Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket

Three jackets in one – a warm, repellent Omni-Heat® liner; a waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed shell; and a combination of both – giving you ultimate versatility to stay warm, dry, protected and comfortable in fluctuating winter conditions.
Overall rating:
4.537 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
64 out of 67(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a grad student living on loans, so keep that in mind when I say...it's EXPENSIVE. No lie there, you'll pay a pretty penny.
Now onto the fine points: it's worth it! I was looking for a jacket that would 1. serve as a weather-proof barrier between me and the elements, 2. be easy to clean and last a long time, and 3. look great. I'm a student, and in the winter time I'm always freezing. This coat is an excellent choice, because I can wear both the liner and shell into the school, but leave the shell in my locker and just wear the liner to class. The omni-heat lining is amazing, where I used to have to layer on a ton of tops to keep warm, I can throw on a t-shirt and the liner and stay warm all day. It looks great on, too. It's form fitting, and runs a tiny bit small, but I say that because I'm used to jackets that fit an undershirt, t-shirt, and a hoodie underneath. Honestly, you won't need all those layers with this bad boy :)
It's easy to wash, just wash on a light cycle and dry in dryer for about 20 minutes. Also, take the shell and liner apart. That makes the drying time shorter.
Also, I'm an hourglass figure, and sometimes, finding a jacket in the right length and fit is tough. Trust me, you'll want to wear the liner everywhere, because it looks great. The liner and shell look good together, but the liner looks super awesome with a pair of jeans. PLUS, the thumb holes keep cold air from entering your sleeve. It makes a world of difference.
Awesome, awesome, awesome! A family member recommended Columbia's Omni-heat line (her jacket is a few years old and still looks brand new) and I'm so glad she did. I'm thrilled with this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKlm16
Scarborough ont.
 
Please wait while more information about Klm16 is loaded.
Additional information about Klm16 could not be loaded.
Awesome warm comfy Jacket
onDecember 5, 2012
I bought this jacket a week ago, I Love it, it's worth every penny. It's warm and versatile. I have loved Columbia products for years and will always.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I went to purchase in the employee store and they didn't have my size available. I ordered online and within 3 business days my jacket arrived. It fits great. Always recommend Columbia jackets to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favoite Jacket

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Normal, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! I have only been able to use it in the rain but I cannot wait for cooler temps and a xmas ski trip! I got the white plaid color and get many compliments on it. I cannot wait to try out the Omi-heat on the inner jacket. I am always cold so hopefully it works.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket for my "always cold" wife. When we received the garment in the mail I looked over the coat for a good ten minutes. I am, after all self professed gear snob. Very impressed! Columbia's attention to quality and detail is impressive and I will be spending more money with them. It states in the writing guidelines to "avoid writing about customer service." But, I have to tell you my experience with Columbia customer service was great!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works well.

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago,IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the coat for my mother. We got it in an XL because she is tall. The coat works great and it is a pretty good fit. It stands up well to Chicago weather, I can currently getting myself one as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and Warm

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado Springs
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this coat for those extra chilly days here in Colorado. It's a bit heavy but when it's only 15 degrees, I'm not complaining. As always, having the choice between two jackets is great for our always changing weather. Use both for extra cold days or skiing or just where the liner for not as cold days. Great choices, good construction.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a snowboarder, and love the outdoors. I love this coat because it fits me just right. The size runs perfect, not to small not to big. I am 5'10" and a medium was just right. LOVE IT! Thanks columbia for making such a great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fashionable and good fit

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: san diego
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The medium is a good fit for me. I wear a size 8 -10 on top and it's a comfortable fit. it's very trendy and fashionable with a feminine fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Whirlibird Jacket

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits true to size, but is too snug under the arms. This limits the amount of layering one might consider under the jacket and makes it a bit uncomfortable at first. The arms are long, but personally think that is a good feature. Also it does not have a bottom zip for when one is sitting, which would be a nice additional feature. Overall the materials seem of great quality and it has many excellent features which made it worth keeping. The omni-heat really does work as stated and I hope the waterproofing holds true as well. For a casual jacket, it has smart styling that adds to its versatility.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Montevideo Uruguay / South America
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything fits great and certainly was a great purchase. We usually buy Columbia stuff but this is the first time I order it on the web and the delivery was perfect. So, thanks very much!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pockets are misplaced but overall great jacket

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
THe only reason I don't give this jacket the 5th star is because most of the functional pockets are on the shell, so they are inaccessible when the jacket is used with the liner. Other than that, this is a really warm and comfy jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish MN Winter coat

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great color options, love the fitted style of the coat, have high hopes for this coat to keep me warm this winter!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and waterproof (and looks great too)

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bellingham, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered the black plaid jacket, and I love it. I've already worn it in a cold rainstorm and it kept me warm and dry. I'll note that the color of the jacket isn't pure black - it has a subtle blue-green hue (and accents) and the plaid is also very subtle...but I like that about it. I'm 5'6"/120# and tend to layer a lot, and the medium fits great over a hooded sweatshirt.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Whirlibird goodness

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Orofino, ID
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Color is shown as slightly darker online than I recieved but that is OK, except I have dogs and kids so I will be having to wash it ALOT. Fits a little small, had to go up a size to a Large so that I could move my arms and wear heavier clothes under it. Wish it was slightly warmer but will be perfect if you are doing something active (not sitting) out in the cold. Would not recommend for under 10 degrees. If you are active and get 'dirty' outside, don't get the sea salt color! Other than that, great coat! Would buy again
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket but a Little Small

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a size 10 and ordered the medium in this jacket. Either the jacket runs very small or I run big ;) Returned the jacket for a large. The sleeves are long which I adore! I do wish, however, that the jacket was overall a little longer in the torso. This jacket will definitely hold up to the long Minnesotan winters!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Color not represented in photo

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ransomville, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this coat loving the combination of bright red and yellow shown in the picture. The color red is great, but the inner shell is not yellow, it is white!!! The zipper is not yellow, it is white.....I am very disappointed in this, as I am not a person who likes white as a color to wear and keep clean. I love the coat, although it does fit smaller than an XL.... I am very sad and dissapointed about the misrepresentation of the color, I will be returning it for that reason alone. I tried to upload photos to make my point for this review, but it didn't let me.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the style

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: N.H.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unfortunately they were very limited in size and color. I couldn't get the color I wanted in my size so I had to settle for second best.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm jacket

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Henderson, KY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket is lightweight but very warm. I purchased in Sea Salt Printed Plaid. I love the color scheme and enjoy wearing the inner layer as a jacket by itself. I am very happy to have purchased this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile coat

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: philadelphia pa
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a great coat and very functional.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women’s Whirlibird™ Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 120 pound New Yorker who is always cold. During the winter, I am always wearing tons of layers to stay warm. My best friend suggested that I try one of these coats since she loves hers. I ordered a medium, just in case I need to put a sweater on. I am shocked at how warm this coat keeps me. I can throw this on over a long-sleeved shirt and be warm in 30 degree weather. I love all of the pockets and that I do not need a different coat for all the outdoor activities I do. There are so many amazing features, like the venting under the arms, that make it worth the price. I do wish there was a bottom zipper for when I am sitting. Otherwise, I am very happy with my purchase. I am currently waiting for my omni-heat gloves and hat to come in so I have a matching set.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>