Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket

This beautiful down parka was originally a men’s prototype, but it was a little too long. Our female designer grabbed it, cinched in the waist, and the Hexbreaker Long was born. Sorry, guys.
Overall rating:
4.157 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
44 out of 51(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice coat, hope its great in winter

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
I just ordered this coat to take overseas for the year. Unfortunately I had to purchase it in the summer and have not had the chance to wear it in the rain, snow or cold, but I think it will be great. I have had 2 previous coats from Columbia and loved them all, so I have high hopes! Just wearing it in the house, I got hot!
Also I am 5'4, 117 and got an xs and it fits well, and I can wear a sweater under it, if necessary.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great coat

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: pleasant prairie, WI
fits true to size and looks very feminine because of the cinched waist which I love! I ordered the gun metal color because I needed a change from black and brown and I am very happy with it! Coat is good quality. Have yet to test out it's warmth but just from wearing it in the house it seems like it will be a warm winter coat. Gave 4 stars because I wish it had a removable hood and would be happier if the coat was a couple inches longer to protect my legs from the cold.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Different color from the picture

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Argentina
I am not completely satisfied.
I receiveid a jacket that is different of the one I choose.
The article is the same but the color not.
On the web page the inside color of the neck seem to be gray.
I RECEIVED ONE THAT THE INSIDE COLOUR OF THE NECK AND THE HOOD IS LIGHT BLUE, AND I DON'T LIKE IT.
On Amazon and other pages , with a better price, the picture shown has a light blue inside the neck and the hood, just the same I recived from you. But on yours was like gray. That was important for me, and that was why I ordered it to you although it was expensive.
SO, YOUR PICTURE ON WEB SHOW A DIFFERENT THING OF WHAT I RECIVED.
I am a foreing and was a week on vacation on Miami, and thought shopping on line could save me time and let me have more options, but I am not happy with the results.
I would recommend this product.
-21points
7of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sizing Chart Misleading

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Customer avatar
I ordered an XS because the sizing chart states that a XS is 2-4. The coat is wonderful, great color, feels winter-worthy. But the XS felt like an XXS. I am substituting for a S. Keep in mind that you'll probably be wearing sweaters underneath!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect everyday winter jacket!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Princeton, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought an omni-heat interchange jacket last year and loved it. This year I wanted a longer jacket for more coverage and I laid my eyes on this one. Well, when I finally decided to buy it, it was totally sold out online, even the webpage is gone! I tried the outlet stores but no luck. Of course when it was back online I immediately bought it. It has so far met all my expectations: it's super light and warm and still shows some curve (and there is an elastic cord at waist that you can adjust); it doesn't look very active yet it's simple and stylish. About the sizing, I'm 5'4'' and about 105 lbs, columbia xs is the regular size for me. This one fits very well, actually pretty tight, I can only wear a soft shell in it.
AlsoI didn't have the problem with one of the reviewers who received what seemed to be an older version.
Activities: Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and good quality!

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 5'4", 34B - I got the coat in Medium and love love love IT! It is warm and big enough to wear a sweater underneath. Roomy enough to lift my arms to scrape ice off of the windshield of my SUV. Love all the pockets, the soft fabric at top of coat that shields your chin from the zipper and the velcro around wrists to tighten. Buy this - you won't be sorry. :)
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is awesome! So far it has kept me warm through Chicago winter. I bought it in the light blue color and I have gotten tons of compliments on it.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Product

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Syracuse, New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My college student asked for this for Christmas. She was over the moon to get it. It fits in a very flattering way and is not bulky one bit, but is SO warm. She attends school where they get major lake effect snow and blowing winds and she walks everwhere. She's toasty warm in it. And she's looking good. In jeans and dress boots or in professional attire, it's the pefect winter selection. We chose black and can pair it with any color scarf or set of gloves, depending on the occasion. But the other color choices were tough to pass up. This will carry her through grad school and into her career as a teacher very nicely. A wise investment.
Note: If you are looking for something that you can wear over a bulky sweater or sweatshirt, order one size larger than you normally wear. This item is more on the fitted size - that is why we love it - it's so flattering to the body. But the Large seems to fit more like a medium so just make sure you go up a size if you think you want to layer clothing under it (even though you won't need to).
S. Mahony - Syracuse, NY
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy WARM coat

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Kirkland
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a coat that will keep me warm and dry while walking my dog in the winter in the Seattle area. I am from Chicago, so comparatively it isn't that cold here, but it is when you are out walking for long periods of time at night and when it is wet it is very cold. I originally bought the Liberty Concourse, but didn't think it would keep me warm enough. This coat does the trick. I just took it out for it's maiden dog walk and was warm as toast. Very impressed. Not real bulky which is nice, but very warm. Perfect length, not too long and not too short. I am 5"5". This coat fits true to size. I have broad shoulders so almost always need large coats.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymawnteau
Boston area
 
Please wait while more information about mawnteau is loaded.
Additional information about mawnteau could not be loaded.
onDecember 11, 2011
what size did you choose?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hexbreaker

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Corning NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
I was hoping this would be a warmer coat, went to a football game and was still cold. I also wish I purchased a larger size as I wasn't able to wear layers. If you plan on wearing layers order size up otherwise it will be tight in the shoulders. It also rained at the game and the coat protected me from the rain except in the sleeves, the water soaked through.
I stll like the coat.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Commuters Dream

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because my North Face long puffy jacket was too large because I recently lost a lot of weight. When I tried on the smaller North Face I realized how PUFFY it was in general and decided to look elsewhere. I saw someone walk by with this jacket on and fell in love. I looked all over for it and couldn't find it in any stores so I found it online and kept my fingers crossed that it would fit and wasn't too puffy. When it arrived in the mail I was thrilled. It fits perfect, I don't look like the state puff marshmallow man in it and it keeps me nice and warm in the freezing cold as I wait outside for the train every day and walking to work in downtown Boston. I get lots of compliments on the jacket and I recommend it to everyone! Great product!
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great winter coat

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: New jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted something warm and not too bulky. The jacket is very lightweight for a winter coat. So far it has kept me warm, although I have not yet worn it in extremely frigid temps. I like the fit - slim, and it is not difficult to move around in. Zips up from bottom which is great for commuting. I would recommend if you are between sizes to order a size up, especially if you tend to wear several layers underneath.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hexbreaker

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle,WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is very warm.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Hood River Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was disapointed with fit of this jacket. It doesn't have much shape to it. There is a drawcord in the inside to cinch the waist in but all it does is draw in the liner and not the outside of the coat so pretty pointless.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Winter Coat

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington DC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked for a VERY long time for a "puffy" coat that didn't have fur on it and wasn't too large. This coat keeps me extremely warm when I walk to work every morning and love that its not too bulky. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Activities: Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable,not bulky, and warm

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: massachusetts
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy one size larger than what you normally where. Very lightweight yet still warm. Love the length. Real comfort and style.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Open Ocean
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit is great and super warm. I received compliments on how stylish it is. What else can you ask for?
Conditions: City, Snowy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and stylish coat for NW Soccer Moms

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the first long down coat I purchased to withstand soccer games and track meets in the cold and rain. I don't care for the puffy "Michelin Man" look of most down coats and was drawn to the attractive stitching pattern of this coat as well as the water-repellant nature of the shell.
Overall this is a warm and attractive coat that is not bulky, yet keeps me warm when standing outside for 1-2 hours and I am very happy with it. I would only love to add a fur trim on the hood.
What I love:
The omni-heat lining
The overall warmth and comfort
The sleek/slim fit and stitching
The pockets placement and zips
The compliments I receive when wearing it
Room for improvement:
In a strong wind (up at Timberline) the hood doesn't stay taught on my head and there is not enough visor hanging over forehead to shield from the sun, wind, or sleet/rain (or maybe a fur trim would help here).
Would like fleece trim up around the neck/top of zipper that is removable and washable for when lipstick or make-up gets on it. Just being practical here.
A tad more definition at the waistline would be nice. Even though strings are pulled, it is not visible from outside of coat.
An inch longer would be good to cover the back of my legs when sitting on a cold bench. I am petite--so pretty sure taller gals may have a challenge with this.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat but a little warmer than expected

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This down jacket is really great. I've worn it for a few weeks now and I've yet to see one feather poke out. It is a little shorter than I expected (being barely 5'4" nothing is short on me) but it covers about 1/2 my thighs and does the job. I ordered Medium which fits great. I'm fairly busty but it fits great. Definitely slimmer looking than the other "puffy coats" out there.
My one qualm: it's almost too warm. I'm an unusually warm person so I've hesitated buying a down jacket but this winter the Chicago winds seem stronger than ever and frankly I've been cold. Wearing this coat, I haven't felt the gusty winds at all but I've also been a little too warm. Running errands in this coat is a terrible idea - in and out of stores is too warm. I cannot wear this coat under 30 degrees and even then, I can't wear my other winter gear: hat, scarf, gloves, etc. Still an amazing coat but if you're not careful, the "omni-heat" technology will bake you.
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE my coat!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mystic, Ct.
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked all season for a longer down coat. One that would cover my butt and still look good. Ordered and returned 2 different companies coats because I didn't like the way they fit and looked. This one fits perfectly and I think looks great. I am 5'6" and 140 ordered a large and I love it. Was reluctant about the hood but it turned out to be a non issue and the coat is very warm
Activities: Commuting
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>