Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
27 out of 32(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best yet

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Snowshoer
Location: Massachusetts
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned several 3-in-1 Columbia parkas, and this is the best of them all. Last one held up for more than 5 years until it started to lose water repellency, even with a couple of different treatments. This one is comfortable, well-designed, and plenty warm & dry for long dog walks in New England winter. I've had it for over 3 months now.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking, well fitting jacket

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer avatar
jacket37
Location: Taos, NM
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful functional excellent fitting. Well made attractive.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent product but disappointed.

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Tom21228
Location: Catonsville
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
My first Columbia jacket was great and performed very well. This jacket is decent at best. I was very disappointed that the waterproof feature did not meet the standards Columbia boasts. Water soaked into the fabric after a while and did not repel. Omni heat performed very well. Omni tech not so much.
Size runs small.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good performance

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
az687
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep me warm in strong wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the "old Whirlibird"

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Zmm91
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I had a Whirlibird in high school and it was the most amazing jacket ever literally other than the Bugaboo... When I saw this on the website I was so excited and purchased it right away It looked sort of similar to what my old one did, when I got it however it was very different . The collar came to the middle of my neck and is too low to block any wind. I wore it skiing once and the omni heat pieces faded or fell off under my arms and in the sleeves. When I stretch up and jacket rides up what happened to the radial sleeves, high. Collar and embroidery on the back of the collar saying "Whirlibird",
Either make a retro release of the whirlibird like you did the bugaboo 86 or start making them right....
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cyber green: Actual color is too bright,different with the color on the website

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
John8611
Location: Big rapids,Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OMNI-HEAT really can keep body warm. That's the reason I brought a third one. But the color (Cyber green) shown on the website has a huge differece with the actual one. It's a very shining green
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs very small, poor fitting jacket

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
MAC22
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The coat is great yet the fit is very poor. I normally wear an XL coat yet I read that the coat runs small, so I ordered an XXL to be safe. The XXL is snug on me and 2 other people I had try it on who wear the same size as me. Frustrating. I had to leave town and had to wear the jacket...snug and all.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made coat that serves the purpose

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
SnowHillMS
Location: Alfred, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second Columbia Parka with the interchange system. The first has beyond lived up to my expectations so I decided to buy another. So far I am very pleased, the Omni-heat works very well, I've been wearing this coat in our current cold spell (-5 to 10 degrees F before the wind chill) and feel quite comfortable. The outer shell fabric is slightly lighter and softer than the shell of my older titanium era parka and the hood is def. a little lighter but so far it feels a little warmer just not quite as wind blocking. I would def. buy it again but would probably consider the next model up with a touch more insulation just for the added peace of mind if I were to get stuck out in cold like this. Has all the great features I love about Columbia including the under arm vents, chest pocket and hand warmer pockets which have been improved with a lining that's actually almost like a micro-fleece.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whirlibird III

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Purpose101
Location: Chicago,IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Literally just came out of a snow storm in Chicago after walking 1/2 mile in 20 mph winds at about 18 degrees, and the Whirlibird jacket performed great! Never once did I feel cold and all I had underneath was a cotton long sleeve shirt. The snow flap really helps to keep the infamous Chicago winds out. Worth every penny!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Snowbug
Location: GGW,MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living in NE Montana with the bitter cold and wicked winds, this jacket is AWESOME! This jacket kept me warm on our coldest day which was -38 c, wind chill -52 c. Good testament to this jacket is buy it in the winter and check it out, you'll love it. Not to mention it looks good too! Can't wait to hit the slopes knowing I'm staying warm with my new "Whirlibird III
Interchange Jacket".
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommend for quality/Disappointed in design features

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
none7890
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this jacket with layering in mind. To that end it serves well for cool season. Not sure yet how warm can go with just shell. Quality materials and construction, but ...
In current bout of extreme cold I have found some of its design to be lacking. When I wear any layer below (such as a fleece) or even a scarf, it is uncomfortable to impossible to zip all the way up at the neck/chin (with liner zipped into shell). The size of the jacket is ample elsewhere to permit layering below. Well-designed cold-weather jackets have a flap at the neck that reaches across to close comfortably. At the wrists the closures are nice, but without pleats here it is difficult to pull sleeves over gloves. This jacket amazingly does not have a 2-way zipper.
For a jacket of this cost, and from Columbia, I'm really disappointed at these design omissions in an otherwise quality product. I ordered it to have for cold weather and now I feel stuck with a jacket that I'm not really pleased with.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byWesFX
 
Please wait while more information about WesFX is loaded.
Additional information about WesFX could not be loaded.
It's designed to be warmer when seperated
onJanuary 11, 2014
I also ran into the issue of the neck not fitting well when both parts were zipped together, then zipped closed. But I can only assume it's designed to be it's warmest when they are not zipped together. The biggest thing is that the snaps for the waist band (on the shell) just won't connect with the liner zipped into it, and when the waist band is secured it's more air tight. And the other is an estimation of mine that it would be harder for heat to escape through two sets of zippers.
If this comment's worth nothing else; keep warm and make use of the waist band.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff67RS
Location: Red Wing Mn
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this Jacket after much research it arrived the day before X-mas and the temps where in the teens to mid 20's and the jacket performed flawlessly in those temps,now 2 weeks later here in Southeast Minnesota we experienced a polar vortex of very cold air we had temps -22 below zero with wind chills of -45 degrees and i had to walk into work from our parking lot which from the parking lot was a bit more than a 1\4 mile with -45 degree wind chills and i have to say i was very impressed how the jacket kept me warm and kept the wind out ,the only thing i would hope for them to do with this jacket is to make an insulated hood for it the hood on it is just a tad thin it did keep the wind out when zipped up but an insulated hood would help keep the face a little warmer with those wind chills of these temps i understand its not that brutal of weather all the time and for that the jacket worked great Thanks Columbia! great product.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Alex14
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket fit was very comfortable not real baggy like some jackets. It is very warm with the omni heat liner ,but not too warm, I went sledding in 20 degree weather and didn't sweat or feel cold.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect all around winter coat

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
mom4
Location: Wausau, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat for my 17 y/o son. He loves to go snowboarding and this coat is perfect to hit the slopes with. He stays nice and warm even in subzero temperatures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
mehooper
Location: Bentonville, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is fantastic. Very warm and functional. I thought the Omni-Heat claims would be a gimmick, but I was wrong. Never a cold minute wearing this thing. Size seems to be very true. I'm 6' and 155 lbs with long arms. Medium fits like a glove. Columbia has long been a preferred brand for my family.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing jacket

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
RunnerNik
Location: IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is so warm - visited Chicago during the single digit temps and massive snow. Didn't even know I was outside! Kept me dry & warm but didn't get sweaty.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for winter sports

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
km437cs
Location: Geauga Co, Ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat for my teenage grandson. It kept him warm and dry for hours while he was snowboarding.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Warning! Omni-Heat flakes off.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Scott70
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a Whirlybird about 2 years ago (earlier version, but same reflective liner), and now I've noticed every time I take off the coat, it leaves shiny flecks of silver all over my cloths and skin. I have only worn it for about 4 months out of the year fr short periods of time, and have never needed to wash it (it's otherwise in mint and clean condition).
I was reluctant to by the coat in the first place because I was afraid the Omni-Heat thermal reflective layer was just painted on and would eventually wear off. It looks like my fears were right. Do not buy anything from Columbia that has this reflective layer; it will not last!
I have been a Columbia fan up until now, but I'll be looking for a better brand from now on. I'm covered in Omni-Heat glitter as I'm typing this! "Grrrrr!"
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
JJG64
Location: Philadelphia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great overall jacket for winter. One day after receiving the jacket, we had several major winter storms. Despite high wind and snow, this jacket was extremely warm. I look forward to trying without the liner in warmer weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Whirlibird™ III Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice product

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
StayActive
Location: Mi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit is great. I am 5'9", 165 lbs and ordered the large. It is a bit big in the mid section, but fits nice in the shoulder area. room for a couple layers and the coat will not get restricted.
Very happy with the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>