Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm insluated liner; a waterproof-breathable and critically seam sealed shell; and a combination of both – our classic Bugaboo comes in a wide assortment of colors and will keep you warm, dry and protected in cold winter weather.
Overall rating:
4.787 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 46(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fargo
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it. I purchased so many winterwear but no comparison to Columbia product.
I would recommend this product.
-7points
10of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jeppe

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ionia, Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for my son at MSU so he would not be cold this winter on his 10 minute bike ride to classes. He has already wore it and said thank you, thank you, because it kept him very warm outside over the weekend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Greenville, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket seemed like it had everything the $400 one did without the shiny materials and the extra drawstrings if you get what I'm saying. It has been everything I expected and better, VERY WARM, lots of pockets, interchangability. Excellent choice for only $200.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rain jackets

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oberlin, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not too much to say. The whiteish color on the sea salt jacket is brighter than in the photo, but that's not really a big deal. I mean it's a rain jacket, it's water proof, it's really comfortable, and it's pretty warm. You get what you pay for.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long Lasting Quality

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased a Bugaboo jacket 9 years ago and it is still going strong. It's seen a lot of use for outdoors recreation and as a cold weather work coat. It still looks good and is as waterproof as the day I bought it. This mainstay of Columbia's product line truly defines the phrase: You buy quality once!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Jacket/Coat needed for travel

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: tucson, az
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Tucson, AZ and was scheduled for a trip to alaska and needed to get a coat good enough for the trip but i also didn't want to have too big a coat that i couldn't use it in AZ also. this coat is great you have the option of just the outer shell or the inner liner and when you wear them together they are a very warm and comfortable coat this was great in my travels and it is my go to coat now for all trips.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good price to buy

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
valuable item!!! good price!!! fit well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Son loves it.

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mobridge, SD
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son was in need of a new winter jacket and this filled the bill just fine thank you. He really likes it; looks, fit, versatility...it has everything he wanted.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad I purchased

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Knowing exactly what you are buying is difficult when you haven't seen a product in the store to gauge the thickness or the sizing but I've been happy with my purchase.
I had a Columbia gift card to use us and I saw this interchange jacket on the Columbia website. I liked the price.
I already have a Columbia interchange jacket and I was only purchasing in order to use up my gift card. My "old" interchange is really thick and I wanted to duplicate what I had. So I contacted Customer Service with the model # of my "old" jacket. Apparently the jacket was too old to look up so I gravitated toward this jacket.
When the jacket arrived I was slightly disappointed in the thickness. It wasn't as thick as my "old" interchange. But the sizing was exactly correct as my "old."
But what started off as a disappointment about the thickness actually turned into a positive. While not as think as my "old," I wear my "new" when it's not super, super cold. Actually one thing I didn't like about my "old" was sometimes it was too warm for conditions and my "new" actually fills that in-between with Michigan winters where one day it could be in the 40's and the next day below zero.
Overall, I'm happy with the jacket.
Two minor annoyances though: (1) The way the lapel on the left breast falls when you zip the jacket to a normal zip "height" falls/lays in such a way that the Columbia logo is hidden. I spent a premium a Columbia and not a generic knock-off, I want the logo to show when I have the jacket on. Sounds pretentious but I'm of the opinion-listen up Columbia-that when a consumer spends a premium for their product that the consumer wants to logo visible. It's status and we all know it.
I've attached two pictures to this review. One picture shows the zipper at the spot I would normally zip to and you can see the Columbia logo is not visible behind the lapel. The other picture shows where I have to zip to in order for the logo to show.
(2) The flap over the zipper area is all velcro. So every time I zip the jacket, the flap velcros shut. In order to unzip, I have to un-velcro the flap every time. On my "old" jacket, the flap had snaps which I could manually snap shut if I wanted the flap to cover the zipper.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Derry, N.H.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The last three coats that I have purchased have been Columbia . The new one looks neat and the previous one is for the wood lot , hiking and working on the tractor . Sometimes quality does matter .
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great interchange !

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Upstate NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent warm jacket. Awesome for skiing !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful product

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a jacket to take with me when I go sailing on cold spring/fall nights. This jacket is incredibly warm, has a lot of pockets for my gear, and most importantly, keeps me very dry. The Omni-tech waterproof technology is great and was the main reason I bought this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cold weather jacket!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Trabuco Canyon CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The three in one option with this jacket gives numerous ways to enjoy this jacket and keep warm from very cold weather to wind protection. Looks and feels good, Better than North Face!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm jacket

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live on the Gulf Coast -- never gets too cold for very long, but can feel cold and damp during winter months. Just got this jacket about 2 weeks ago, and it has been perfect for my purposes. I have a sailboat on the coast and intend to wear the jacket on our windy and colder days.
My only complaints are:
- I'd like to be able to roll up and store the hood within the collar.
- The sleeves are a bit long for me, but I'm a short guy so it's a personal problem not the jacket's fault.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good interchange

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Driggs, Id
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good coat. I was looking for good features at a moderate price.
I got it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Parka

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Louisville, KY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a Christmas present for my husband. It is a very good looking parka that feels light and is very warm. Hard to speak to quality yet, but it seems well made and Columbia has a good reputation.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Christmas gift!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: West Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat was a great Christmas gift for a downhill ski instructor. Love the color, fit, and warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to wear. It is versatile being 3 coats in 1. It is comfortable, warm and dry. I would highly recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So lightweight

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: pikeville north carolina
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this jacket its my first columbia jacket. I love how lightweight it is yet warm, and the zip out lining is great. I live in north carolina so in winter i can wear them together, but spring and fall i can wear just the liner or outergear. This fits me great, and keeps me toasty yet allows me to breath so i dont sweat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboo™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm in Love!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Great Lakes
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love, love, love this jacket! We have been having a painfully numbing cold snap this week & it is keeping me toasty & warm. Last night it was -10 wind chill. My feet were cold, but the rest of me was nice & comfortable. Thank you Columbia!
The sleeves are a bit long for me, but with the built in velcro wrists, I can snug it right up & no more problem.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>