Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall

Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fit great, and for my size that's not easy

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
JonathanXLG
Location: Petaluma Ca
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a good coat, because we were going back East to look at colleges and with the season they been having. I am 6'4" 300lbs, most of my height is from my waist up, so finding a coat that fits right isn't easy, most barely get to my waist. But this coat was long enough and warm enough to get the job done. It covered my expanse just right.
The only thing I would change, is to put a double zipper on the shell, to make it easier to sit down, while staying warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
TallQueen
Location: Detroit, Mi
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a mans coat because I need it to be long. I'm loving the color of the coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good and bad

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chewy06
Location: Vancouver BC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket just under two weeks ago and have been wearing heavily since then both with the liner and just the shell.
On the function front, i'm very happy with how it works - its very warm & very dry.
There are some issues though.
Sizing. I'm a large guy and I ordered the biggest size available. It fits nicely through the body and, is a rare find to find something that fits across my shoulders. However, what I dont quite understand is the scrawny arms - with the liner in, my jacket is stretched tight around my biceps. If a person is large through the trunk and shoulders to fill in a 4XLT jacket, wouldnt it make sense that they might also have larger than average arms?
My real issue with this jacket - the velcro at the cuffs - very poorly thought out / executed. It has a couple of sharp spots. It's constantly catching onvelcro at the rain flap and worse, through walking, is tearing up the bottom of the hem of the jacket at the sides (frayed fabric there after a week and a half? really?).
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For serious outdoorsmen

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
DanielR
Location: venal utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket this winter and have been stunned by its quality and warmth. I am 6'7'' and was a little worried that the tall size wouldn't be long enough, I was pleasantly susprized. It fit just right, not to baggy, but big enough to throw a few layers on underneath if needed. I am outdoors more than most both mountaineering and fishing in all kinds of weather and so far I have nothing to say but great things about this product. For example this week I was fishing at Flaming Gorge in Wyoming. I had to hike about 4 miles across the lake to get to a cliff that I wanted to fish. The wind was blowing at about 30 miles an hour and it was no joke -20. This jacket kept the wind out and me warm. Don't hesitate to pull the trigger on this jacket... it is solid.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE the new Omni-Heat system!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
roadlesstraveledguy
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE the new Omni-Heat system! I take the dog for a long walk every day here in Minnesota and it can get cold (– 27 wind chill today) and the Columbia Whirlibird III Interchange Jacket is the warmest coat I now own. That being said there are a coupe of things you should know if you are buying one. In red the photo shows a gray lining around the color and a black Omni-Heat liner. On the one I received these both are dark blue. Also I bought a Tall XL and it is a little smaller than my old Columbia Vertex parka in the same size so you may want to go one size larger if you have big arms. If it weren’t so cold and I was wearing it everyday I would have tried to see if they had one in the colors shown and maybe gone to a 2XT.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Geronimo
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'5 27olbs with an athletic build and this jacket fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy tall skier

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
chyzman
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love Columbia as they continue to make Tall sizes. At 6'6", it is hard to find ski gear that is cut perfect with the latest designs. I thank you again for this jacket as it is now my favorite.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well designed product.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
JPatrick
Location: Columbus,Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am plesantley surprised by the design of the jacket. It is extremely versatile. As temperature and activity change though the day so does this jacket, proving to be more valuable than I thought. I never thought I would use the term "feature packed" when describing a winter coat but this product is. Oh by the way, I it is freaking warm even in single digit weather.
P.S. Had a issue with UPS tracking and Columbia's customer care both by phone and e-mail was excellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really warm jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VTDave
Location: Washington, DC
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is really warm, but not bulky. The jacket traps body heat to keep me warm. It's a little heavier than I expected; however, it's not bulky and allows for a full range of motion. It's a perfect coat for the east coast winters.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DaveL1979
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has impressed me on every level. First, it is just looks great (I got the blue plaid). Very well constructed, light weight but still very warm. The liner is it's own stand alone jacket and the shell makes a great snowboarding coat with plenty of room for base layers. I have a very long torso and this is the first coat I have ever owned that is long enough to actually make use of the powder skirt. I love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whirlibird

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ps2ps2
Location: IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves it. Had to purchase a large tall and he has no complaints, only compliments.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Tall men

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
qwerty1234
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is 6'4" 195lbs. 36-37 arm measurements. I ordered him the Large Tall. Fits him great! The sleeves are long enough and the jacket is long enough on his torso and not too bulky around the torso. Kept him warm in 15 degree weather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Light-Weight Warmth

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
M4x1MU5
Location: Northwest Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's body warms up quickly but this jacket is the best option that we found. It's light-weight, making it easy to wear, and maintains heat very well. We had to purchase a the long version of the jacket to have sleeves that are long enough but we have no regrets about our purchase. It is definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A coat that fits!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
exewafe
Location: Olympia, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have looked at a number of brands and this one appeared to be a good candidate. I was pleasantly surprised when I received it and the sleeve length was perfect (I have a 38" sleeve). Quality of the product is very good.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disco returns

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
momgone
Location: Alfred, NY
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket overall was fine, if you like wearing disco balls. The liner was covered in what looked like those emergency blankets EMT's use on freezing victims. The liner makes the jacket very noticeable and reflective. So if you want to stand out and like paying a lot for a jacket, buy it.
I do not recommend this product.
-19points
0of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.