Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Glove

Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Glove

Whether you’re hunting for powder or just walking the dog, forget the cold and focus on the task at hand in this newly updated Omni-Heat® fleece glove.
Overall rating:
3.077 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
6 out of 12(50%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Review 1 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Epic Fail in Technology

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
AmazonWoman
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anyone that has given this more than a one star ("POOR"), has not worn these gloves in weather below 50F. Total technology Epic Fail! As soon as I walk outside wearing the Columbia Men's Omni-Heat Ascender Gloves, the cold air literally sucks into these gloves. My fingers feel frigid immediately. At first I didn't think this was possible, but sure enough I would take my hands out of the gloves and put my fingers to my face and they would be ice cold! This technology could be used for other purposes, but not gloves to keep hands warm. I could see where it would be useful to make a blanket out of this material and use it in hospitals to cover a patient in a cold room where the patient needs to be kept cold to lower a fever, or during open heart surgery. Next time I go to the store where I bought them, I am going to return them, and I don't even care if they refund my money.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fit and Look

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Striper21
Location: Waterloo, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gloves fit nicely, look great
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
BaltimoreMD
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought these gloves to walk the dogs in the cold weather. I own a lot of Columbia products and have never had a problem with any of them. After 5 minutes of wearing these gloves my fingers were cold. By the time I got home from walking the dogs my finger tips were numb and ice cold. This is not Omni-Heat technology, it is more shiny material inside the gloves to make them sell. Now I have to figure out how to get them back to the store for a refund. Then to find another pair of gloves that will actually keep my hands warm.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Look good - not warm

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarkT
Location: Altadena, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love Columbia products in general, but not these gloves.
I have other gloves that keep my hands plenty warm, but I wanted a pair that might sacrifice some warmth while looking better when going out (a little more dressy, less bulky & technical). While these fill the bill nicely in the looks department, they fail badly on the warmth part.
I would never expect such gloves to be comfortable in bitter cold, but wearing these in 25 degree weather with no wind, my fingers get cold within a few minutes -- and to me that's not nearly good enough.
It may be my fault for expecting too much from relatively thin gloves, but the crowed-about "Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining" and Columbia's description that includes "keep you comfortable in very cold conditions" led me to believe otherwise.
To me, Columbia's warmth claims for these gloves are very exaggerated. From my experience, a pair of cheap, no-name fleece gloves might do worse in wind, but would be just as good for general warmth -- for half the price or less.
I am disappointed in these gloves and do not recommend them.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice glove. Unfortunately the small is too large for me

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tygre
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am female and I take a size 8 glove; generally a small in men's gloves. I ordered the small size of this glove. It was too long in the fingers.
This is a nicely designed glove. It would be great to have a women's version available or have the men's small be slightly smaller.
If you are a man with larger hands, this glove is just the thing for keeping your hands warm and dry. The outside fabric is smooth and will not collect stuff the way fleece gloves do.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gloves Batman

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChicagoPete
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Well made and very warm. Great value for the price
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not up to the old standard

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Justin44
Location: Cleveland, OH
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My first review didn't make it up here so I'm going to just make this shorter. Not nearly enough grip in the palm, air sails through the seams, shiny reflective stuff in the glove is tacky against the skin and is basically a gimmick. Not recommended.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not worth the money.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Normanie
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these gloves at a local franchised sports store. I used them for about an hour while blowing the snow. Temp. was in the mid 20's. My fingers were not cold, but they weren't warm either. Tagging on glove indicates glove repels slight rain. My gloves retained moisture though I did not come into much contact with snow. I love and own lots of Columbia sportswear. I've come to expect exceptional quality and value. This glove seems designed for short outdoor stays. At this price, I think it deserves average rating.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely pleased

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
wheet
Location: South Carolina
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my gloves, bought some for my sons as gifts and I know they will be comfortable and protected when they do life and that gives me joy! thank sfor such an excellent product!.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men’s Ascender™ II Glove

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
skatz
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wear these gloves on a regular bases commuting to and from work. They are warm and respond to a myriad of weather conditions. The colors are basic but compliment most of my wardrobe well.
Activities: Camping, Other, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT IMPRESSED

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
GraySnake
Location: The Mile High City
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Although I figured this as more of light weight work glove as compared to the more robust glove they offered last year it was a little wimpy... more of a female design. The omni heat technology was built in to the palm, but not so much along the sides of the fingers. That's another question of engineering the perfect balance of comfort and moister. As for the web pics I was surprised to receive the first design when I was thinking I was getting the second picture design shown (male v female). Overall nice glove.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jimmer
ontario Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Jimmer is loaded.
Additional information about Jimmer could not be loaded.
Disappointing
Posted December 28, 2012
my hands have never been colder. Very disappointed in having spent the money on these gloves. Temperatures just below freezing and still my fingers feel as if they will fall off.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work great for me

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lessoff
Location: Harker Heights, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I've had success with these gloves. I moved from New England to Texas because I hate cold. The last few days have been in the upper twenties and low thirties. I scraped ice from my wife's car windows with a ruler while wearing these gloves this morning and was warm. Having dealt with frostnip on a fairly regular basis while growing up my body shuts down blood flow to my extremities quickly when they get cold. I've had these gloves for almost a year and they haven't let me down yet. They're still in great shape. I gave them to my wife after clearing her windows as she had to stand in the cold at work for awhile. Her smaller hands did not stay warm at all in these gloves, proper fit seems essential.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Windy, Freezing
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Ascender™ II Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save Your Money

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
WBLCRNA
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Excited to get Omni-Heat gloves for hunting season. Hands got cold after 1 block while walking the dog on a 40 degree day. I am a very loyal Columbia buyer who is extraordinarily disappointed with this purchase.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.