Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket

Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter jacket.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
oscar21
Location: chicago
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives in Chicago and works perfectly during winter..
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

50/50 on this Jacket

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
gturnz
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been a long time fan of Columbia gear compared to other popular brands. I wanted to upgrade this year to a new lightweight warm jacket for the snow/boarding..
Ordered online and put it to the test this past weekend in the sierras/california while it was snowing/rainy all day. In the beginning it held up well for keeping me warm and dry but half way through my day boarding, i noticed my outer pockets were wet inside,, and then i checked my inside pockets where i kept my $$ and ID-they were wet, another inside pocket,, my camera also got wet within its own camera case.
That being said, I'm not sure if the jacket i got was a defect as I expected it to keep the water/snow out as I have experienced with my older Columbia shell-only jacket. But water was def seeping through and my pockets were wet.. however with the omni heat, i managed to stay warm along with wearing a merino wool blend base layer, but it just seemed like the outer shell wasn't holding up anymore. Temp outside was about 29+heavy snow.. Again I have used my older jacket in a similar conditions and it performed well keeping me dry.
In other words if i would have stayed dry during my experience this past weekend, this would be my new jacket to keep for many years,, it did keep me warm,,comfortable,, the style is cool with the black/gray combo..
If it was mild conditions/cold with light rain- maybe this jacket is ideal but I could have received a defect though, compared to other reviews, this jacket has worked for others.
I am now returning this jacket and trying out the Columbia Millennium Flash Shell Jacket as it was recommended from a Columbia snowboarder/employee.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DNelson

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
dnelsonx
Location: Monroe, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought a columbia coat 23 years ago and decided to get a new jacket since the edges were wearing out (sleeve cuffs and around the neck). That jacket has kept me warm and draft free for two decades and still overall looks good. I had thought of getting a new jacket and I first looked at columbia and they have gotten a bit more expensive since my last buy. So I looked at other jackets brands and tried out several. Even my 23 year old jacket was better at keeping out the cold and wind than these new ones until I broke down and tried the new Columbia coat I now wear. No comparison with the warmth. Each coat was taken out the same day at the same temp and tried for 15 minutes. Measured the temp on my shoulders after each and then the new Columbian was tried and it actually made me warmer. I had found the jacket I wanted on sale so the price was reasonable so the others went back. I have had it almost a month and the newest features with the cuff and reflective material make this a great buy. I hope this jacket last as long as the last.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Jacket for Moderate Cold Weather

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeff03
Location: Mpls, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was excited about the Omni Heat technology, from the reports I heard, but when I tested the jacket in minus 10 degrees, I never felt warm; especially along the upper back and shoulders, and I returned the jacket. Perhaps in temperatures above zero it might be a good jacket, but in MN, it did not work for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cubist III Jackett RRview

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Traveler1352
Location: Bend, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. I am on the mountain 100 days a year this is a great jacket. Warm, dry and water proof with good looks makes this omni-heat jacket just right for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It keeps the heat

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zina
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fit, looks like it will last , Rain Snow rolls off, HEAT does stay in and the inter lower windbreaker when snapped, keeps the cold wind out. I love it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

coat

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
kookie
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits nicely, good length
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect winter coat for someone who has to work outdoors in the harsh winter weather

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
KansasGal78
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat for my husband, who has a bread route here in Kansas, where the weather can get pretty brutal in the winter. He's out in the snow, wind and freezing rain for a good part of his work day, unloading baskets of product and getting them into the stores. This coat is PERFECT!! It fits like it was custom made for him, it's super warm without being too bulky and it's waterproof. He loves it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Walla303
 
Please wait while more information about Walla303 is loaded.
Additional information about Walla303 could not be loaded.
What size?
Posted December 24, 2013
Hey, what size did you buy for him and what is his size? I am on the edge of small and medium and i am 5'9" 165lbs, athletic build and just not sure what to buy. So was wondering if I could get something to work off of.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat and an excellent value

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
kreilly0811
Location: Freehold, NJ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks great, feels great, lightweight and very warm. Very we'll made. 5 Stars all the way around.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Cubist III™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought it for my "cool" 17 yr old son

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Notyourmomma
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was worried when the box came in the mail (small box).
I was worried that it wouldn't be warm enough since the jacket seemed thinner than I expected it to be. To my surprise the jacket is PERFECT for a 17 yr old that is usually too "cool" to wear a jacket (he doesn't like the big bulkiness that most winter jackets have) but this one he LOVES! He likes that it's not bulky, and says that it's super warm! Super happy! Thanks Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.