Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten

All the warmth you need, in a sleek new design, with all the value and mountain-worthy tech of the original Whirlibird
Overall rating:
2.583 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
4 out of 12(33%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Review 1 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm, warm, warm

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
AC32
Location: green bay, wisconsin
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear these mittens when I walk outside everyday. They are the warmest mittens I have worn. I have down mittens and these mittens are much warmer and certainly less bulky. I am wearing them to the frozen tundra for today's packers game. I know my hands will be warm. I am ordering a few more pairs. I highy recommend these mittens.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the mittens

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer avatar
dls1234
I found them lightweight, very waterproof, and flexible - which was everything that I was looking for.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Warm. They will be returned.

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Customer avatar
ap80
Location: NY
This is a thin shell. They are not warm at ALL. The description of this mitten is false. Do not buy if you plan on wearing these in any temperature below 60 degrees.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very warm

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Jdawg
These mittens are a good shell, but they have no insulation and will not keep your hands warm without a liner.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not for Minnesota

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer avatar
marti
Not warm enough at all! Got frostbite on my thumbs today walking the dog at 14 degrees F. Were fine last week when the temp was 25. They definately need a temperature rating.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Whirlibird mittens

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
cold
Location: Arkansas
These things are worthless. They are the coldest mittens I have ever owned. They did not block the wind and they never heated up, even in 35 degree weather. i went back to my LL Bean mittens which are warm and have a better fit.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer avatar
pasthonoredsubwife
Location: Washington DC
User submitted photo
I bought these to replace a pair of 12 year old Columbia mittens, size youth XL. When I put the old pair on, my hands immediately felt the warmth.I kept these for 12 years, resewn and mended, because they were the warmest pair I've ever had. With the new ones, if my hands are cold when I put them on, my hands stay cold for a long time. I ordered a Ladies M, and measured together, they are about the same size as my old ones, so I'm not sure it's because they are too big. Once my hands warm up, the mittens keep my hands pretty warm. The mittens look nice, and I like that they cinch around the wrist to prevent snow from getting inside. I also like the thinness for the added dexterity which comes in handy for attaching the dog's leash. But warm hands must go into them to stay warm. I am disappointed. It's a lot of money to spend for mittens.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT warmest gloves ever.

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
poshkatie
Location: Chicago
I live in Chicago, where the wind is brutal. My hands are very cold in these gloves, I have to make a fist just to keep them warm. These gloves might be better for a mild winter, but not meant for here in Chicago.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Impressed

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
winterlover
Location: Wisconsin
I agree with the person from North Dakota. These mittens are NOT worth the money. They are super thin and my hands were freezing in them as well. I wear them now with a pair of wool gloves underneath and together they keep my hands warm, but the warmth comes from my wool gloves not these mittens. These mittens are good at keeping wind and moisture out but if you live anywhere that is below freezing I would not recommend.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed Feelings

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Cardinalspice
Location: Wyoming, MN
These gloves are very thin, so when holding items such as a shovel or ski poles they are not warm. The Omni-Heat technology must require air space to hold in the heat. I will have to find a pair of thing gloves to wear under these when I go skiing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My hands froze!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
gooseberries
Location: Beulah, North Dakota
Not sure what Columbia is rating this mitten at, tried to find a rating but could not. So I would rate it as a mitten for 18 degrees and above. But I was looking for a mitten for much colder temps. When I tried it out with liners and wind chill was below zero, my hands have never been that frozen. Not sure if liner negates "omni heat" technology. But to me they are a very thin mitten, so it is probably my fault for buying them for very cold temps. Would definitely always wear a handwarmer with them at this point, or probably will just wear my old gloves that are thicker, since I really don't trust these mitts at all in very cold conditions when cross-country skiing.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Omni-Heat® Whirlibird™ Mitten
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warmest mittens ever!

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
JustineMarie
Location: Flushing, New York
My hands have never been so warm! With or without glove liners, these mittens have kept my hands warmer than any other glove OR mitten I've ever worn before. I would have given them five stars except that I have some trouble adjusting them around the wrist once their on my hands. Other than that, I highly recommend these mittens for outdoor activities like hiking, skiing, etc.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.