed. The Omni-Freeze Gell in the sleeves seemed to work a LITTLE BIT but I didn't notice much cooling difference between these and the PI. I got them wet with a lot of sweat, not water......I will stick with my Pearl Izumi ones...sorry Columbia, you normally make great stuff!!
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
whamwham
El Paso, TX
 
Please wait while more information about whamwham is loaded.
Additional information about whamwham could not be loaded.
Measurements please.
Posted June 20, 2014
So what is the measurement of your bicep and wrist? We need to know in order for your comments to be useful to us. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easier than sunscreen

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hoody
Location: Sacramento
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a hot, sunny climate. I like having these sleeves because I can put them on and go for a walk without stopping to put on sunscreen. They are cooler than I expected which I appreciate because it is often above 90 degrees during the summer. They do run small. I had to send the first pair back and exchange for the larger size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sun Protection

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Face97
Location: Virginia Beach
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this after missing a spot on my arms with sunscreen while heading out on a long run. What do you know; I had sunburn when I was done. This does a great job of protecting my arms from the sun and giving me the feeling of being cooler when running. Highly recommend this product for the protection that it provides.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeve

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Evan3029
Location: Titusville, fl
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Love them! Works very well with my uniforms and provides excellent cooling
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than sunblock, but wish they were longer

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
AnOhioCyclist
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these sleeves to replace the requirement of applying sunblock to my arms when I'm out cycling. Sunblock is greasy, bugs stick to it and needs to be reapplied regularly, which isn't always a desirable option when out on a long ride. These sleeves keep my arms protected for long hours out on the bike. They do seem to provide a cooling effect, but it is difficult to tell since when compared to sunblock, anything is cooler. I have long arms and the sleeves leave some uncovered skin at my wrist and upper biceps, I wish the sleeves were 2-3 inches longer so they could overlap my gloves and still run up under my cycling jersey sleeves. I did 102 miles yesterday and the sleeves stayed put the entire time, for the most part. I did have to pull them down/up a few times after my gloves/jersey had pushed them back after switching hand positions or signaling turns, but that was to be expected. With sunblock, sweat usually runs down my arms and soaks my gloves, these sun sleeves solved that problem. Highly recommended for cyclists.
As for fit, not sure how to describe. I have long skinny arms and the S/M fits like a glove, so I guess that is true to size. The sleeves are stretchy, mine measure 17 inches end to end when unstretched. They are plenty long when my arms are at my side, but when stretched out on the bike, they are a bit too short.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wild West Relay

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
kimmykazu
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought and wore these specifically for a relay race I was doing that would take me during legs during the heat. Since I overheat, I needed something.
I drenched them in water before I left my exchange, IMMEDIATELY they are freezing cold. They kept me cooler for awhile but my leg was too long, they dried out. Since I don't sweat, they didn't re-activate but I found a stream to jump in and then it was cold again. I love them and will buy more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
HobieYakFisher
Location: Savannah Ga
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Don't like wearing long sleeves? These sleeves are your friend, cool you off, and you'll forget you have them on!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing cool protection

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdamC
Location: Philly, Pa
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omni freeze fabric is amazing. If someone would have told me I'd be cooler with fabric on than w/o I would have said they were crazy. I don't know how they did it but this fabric keeps the sun off your skin and feels like the A/C is blowing on you. I bought one pair of sleeves for $32 and wear my regular Tshirts fishing instead of spending $500 on speciality angler shirts. Saved me a ton of money. They make bluffs, hats and gloves out of the same fabric. Sleeves fit snug and don't slide down ur arm. Amazing product.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
gordo13
Location: Rockport TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It seems to cool a little when there is some wind but am not sureabout the cooling effects. However the sleeves are extremely comfortable and feel like you're not wearing anything in the Texas gulf coast heat and humidity. Need to include washing instructions
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No need for sunscreen

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
finchey35
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got back from a trip to Havasupai in the Grand Canyon and I took these sleeves with me so I didn't need to worry about constantly applying sunscreen to my arms. I HATE SUNSCREEN. I'm also freaked out by skin cancer so I really enjoyed these. I hardly noticed I had them on my arms, the Omni-Freeze Zero also worked well. It kept my arms cool. I love these things. I'm an avid river rafter and I'm going to take these on all my trips. I recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Im a redhead these seemed like a necessity

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anth84
Location: Vancouver, BC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im headed off to field school this summer, in the dessert. These seemed like a fantastic idea and were cheaper her than many other store. I luckily read the reviews first, so I knew to get the small/medium even though I wear a Large tee shirt. They are slightly tight in the upper arm but fit great everywhere else. Glad I dont have to wear so much sun screen now! The cooling effect is pretty awesome as well. Great product!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Millertime
Location: Dularge, Louisiana
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a charter captain in Louisiana that is always looking to lower my exposure to the sun. These sleeves are perfect for hot weather. They fit snug so you don't have to worry about them sliding down your arms. I think the biggest advantage is that you can where a short sleeve shirt and if you feel the sun is baking your arms you can slide them on real quick.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool under Heat

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Filmbuff90044
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I accepted this job out in New Mexico. I knew it would out in the open under the sun. First time I put it on, I instantly felt the cooling sensation. Coworkers kept asking all day, "What is that?" I explained to them what it was, how it worked and of course where to get some.
Thank you Columbia for your ingenious products.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Still warmer with them then without

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ScottyCycles
Location: San Diego, Ca
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted to try these sunsleeves because I am getting concerned about skin cancer on my forearms from all the hours spent on the bike every week and sunblock is greasy and blocks your pores when training hard. I was looking forward to the omni-freeze sleeves in hopes they would protect me from the Sun (which they do) without functioning like a lightweight arm warmer (which they do not). Maybe they will keep you cool if you are a recreational rider puttering along at less than 15mph and not elevating your heart rate but if you are doing hard efforts near and above your threshold they warm up like anything else that covers your arms.
It seems like EVERYONE who makes a sunlseeve/armwarmer neglects to use enough elastic in the upper arm gripper so they creep down and and you have to adjust them every so often. In all fairness to Columbia Sportswear this happens with virtually every brand. I have long arms so I need to wear the l/xl size resulting in a slightly loose fit to the arms. Someone please add tighter upper arm gripper or use a more elastic material over all. Sunsleeves should fit very snug to eliminate flapping in the wind.
I still recommend this product since it is the best of the sun protectors out there.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must have for summer & tropical applications.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
These are the 3rd edition of this product I have purchased. This design just keeps getting better. The thumb hole has been dropped from the design & it has the latest skin cooling technology. They are comfortable for all day wear & keeps me fishing day after day in the direct sun without any restrictions to the use of my arms.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really does cool down in temperature! No more layering clothes!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
HandsomBWonderful
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Super on a golf course in SWFL, long hours outside in hot & humid working conditions and this product is amazing! These sleeves stay in place and REALLY do get cold! These sleeves work so well that they stay on until the day is done.
Outstanding.
they also REALLY work in air conditioned rooms
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.