Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket

Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 32(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy and functional

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a few days out on the slopes with this down jacket, I really like the down! It's a great/trendy looking jacket and for the weight of the jacket it's pretty warm, to0 warm on 20-30degree days. On super cold/windy days like the recent days here in breckenridge I would recomend wearing a fleace underneath it to provide an extra layer of warmth, otherwise it was warm enough but could have been a little warmer. Like I said it weights nothing and honestly feels like you don't have a jacket on. Only thing I would like to see for this jacket is an XL Tall size, I have long arms and had to go with a XXL to get a jacket that fit right. Otherwise keep making jackets like this Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: PNW
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels great! Very light and has a ton of nice features for a single shell...vents, waterproof, waterproof zipper....
I am not sure how long the waterproof coating may last, but other than that my wife and I both picked up this coat!
Shopping at the employee store definitely helps with the budget....as this is pretty expensive!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the coat for a couple of weeks and love it. Went downhill skiing last weekend in Minnesota and was never cold at 20 F.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent warmth & comfort without weight

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It fits well, does not restrict movement and keeps me warm in very frigid conditions and it looks good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS JACKET!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, looks good, good features. It keeps me REALLY warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Hope Columbia Creates and Improve More of These Powder Down Jackets

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: chicago il
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As an Active Man ,I Love This Coat. I Am Ordering Another For Myself. I Wear a Wicker Long Sleeve Under Garment and T Shirt with My Coat. and I am Still Warm. Especially Here in Chicago. For 3 Days it was 15 below zero degrees during the day and 20 below zero at night. And Yes I was still warm. Thank You Columbia I Love your technology / improvement Keeping us warm :)
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent protection in winter

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm no skier, I just wear this jacket on colder winter days, and it does an excellent job of keeping the cold out and the heat in, even on windy days (where the hood helps a lot). The duvet-style padding is thick enough so I don't need to wear multiple layers underneath, but not so thick that I look like the Michelin man. When I get indoors, I just take this jacket off and I'm done. One other thing, the lining is slick enough that it doesn't bunch up when I'm putting my arms in the sleeves, which happens with another winter jacket I have. All round, well worth the money. Hopefully, it should last me a few years.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Insane!! Coat!!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this coat and let me tell something i live in chicago where cold was invented! And i laugh at the cold. This is a very warm jacket! A+++! and very comfortable. The coat looks heavy but it isn't that's what i like most about it! You would not regret it if you buy this coat!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket A Winner!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Salem
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Down Powered Jacket on sale for $179.90.It is worth the full price of $250.00.I bought it during some very cold weather this
jacket past the test with flying colors Columbia Sportswear has a winner with this jacket I bought the extra large fits like
a glove.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold in Korea

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Camp Humphreys, South Korea
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am assigned in Korea with the Army and did not have a jacket warm enough for the winter over here. I ordered this Jacket received it in 10 days fit great very very warm even in the cold wind in Korea. This is a great winter jacket for very cold weather and stylish. I would like to thank Columbia for shipping to an APO Address a lot of companies do not.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: México City
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a really awesome jacket. Really aesthetic and fuctional. I ordered a large one and it fitted my shoulders perfectly while the sleeves may have been slightly larger than expected.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good and warm

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a men from a tropical city and for the first winter in NY. It keeps me warm when I'm outside. It's a little large but still OK.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Northeast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the Black Print. I take my dog outside 2 hours a day . (English Setter) So I really put to the test Down Jackets to see how they really keep the heat in ...cold out.Last couple winters here in Pa have been pretty cold. I usually wear a tee shirt and a long sleeve mock turtle neck. I will follow up later in the winter with how this jacket does. One thing I noticed is the Media Pocket on the inside of the Jacket could be bigger. I have a Samsung S5 and it comes no where close to fitting in this pocket. Which is a bummer brcause that was one of the things I thought was neat about this Jacket. It's a good quality Jacket something I have come to expect from Columbia. Looks like there could be a tad more Down stuffed into the Jacket. But sometimes that can be misleading , Down is a powerful insulator. Most of my other down Jackets are 550 fill and this one is 650. I can hardly wait for that first 15 degree day (with the wind blowing) to check this Jacket out!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chicago Deep Freeze Certified

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When temps reached sub zero temps, all that I would add to my winter ensemble would be a scarf and hat - the hood itself is great and i love the drawstring quality of the hood and around the waist to keep the wind out. This is a great quality winter jacket. It is a puffy jacket being down - this is expected however Columbia does a fine job of minimizing the fluff factor while maximizing body heat retention. I will put on my jacket say 10 minutes before i leave in the morning and the heat that I build up (with only a polo short sleeved shirt and white tanktop undershirt) will last me even on those gusty days when the winter wind cuts at the skin. A samsung galaxy 5 smart phone does NOT fit on the inside breast pocket however fits perfectly on the outside breast pocket. Every pocket is zippered and the zipper track is wind tight. I love the soft pockets for bare hands, they are lined and warm. The sleeves lining have like a spandexy type deal around the wrists so that wind stays out of the sleeves. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the quality - i feel like i can get many years outta this jacket if I treat it right. I did notice a miniscule amount of feathers sticking out from seams however they were soooo tiny and i doubt that this will be an issue.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Really Big

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this jacket in a size small for my husband and it is just huge. The body is big and boxy and the sleeves are Hulk-sized. I'm not sure if there was a mistake with the cut because he has several other size small Columbia jackets which fit nicely. It's a shame cause we like the style and it's really warm but it has to go back due to the poor fit.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its the bomb but needs an upgrade...

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As an owner of multiple Columbia products, I am always excited when I add to the collection. The brand has excelled at creating great quality and putting products on the hanger that perform as advertised in the designated conditions. This puffy was purchased as a ski jacket and is a beautiful piece. It fits true to size, has the necessary pockets, powder skirt, cuff adjustments and an adjustable, removable hood that actually works. My only complaint is the size of zipper used on the front of the coat. Too small! C'mon guys and gals, how can you design a great, functional piece and not put a big zipper on it. This is the outer layer! Owners/users will have gloves or mitts on riding a lift trying to adjust a zipper that belongs on a pant fly. Really? I expect better and will have the zipper changed out with the local seamstress or tailor to something more usable... as you should have.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat but fits very big!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Ann Arbor, Mi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My son loved this jacket online! Ordered it for him as a Christmas present. Since his current medium Columbia just fits and he is still growing, I ordered a large. It is humongous! The coat is of excellent quality and looks very warm and functional but waaaaay too big. Unfortunately, there aren't any available now online. Will have to return.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great Jacket for Minneapolis winter

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket with all the necessary features to keep you warm in the tough MN winter. As another reviewer noted, the only complaint I have is the small internal pocket, only suited for an ipod sized device. The rest, great Jacket, warm + light, this is my first down jacket and i will go back to on down. I got it half price and its worth it, full price I do not know. But I never pay full price for stuff.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended!

PostedDecember 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: United States
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket and a must have for winter!
Built quality is amazing and unlike other reviews, I did not find this jacket too heavy. It is decently sized allowing for me to wear an under layer comfortably.
The only thing to note would be the size of the hood as it is helmet compatible so it tends to be slightly large for people that don't wear helmets like myself, however, it can be adjusted and I managed to find a comfortable fit.
My only critique would be that generally Columbia jacket sleeves run half inch to an inch longer than they should be for a medium size. This makes the sleeves look slightly puffy. I have tried many Columbia jackets and that is what I have noticed on all medium sizes.
Other than that this jacket is great and highly recommended!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Powder Down™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems nice - large in the ribs

PostedDecember 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
I like it, but it was larger than other columbia jackets I had tried. Even after imagining several sweaters on, it would be too big for me.
FYI: I'm 6,1, fairly slender. The sleeves seemed the right length.
FYI: The phone pocket is a jokingly smallish. It barely fits on iPhone 5, an iPhone 6 or 6+ is out of the question.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>