Customer reviews for Columbia Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket

Columbia Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket

Boys Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
16 out of 19(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Review 1 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a picky boy

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
katekate
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
My thin 8 year old who is always cold wore this jacket during a long, cold MA winter last year and never complained of cold. Sometimes we had to remind him to take it off inside, because it was so cosy. It's like a thin, comfy sleeping bag you can wear, but it's so thin it doesn't get in the way, even on the large side.
It's water resistant, but as this was all he had, he played in the snow all winter in it. It did get a tad wet on the outside, but dried so quickly it didn't matter. Unless you plan on lying in the snow a lot and then staying outside, this will do as well as any parka.
Also: it folds up so small it's great for school cubbies and backpacks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bright Green and warm enough

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Natrt
Location: Brooklyn NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My son loved it as soon as he saw it because of the inside secret pockets, little plastic hooks and the soft material. The Inside has a black-metallic texture and outside is a little bit more grass greener that i expected but still pretty.
Its very light and warm and allows him put on only one layer when is snowing outside. We bought S (7/8) and fits fine for my 6yo this year and hopefully also next one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

color not great

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
david163
Location: dx
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the color on this product is much brighter than on the site
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extremely warm and light weight

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Emsie
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat for my 4 year old son to wear next winter! I bought this coat because I purchased one for myself this winter and I couldn't believe how warm it was. I live in Michigan and we had -40 degree weather this year and my Columbia coat with the omni shield kept me very warm! Its hard to believe that such a thin coat is so warm! I decided to get one for my son because he hates bulky coats and gets cold easily. I will say that the coat runs a bit on the small side. I purchased a size up for myself and ordered my son an xs for next year. He is an average size 4 year old and by next year the coat should fit him perfect! This is an awesome coat for active kids:)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute and warm!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Hmgirl2013
Location: Tulsa, OK
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Bought it for my son. It was huge on him but I bought bigger on purpose so he can wear it a couple winters. It looks warm and cozy. He liked it and so did I,
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight but warm

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
KeepPortlandWeird
Location: McMinnville, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My kid loves this jacket. We got him the red one and he says that it is very warm. We recently had temperatures in the teens and he did not complaint about being cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
sarah74
Location: Lockport, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for my 8 year old son and he absolutely loves it!! It's so much lighter in weight than his old jacket but keeps him just as warm. I would definitely buy it again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

To small!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Lisa100
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Shimmer Me jacket! My 6 year old has had one for two years and it still looks like new after being greatly used. I order a new one for next year, but the sizes are way off! He wore a 6/7, so I ordered an 8. It was way to small. I called customer service. They were great to work with. We thought the jacket may have been missed sized, so they sent me a call tag and I ordered another size 8. Same thing, way to small. By the time I ordered twice, they were sold out. I'm disappointed I didn't get one on sale. I'm going to wait and get the new style in the fall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
lbudach
Location: Owatonna MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does anyone else have trouble getting their kids to wear a winter coat? I used to, not anymore.
My son LOVES this jacket. He loves it because it's thin. It is not bulky at all. This mom loves it because it's warm. We live in MN with horrible frigid, below 0 temps on a regular basis for many months. He gladly wears this coat, and I no longer have to worry about him being frozen while standing at the bus stop.
Fits true to size. Love the red color. The hood is awesome as well, fitted with a small piece of elastic on each side to keep the cold wind out.
A little bonus was the reflective trim on the zipper and hood. Wasn't expecting that but nice feature.
My son wears a size 12-14 and the large fit fine....maybe a tad big which I am hoping means he can wear it next year.
You won't be disappointed if you buy this coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking jacket

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Idonthaveanickname
Location: Columbia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performed wonderfully and the color was exactly what we needed for my son.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cyber Green Goof

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
jmercado
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My 11 y/o son chose this jacket online in the Cyber Green color. When he saw it in person, he was disappointed with the shiny fabric on the inside of the jacket, as well as the bright, bright green color - in spite of his insistence on choosing it himself. He also thought it was too puffy, but this is probably because he's not used to wearing jackets, as we currently live in Florida, but are moving to Illinois. Anyway, it is going back. It might be a cute choice for others, but the green, and the shiny interior, was not a hit with him.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

slim jim of cold winter jackets

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
FABIOESPINAL
Location: boston, ma
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Is great my kid love it !! is not bulky, it fit right with enough space to ware a sweeter. most importantly is the omni heat it work well but for temperatures almost in 0 degrees! you will need to ware a thick sweeter under the jacket.
but overall works wonder!! my kid used DAILY!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the kids

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Jon55
Location: San Francisco, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great, all around winter jacket. My kids basically live in them. The fit is ideal. Roomy enough to wear a sweater underneath (not that you would need too). Love that you can turn it into a packable item as well. Would rec this for anyone looking for a great all around jacket for kids.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shimmer Me, small me, goofy liner me

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Gonzo27
Location: Western USA
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We didn't like the liner. If a kid hates something about a clothing item they are not going to wear it. Heck, I'm the same way. Way too small anyway. It's on it's way back.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm but not bulky!!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Mickey4
Location: Chicago, IL
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is great for my son. It is very warm with no bulk which is very important to him. The sizing is true, I ordered an XL first, based on another review and he was swimming in it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing mishap

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
SingleDadof4
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
I ordered this product for my son after he had been wearing Columbia Jackets previously. He was in a size 10-12, so I ordered him a size 14-16 (growth spurt). However, once the jacket arrived, it (size 14-16) fit him the exact same as his present sized 10-12 coat. Do different styles fit that differently? One would think that the sizes would be according to their own size charts. Otherwise I am sure it is a good product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Bed2002
Location: Mexico
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Nice one... Size not as excepted! Smaller for the size chart!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Warm, Light and Comfortable

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
JayChicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought Omni-Heat was a gimmick until my kids kept raving about how warm this jacket is. It is lightweight, has very comfortable arms and kid-friendly features. My kids also select this jacket in all kinds of conditions (wet, windy, snow), which means it is very warm but does not retain excess heat. I wish I knew what the adult equivalent was -- my favorite Columbia product yet.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMominPA
Philadelphia
 
Please wait while more information about MominPA is loaded.
Additional information about MominPA could not be loaded.
Adult equivalent
onNovember 23, 2013
I have a feeling the adult equivalent of this is the women's "Mighty Lite"; I just bought the long, hooded jacket and it is so light and warm, I can hardly believe it. Now I'm looking for the same type of thing for my son as I don't like stiff, bulky jackets. Hope this helps!
 
Products related to my comment
 
Women's Mighty Lite™ Jacket
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second time around

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Jodi60631
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second Omni Heat winter jacket I have bought my son. I searched for a long time finding the right winter coat. Chicago gets very cold in the winter and my son goes outside for recess twice a day, even in the winter months.
Most jackets are very warm on the chest and back but have very little protection over the arms. This coat is an exception. It is very light yet very warm. It really gets the job done. It also washes well!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Boys' Shimmer Me™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs small

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Montanagal1
Location: MT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered this for my son in a Large. The Columbia he had last year was a Medium. The Large was smaller than the Medium. In this coat he could have used an XL. Disappointed because all the Columbia is starting to run so small in almost everything.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>