Customer reviews for Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Designed for long, hot hours in the sun, this Omni-Freeze® ZERO arm sleeve packs serious UV protection for supreme protection from the heat and sun.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
24 out of 26(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Review 1 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Sher23
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product was seamed up so the outside was inside. So I have to wear the product with the side that is supposed to be on the outside, on the inside. Otherwise, the seams are showing. Also, I wouldn't mind the brand name being on the sleeve, but smaller and less conspicuous.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
raftingjay
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first time I wore them I spent the day river rafting in the hot sun. They got wet but dried quickly. I stayed cool the whole time and my arms didn't get a hint of sunburn though my neck did! It's like wearing a long sleeved shirt with sunscreen but way more comfortable and definitely cooler. Doesn't add as much weight to the backpack as a shirt either. Fantastic product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Also good for warmth

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Arcnadius
Location: Saint Paul, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these to help stay cool during runs in our muggy climate. Unfortunately, I ordered them just as the weather turned cool. It was a good thing I had them stashed in my run belt, though, because I underdressed for a run a couple days ago in 48 degree weather and slipped these on hoping they would provide some warmth, which they did, just enough to keep me going. I'm 5'4" and 117 pounds with fairly small-boned arms and I found these to be a little loose and a little long (I just gave them a small roll at the end). I can see how a slightly larger person might find these too small. I would have like to have seen a slip-resistant band for the bicep. They did stay up while I ran, but I had expected some compression so I was a little disappointed. The sleeves are not "stretchy" much at all. I look forward to trying these if we ever see warm weather again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
RunningRN
Location: Livonia, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these for running and cycling. I have a couple of the Freezer Zero casual shirts which have been great for the summer. Once I saw Columbia made arm sleeves also I had to get a pair. I just rode a 60 mile race in these sleeves. My arms were comfortable in the heat. I didn't have to worry about burning either. Now I'm looking for a jersey made of the same material.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really small

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Victimofnicknametheft
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Bought some of these in the S/M size and was unpleasantly surprised to learn that there is no way this would ever fit a medium. Couldn't even get them past my elbow. Also the size chart for these lists hats and gloves, which have nothing to do with sleeve sizes. It's especially disappointing because I also got a zero rules long sleeve shirt in size M and it is a little loose on the arms (fits great). Now I have to pay return shipping and wait if I even get a bigger size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Was Skeptical, But Not Any More!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Golf300
Location: Grayslake, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I doubted the "cooling" function would work, but needed the sun protection factor for my arms. But I must say, it really does work. I have many performance fabric shirts that I wear for golf, coaching, and exercise, so these sleeves were the perfect complement to them. The technology works and my arms were markedly cooler. I will be purchasing a shirt with Omni-Freeze Zero technology for the whole effect.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and functional

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
suntri
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did the job, both in blocking the sun and keeping me cool on long training rides on the bike. I have used other brands of arm coolers, but liked the Columbia -- cut is long and covered my arm completely to the wrist, and stays up well without being binding on the upper arm.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb sun protection & cooling but more color choices needed

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
gochugogi
Location: honolulu
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own two pairs of the Columbia Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve, one in white and another in stone blue. I'm 5'8" 140LB and a slender toned build, but the L/XL fits me well. I tried the S/M and it was extremely tight (fits my 5'2" GF). The L/XL seemed snug at first but once installed felt comfortable, providing excellent support and compression of arm muscles.
I bought these sleeves for playing classical guitar while wearing short sleeved shirts. Yes, that may seem odd, but the compression relaxes my muscles and allows my right arm (the picking hand) to freely slide around and change tone, execute harmonics, etc., without my sweaty skin sticking to the guitar. And the secondary benefit is the Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve is noticeably cooler at gigs--I sweat profusely--than my Nike and Phiten sleeves.
I auditioned the Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve for sun protection while involved in mellow outdoor activities such as photography, hiking and biking. I live in the tropics so the sun is brutal and can burn through my tee-shirt in 20 minutes. The Columbia sleeves kept my arms a burn-free milky white! I noticed cooling the most when riding my bike. With one arm bare and the other decked out in a Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve, the sleeved arm felt like AC was blowing directly on it! The bare arm was, well, very warm. The combination of sweat and moving air maximizes cooling.
The Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve is a very good product: nice compression, noticeable cooling, excellent sun protection and perfect for guitar playing and outdoor activities in heat and sun. I'd rather the sleeves were plain and didn't have a huge "Columbia" written along the length. Wish there were more color choices. Black, while not great in the sun, would be my first choice for stage use.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Peng
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had a chance to use them, but it's true to size and is in good quality.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for biking

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric43
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use these for road biking and love them. They work great for keeping both the sun off my skin and for keeping everything cool. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for its use

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
troxel87
Location: Africa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit for my skinny arms (S/M), and it does cool quite a bit. Only problem is that I do have to adjust them pretty frequently at the wrist, as they bunch up quite a bit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Deceiving

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Stephkiki
Location: Denver, Co
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mirage is NOT white. It would be great if the color name truly described a real color. Mirage is pale blue/gray. I needed white to match a uniform so they were returned. I really wanted this to work but I didn't even open them to try on so I'm not sure about the fit or quality.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

JDub

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DjShifta
Location: Las Vegas
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using Pearl Izumi sun sleeves for a few years now and got really excited about the Columbia ones with Omni-Freeze. Sadly though, I am greatly disappointed with the product in general. The fit is pretty terrible unfortunately. The length is too short (I am 6'3'' and got the L/M) the bicep part doesn't stretch enough to fit my bicep (And I am not a body builder) and the CUFF at the wrist is LOOSE (Super annoying)!!! The length barely goes from about 1'' under a T-Shirts sleeve to about 2'' SHORT of my wrist (Barely covering JUST enough area!! The material is NOT very stretchy AT ALL so they don't stretch to fit and they don't GRIP very well to the arm so if your say, Mountain Biking, they will end up falling down!!
Very disappointed. The Omni-Freeze Gell in the sleeves seemed to work a LITTLE BIT but I didn't notice much cooling difference between these and the PI. I got them wet with a lot of sweat, not water......I will stick with my Pearl Izumi ones...sorry Columbia, you normally make great stuff!!
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bywhamwham
El Paso, TX
 
Please wait while more information about whamwham is loaded.
Additional information about whamwham could not be loaded.
Measurements please.
onJune 20, 2014
So what is the measurement of your bicep and wrist? We need to know in order for your comments to be useful to us. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easier than sunscreen

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Hoody
Location: Sacramento
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a hot, sunny climate. I like having these sleeves because I can put them on and go for a walk without stopping to put on sunscreen. They are cooler than I expected which I appreciate because it is often above 90 degrees during the summer. They do run small. I had to send the first pair back and exchange for the larger size.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sun Protection

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Face97
Location: Virginia Beach
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this after missing a spot on my arms with sunscreen while heading out on a long run. What do you know; I had sunburn when I was done. This does a great job of protecting my arms from the sun and giving me the feeling of being cooler when running. Highly recommend this product for the protection that it provides.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleeve

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Evan3029
Location: Titusville, fl
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Love them! Works very well with my uniforms and provides excellent cooling
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than sunblock, but wish they were longer

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
AnOhioCyclist
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these sleeves to replace the requirement of applying sunblock to my arms when I'm out cycling. Sunblock is greasy, bugs stick to it and needs to be reapplied regularly, which isn't always a desirable option when out on a long ride. These sleeves keep my arms protected for long hours out on the bike. They do seem to provide a cooling effect, but it is difficult to tell since when compared to sunblock, anything is cooler. I have long arms and the sleeves leave some uncovered skin at my wrist and upper biceps, I wish the sleeves were 2-3 inches longer so they could overlap my gloves and still run up under my cycling jersey sleeves. I did 102 miles yesterday and the sleeves stayed put the entire time, for the most part. I did have to pull them down/up a few times after my gloves/jersey had pushed them back after switching hand positions or signaling turns, but that was to be expected. With sunblock, sweat usually runs down my arms and soaks my gloves, these sun sleeves solved that problem. Highly recommended for cyclists.
As for fit, not sure how to describe. I have long skinny arms and the S/M fits like a glove, so I guess that is true to size. The sleeves are stretchy, mine measure 17 inches end to end when unstretched. They are plenty long when my arms are at my side, but when stretched out on the bike, they are a bit too short.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wild West Relay

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer avatar
kimmykazu
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought and wore these specifically for a relay race I was doing that would take me during legs during the heat. Since I overheat, I needed something.
I drenched them in water before I left my exchange, IMMEDIATELY they are freezing cold. They kept me cooler for awhile but my leg was too long, they dried out. Since I don't sweat, they didn't re-activate but I found a stream to jump in and then it was cold again. I love them and will buy more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
HobieYakFisher
Location: Savannah Ga
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Don't like wearing long sleeves? These sleeves are your friend, cool you off, and you'll forget you have them on!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing cool protection

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
AdamC
Location: Philly, Pa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omni freeze fabric is amazing. If someone would have told me I'd be cooler with fabric on than w/o I would have said they were crazy. I don't know how they did it but this fabric keeps the sun off your skin and feels like the A/C is blowing on you. I bought one pair of sleeves for $32 and wear my regular Tshirts fishing instead of spending $500 on speciality angler shirts. Saved me a ton of money. They make bluffs, hats and gloves out of the same fabric. Sleeves fit snug and don't slide down ur arm. Amazing product.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>