Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
32 out of 35(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When Playing the Devil's Advocate . . .

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mpls, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I could have sworn that good advise was few and far between, even mine. But immediately after getting my Life - Buddy her Women's Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket for winter; little did I know my criterion would rear its head . . . and voila his and her Whirlibird™ Jackets.
I would recommend this product.
-83points
12of 107voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Lawrence KS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a perfect product the shell is water and wind proof zips on and off quick and easily and has great pit zips when being worn separately. The interior softshell is stylish a great color and fits perfectly the only down side to the product is the interior jackets sleeves when you put it on the insides come out and you have to push them back in because of the lack of cuffs.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my Whirlie Bird

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my coat.
I am one of the coldest people in the world and I wore my coat on a very cold and windy day in Colorado while working at the DIA Airport. The wind chill made the temp -7 degrees. I was so warm on my upper body, but my legs and hands were freezing. So i bought the pants and gloves and base layer pants and hat. I am ready now for the cold working outside at the Airport. Thanks columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic All-Around Jacket

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Northern VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a fantastic product overall. I highly recommend it to anyone searching for the perfect winter jacket.
Pros:
- Very warm!
- Windproof
- Quality of materials
- Fit is perfect
- Versatility (3 jackets in 1, I can use the inner one during the fall/ spring!)
-Very east jacket separation system - only 2 zippers and 3 snap locks, all very easy to handle.
- Highly water resistant
- Not bulky at all - great range of movement
- Mystery/White color combination looks fantastic!
Cons:
- The interior Omni-Heat lining can stick to my skin (albeit slightly) if I sweat in the jacket a bit. Not a big problem, but just wanted to put it out there.
As you can see, this jacket is a very versatile, warm, great looking jacket. For the price, it cannot be matched in quality, durability, or functionality.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teenage son loves it

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Queens, N.Y
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for my son who is in high school and he loves it. He said its very practical and it keeps him dry and warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Feel

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Calgary Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use this jacket skiing in the Canadian Rockies every weekend. Through hard snow and wind during early season conditions. The jacket performs beautifully. I stay warm and dry.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is worth every dollar.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Federal Way, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waterproof, wind protection and warmth. What more do you need.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great company / great product

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: new jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the tel people are very courteous, their ordering process is fast and the product is excellent. it is waterproof as stated and warm and has good length.
I only wish the product was a bit lighter but once you wear it on, you don't notice the weight...
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and value

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once again Columbia wins our vote for great quality and so much value for the money. This great coat keeps you warm and dry in ANY ski conditions that come your way. Buy it. You won't regret it...or loan it out!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had some discounts for the item, so for the price that I got it. This was great and I love the quality. It kept me warm throughout the winter season. THank You
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket for the cold....

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fantastic jacket for the cold weather. The Omni Heat lining in the jacket works as advertised. I bought this in Black Plaid. It has a little too much green in it and could be a little more black, but still a great looking jacket. Very Happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, just one small thing

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! The color has a little more blue than it appears to in the picture, but that's not a bad thing--it looks great. Lots of bells and whistles for everything you need.
The only drawback: the hood IS flimsy and doesn't roll up into the collar (you'd think for $200 it would).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the Best

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we have been buying columbia jackets for more than 11 years, I just donated my last jacket, because they are made to last forever. me and my wife just purchase new jackets and I recomend this jacket to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni-Heat® liner does its job

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Waunakee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-4 degrees yesterday and never really noticed. Jacket is lighter than my previous Columbia jacket, but is a little tight under the arms & shoulders.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WARMTH!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this company for many years now,this product is well worth it,this model is a good throw of your money,you will be satisfied
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new jacket!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I'm a details guy, so lets look at the facts.
The color of the jacket is a little darker in normal light. In the sun it brightens up, almost to the color on the web site. The color seems a little feminine on the site, but once it arrives, you realize it's not so girly.
The accent pieces that you see on the arms and shoulders are a darker shade of green, that look really good with the jacket.
The zippers are actually colored the same color in the picture.
I tried on the medium in a local store, and it seemed tight, but I ordered the medium anyway. It showed up and it was a great fit. I typically use medium sized t shirts for undershirts and have to put on a large if I don't want to look like simon cowell. For some reason the medium coat fits nicely.
If you are looking for a jacket for a friend or if this one wore out in 10 years, I would purchase this jacket again in a hearbeat. It keeps water out, and breathes like nothing I've ever used to keep warm before. You put this jacket on and feel warm within 5 seconds. Every coat/jacket I've ever had takes longer to make you feel warm.
If you have any doubts, look where I live. Philadelphia. It rains/snows/sleets every gd day here.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the winter jacket I was looking for

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this a few days ago, and so far really like it. I'll start off with my gripes about quality. The hood only attaches on the sides with velcro- no snaps- which seems kind of cheap. The front zipper pull is mostly rubber, and the velcro sewn along the front storm flap could be done better. Plus the interior goggle pocket is a bit big and flimsy. But these are all very minor points as the main materials are all very nice and work well to keep me warm.
I got bright red and it really is BRIGHT red. I'm 5'8", 180lbs at the moment- a little over weight- so the medium fits me a little bit snugly but it's not restrictive. The collar is big enough to be functional, and it doesn't get in the way or get annoying.
The hand pockets are nice and big, with a bit of a lip at the edge so change or cell phones won't fall out easily. A really nice touch when you compare this against other jackets that have small pockets or don't seem like they'd hold your new cell phone in them securely. The outer pocket is big enough for a fat wallet, and the interior security pocket holds my 5.5" cell phone with ease. I like that the hood is not super big and floppy like those made to fit helmets. And the body and sleeves are just the right length.
When you zip out the inner jacket it looks great as well, and although it's fairly thin and light, it does a great job of keeping you warm. I stood outside in 31 degree weather with a light sweater and this jacket on for about 5 minutes and didn't feel cold. The hand pockets are also nice and big.
Overall I'm very happy with this jacket. I compared it to several TNF jackets, and a couple Bean jackets, and this one beat them all out. The price is just right for the style and function it provides, and in the end it got my nod for my really cold weather, ski, and waterproof winter jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Columbia Isn't What It Used To Be

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: East Coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First thing I want to say is I used to LOVE Columbia products. They were great functioning, well made and a great value.
I've bought 20-30 products over the last 25 years.
In the last five years the value and function have degraded tremendously.
The Whirlibird interchange that showed up today (in medium) feels like a straitjacket even though every one of the 6 Columbia jackets and one piece skisuits I've ever bought in medium still fit me comfortably (but are either dated, ripped or worn out over the years). The material is thin, the seams don't seem solid and the zippers and inner pockets are flimsy.
Don't even get me started on the poorly made and insulated Mountain Monster gloves that I wasted over $100 on last year. Useless except for warm days.
I'm so disappointed that I can't even consider buying Columbia anymore. As a former Portland resident I'd always loved supporting this company. Doubt that they'll print this.
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very worth the money.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love this jacket. Everybody tends to love my bling when I take my jacket off and they see the shiny interior. Jacket also keeps me very warm, dry, and wind protected up here in Michigan.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robert Bowman

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the jacket is amazing,can"t believe how warm it is.i also have to thank you guys for the great customer care.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>