Customer reviews for Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Columbia Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves

Designed for long, hot hours in the sun, this Omni-Freeze® ZERO arm sleeve packs serious UV protection for supreme protection from the heat and sun.
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
29 out of 32(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Review 1 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zero Arm SLeeves

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Golf18
Location: Pinehurst,NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This product works exceptionally well for me while playing a round of golf. I have purchased a similar product from another source but prefer the compression sleeves better. I am about to buy two addtional pair after I complete this review.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for runners

PostedMay 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Medialuna47
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Based on a friend’s suggestion, I bought these sleeves (color: white) to run a marathon outside of Las Vegas in May. I was glad to be protected from the sun while getting a cooling benefit. I got them wet and kept re-wetting them as they dried, as I think the cooling effect is enhanced when they are damp. However, I don’t know if they would work well in a humid climate if you can’t actually achieve an evaporative cooling effect. I have only used them in dry places so far, but I think these sleeves will continue to be a regular accessory on summer runs. My main complaint is that Columbia makes these sleeves only in sizes for men. As an average sized woman, I find that the S/M sleeves are a little loose around my wrist.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No burnt or cold arms

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
chazrasman
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These arm sleeves are great. The fit is good. Make sure you measure your arms before ordering to get the right size. They keep your arms from burning up in the hot summer sun. You can wear a short sleeved shirt to stay a little cooler but still keep your arms protected. If they get wet they dry really quickly. The fabric is light weight so they don't add a lot of heat to your arms. In the spring and fall you can wear them in the morning and evening to protect against chill but take them off during the day as it warms up. A great product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Arthurs6
Location: California, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used the American Scales when I ran the Orange County Marathon. Performed well, I could feel the cooling effect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Superb product idea, poor execution/description, etc

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer avatar
UserMe
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have tattoos on both arms and constantly struggle with keeping my arms out of the sun--in the car and just being outside.
These seemed like they would be so perfect!
The other reviews are horribly lacking on what size was ordered, their body (arm) size, fit, etc.
-Some are vague or partially-informative, but mostly overall useless.
I am a woman and being as the sizing--NOT included on the 'sizing guide' from Columbia--should include men's larger arms, I hesitated in ordering the L/XL.
SO glad I did order L/XL! I cannot comprehend how any regular-sized humans can even attempt to use these (let alone a man with larger biceps & forearms...).
I am a woman
5ft 11in tall
weigh 155lbs
arm (from armpit) length: ~20in long (unbent)
bicep circumference: ~13in (unflexed)
wrist circumference: ~7in
These L/XL are tight and VERY difficult to put on past my wrist.
They seem to do what they are designed for--to block sun while not blocking in heat.
Best wishes on your purchase!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Freezer Zero Sleeves

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Kccc
Location: Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product is excellent, I ordered these sleeves for TIG welding purposes, for the UV protection and the warmth/cooling effect. The thermal ability of these are great, when a little breeze blows in I feel it immediately and it disperses across the entire sleeve. Very great product, I've already ordered another pair. Thanks
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Sher23
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product was seamed up so the outside was inside. So I have to wear the product with the side that is supposed to be on the outside, on the inside. Otherwise, the seams are showing. Also, I wouldn't mind the brand name being on the sleeve, but smaller and less conspicuous.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
raftingjay
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first time I wore them I spent the day river rafting in the hot sun. They got wet but dried quickly. I stayed cool the whole time and my arms didn't get a hint of sunburn though my neck did! It's like wearing a long sleeved shirt with sunscreen but way more comfortable and definitely cooler. Doesn't add as much weight to the backpack as a shirt either. Fantastic product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Also good for warmth

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Arcnadius
Location: Saint Paul, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these to help stay cool during runs in our muggy climate. Unfortunately, I ordered them just as the weather turned cool. It was a good thing I had them stashed in my run belt, though, because I underdressed for a run a couple days ago in 48 degree weather and slipped these on hoping they would provide some warmth, which they did, just enough to keep me going. I'm 5'4" and 117 pounds with fairly small-boned arms and I found these to be a little loose and a little long (I just gave them a small roll at the end). I can see how a slightly larger person might find these too small. I would have like to have seen a slip-resistant band for the bicep. They did stay up while I ran, but I had expected some compression so I was a little disappointed. The sleeves are not "stretchy" much at all. I look forward to trying these if we ever see warm weather again!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
RunningRN
Location: Livonia, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these for running and cycling. I have a couple of the Freezer Zero casual shirts which have been great for the summer. Once I saw Columbia made arm sleeves also I had to get a pair. I just rode a 60 mile race in these sleeves. My arms were comfortable in the heat. I didn't have to worry about burning either. Now I'm looking for a jersey made of the same material.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really small

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Victimofnicknametheft
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Bought some of these in the S/M size and was unpleasantly surprised to learn that there is no way this would ever fit a medium. Couldn't even get them past my elbow. Also the size chart for these lists hats and gloves, which have nothing to do with sleeve sizes. It's especially disappointing because I also got a zero rules long sleeve shirt in size M and it is a little loose on the arms (fits great). Now I have to pay return shipping and wait if I even get a bigger size.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Was Skeptical, But Not Any More!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Golf300
Location: Grayslake, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I doubted the "cooling" function would work, but needed the sun protection factor for my arms. But I must say, it really does work. I have many performance fabric shirts that I wear for golf, coaching, and exercise, so these sleeves were the perfect complement to them. The technology works and my arms were markedly cooler. I will be purchasing a shirt with Omni-Freeze Zero technology for the whole effect.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and functional

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
suntri
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did the job, both in blocking the sun and keeping me cool on long training rides on the bike. I have used other brands of arm coolers, but liked the Columbia -- cut is long and covered my arm completely to the wrist, and stays up well without being binding on the upper arm.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb sun protection & cooling but more color choices needed

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer avatar
gochugogi
Location: honolulu
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own two pairs of the Columbia Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve, one in white and another in stone blue. I'm 5'8" 140LB and a slender toned build, but the L/XL fits me well. I tried the S/M and it was extremely tight (fits my 5'2" GF). The L/XL seemed snug at first but once installed felt comfortable, providing excellent support and compression of arm muscles.
I bought these sleeves for playing classical guitar while wearing short sleeved shirts. Yes, that may seem odd, but the compression relaxes my muscles and allows my right arm (the picking hand) to freely slide around and change tone, execute harmonics, etc., without my sweaty skin sticking to the guitar. And the secondary benefit is the Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve is noticeably cooler at gigs--I sweat profusely--than my Nike and Phiten sleeves.
I auditioned the Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve for sun protection while involved in mellow outdoor activities such as photography, hiking and biking. I live in the tropics so the sun is brutal and can burn through my tee-shirt in 20 minutes. The Columbia sleeves kept my arms a burn-free milky white! I noticed cooling the most when riding my bike. With one arm bare and the other decked out in a Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve, the sleeved arm felt like AC was blowing directly on it! The bare arm was, well, very warm. The combination of sweat and moving air maximizes cooling.
The Freezer Zero Arm Sleeve is a very good product: nice compression, noticeable cooling, excellent sun protection and perfect for guitar playing and outdoor activities in heat and sun. I'd rather the sleeves were plain and didn't have a huge "Columbia" written along the length. Wish there were more color choices. Black, while not great in the sun, would be my first choice for stage use.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Peng
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had a chance to use them, but it's true to size and is in good quality.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for biking

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric43
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use these for road biking and love them. They work great for keeping both the sun off my skin and for keeping everything cool. Highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for its use

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
troxel87
Location: Africa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fit for my skinny arms (S/M), and it does cool quite a bit. Only problem is that I do have to adjust them pretty frequently at the wrist, as they bunch up quite a bit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Deceiving

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Stephkiki
Location: Denver, Co
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mirage is NOT white. It would be great if the color name truly described a real color. Mirage is pale blue/gray. I needed white to match a uniform so they were returned. I really wanted this to work but I didn't even open them to try on so I'm not sure about the fit or quality.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

JDub

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
DjShifta
Location: Las Vegas
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have been using Pearl Izumi sun sleeves for a few years now and got really excited about the Columbia ones with Omni-Freeze. Sadly though, I am greatly disappointed with the product in general. The fit is pretty terrible unfortunately. The length is too short (I am 6'3'' and got the L/M) the bicep part doesn't stretch enough to fit my bicep (And I am not a body builder) and the CUFF at the wrist is LOOSE (Super annoying)!!! The length barely goes from about 1'' under a T-Shirts sleeve to about 2'' SHORT of my wrist (Barely covering JUST enough area!! The material is NOT very stretchy AT ALL so they don't stretch to fit and they don't GRIP very well to the arm so if your say, Mountain Biking, they will end up falling down!!
Very disappointed. The Omni-Freeze Gell in the sleeves seemed to work a LITTLE BIT but I didn't notice much cooling difference between these and the PI. I got them wet with a lot of sweat, not water......I will stick with my Pearl Izumi ones...sorry Columbia, you normally make great stuff!!
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bywhamwham
El Paso, TX
 
Please wait while more information about whamwham is loaded.
Additional information about whamwham could not be loaded.
Measurements please.
onJune 20, 2014
So what is the measurement of your bicep and wrist? We need to know in order for your comments to be useful to us. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Freezer Zero™ Arm Sleeves
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easier than sunscreen

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Hoody
Location: Sacramento
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in a hot, sunny climate. I like having these sleeves because I can put them on and go for a walk without stopping to put on sunscreen. They are cooler than I expected which I appreciate because it is often above 90 degrees during the summer. They do run small. I had to send the first pair back and exchange for the larger size.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>