Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big

Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent jacket

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
remo
Location: chicago, il
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased to replace another Columbia jacket. Had to return the first purchase due to size issue (too small). Cust service was very good and I received my replacement jacket in 2 days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good winter coat

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Monte521
Location: Bemidji, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat a few weeks ago to replace an 8 to 10 year old Columbia Titanium coat with a busted zipper.
It is nice and warm once you zip up the liner jacket separately (I am in northern Minnesota).
The only thing that I don't like is that the main coat zipper is not a two way.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My second Columbia coat

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
HarleysDad
Location: Burbank, IL
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought my second Columbia coat. The first lasteust because.d years and still wears well. It is time to retire it and possibly drop it off at Goodwill or AmVets so another person can enjoy a warm coat. I might even order another j
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Polar Vortex Hits NE US - Columbia Whirlibird III Jacket to the Rescue!!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Warmguy
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Jacket in Early December of 2013. Temperatures in the NE US have be fluctuating like crazy this winter. The Temps last week hit the single digits in my area, with windchill temps in the negatives. Last Tuesday, it was 1 Degree Fahrenheit in my area! That is cold for the Washington DC area, but the Omni Heat lining took care of retaining my warmth, and the outer shell deflected the cold temps of the wind. I felt very warm with this jacket. Yesterday, the temps climbed to about 55 degrees, and it was heavily raining all. I unzipped the lining from the outer shell, attached the removable hood, and I had a comfortable rain jacket!
My only two issues with the jacket which are minor, is the lining on my right sleeve always pokes out when I insert my arm. It is easily corrected but just annoying to fix. Also, this is probably only an issue with the Graphite-white jacket, but the white portions of the jacket get dirty easily if your not careful. Yes, it is stupid but something to consider before making your purchase.
I'm glad I bough the jacket this winter! stylish, versatile, and most importantly warm! I most certainly got my moneys worth!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sizing Runs Small, But Great Jacket!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Peacekeeper
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm glad I read other reviews and took them seriously regarding the size. I normally wear a 3XL shirt. I bought this jacket in size 4XL and it fits perfectly! had I ordered a 3Xl, I'm sure it would have been too small.
The jacket itself is great. Used it for a week of snowmobiling in Colorado and was never cold, never wet, nor did snow work it's way inside.
Excellent!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
SP11
Location: Chicago Il
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice jacket but make sure to order one size larger because as others have said, it run small I luckily read the reviews prior to purchasing so did order one size larger and it worked out great
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
BigAndy
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the Chicago-Metro Area and it was very cold outside, yet the Jacket kept me warm. This was a GREAT Christmas present that I will enjoy for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whirlibird Bird III jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
jcarterhky
Location: Shorewood, Illinois
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very lightweight but very warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men’s Whirlibird™ III Is Another Columbia Hit

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RFtech53
Location: East Central Iowa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went from the Double Whammy, to the Men’s Whirlibird™ III. I wasn't disappointed. It has all of Columbia's features at a decent price for the quality.
I have a 42" waist, but I ordered the 3XL to give me a bit more waist room for zipping it up. I can wear a 2XL, but zipping it at the waist can be troublesome. The Whirlibird runs a bit small.
The Omni-Heat thermal reflective material definitely does the trick. Perhaps too well, as shopping inside a store for more than about 10 minutes causes me to begin to sweat and overheat. But that just means the coat works.
I can only think of two negatives that cause a one star reduction for my review.
I do wish that Columbia would go back to snaps in place of Velcro. Velcro gives out way quicker than snaps ever did on my stuff.
I also wish that Columbia would have kept the internal breast pocket on the left side as in their past coats. For some reason, they decided to move it to the right side. I think for right-handed folks, it makes more sense to keep it on the left side.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

verry good coat

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
ron25057
Location: pgh pa.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and dry thanks for making large sizes
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Shell

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimbob64
Location: Fincastle, VA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I already have a blue Whirlibird, wanted a red one.
Ordered a 3X because the fit is slightly on the small side.
This is a great jacket! Great quality, like the features! But...
I do not like the liner. Love the shell. I have been very dissapointed in Columbia going away from the fleece liners in favor of the so called tight fitting, not flexible, china shiny fabric nilon jacket, which feels like putting on a plastic sheet jacket. The fleece liners were great, warm, soft, stretch, comfortable, an were nice to wear without the shell.
That is my only down side with this jacket and the rest of Columbia clothing line. So, Great Shell poor liner.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Design Flaw

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
TW50
Location: Milwaukee Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a big fan of Columbia products,I own an array of winter hats coats and gloves. That is why I was so disappointed when I just recently purchased their latest line of winter jackets called the Whirlybird II. Although it is stylish and functional as advertised, there is just one problem with this particular model,"durability". The outer shell material frays very easily when it comes in contact with the Velcro on the jacket. My whole right sleeve looks like I had the product for years, when in fact I just had it two weeks. If this problem was corrected this would be an awesome product!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive....But.....

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
westgorge
Location: Troutdale Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anything of any quality is worth paying more for. Columbia Sportswear has been on my family's clothing shopping destination for decades. You just can't beat their quality. As for this coat, I live in the Northwest where we just went through the coldest weather we've had in about 25 years. This coat saw me through the coldest temps in a very comfortable manner. And, it's much lighter in weight than previous coats that I have worn that weren't nearly as warm or comfortable as this CS jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Winter Coat

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gator2
Location: Boston, MA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had to return it for a bigger size, also the lining hangs longer than the coat. When I get the coat and actually wear it out. I will let you know how I like it. I had to BUY another coat they do not let exchange for a different size - ridiculous.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coat

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deenotic
Location: Chicago, Il
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket as a present. This coat is great for the erratic Chicago weather. The outer shell is sturdy and the inner shell is light and stylish but still warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zippers Galore

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
BillinCincy
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is very well designed for convenience. Pockets everywhere, zippered cooling vents underarms, the zipper that holds the liner in the shell also zips together when you remove the liner. With temperatures in the 30's, I've been wearing just the liner in complete comfort. With the way the shell seals you in, I'm sure it will keep me warm when the temperature drops and the snow gets here. I normally wear 3XL shirts and bought the 4X jacket online since I have an outlet store nearby in case I needed to return it. The liner fits great. With the shell attached, it's a little snug around the middle, but a 5X would have been too big. Besides, snug keep the cold out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
cgrimm1
Location: Maryland
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product. Well made. Arrived in perfect condition.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.