Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest

Columbia Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest

This extremely warm, weather-repellent vest features Omni-Heat® Electric technology for battery-powered, push-button heat, making it equally suited for everyday use in extremely cold climates or during intensely aerobic activities that require intermittent periods of rest.
Overall rating:
3.944 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
13 out of 18(72%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Review 1 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the Average Joe

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
ARV27
Location: Manhattan, KS
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do wear this vest on a regular basis as something that is an intermediate for the weather changes at the beginning part of the spring and fall. The battery pack does hold out for a fairly long period of time, especially on the low setting. And really, the low setting is all that I really need. I rarely switch to the other heat settings. This biggest thing to be concerned about would be finding the correct size. It does run on the smaller side of what you actually order. I have a medium and it almost feels like it should be an in-between-er of a small and medium, but having that snug feeling definitely helps with feeling warm despite the moments of feeling a little uncomfortable due to it feeling a little tight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product has excellent features

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
crs60
Location: chicago ill
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
have worn it 6 times has not been cold enough to try the electronic heat with the battery pack but i am 100 percent satisfied with the vest it is a sharp looking vest and fits like a hand in a glove
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Electric Jackets Rock

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jamesmor
Location: Ny
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the electric vest because I can no longer get a jacket. The electric program was the best thing columbia ever did, and I hope they can find a way to get through the glitches and revive the program.
Word of warning, Columbia's jackets run a bit small. I am either a medium or a small with Columbia products. Everywhere else on the planet, I am safely a small.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful additions to our Columbia outerwear

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cynara27
Location: Northern NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband ordered them and we gave these to each other at Christmas. They are cozy, attractive and lighter than expected. I have worn it for playground duty under my omni heat knee length coat and my husband has done the same under his omni heat traveling into Manhattan. Battery lasts as advertised especially if you put it on low which is sufficient to keep you warm. Wearing them saves travel range on our electric car battery by not needing to heat car interior, too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pj19
Location: Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizes run slightly small. I ordered a larger size after reading online reviews.product is as described,good quality and nice looking vest.heats up quickly
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
glennjr
Location: Gardnerville NV
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The vest was easy to set-up and instructions complete. Battery life on Medium lasted about four hours. Great product and excellent Idea.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs very small

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chickiepriest
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ALthough the concept was wonderful, this garment ran very small. I had to return it.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Caveat Emptor! Men's Core Amp Heated Vest

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Umpie
Location: Glenfield,NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This heated vest works provides comfort in single digit weather... great for hunting. OTH, Columbia does not support additional batteries for this product nor does it give alternate sources for additional batteries. Buyers should be aware of this.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sized Very Small

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bill64
Location: Lexington, Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Too bad since quality is very good but my XXL vest is closer to XL size and no XXXL size is available for exchange. The chest size is too small.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

eye catcher

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
RunningFool
Location: Snohomish, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK this is the coolest thing since, waterproof trail running shoes! This vest is so awesome, I can't even begin to tell you.
Even living in WA state, this heated vest comes in handy. So far after 5 charges, the battery life is accurately listed at about 4-5 hours on low power. You can definitely feel the heat on high power but it drains the battery a little quicker.
The LED light on the front of the jacket is quite the conversation-starter! Everyone wants my vest!
Regarding the size, it runs a little small. For me (6'1", 165 lbs) the size Large is a perfect fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Vest

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beemer
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must admit that this vest is a bit of a "head turner". The little LED indicator light catches a lot of attention. This is great vest. All the parts work. Just have to read the instructions. The sizing runs a little small. This vest does not solve all my warmth issues, but I am very happy with my purchase and was compelled enough to write a review.
Portland, OR !!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
PolarB
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I fortunately had the opportunity to visit an actual Columbia store at the Mall of America and was able to try the vest on. I originally tried on a large, but as other people mentioned, the bottom of the vest has little to no give, so actually zipping it up could be a potential problem. I purchased the XL and it fit perfectly; I am 6' 215lbs athletic build. I find that the omni-heat part of the vest is substantial enough when indoors or if wearing a long sleeve underneath. In the occasion that you wear it as a jacket or put a short sleeve on underneath, or just live in the frozen tundra, the "heat-on-demand" is very nice. It does take a few minutes to warm up, but after about 5-10 minutes you are snug as a bug.
People have been mentioning battery install issues, however if installed correctly it is really not a problem. The battery itself fits in a pocket designed for just the battery, the orientation of the battery does have to be correct as there is a side port of the battery pocket for the cord to connect to the battery, much like a hoody or backpack with mp3 accessibility. The weight of the battery feels like a cell phone and is really not noticeable unless you are thinking about it.
Obviously in a perfect world there would be no battery and the vest would run off our own body heat or something, but that's not the case. There is a battery, it fits fine in the pocket, weighs the same as a cell phone, and does have a running life. If you conserve energy and turn it on for short periods of time as needed, you will find that the design and insulating properties of the vest are more than substantial to keep the warmth in.
To use this as a substitute as an actual jacket is ridiculous as there are no sleeves. So if you get cold easy, wear a jacket over it. But on a fairly warm day in the winter (30-50) and are staying active, you will be fine.
Sorry for the rant, but one last note. I realize there are only two colors offered online. But in the actual columbia store, the vest I purchased was, gray on top, and black on the bottom, so keep that in mind if you don't like the blue colors offered.
And as a final note, you will get a lot of attention for wearing this vest and having it on, as most people aren't used to a bright light being emitted from clothing, its a great conversation piece and my girlfriend loves to steal it, as she is a freeze baby and wears what looks good but not what is practical. You've been warned.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Almost a perfect vest

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve2030
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before I start this review, let me mention that I am 5'7, 160 lbs and slim to medium build. I ordered a small in this vest. I have 2 issues with this vest.
1.The bottom of the vest is not a drawsting, or elastic. It is a solid material with no stretch, and is cut rather small. This creates the weird situation where the body of the vest fits fine, but the bottom where you have to zip it up doesnt close, or takes alot of extra work to close.
2.The Battery pack is too heavy. I think columbia should work on creating smaller batter packs. When you combine the fact that most ppl carry around a cell phone, wallet, mp3 player already. Throw in a heavy battery pack and its not functional. The battery should probably be a circular shape instead of a square. Circular shapes fit into pockets better and have no edges.
I will be returing my vest.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not true to size

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
footballfan
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The large size measures 40" at the chest. It is probably more of a medium or even small. The size chart did not mention chest size.
The pockets for the batteries do not allow you to hook up the battery and still be totally enclosed in the Velcro pocket. It is still fully enclosed within the zipper pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Awesome

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leftovers
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So i ordered a Large vest and then had to reorder an XL because it runs small, but other than that it works great, i was a little confused at the fact that the vest comes with 2 battery ports but only one battery. Also the people that say it doesnt fit in the pocket with the connector plugged in, that is because you feed the connector through the side of the pocket for the battery there is a red opening for the connection. Also it works great, its been like 25 degrees F here and i wear the vest to work, i work outside, and it keeps me warm all day, i turn on the heater for 20 minutes to warm up and the heat stays in for the most part so then if i start to cool down bam hit it again. Battery life is my only concern as it only last 2.5 hrs on high, but i believe if i get another battery then it will atleast get me 5 hrs and then my life will be complete!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
junojoe
Location: juneau, ak
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been satisfied with my purchase. However, the battery pocket is too small, especially because the output port is not on an end but on the side. I solved the problem by not using the pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Battery design needs work

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
pepsplace
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upon recieving the product I went to insert the battery into the vest only to find out that the plugin connector attached inside the vest needs to be plugged into the side of the battery. This is aproblem because the pocket for the battery is only wide enough for the battery without the connector being pluggin in. With the plug in place the battery will not ffit into its location. Also with the battery in place the vest becomes snug.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

MENS ELECTRO AMP VEST

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cowpuncher
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lOVE THE CONCEPT AND WILL SEE HOW WELL IT WORKS ON A LATE SEASON KANSAS DEER HUNT. IT DOES RUN AT LEAST A WHOLE SIZE SMALLER THAN WHAT I WEAR. I BOUGHT A XL AND IT FITS LIKE A LARGE.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.