Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 

Columbia Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 

Ideal for staying dry and warm during winter weather activities, these versatile waterproof-breathable pants feature a fully seam-sealed exterior with a heat-keeping, thermo-regulating Omni-Heat™ thermal reflective lining. Features like leg venting, an internal leg gaiter, articulated knees and reinforced cuff guard make them ideal for hard-charging aerobic cold-weather endeavors.
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
7 out of 10(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Review 1 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Ski/Snowboard Pant for the big and tall customer.

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pacific Northwest
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used Columbia since the mid 1990's as a skier and absolutely love the product. I have sold Columbia product working in the big and tall clothing industry and still believe it is one of the best products for quality and style in the outdoors. This pant would receive excellent marks in all categories but the length of the rise (distance cut from crotch to waist) holds the grade down. I have worn Columbia Jackets with great satisfaction but the pants weren't cut for my build which is larger in the thigh and seat with a longer rise than the average. As a clothing professional I realize they cannot accommodate each specific need nor do I expect it. This outdoor pant is the best option per dollar spent for a recreational skier/snowboarder. My recommendation is to buy one size up in this pant if you have a long rise and use suspenders to hold them in place. If you are a short rise buy your actual size and I believe you will be pleased (you will only need suspenders if you find that you typically have trouble with your pants sliding down). Good luck and great snow sporting to you!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Fit, Flexible

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lake City, MI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used the only for skiing. They are a bit long but with ski boots and skiing they work well. Without Ski boots they drag on ground but I also have short legs. Very warm and flexible. Great Pants~
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: oregon coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product wish there was a way to tighten at ankles when not wearing snow boots other then that there ok in my book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what expected

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product runs small so it's best you order 1 size over. It's snug in the crotch region
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed.

PostedSeptember 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Perfect pants for my needs. Water proof and easy to play or work in.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fits well

PostedSeptember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The pants fit well and seem to be exactly what I need for skiing. Can't wait to try them on the slopes. Love the light weight design.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good fit

PostedDecember 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Holliston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had hoped they would run true to size. Fit is too small
Recommend you order larger. Quality is good and adjustment straps exist to tighten waist
Appear good for alpine ski but not for cross country
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pants

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Islamorada, Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am 6'2 and 300 lbs. The 2x is too-small the 3x is too-big. I have short legs and a thin waist for my weight. I got a pair of suspenders and problem solved. The 3x is now perfect. They are the most comfortable ski pants ever. I stay bone dry and warm. I like them so much that I have also been using them for ice-fishing and hunting too. You won't find a better pair of pants for the money. Also you only need to wear your long underwear underneath. multiple layers not necessary. If you are warm, you can unzip in several locations and feel the cool breeze! I love them! Favorite columbia product.
I would recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy on sale

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Eastern PA.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore these last weekend in some of the coldest weather in N.H. history. They kept me toasty warm and dry skiing but I would suggest a set of suspenders and suspender buttons / hooks would be a nice addition.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a great ski pant

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This ski pant is okay, but it has two main problems. One: these are not warm pants. These are not the pants you will want to wear in Dec-Feb, really probably only good for spring skiing or for adding a layer underneath. Two: the fit on these is odd - the pants are really long, and when standing normally, the waist fits fine, but as soon as you start moving (ie, skiing), it sags, creating an uncomfortable position of pulling up your ski pants all the time. Not the greatest overall...
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ridge to Run™ II Pant – Big 
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These are solid snow pants!

PostedDecember 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Hampshire
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 21st season snowboarding so I know what my wants & needs are when it comes to outerwear and these pants exceed that. Secure pockets all over the place, comfy/relaxed fit, solid stitching, reinforced ankles/heel to prevent wear & tear against bindings. Honestly, as a "Big & Tall" rider there aren't many choices out there, especially in anything other than black, but these are truly great. I can tell I'll get many years out of these.
FYI: I am 6'2" 340lbs with a 48/50 size waist and the 4XL were way too big, so I had to exchange for the 3XL. Big & Tall sizing is so arbitrary, my last pair of snowboard pants were 5XL and much tighter than Columbia's 4XL. Hopefully this info helps you find the right size for you.
Only 4 out of 5 stars because The inseam is a bit long and I wish they had some zippered vents down the thighs for those warmer days on the slopes, but I'll live. Nonetheless, if you're a BIG dude like me, these are most likely the best ski/ride pant on the market.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.