Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
64 out of 67(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a grad student living on loans, so keep that in mind when I say...it's EXPENSIVE. No lie there, you'll pay a pretty penny.
Now onto the fine points: it's worth it! I was looking for a jacket that would 1. serve as a weather-proof barrier between me and the elements, 2. be easy to clean and last a long time, and 3. look great. I'm a student, and in the winter time I'm always freezing. This coat is an excellent choice, because I can wear both the liner and shell into the school, but leave the shell in my locker and just wear the liner to class. The omni-heat lining is amazing, where I used to have to layer on a ton of tops to keep warm, I can throw on a t-shirt and the liner and stay warm all day. It looks great on, too. It's form fitting, and runs a tiny bit small, but I say that because I'm used to jackets that fit an undershirt, t-shirt, and a hoodie underneath. Honestly, you won't need all those layers with this bad boy :)
It's easy to wash, just wash on a light cycle and dry in dryer for about 20 minutes. Also, take the shell and liner apart. That makes the drying time shorter.
Also, I'm an hourglass figure, and sometimes, finding a jacket in the right length and fit is tough. Trust me, you'll want to wear the liner everywhere, because it looks great. The liner and shell look good together, but the liner looks super awesome with a pair of jeans. PLUS, the thumb holes keep cold air from entering your sleeve. It makes a world of difference.
Awesome, awesome, awesome! A family member recommended Columbia's Omni-heat line (her jacket is a few years old and still looks brand new) and I'm so glad she did. I'm thrilled with this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKlm16
Scarborough ont.
 
Please wait while more information about Klm16 is loaded.
Additional information about Klm16 could not be loaded.
Awesome warm comfy Jacket
onDecember 5, 2012
I bought this jacket a week ago, I Love it, it's worth every penny. It's warm and versatile. I have loved Columbia products for years and will always.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a snowboarder, and love the outdoors. I love this coat because it fits me just right. The size runs perfect, not to small not to big. I am 5'10" and a medium was just right. LOVE IT! Thanks columbia for making such a great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fashionable and good fit

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: san diego
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The medium is a good fit for me. I wear a size 8 -10 on top and it's a comfortable fit. it's very trendy and fashionable with a feminine fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Whirlibird Jacket

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits true to size, but is too snug under the arms. This limits the amount of layering one might consider under the jacket and makes it a bit uncomfortable at first. The arms are long, but personally think that is a good feature. Also it does not have a bottom zip for when one is sitting, which would be a nice additional feature. Overall the materials seem of great quality and it has many excellent features which made it worth keeping. The omni-heat really does work as stated and I hope the waterproofing holds true as well. For a casual jacket, it has smart styling that adds to its versatility.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Montevideo Uruguay / South America
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything fits great and certainly was a great purchase. We usually buy Columbia stuff but this is the first time I order it on the web and the delivery was perfect. So, thanks very much!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pockets are misplaced but overall great jacket

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
THe only reason I don't give this jacket the 5th star is because most of the functional pockets are on the shell, so they are inaccessible when the jacket is used with the liner. Other than that, this is a really warm and comfy jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm jacket

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Henderson, KY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket is lightweight but very warm. I purchased in Sea Salt Printed Plaid. I love the color scheme and enjoy wearing the inner layer as a jacket by itself. I am very happy to have purchased this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile coat

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: philadelphia pa
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a great coat and very functional.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 120 pound New Yorker who is always cold. During the winter, I am always wearing tons of layers to stay warm. My best friend suggested that I try one of these coats since she loves hers. I ordered a medium, just in case I need to put a sweater on. I am shocked at how warm this coat keeps me. I can throw this on over a long-sleeved shirt and be warm in 30 degree weather. I love all of the pockets and that I do not need a different coat for all the outdoor activities I do. There are so many amazing features, like the venting under the arms, that make it worth the price. I do wish there was a bottom zipper for when I am sitting. Otherwise, I am very happy with my purchase. I am currently waiting for my omni-heat gloves and hat to come in so I have a matching set.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Clinton, UT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife received her jacket yesterday and it is being returned today. Not because it is no good, but because it is smaller than expected. In all her other coats, she wears a medium and this fits like a small. So, being returned for a larger size. The liner itself is a little small while the outer portion fits just fine by itself and is overall small when put together. She loves how warm it is though and can see no other problem with it. Wish they had FREE returns!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Warm

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm cold all the time and needed a jacket I could use for the majority of winter to keep me very warm. I wanted an everyday winter coat. That's what I got. I wore it to a football game and it was raining and the coat kept me dry too.
My three complaints about the jacket - I bought the black plaid one and it's not black - it's more of a dark green color. The inside looks even more green than the outside. Also the hood, while waterproof, is very thin and could easily be stored inside the coat collar while not in use however this is not an option. I wish they would have made that an option. Also - the inside layer that is removable and can be worn as it's own lighter jacket - it has it's own zipper that zips into the shell so it fits a fair amount smaller than the shell does.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No need to layer

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Texas, but went to an indoor ice display where the temperature was 9 degrees. We were in there for awhile, and I did not layer - just a long sleeve t-shirt. I stayed nice and toasty warm. Granted there wasn't wind, but many people around me wearing the "parkas" the company supplied were cold. I am also happy with the quality, and the easy way the jacket cleans up. It looks good on me too, and isn't boxy like I thought it would be. It is long enough for me, being 5'10. I think the color is more vibrant than pictured- I always get compliments on it
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Won't Regret This Jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Williamsport MD
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the best jacket I have ever owned. There's 3 waterproof zippers on the exterior on BOTH layers. There's an adjustable hood on how far down you want it to fall on your forehead and how tight/loose the circumference of the hood is around your face. The hood detaches with a zipper. The omni heat technology WILL keep you toasty warm. I'm the girl that always gets cold easily but there is no way I can wear this jacket inside for too long because I will actually start sweating by just sitting there and wearing it for a while. That omni heat really will keep you warmer and warmer the longer you wear it it seems. There's zippers for underarm venting. There's an adjustable waist line, there's really soft material around the wrists that include thumb holes, there's adjustable wrist cuffs, there's a very generous sized "goggle" pocket on the inside of just the shell layer. I honestly can't say anything bad about this jacket. You will love it so please take my word and buy it. Its alot of money yes and money's not too easy to come by but I promise it is soooo worth it cause this jacket does its job and WILL keep you protected from extreme weather. I don't care who you are I guarantee it!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XL Red Whirlibird Woman's Coat

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XL Ladies Whirlibird (Red).
This coat felt nice and warm, love the pockets nice size. Coat size is fit to wear. A bit snug for me, I like my coat loose so I can wear layers if needed. I changed it to a
Men's Whirlibird (Black) XL
OMG what a fit. This new whirlibird men's coat fits much much better. Its also a little longer, love those pockets. Delivery ordered Saturday here on Monday. The best part of all no hassles if something goes wrong or you don't like it. They return your funds. In addition, lifetime warranty. I have an older Columbia jacket its about 14 or 16 years old my zipper got stuck they going to check it out for me. Wow what great customer service. I will highly recommend Columbia to my friends and family.
Thank you Columbia Team,
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket for many uses. tailored fit so i don't look like a marshmellow!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great so far

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got this for my daughter going off to college in a windy, cold region. She loves jacket, the fit, the style. Says it's very warm and comfortable without too much bulk. She is quite tall and the arms are nice and long. She loves the thumb holes, which are there if you want to use them and not noticeable if you don't. The insulating material inside the inner jacket reflects heat and she said she can 'feel the warmth'. All around, very pleased. The only reason for not giving 5 stars/bars on each area is she has not had it long enough to test it out in different weather situations or to know how it will hold up. So far, it's great.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even better than I expected

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has all the features I was looking for, and it's even warmer than I expected!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything the details described is what it is. Its very well made, keeps me very warm and I absolutely love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Western Maine
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. I wanted the blue one, but the store was out so I bought the red instead. I think I like this color better than the blue. It is great to wear separate or all together. I live in Maine and with the current cold streak, I have stayed perfectly warm when I go outside. There are no words to describe how much I love the OmniHeat. This jacket looks great with almost everything. 7/8 pockets in the jacket are zippered and I love that fact. I just have a hard time keeping the white clean and remembering which pocket something is in.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Connell, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket. The liner is so warm, I have yet to really have to wear both the liner and the jacket. It is attractive. I would definately recommend this jacket to others
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>