Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
63 out of 66(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
MoeMoe
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a grad student living on loans, so keep that in mind when I say...it's EXPENSIVE. No lie there, you'll pay a pretty penny.
Now onto the fine points: it's worth it! I was looking for a jacket that would 1. serve as a weather-proof barrier between me and the elements, 2. be easy to clean and last a long time, and 3. look great. I'm a student, and in the winter time I'm always freezing. This coat is an excellent choice, because I can wear both the liner and shell into the school, but leave the shell in my locker and just wear the liner to class. The omni-heat lining is amazing, where I used to have to layer on a ton of tops to keep warm, I can throw on a t-shirt and the liner and stay warm all day. It looks great on, too. It's form fitting, and runs a tiny bit small, but I say that because I'm used to jackets that fit an undershirt, t-shirt, and a hoodie underneath. Honestly, you won't need all those layers with this bad boy :)
It's easy to wash, just wash on a light cycle and dry in dryer for about 20 minutes. Also, take the shell and liner apart. That makes the drying time shorter.
Also, I'm an hourglass figure, and sometimes, finding a jacket in the right length and fit is tough. Trust me, you'll want to wear the liner everywhere, because it looks great. The liner and shell look good together, but the liner looks super awesome with a pair of jeans. PLUS, the thumb holes keep cold air from entering your sleeve. It makes a world of difference.
Awesome, awesome, awesome! A family member recommended Columbia's Omni-heat line (her jacket is a few years old and still looks brand new) and I'm so glad she did. I'm thrilled with this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKlm16
Scarborough ont.
 
Please wait while more information about Klm16 is loaded.
Additional information about Klm16 could not be loaded.
Awesome warm comfy Jacket
onDecember 5, 2012
I bought this jacket a week ago, I Love it, it's worth every penny. It's warm and versatile. I have loved Columbia products for years and will always.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

did not keep me dry!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
AngelaBellevueWA
Location: Bellevue
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wore this coat for a rather long snowshoeing trip today. It rained, and this coat did not keep me dry at all!!! I was absolutely soaked.
What a disappointment.
I don't recommend this coat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly constructed

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
urbanexplorer
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am disappointed in this jacket. I purchased one last year, and with only gentle, light use for a few of the coldest months (walking around a city), the interior jacket has become quite damaged. There are numerous pulls all over the exterior, and the stitching has come undone in several places. Additionally, the entire elastic cord for tightening at the bottom has pulled out of the jacket and I have had to safety pin it up to keep it out of the way. I purchased this jacket with the idea that it would last me many years and after comparing it to similar products from other brands - I now regret purchasing it.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excited for cold weather

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Mountaingirl223
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat in July, so I haven't worn it in the elements yet. But it seems warm without being bulky, and it is true to size, which I like. I have longer arms, and their coats always fit in the sleeves without being too big around.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All that I anticipated from on-line information

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Gerri55
Location: Hot Springs, Ar (travel w/it-ME,N.H.; WI)
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Previous experience with similar jacket of same brand; outgrown but as good as new. Had to downsize two sizes; very pleased with some of the new features, not in original jacket; can't beat value even without the discounted sale price.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It´s warm and beautiful

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Naty
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received my jacket (which are really two jackets), they are great!! they fit me very good, and i love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely jacket

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer avatar
knossar
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I knew it was slightly small, so I ordered a Medium one, it is a great jacket, warm and waterproof and it is very light, really love it!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is excelent

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
CPG05
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is an excelent product for snow!
You keep warm and dry.
This product have a very good quality.
I recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
FERCON
Location: MIAMI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this jacket exceed our expectations
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful jacket

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Cristina57
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is ideal, combines formal and casual wear. Both are light, sheltered and very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I wish it fit me better

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Mary59
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like everything about the jacket except the fit. I usually wear a size medium and occasionally a size small. I ordered a medium and was disappointed when I put it on and it was snug thru the chest area. I thought about returning it for a large, but then the sleeves and other parts of the jacket would be too big.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fit

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
susanK
Location: Peoria, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered a size larger than what the chart indicated. I am so glad I did. The sleeves are a little long and I have long arms BUT I will not be able to wear much more than long underwear and a long sleeved tee under it. A sweatshirt will make it too tight.
OBTW - If you order online, you will suddenly get columbia advertisements everywhere on IE and Crome.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One problem that Columbia fixed quickly

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
empress
Location: oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a warm and comfortable jacket that I bought for skiing. I like the bright color, many pockets, cooling features, reflective insulation and removeable hood. However, after the first day on the slopes I noticed the seam on one arm coming apart. Not sure if it was like that originally and I just didn't notice or if it actually started coming apart after one day of skiing. Columbia stands by their workmanship and sent me a new one since they were not in the store anymore when I went back to get a repair or replacement. The store clerks were helpful and friendly. Products are generally excellent and even with the small seam opening the jacket was nice and toasty warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

There are shortcomings....

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
NoDakExplorer
Location: North Dakota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket IS warm and the inner coat is cute.Here are my buts:
1. I am 5'6, small-busted, and slim. I ordered both a M and a L. I ended up going w/ the large, but now I even regret that - I cannot hardly get any layers under this coat bc it is so snug.
2. The sleeves are long and the inner cuff is very, very tight. I can't get mittens under the outer coat, and it is hard to have them over the sleeves because the length pushes the mittens down.
3. I have worn it about 5 times and the fabric on the edges of the cuffs is already fuzzy.
I bought it bc we had a ski trip approaching. I am trying to decide if I should keep it just for skiing with only base layers underneath - or order a MENs coat so that I have room underneath for everyday use. I am not getting daily use out of it right now bc I live in ND and it's too cold to only wear only t-shirts daily.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byXlandria
S.F. Bay Area
 
Please wait while more information about Xlandria is loaded.
Additional information about Xlandria could not be loaded.
Just wanted to say...
onJanuary 28, 2014
I thought your review was very well written, but my understanding is, if you are in either hot or cold weather, the less fabric/layers between your outer wear, (i.e. sleeping bag, jacket), the more the warmer/cooler you will be. Don't know this from personal experience
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for winter activities

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
KKL2
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fit, comfortable to wear, nice features and functions great. The Fuse Green color is nice and bright so you can be seen on the slopes or in the woods. Wore the first time on a very chilly evening that transitioned from snow to sleet to freezing rain, the jacket shed the water and kept me dry and comfortable. Very happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, multipurpose 3-in-1 jacket

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer avatar
lolo24
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this jacket. Got it a few weeks ago and have been using it almost every day!
A little about me: athletic, 5'7", busty, ~140 -- generally a cold person, living in the great lakes region.
Used the entire jacket for Cross Country skiing with great success, love the under-arm zippers.
Used the inner portion when running outside in 19 degree (F) temps - awesome again.. I was almost too warm underneath because i wore my traditional 2 long sleeve shirts... after this I only used 1 thin layer.
Have been using the outer shell the past few days as the temps have been higher but more rain and wind. It's been working great!
The other feature i really like is the whole loops for your thumbs on the inner jacket. Great for keeping the cold out!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

whirlibird jacket

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
cmoney
Location: Gulf Coast
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket. Very warm. It is the "active" fit which is more close fitted than I normally like a jacket. If you want something more roomie I suggest getting a size up from your normal size or getting a jacket that is "modern" fit
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ski Jacket

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Sheree815
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a petite girl (5'3, 100lbs) and I get really cold very easily. I wanted to try skiing/snowboarding for the first time, but didn't want to go unprepared and definitely didn't want to wear something that did not fit me properly. After spending 4 hours in the snow on the coldest day this winter, I can honestly say, this jacket kept me warm, fit amazingly well (you couldn't tell I was wearing snow-ware at all!), and had such useful pockets and utilities that Im still learning how to use. Despite not being a natural born skiier, I would be down to try it again knowing that this gear adequately prepared me!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Loved this coat

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
summerhiker
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This lived up to all expectations about keeping one warm! I ski'd in 13 below temps and just wore the long underwear under the coat.
Beware - this coat does run small! I normally wear medium's but my experience with Columbia products is that they tend to run small.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Versatile!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
VictoriaL
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second interchange coat from Columbia and it is amazing. I attend grad school in Boston, MA and have to walk to and from the subway almost everyday. With the windchill, it was -12 degrees this morning. Wearing this coat, the only thing that was cold were my legs. I agree with a previous reviewer that the hood could definitely be more substantial and that's why I rated the coat as a 4. Not only is the hood not adequate enough to resist strong winds, but the elastics that tighten it on either side are all but useless. However, when I get to school I can take it apart, store the outer jacket in my locker and wear the liner in chilly classrooms. Overall, a great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>