Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket

This beautiful down parka was originally a men’s prototype, but it was a little too long. Our female designer grabbed it, cinched in the waist, and the Hexbreaker Long was born. Sorry, guys.
Overall rating:
4.157 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
44 out of 51(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not that great

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
shellinmn
Location: mn
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i was really looking forward to this coat. I saw it online thought it was going to be modern mid length and fit adorable. Well i am 5'9 and 140. not flattering at all... loved the color and that's where it ends. cut weird..tight at shoulders and loose at the rest. it does go in at the middle but not nearly enough to make it not look as tho you may be pregnant. not good. I did order a large because i don't like things suctioned to me however a med. would have been to tight at shoulders...
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality, sorta big

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JayElle
Location: Sedona, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is excellent. I returned my Small because I found it to be too large for me. Normally I am a size small. I am 5'2" and 120lbs. Particularly, the sleeves were long and the waist was wide. Can't wait to get my XSmall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent jacket

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
knossar
Location: Uruguay
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love it, but the color was white, I expected a jacket just like the one on the picture, cream or beige.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOST AMAZING JACKET!!!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Golddome
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE THIS JACKET!!! I live in Wisconsin and spend a lot of time outdoors. This jacket keeps me warm even in subzero degrees. It is also great in warmer weather when the seasons are changing due to the breathability of the jacket. I also feel that is looks great on me and it is very lightweight is not bulky at all. This jacket is the most amazing jacket I have ever purchased. I love it!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Warm Jacket

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
143MK
Location: Portland OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this to replace my older puffy which was finally letting the feathers fly. This jacket is warm, slimming, and fits great. Unfortunately feathers started coming out of it on day 2.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect AND Glamorous

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samantha85
Location: Newport, RI
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. It's very light in weight so the warmth it provides is surprising. This item fits well and is figure flattering. Takes a few days to break in. Neck closure is close to neck and no scarf is necessary, yet there is enough space to wear one with the zipper down just a bit. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Coat

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mohipsfan
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's not very often that I take the time to write a review, but I have to share how much I LOVE this coat! My husband bought a coat from Columbia with the Omni-heat and I loved how warm it kept me so I decided to buy one for myself. This coat keeps me very warm and dry. This particular coat is bulky, but is perfect for wind, cold, snow and rain. And it's super fabulously cute. It does run a bit small, glad I ordered a size larger to accommodate larger clothes underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good jacket

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
hpound
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is very warm and nice material. The feathers started coming out after a few weeks of wearing it. It also is very snug around the hips but can be unzipped from the bottom up to create more room.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

true to advertisement

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i showed my boyfriend an ad for this jacket promising warmth and comfort. he purchased this jacket based on that and it delivered in every way. it is beyond warm and comfortable. and my boyfriend says it looked stylish and flattering. i wear it everyday!! warm warm warm!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Outer fabric too stiff

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Capt57
Location: Collierville, TN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I felt mummified in the Jacket even though it was very warm because of the Omni Heat lining. If the ourter fabric had been of the same material as the 'Shimmer0M-Timbers' jacket, I would have kept it.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter jacket!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
LilPharma
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! Unlike other reviewers, this jacket has kept me warm down to 10 degrees F (I haven't been out when it was colder than that) with the Chicago winds blowing on me. I think the key to staying warm is to make sure you tighten the waist and adjust the cuffs in addition to zipping it up. It also help to wear even a thin sweater underneath. However, I think it's way to warm to wear if it's above 40 degrees F even if you have it unzipped.
I also think this is one of the cutest winter jackets around! Since it's so thin it doesn't add a lot of bulk and on my 5'0" frame it almost looks like a little coat dress. I get a lot of compliments on it! I would recommend this jacket to everyone I know!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stands up to the Windy City

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristen819
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is AMAZING. I got it about 2 1/2 weeks ago but waited until I could wear it out in some notorious Chicago winter weather to write this... this morning it was 12 degrees, with a windchill of 3 degrees (not as cold as it can get, but pretty typical for this time of year). With a fleece on underneath, I was toasty warm while walking the dog (20-30 min walks). It's super lightweight, very movable and not at all bulky. It also does a great job of blocking the wind.
The hood is just the right depth to block wind but not your peripheral vision. It also stays put. The drawstring is good, but is a little hard to work if your hands are cold
This jacket is good at blocking the wet weather - rain/snow just beads up.
Fit-wise, I wasn't sure if I should get a small or medium...opted for the small. It is a slim fit, but I can wear a thick fleece or a couple layers underneath and still move easily and don't feel constricted. It's also a flattering silhouette - curving in a bit at the waist so you don't look like a giant marshmallow. I'm 5'4" and it hits me mid-thigh - I wouldn't mind if it were a few inches longer, but it's long enough to cover my backside while walking the dog, waiting for the train or in the car.
I highly recommend this jacket, especially if you live cold weather climates.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs small.

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chriswm
Location: NH
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish they made an XXL as I would like to be able to wear it. I usually wear an XL with plenty of room to spare, but that was not the case with this coat. It was very tight across the shoulders and although it zipped up, it was tight in the body. The reason I put excellent for quality and function is because my daughter purchased this coat and absolutely loves it. She normally wears an XS and sized up to a S and it fits her perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product keeps you warm.

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
NYCBEST
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in NYC and it can get pretty cold here. I must say this product has lived up to its full description. I have no complaints, thanks Columbia for making such a wonderful product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall very nice, but fiddly zipper

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
cybercat
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5' 5" and 130 lb. and usually wear a size 8 or 10 in other brands. The Medium coat is just the right size for wearing with a knit shirt underneath. I think it would be too tight in the shoulders and chest with heavier clothing on. I love the interior drawcord, but it could be a little lower (at the waistline rather than at the bottom of the ribcage). The coat is very warm and has a nice shape. The sleeves are very long; almost too long for me, and I have long arms! My main complaint is that the two-way zipper is fiddly. It usually takes a me few tries to get the zipper undone at the bottom.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I had to return it

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
IreneT
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket was an excellent quality, but it didn't look good at all. I bought a sea salt color and it looked like a worker's warm clothing :-(. It was light-weighted and warm, but I wanted it to look good too...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as warm as expected

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Entropyreverser
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was disappointed in this coat which I purchased based on heavy advertising for the reflective lining.
Living in Seattle, I expected this coat toi be very adequate for our generally temperate climate but found it to be just too thin and flimsy to combat even 30 F weather.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

odd fit

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
ginger76
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really wanted to like this jacket. Like many have said, it does run very true to size if not a little small. I ordered the M which fit a little snug in my current 4 mo preg body - 5ft 4in 155lbs but I think would be perfect at 150lbs.
I had the same problem as someone else, the hips on this jacket really bell out when it is unzipped and that is why I choose to return it. Cute zipped up, but came too far away from the body when unzipped.
Also, we have a yellow lab and the fur really stuck to the fabric which I did not want to have to deal with. Too bad, it's a really cute jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jjneff
Location: Hinsdale n.y.
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter, she loves everything about it, and as usual, the quality of Columbia products is unsurpassed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Hexbreaker™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Attractive, but not warm enough for me

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anita85
Location: Rome, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did not find that this coat kept me sufficiently warm in 20 degree weather. Although it is attractive looking, in central New York weather it didn't do the trick. Beautiful coat though which I'm certain would work great for many others.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
123Next>>