Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™

Outfitted in premium goatskin leather and featuring a trifecta of progressive weather-fighting technologies, the Bugaglove will reign supreme over your winter dominion.
Overall rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(5 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 5 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
2 out of 5(40%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Review 1 for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Another miss in heated gloves

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
mitchemi
Location: Vancouver, BC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought these for my wife who has Reynaud's Syndrome (gets cold fingers easily) Last year I bought the mountain hardware glove which did not work either. These did not provide any really significant heating. The heating elements seem to be on the back side of the glove and there is no heating in the thumb. Battery life is extremely poor. It must be really technically difficult to get heated gloves right as there have been a number of products that have failed. Columbia better get ready for a large number of returns.
Activities: Skiing
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as great as I expected

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Mountaincachers
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I received these as a gift from my husband and was very excited to try them on the slopes. I have worn them on the slopes twice. The first day was about 17 degrees. I used the medium setting in hopes of getting the battery to last longer. My fingers were cold within about 1 1/2 hours and the batteries were dead shortly thereafter. The next day was warmer (low 30s), and I was only going to be skiing in the morning, so I used the warmest setting. My fingers stayed warm, but these aren't really the conditions I felt that I needed the gloves for. Pros: They seem very well made and definitely were waterproof and windproof. Cons: I agree with the previous reviewer that the tip of the thumb should also be heated, as my thumb got cold well before my fingers. I'm not sure why only the base of the thumb is heated. The gloves themselves are rather bulky, so can be a little cumbersome arranging with jacket sleeves. The battery life is way, way too short. Even the product manual says that the battery will only last for 2 hours or so depending on outside temperature. I was looking for something that would let me ski all day under cold conditions. I wouldn't recommend the product, especially for the full price.
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
Response from ColumbiaBy Customer CareChristianJanuary 3, 2012
Thanks Mountaincachers, we appreciate all of your feedback, especially regarding the battery life. The batteries themselves can run between 2-4 hours depending on the setting, and some customers are buying spare batteries for longer days on the slopes or in the elements. Also, please be sure you’re fully charging the batteries before use for maximum capacity!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad, but disappointed with the thumb

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Marie411
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have extremely poor circulation in my extremities so I was really looking forward to these gloves keeping my hands warm in cold outdoor conditions. Overall they heat up to a nice temperature but I was disappointed that there was not equal heat delivered to my thumb. They also run a little big. I usually wear a medium in women's gloves and when I put these on I had an extra 3/4 of an inch of room at the end of each finger. I love the concept and idea of these gloves and overall they aren't bad. My hands stayed warm and comfortable but my thumb was not heated like the rest of my fingers. Also, they only stay charged for about 6 hours or less so it is important to have them completely charged for a long trip.
Activities: Snowboarding
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Gloves

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
srg1124
Location: Denver, CO
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They arrived right in time for negative and single digit temperatures. Easy setup. Has a great little bag that holds both the gloves and charger. Can't wait until I get to use them skiing.
Activities: Skiing, Other, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Bugaglove Max Electric™
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Forgot thumb

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Pamela
Location: minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality. Great fit. But when you are spending 400.00 for a pair of gloves you expect the first digit to be included. THUMBS are not heated...... How did Columbia forgot about the thumb.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking
I do not recommend this product.
Response from ColumbiaBy ChristianCustomer CareDecember 1, 2011
Thanks so much for your feedback! We love it when we hear from consumers on our products, and we highly value your opinion and comments. You are correct that we didn’t heat the tip of the thumbs, but this was not an oversight. We did extend heating into the base of the thumb area, and the feedback we received from outdoor professionals who used the gloves in extremely cold conditions was overwhelmingly positive. In addition to the Omni Heat Electric technology, this product also includes our OutDry waterproof/breathable membrane to make the gloves feel even warmer!
+5points
29of 53voted this as helpful.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Posted byErikai
Louisville, CO
 
Please wait while more information about Erikai is loaded.
Additional information about Erikai could not be loaded.
Regarding the thimb
onFebruary 4, 2012
I know you consulted with several outdoor professionals but those folks are likely to have much higher VO2 maxes and circulation. For us folks who aren't in the mountains 5-7 days a week, or don't have the blood capacity or circulation these professionals have, it's very valuable to have heated thumb. There are runs on the slopes where my thumb tips are SO cold that they are physically painful at the tip and I feel like I have to interrupt my day just to warm up my hands.
I have always had bad circulation in my ectremeties, amd let's face it- it's folks like me that would be most interested in a glove like this. Especially for women, who are more likely to select this product for this reason than for extreme conditions.
I have had any number of people tell me that I just have to buy the right glove. None of them have worked. I have tried heted palms and heat packs... they only made my hand sweat while my thumb got even colder because it was not only cold, but wet.
Please reconsider the thumb tip. I was thinking about buying gthese gloves because I'd like to get past the cold barrier and enjoy the outdoors year round. I am now having to reconsider without the ability to test them out.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byCharron
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about Charron is loaded.
Additional information about Charron could not be loaded.
Agreed - that a big minus point.
onDecember 28, 2011
I was seriously considering purchasing these gloves but will probably not, having found out the thumbs are not heated. I have Raynaud's syndrome and also live in Minnesota - keeping my hands warm and usable on dog walks is a constant issue in winter.
For the cost I would expect all digits to be heated. Am a bit disappointed to find out they are not.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byGarry94
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about Garry94 is loaded.
Additional information about Garry94 could not be loaded.
Quality there
onDecember 27, 2011
Good looking, durable, a well fitted glove of art. But, how can you forget heat in the thumb! Garry from New Jersey
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)