Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™

Columbia Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™

Outfitted in premium goatskin leather and featuring a trifecta of progressive weather-fighting technologies, the Bugaglove will reign supreme over your winter dominion.
Overall rating:
2.842 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
10 out of 19(53%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing performance

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
tom75
Location: Portage, MI
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gloves did not measure up to expectations.
Thumbs are not heated. Grip is very slippery. Battery life is too short.
For the price I paid, gloves are adequate, but are no bargain. They are certainly not suitable for temps under 30 degrees.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don'y freeze at least!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rodrigood
Location: West LAfayette, IN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I tried the gloves expecting to keep my hands warm during my outdoor activities but, the y just work as a "not freezing" device. They are good, but there is much to improve, specially in the thumbs, where the heat don't reach.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returning gloves for refund

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
KevinR
Location: Northwest Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There is absolutely no heat in the thumbs and this is not acceptable, I am returning for a refund. The quality of the glove is excellent but does you know good if your thumbs are freezing!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent gloves, not perfect

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marksteven
Location: Appleton Wi.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my 2nd pair of these gloves. I live in Wisconsin where temps hit -40deg. with windchills. I use these gloves for snowblowing and walking my dog. They are too nice and costly
for working on stuff while wearing them. I find 1 MAJOR
fault.. there is no heating element for the thunb. WHY???
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery life

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CJ11
Location: SV, Idaho
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
On high gloves only last 2 hours, either sell replacement batteries or give out the specs so one can order them elsewhere
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Heating glove technology has a ways to go

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JeffD
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great concept, but the technology is not quite there. The gloves are very bulky and stiff. I felt like I had huge motorcycle gloves on, not that comfortable. The heating on my fingers was nice, but no heat to the thumb area.
I had to buy two pairs, the Large was too big and Medium did fit. Ended up returning both pairs, I just can't justify the cost for the benefit. Maybe a few years from now Columbia will be able to shrink the batteries and make the gloves smaller and more comfortable. If so, I'll be back to give them a try. Until them I'm on the sidelines with this product.
Too bad because I have Raynods (little circulation to the fingers) and they would have been nice. Just not practical at this time.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet work gloves

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
emccoy
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
If you are looking for a glove that has a good balance of dexterity and warmth this is a perfect glove for you. I use this as a work glove, and for my job I am outside a lot performing different kinds of measurements on the surrounding rivers and lakes up in North Dakota known for its windy and cold environments. I like the electric heat feature, however they don’t provide enough heat so that you can bake a potato in them… Kidding aside I think these gloves provide a noticeable amount heat to help keep your hands from going numb.
Things I liked about the glove:
• Dexterity
• Quality (these gloves have taken a beating so far and have held up great)
Things I would like in the glove:
• A different pull down loop at the bottom of the glove. Instead of on the side of the hand, place it on the palm side of the wrists. I find myself pulling on the top of the glove on battery pack to get the glove all the way down my hand. The current loop is hard to even get my bare finger into let alone the finger of the glove.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

IF ONLY THEY WORKED

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
doggedydays
Location: oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality leather and construction. I first ordered a medium I thought would fit, but too small. The large is a bit big, but at least I can flex my fingers. Used them in sub-freezing weather 3 times, once with an on-off regimen to get more life out of the battery. They definitely get warm, warmer than my Z..... electric ski gloves, but those have batteries that will last up to 8 hours (a heftier battery and heftier price tag and not intended for other rugged use). However, on the 3rd use of the Columbias, I had trouble turning one of them off, then could not turn it back on.
I wish they would have put in larger batteries (or at least as an option); when you're desperate to prevent freezing your hands, the bulk is immaterial.
I did like the warmth when they worked. I expect, after returning these, I'll order another pair hoping my experience was a fluke (but I do note some other comments on reliability).
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Where's The Heat"?

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
jtp1135
Location: Wisconsin
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a couple of fingers that I injured years ago that have poor blood circulation. I tried these gloves on in the store and thought. "This is just what I need". Of course the store temperature was about 65-70 degrees. I was just shoveling snow in 15 degree temps this morning and had cold hands with gloves on high (no heat in thumbs at all). Granted, my fingers (not thumbs) might have been a little warmer than with regular gloves. For the price of these gloves I expected much better performance. Also with arthritis in my hands the batteries are hard to remove for charging. "Disappointed"!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a failure...

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
UnhappyColumbiaCustomer
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I dont know where to begin with these gloves: first off they dont stay warm in COLD weather. I live in Denver, when I go to the mountains to ski and put them on high, I can barely, if even, feel the warmth. When your on the base of the mountain and turn them on, its fine, but once you get off the gondola and are in true cold weather, forget it. This product fails to do what it claims.
On top of that after 2 hrs on high the battery is dead.
The other thing I tried is: maybe if I put the sleeve of the glove inside of my jacket the product will stay warmer. Unfortunately this is not possible as the battery pack is so large it will not go through the arm opening of a standard ski jacket.
Columbia really should do something to those on here who use the gloves in true cold weather and have complained. $400 is a lot, stay away, your better off buying hand warmers and sticking them in your gloves.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for skinning

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ColoradoRider
Location: Summit county Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
I needed a. Glove for sunrise skinning up resorts in summit and eagle county Colorado. I also use these everyday for work on mountain. They have never let me down, even in -25 temps. The quality of this glove is SUPERB!!! I have tried the major/most expensive heated gloves and this one tops them all.....
Activities: Skiing, Mountaineering, Snowshoeing, Snowboarding
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Idea.... Bad product.

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mnashley1
Location: MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I too like many others have reynaud's disease... My fingers freeze! My husband bought these gloves for me for Christmas. I was so excited to not be miserable during the winter. The first pair didn't fit correctly... The fingers are too long and the palm area is too short. I ended up getting a men's XL. My hands are normally a women's L. So the fit isn't quite the best. The gloves themselves are of quality construction (minus the heating part). But they are quite large and bulky. There is no heat in the thumb. So unless you like your thumb to be cold all of the time. These aren't the best. The battery life on these gloves is VERY short. I think mine lasted less than an hour on Medium. Also, My gloves stopped working after only 3 uses. That is more than $100 per use.... I am not a fan of buying really expensive non working gloves. I would not recommend! Maybe in a few years when they have all of the bugs worked out I would consider trying again.
Activities: Skiing, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm hands

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
captrog
Location: maui
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well below zero at my daughter's house in Alaska..A great testing situation for her new gloves....Outstanding!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buga "Boo-Hoo!"

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BBJ713
Location: Beaverton
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I waited for the development of these gloves for a year, Resisting buying other battery powered gloves even though I really needed them. I was under the impression these gloves would be more than sufficient protection from the cold on a motorcycle but I was disappointingly wrong. On the highest setting they were not nearly as warm as a $1.50 pocket warmer, my hands started getting cold 5 miles down the road at 25 mph through town at about 35 degrees. They are mildly warm just sitting in my living room, and there is no heating element in the thumb. $400? Looks like I'm going back to wearing two pairs of gloves.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
+19points
23of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NO heat in the thumbs?

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
sabibby
Location: Sparks, NV
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the heat is very nice in the fingers, just no heat in the thumbs? For the kind of money i paid for the gloves, i would not have thought my thumbs would be left in the cold...
Activities: Trail, Skiing, Camping
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PLfromPDX
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about PLfromPDX is loaded.
Additional information about PLfromPDX could not be loaded.
Thumbs Cold
Posted December 19, 2012
Purchased for my father last winter. Just heard today that the thumbs aren't heated. Is that a warranty issue...or did we really purchase $200 gloves with only heat in the fingers?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing gift for my boyfriend!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
AG01247
My boyfriend is as huge ski person and as soon as I saw these I knew I had to get them for him for Christmas! I received them in the mail and right away opened them and started to play with the different features and I love them! I wish I had gotten myself a pair
I would recommend this product.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gloves I've ever owned

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hank44
Location: Northeast
I live in the Northeast, and really dislike having cold hands when outside. I've had some great gloves in the past, but nothing comes close to these gloves. The gloves are very well constructed, possess great heat distribution, and keep my hands toasty warm all the time, whether the gloves are energized / turned on or not. The Out Dry technology in the gloves is excellent, and so far after our first snowfall, the gloves seem almost impermiable to moisture. Great job Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gloves, but.....

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChippewaCraig
Location: Columbia Basin, WA
I like these gloves. I have used them a few times during the recent cold snap we have had. My only dig against them is that the heat is not immediate and it isn't hot, just warm. I'm sure this was done to keep people from burning themselves. Regardless, still the best gloves I have ever had.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bugaglove

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
kshatwe
Location: colorado
Overall, I like the glove. For its price I think the battery life should be longer and I would like to see you add some tether cords. If battery life is not longer;perhaps two sets of batteries could be included.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.