Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
27 out of 32(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect coat

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Mexico MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the interchange functionality. The liner itself is nice and warm on fairly cold days, but the outer shell works great for autumn mornings when it is just chilly or rainy. When things get really bad, I put the combo on and it keeps me warm and dry.
I also really like the underarm zippers. I didn't think it'd make much of a difference, but it really does let you dump heat pretty quick.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Whirlibird III

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product came as advertised. I wear medium jackets from Columbia and this is no exception. The weather has not gotten cold enough yet to truly test the thermal properties of the jacket, but I have little doubt it will perform as advertised. That is the reason I am giving the product a "Good" overall review. I don't have all the information yet to rate it as "Excellent".
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket with great features ~ as separates and together

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy with this purchase. I have tried both the inner jacket and the outer jacket so far and I think they are both terrific.
Together when the weather gets worse, I know that I will be warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One deceptive coat

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Central Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is extremely light weight, but deceptively warm regardless.
Those little silver dots on the inside of the liner trap a ton of body heat. I haven't even really needed to put the shell on yet, because the liner traps enough heat to make 25 degrees Fahrenheit tolerable, even with a light breeze.
The one mistake I made was throwing the liner on a chair with the inside laying facing upwards. My cat decided that she was going to lay on it, and then decided that it was so warm that she didn't want to move when I had to leave for work.
Buy with confidence! It's a great coat!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket almost two months ago and wanted to wait until snowy weather arrived before I wrote a review.
There are only a few negatives to this jacket that I have found. The first isn't really a negative, but I found the underarm vents felt annoying and in the way. I eventually grew used to this so that wasn't much of a concern. Second, whenever I have both jackets together and wear items on my wrist like a watch or certain bracelets, the inner jacket's sleeve wouldn't come all the way down and I'd see the Omni-Heat dots. I felt as if I wasn't getting all the coverage I should have been. Lastly, I found that while Omni-Heat does work, wind would get into the jacket from the collar even when it was fully zipped. A scarf fixed that problem and now my core stays warm.
All the technologies do as they say. Omni-Heat really works and it works very well. After the wind problem was fixed with the scarf, I was never cold. You can feel the heat when you take off the jacket. The jacket is also very breathable. My core has remained the perfect, comfortable temperature no matter how warm or cold it is outside. From 50 degree weather down to 20 and under, my body remains warm, but not uncomfortably warm. The only time it gets too warm is when I first enter a well heated building, but the underarm vents help cool me down. Also, it truly is water and stain resistant. The water beads up when it rains and I've gotten coffee and other things on the outer jacket, but it all comes off without leaving a mark. I've only ever gotten my pockets wet so I can't say much about the wicking, but the pockets dried quickly when they did get wet.
I think about how very satisfied I am with my purchase every time I look at and put on my jacket. The pockets are plentiful and roomy, the skirt fits nice and snug, and it is an overall great looking jacket. I removed the hood and it felt like I had a whole new jacket. It looked like a jacket that can be worn in a professional office setting since I bought it in black.
This is the first product I have purchased from Columbia and I am extremely pleased. I look forward to buying more of its products. Thank you Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket For Pacific NW!!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this jacket for my husband as a replacement for an older, well-worn Columbia Sportswear jacket. He typically wears an XL and this fit perfectly. It has all the features and benefits he was looking for. Well worth the money!!
I would recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect companion going into the winter

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I personally think its the ultimate in versatile winter jackets.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interchange jacket

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Sitka, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, wind and waterproof. Great combo. Fits snugly but not tight, sleeves are just a bit ling for me The only thing I would change would be to add good reflective trim, like SOLAS patches to improve visibility in the dark.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am in the northeast where it is currently very cold, and I am glad that I purchased the Whirlibird III, because it has kept my core very warm. This jacket is very well designed, and really protects from the wind when it is closed. Keeps you dry, and most importantly keeps you very warm with the Omni-heat.
Great job Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Warning! Omni-Heat flakes off.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a Whirlybird about 2 years ago (earlier version, but same reflective liner), and now I've noticed every time I take off the coat, it leaves shiny flecks of silver all over my cloths and skin. I have only worn it for about 4 months out of the year fr short periods of time, and have never needed to wash it (it's otherwise in mint and clean condition).
I was reluctant to by the coat in the first place because I was afraid the Omni-Heat thermal reflective layer was just painted on and would eventually wear off. It looks like my fears were right. Do not buy anything from Columbia that has this reflective layer; it will not last!
I have been a Columbia fan up until now, but I'll be looking for a better brand from now on. I'm covered in Omni-Heat glitter as I'm typing this! "Grrrrr!"
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: West Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is really a great product for the money, however I've had to return the particular jacket that I bought, because the jacket ran a little small. I bought a L and received it today, tried it on, and it seemed to fit great. ( I was measured) However, when I crossed or lifted my arms, the jacket got pretty tight around my back, or would lift up too high above my belt line for my comfort.
The only reason I rate the function a 4 is because of not being able to completely test the product in the cold, and it was not true to size. I bought the "Ridge 2 Run" pants in a L and they seemed to fit perfectly.
The jacket felt very warm, all pockets were very warm, comfortable, functional, and overall is a great product. I'm sure when I receive the XL jacket, I will be very pleased. Return shipping is not paid for, so be careful.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility you gota love

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Here in Minnesota the zip out liner is invaluble!
This jacket keeps out the wind and saves your heat. Definitly performs as advertised. Love it!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket or should I say 3 jackets!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pembroke
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is very pleased with his new jacket. has not worn the two together yet. We live in Bermuda so not needed here, but plan on using at Xmas in the States.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for winter sports

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Geauga Co, Ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat for my teenage grandson. It kept him warm and dry for hours while he was snowboarding.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Bentonville, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is fantastic. Very warm and functional. I thought the Omni-Heat claims would be a gimmick, but I was wrong. Never a cold minute wearing this thing. Size seems to be very true. I'm 6' and 155 lbs with long arms. Medium fits like a glove. Columbia has long been a preferred brand for my family.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect all around winter coat

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wausau, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat for my 17 y/o son. He loves to go snowboarding and this coat is perfect to hit the slopes with. He stays nice and warm even in subzero temperatures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket fit was very comfortable not real baggy like some jackets. It is very warm with the omni heat liner ,but not too warm, I went sledding in 20 degree weather and didn't sweat or feel cold.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: GGW,MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living in NE Montana with the bitter cold and wicked winds, this jacket is AWESOME! This jacket kept me warm on our coldest day which was -38 c, wind chill -52 c. Good testament to this jacket is buy it in the winter and check it out, you'll love it. Not to mention it looks good too! Can't wait to hit the slopes knowing I'm staying warm with my new "Whirlibird III
Interchange Jacket".
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 thumbs up

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Long Islane
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not much to say, I just love it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice product

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Mi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit is great. I am 5'9", 165 lbs and ordered the large. It is a bit big in the mid section, but fits nice in the shoulder area. room for a couple layers and the coat will not get restricted.
Very happy with the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>