Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size

Columbia Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size

Never be afraid to enjoy life’s mud puddles: this sleek jacket features a slightly longer length, Omni-Tech waterproof-breathable technology and full seam-sealing so you’ll stay dry and protected during all your rainy-day adventures.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 14(79%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Review 1 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is absolutely not red

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
villdyr
Location: NW Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't imagine a world where someone would call this red, hibiscus or otherwise. It's hot coral. (Do an image search for "hot coral" and you'll see the color of this jacket.) I think many people who want a red raincoat would object to this color, so Columbia needs to call it something else, and fix the product photos, because they are totally misleading. I never would have ordered this if I'd known it was coral. This was a big waste of my time.
The shoulders on this jacket are too tight for me, but the fabric bags up under the arms and below the bust, and the A-line sticks out at the thigh. I'm tall but the sleeves are a good 2" too long. I have a generous bustline, but in this jacket, my chest looks tiny and my stomach looks bigger than it is, because of the seaming and weird fit. The top of the hood hovers a couple of inches above my head. Not good. I'm really disappointed. I bought two jackets with the thought that I might have to return one, and I'm glad I did.
(In short, the shoulders run small and the rest of the jacket runs large--I don't have big shoulders, either. My sister is four inches shorter than I am, different build, smaller, and the shoulders were too tight on her, too.)
I've had an Arcadia jacket for a few years, and I just received my second, in a larger size (for layering). The Splash a Little is longer and lighter-weight than the Arcadia, has an easy-to-use two-way zip, and its zipper panel has snaps instead of that awful "hook and loop," which is all good, but the Arcadia is still way better. The shoulder/chest seams on the Arcadia are really flattering and the cut is roomy enough for movement without being baggy. It feels "tougher" as well. I wish it were longer and had a two-way zip, but them's the breaks. I'd recommend that one if you like being able to move your arms comfortably!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for me!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
KEE631
Location: St. Louis, MO
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this jacket before a spring trip where I needed one jacket to span temps from the high 30s to low 60s (and possible rain). Here's what I like:
1. It's roomy enough to wear layers underneath.
2. For packing purposes, it squashes down into an unbelievably small space and looks fine when you take it out.
3. The side pockets zip, which is great for holding keys, gloves, etc. without fear of losing them.
4. The length provides more coverage in case of rain than many jackets, but without the bulk of a trench coat.
5. It's warmer than it looks if you are walking around a lot.
My one complaint is that the zipper is hard to work. Despite more than 30 years of independent zipper experience, I struggle with it every time. When I am in a hurry, I just do the snaps.
Based on the size guide and my hip measurement of 48, I originally ordered a 2X and was swimming in it. I returned the 2X for a 1X, and the 1X works well, even with a fairly bulky sweater underneath.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works, but it's nothing special

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MTHS
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did end up keeping this jacket because honestly I just needed a waterproof jacket that looked a little more like a coat, so I could wear over a suit or dress for work, for instance. I am a little disappointed with this jacket. It looks fine, but it's not really that stylish. While I appreciate that it's lightweight, it feels and looks kind of flimsy -- not nearly as nice as I wanted it to when I'm spending $100+ on something. The zipper is a nightmare -- the two bottom zipper pulls are nearly impossible to line up and zip with ease. Luckily, there are snaps as well, or I'd have had to send this one back.
Again, I was a little bit desperate to get a rain jacket quickly (Seattle) so this will do. I just wish it was nicer than it is.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
angiyyyy
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this jacket - it is a little large, but that is my own fault I read the reviews that stated the arms ran small, so I ordered a size up. Mistake on my part - I would say it is true to size. Everything else is great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katie23
Location: Austin, TX
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this coat to use for my daily walks when it rains and for an upcoming trip to the UK. I have family living in Scotland and they recommend leaving the umbrella at home and bring a waterproof coat instead. I spent a great deal of time researching coats and this was the best choice and price for me. The Inkling print is pretty, a true navy and will go nicely with my blue wellies!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the style and pattern

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
VAcomehere
Location: Hampton-Roads, Va.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat, especially in the upper arm, runs small. I normally wear a 1x or 2x, depending on the style of the garment. With this coat I definitely need a 3x if I ever want to wear clothes under it and move comfortably. I am returning it with the hope there is a 3x available. Since I haven't worn it in the rain, I cannot attest to its waterproof feature; I am relying on the reliable name of "Columbia".
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality of coat

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary1969
Location: Spokane, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The coat seemed to lack the quality I've experienced with Columbia in the past. For example the hood is attached. The coat seemed exceptionally flimsy. I did like the fact that the coat was longer than many I've seen. I don't mind paying more for quality. I was very disappointed and I have returned the coat.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shawna57
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only thing is that you are correct when saying that the product runs a little smaller - love the coat, lightweight enough not to be to hot and still keeps you warm and dry -- my last coat was from Columbia and loved it, had for several years so had to turn it into my work coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish49
Location: Lafayette, TN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like this jacket. I don't think it runs small at all. I got a 1X and I normally would wear a 2X. It fit fine.I like the longer length. The jacket is actually a little heavier than I expected it to be. I thought it would be really thin.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fits a little small, nice styling

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
CLinPortland
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While I'd like a little more of a fitted profile, this coat is comfortable and the sleeves fit well.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect all purpose rain coat.

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gail66
Location: Spokane, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this rain coat for a trip to Switzerland in September. As usual with Columbia, it arrived within 2 days! I love it. The weight is perfect, the fit is excellent, and it looks sharp. The only issue is, the sleeves are a bit long...same problem I've had with other Columbia products.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
moesouza
Location: Visalia, California
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket for an upcoming trip to Paris, France where it rains a lot so I haven't worn it yet. However, it fits great, has enough length and looks quite smart. I think I will be really happy with it.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleeves too tight

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
nativetxn73
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice jacket, but the fit is a bit off. I ordered a 3X. I usually wear a 2X in most clothing. I was able to zip the jacket, but didn't have much wiggle room. The sleeves were also very tight on my upper arms.
I also didn't care much for the color when I received it. I ordered the Grill expecting a nice gray. The color is more of a dirty gray. Wish I had ordered the black instead.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice longer length rain jacket

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
GadgetGirl
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like the longer length and originally bought the grill color, which is a nice charcoal color, but the zipper stuck, so I exchanged it and they had the Burnt Henna Lattic print available in my size so I got that instead and love it. Really vibrant color picks me up on a rainy day...which we have a lot of here in Portland =). Well constructed and great fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great fit for a tall girl

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
travelnmama
Location: portland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have trouble with fit being tall and large- but this is great. The length goes over my bottom. It has snaps and a two way zipper. There is also an inside pocket. A hood that is just the right size. I bought the Grill color which is great- goes with most things. Now I am looking to buy the red so people can see me when I am walking the hills.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.