Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.559 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
31 out of 34(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
cambridgegal2010
Location: MetroWest, MA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing. I work outdoors and during the winter I was not cold once. What's amazing about this jacket, too, is that when I wasn't cold, it cooled me down. When I was cold, it warmed me as I moved. I did not need heavy layers, all I wore was a thin sweater or even a regular shirt and it kept me warm throughout. The only downfall is that as a woman, there were no larger sizes, so I had to purchase the men's version for myself. I like larger sizes because I need the room to move around due to my job. The last jacket I purchased from a non-Columbia brand, the jacket got dirty fast and was not comfortable to move in. With this jacket, it's very roomy to move around in and it cleans fairly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ron40
Location: Kingsport, TN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received my new jacket and am thrilled with it. the fit is great and the quality is excellent. Although spring has definitely arrived here, I know I'll put it to good use next fall and winter. Thanks Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Actual color not the same as pictured.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
StainedGlassGeek
Location: Mecahnicsburg, Pa
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat, but it should be for the price. Actual color and layout was different from that pictured. Disappointing since it was a gift for our daughter and the picture was what she wanted. Reflective lining is kind of odd, but very functional and warm jacket. Men't large was a little snug for a winter jacket for a man, an extra large would be better. Since it was for a woman the Men's Large worked okay.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent coat.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Huggie
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very well made and warm. I would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great as Intended

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bradorsomething
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased several of these jackets for staff at an EMS agency, as in Texas we can see temperature variations from 20 degrees, high wing, and driving rain, to 85 degrees and drizzling, where crews will still have to work outside for hours.
The jacket is warm. I've tried it on the Oregon coast, and in the driving wind in Texas, and it performs well in both with the liner. The liner comes out easily, and I would say the liner alone is a puffy, light jacket that is "warm enough" but I am not wearing it out into the wind. The outer shell performs well as a windbreaker and rain jacket, and I chose the jacket for this feature (and the zip out armpits).
One failing for the jacket is that the silvered lining is very puffy, and will come out the sleeves when you quickly slide into the jacket. The crews are opposed to the silver lining shining out at their wrists, but you can tuck it back in; not ideal, but not a deal-breaker.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Coat

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
swesleyc7
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat - it's exactly what I needed... something universal. The inner liner is surprisingly warm for being so light, while the shell is rugged and waterproof. I may wear the coat during cold winter days and be very comfortable. It's light and warm, but also has various ports to allow more breathability. It has all the features a ski / winter coat should have. Plus, it looks great, which is a perk.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is awesome.

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
CoreyA
Location: Bellingham, WA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this product for my son... The text I received after he had a chance to wear the jacket a few days was "this coat is AWESOME!" When I called him back to ask what was so awesome, he said it was extremely warm, not too bulky, waterproof and comfortable. Great Jacket Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrjoshua
Location: pittsburgh pa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great, its light weight meanwhile it is warm enough to spend all day outside. I love the side vents, when you start to get too hot it cools you down just enough.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JWMB
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best all-around coat I have owned in several decades. Seems to "work" over a wide range of temperature & conditions. I gave away five other coats after a few months experience with this one. Snug but comfortable fit. Thanks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I can't trust it anymore

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
WinterTear
Location: PA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't know whether its warm of not, but the performance is not what it is showed as picture. the color shows black but the object is blue, it is so ugly
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Top-Notch Warranty Replacemnt

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cablequeenbee
Location: Medford, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When our son's zipper failed in his nearly new ski coat, we sent it to Columbia hoping for a zipper replacement covered by their warranty. Because it was not possible to replace the zipper, we were offered a replacement jacket instead. What a surprise to receive this amazing garment! Not only is the jacket top-notch, the customer service is too!
Thank you Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billw
Location: Portland Oregon
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a beautifully made, high quality jacket with great features. This is not my first "interchange" jacket. I got my first five or six years ago and it's still going strong. This one will freshen up my look.....
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Holy Disco Inside!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scooper
Location: Annapolis
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I sent the jacket back because the inside looks like a disco ball exploded! It is bright reflective silver lining that there was no way I would wear. I liked the jackets fit and function, I just couldnt deal with the inside of the base jacket every time I took it on or off. Could be a good idea to include a picture of this in the future columbia if your going to make it gawdy.
I do not recommend this product.
-15points
1of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the jacket! Had to buy one for my son and myself!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
LanaCPR
Location: Casper, WY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jackets are wonderful. Very warm and comfortable, surprisingly light. The only complaint is the photos do not match what you actually get (this was true with both the mystery color and the blue forest plaid). This was a little frustrating, however the comfort outweighs the color. Have worn Columbia jackets for the past 8 years. They have come a long way and I will continue to wear them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robert Bowman

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
bowmystr
Location: ohio
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the jacket is amazing,can"t believe how warm it is.i also have to thank you guys for the great customer care.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very worth the money.

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DatDudeZ
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love this jacket. Everybody tends to love my bling when I take my jacket off and they see the shiny interior. Jacket also keeps me very warm, dry, and wind protected up here in Michigan.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Columbia Isn't What It Used To Be

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Simskiscuba
Location: East Coast
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First thing I want to say is I used to LOVE Columbia products. They were great functioning, well made and a great value.
I've bought 20-30 products over the last 25 years.
In the last five years the value and function have degraded tremendously.
The Whirlibird interchange that showed up today (in medium) feels like a straitjacket even though every one of the 6 Columbia jackets and one piece skisuits I've ever bought in medium still fit me comfortably (but are either dated, ripped or worn out over the years). The material is thin, the seams don't seem solid and the zippers and inner pockets are flimsy.
Don't even get me started on the poorly made and insulated Mountain Monster gloves that I wasted over $100 on last year. Useless except for warm days.
I'm so disappointed that I can't even consider buying Columbia anymore. As a former Portland resident I'd always loved supporting this company. Doubt that they'll print this.
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just the winter jacket I was looking for

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeeJ
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this a few days ago, and so far really like it. I'll start off with my gripes about quality. The hood only attaches on the sides with velcro- no snaps- which seems kind of cheap. The front zipper pull is mostly rubber, and the velcro sewn along the front storm flap could be done better. Plus the interior goggle pocket is a bit big and flimsy. But these are all very minor points as the main materials are all very nice and work well to keep me warm.
I got bright red and it really is BRIGHT red. I'm 5'8", 180lbs at the moment- a little over weight- so the medium fits me a little bit snugly but it's not restrictive. The collar is big enough to be functional, and it doesn't get in the way or get annoying.
The hand pockets are nice and big, with a bit of a lip at the edge so change or cell phones won't fall out easily. A really nice touch when you compare this against other jackets that have small pockets or don't seem like they'd hold your new cell phone in them securely. The outer pocket is big enough for a fat wallet, and the interior security pocket holds my 5.5" cell phone with ease. I like that the hood is not super big and floppy like those made to fit helmets. And the body and sleeves are just the right length.
When you zip out the inner jacket it looks great as well, and although it's fairly thin and light, it does a great job of keeping you warm. I stood outside in 31 degree weather with a light sweater and this jacket on for about 5 minutes and didn't feel cold. The hand pockets are also nice and big.
Overall I'm very happy with this jacket. I compared it to several TNF jackets, and a couple Bean jackets, and this one beat them all out. The price is just right for the style and function it provides, and in the end it got my nod for my really cold weather, ski, and waterproof winter jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new jacket!!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
convertedcolumbian
Location: Philadelphia.
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I'm a details guy, so lets look at the facts.
The color of the jacket is a little darker in normal light. In the sun it brightens up, almost to the color on the web site. The color seems a little feminine on the site, but once it arrives, you realize it's not so girly.
The accent pieces that you see on the arms and shoulders are a darker shade of green, that look really good with the jacket.
The zippers are actually colored the same color in the picture.
I tried on the medium in a local store, and it seemed tight, but I ordered the medium anyway. It showed up and it was a great fit. I typically use medium sized t shirts for undershirts and have to put on a large if I don't want to look like simon cowell. For some reason the medium coat fits nicely.
If you are looking for a jacket for a friend or if this one wore out in 10 years, I would purchase this jacket again in a hearbeat. It keeps water out, and breathes like nothing I've ever used to keep warm before. You put this jacket on and feel warm within 5 seconds. Every coat/jacket I've ever had takes longer to make you feel warm.
If you have any doubts, look where I live. Philadelphia. It rains/snows/sleets every gd day here.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Whirlibird™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great, just one small thing

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
wisefool
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! The color has a little more blue than it appears to in the picture, but that's not a bad thing--it looks great. Lots of bells and whistles for everything you need.
The only drawback: the hood IS flimsy and doesn't roll up into the collar (you'd think for $200 it would).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>