Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest

Columbia Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest

Streamlined and sleek, with classic baffling detail, this highly technical vest features Omni-Heat® Electric technology for battery-powered, push-button core warmth making it equally suited for everyday use in extremely cold climates or during aerobic activities that require intermittent periods of rest in freezing conditions.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 10(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Review 1 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The battery worked only once

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
CeciliaD
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this jacket a year ago even do it was expensive, because I loved the heating feature. I used it only once and it worked good, but this year I triyed to use it again and it didn't work anymore.
Only if I plug the battery to the electricity while its connected to the jacket, a yellow light turns on and off in the jacket, but it still doesn’t heat.
I'm very dissaponted because I trusted Columbia's quality and it's technology, I thought it was reliable and would last as long as they said it would.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great vest but battery stopped working after a year

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Alexandra
Location: CT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this vest in January 2013. Since I work outside during the winter, I was looking for something to keep me warm so I wouldn't have to wear tons of layers.
The vest is great. My only gripe is the battery doesn't last as long as it should. As some people mentioned it should come with two battery packs or the first one should last longer. It also charges your phone but I don't use that because I want the battery to last for the heat.
It's lightweight and looks nice. You can change the heat settings but I usually have it on the highest. Sometimes I'll have it on medium. I do wish it was hotter but since it's warming your chest area it does the job well. It also helps to have a jacket over the vest to seal in heat.
It's been a year. I've had it in storage and only used it for a week or two last year. I took it out of storage this year and found out the battery pack doesn't work anymore. It lights up when charging but doesn't light up or turn the vest on at all. I'm a bit frustrated with that since i've barely used it at all. I am hoping Columbia will replace the battery and it will work again.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Where is the second battery?

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Krzmarzick
Location: Cable wi
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Vest doesn't get as hot as I would have expected. Also the package said it came with 2 batteries. There was only 1 battery. I wonder if anyone from Colombia will actually see this, research it, and send me my second battery....
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLaguna
CA
 
Please wait while more information about Laguna is loaded.
Additional information about Laguna could not be loaded.
2nd Battery
onJanuary 8, 2014
Info with vest and charger clearly states there are 2 batteries. There are 2 USB cords for charging and 2 places for them on plug. There are 2 slots in jacket and 2 cords for batteries to attach to. Only 1 battery sent with jacket with no explanation. Clearly the vest was meant to use 2 batteries. Where's the 2nd one???
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Defective materials on the vest

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
khhmn
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We were SO excited to get this vest - it was on a Christmas list for someone who has cancer and is cold all the time. It's really cute and fit great, but there was a rip in the material by the pocket. Since that's where the battery is inserted we knew the rip would just grow, so we had to return it. But of course now there are none in stock...so very very frustrating. We ended up getting a heated vest from another company that actually has higher ratings for the battery performance (ANSAI), but is not as cute.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Vest

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Patti54
Location: The Dalles, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this vest. The fit is perfect and it goes with my older Interchange Jacket. Only problem is it only came with 1 battery although the manual says 2 are included and I cannot find a way to purchase an additional battery. Other than that, I love it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty at sub-zero!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
MThusband
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife absolutely loves this vest! One key point is not covered in the description. This vest is part of the interchange line. It zips in perfectly with the Whirlibird jacket. I am considering buying the men's counterpart for myself.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IF I could live in it, I would!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
ActiveMomOF4
Location: Kenosha, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Originally, I purchased it for watching my kids' soccer games in the freezing cold spring and fall. If I could live in it I would. I absolutely LOVE it. It is toasty warm. Most of the other parents on the sidelines are ready to purchase one as well.
The person's review that is posted about the pocket being too small for the battery must not have installed the battery properly. It TOTALLY fits. As a bonus, I did not know that I could even charge up my cell phone with the USB cord!
Sa-weet!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm vest

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
AndreaR
Location: NYC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The vest is great, the only issue is it only comes with one battery, but is designed for two. There is no way to buy an additional battery as they are not sold individually. Design flaw. Otherwise it's a great vest!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK but needs insulation

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wire on the back side doesn't work. The battery runs out of power within 20 minutes to an hour after charging in full. Not enough insulation. Only heats the sides. I work in a cold warehouse, even during blizzards, so this is imporant.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Electro Amp™ Core Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Second Best Way To Keep My Wife Warm

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Ogdog
Location: Mandan, ND
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Of course I'm the first choice; however, I cannot be snuggled up with her all the time. She loves her new Electro Amp Core Vest. It looks great and keeps her warm. My wife coaches girls basketball in ND, and traveling during the winter is very cold. She tried out her new vest last week during a basketball tournament in Wyoming. The vest kept her comfortable at all times. My wife has Hypo-Thyroidism which also causes her to run a little on the cool side. I plan on purchasing the additional battery pack.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDihi
Walnut creek
 
Please wait while more information about Dihi is loaded.
Additional information about Dihi could not be loaded.
Package arrived with one of two batteries missing.
onJanuary 6, 2013
I was very excited about the vest, but was disappointed to find one of the two included batteries missing. It still works but of course will not stay hot for as long
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)