Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big

Top-notch rain protection in an ultralight package—this packable rain jacket features full seam sealing and a microporous Omni-Tech® fabrication that stops wet weather short while simultaneously breathing to let body heat escape during dynamic activity.
Overall rating:
4.543 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
33 out of 34(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Review 1 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Customer avatar
I just recently purchased the Watertight Jacket and I have to say its already proven quite useful. Its still pretty warm out but its gonna prove great come this fall. I did test it in a rain the other day and I found it kept me dry without being too hot and dried off quick enough to make it good for everyday use.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice coat, one slight problem with zipper

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Ketchikan, AK
I love the coat for the most part. It is lightweight but still plenty warm for me and doesn't create the sauna inside like my last raincoat did. I stay dry and in a rainforest that isn't easy to do! The one issue I have is with the zipper. The inside cloth by the zipper consistently gets stuck in the zipper making it a little difficult to zip some of the time. I just hope it doesn't ruin the zipper.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Adana, Turkey
i wasnt expecting such a thin jacket can keep me warm in cold. but it does its job very good. The only thing i can say as negative is its hood. It would be great if we can take it off when we want. Other than that it is amazing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for rain

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: ohio
what you have to understand this is a very light backpacker type garment. Its great to trow on over a fleece or big sweatshirt this spring. Its really not a coat its a outer shell. I love it for me who is always on the go I carry it with me in my pack around the city along with a big sweatshirt. gives you a lot of light diversity as to what climate you are ready for. Great for that but not a coat. so it needs to be taken on its own terms.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great Jacket by Columbia

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Somerville, MA
Had a similar jacket from Columbia 10 years ago that i just now decided to up grade on....and this Jacket is great..i got this Jacket for spring/rainy season...fits great and it is light, but will keep you dry. The only draw back is that the hood is not detachable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attention to Detail

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Bayside, Queens
Another great Columbia product. It's the fine things that set them apart. High quality materials, extra pockets, usability features. I love this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

temperamental zipper again

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: united states
This coat has the same problem that my last coat had, the zipper is difficult to close and comes apart easily. The waterproofing, fit and quality are great, but a temperamental zipper truly detracts from the overall package.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT JACKET

PostedMay 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: ROY, WA
THIS A GREAT JACKET
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Georgia
I had to purchase a men's Big jacket as they didn't have a large enough size for a plus size woman. The jacket is perfect. I only had to shorten the sleeves. It was the perfect jacket for a trip to Alaska!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Far, Sooooo Good!

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
I really like this jacket a lot. I've had it for about two weeks. Highly functional yet solidly fashionable. What more could a guy ask for? It has provided great protection from the elements while I take my daily walks. Bring on the Oregon winter.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: New Hampshire
I love this rain jacket! The water beads right off! Pockets are in a good location, not practically behind you like other brands. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely fantastic foul weather jacket

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Livermore, CA
This jacket is spectacular. Really keeps me dry and the weatherproof zipper flap and hood are outstanding.
One of the best fould weather jackets I ever bought
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scottish October Rain

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Recently my wife and I traveled to Scotland to experience a first-time holiday outside the US. We were warned about the weather, especially the rain. I purchased the watertight jacket to keep me dry and happy while traipsing through the cities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, and Oban. The jacket kept me dry and warm and was easy to put on and take off. I preferred the snaps to the zipper and the ease of dressing was never an issue. The only "drawback" was that sometimes when I pulled on the jacket and put my arms through the sleeves, the lining pushed out at the wrist and had to be tucked back under the sleeve. Other than that, the jacket lived up to my expectations and to the catalog's descriptions. I am quite pleased and will be a returning customer.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Watertight Jacket

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's an excellent jacket for what I need much of the time....to stay dry while walking through town and waiting for buses, and while hiking and working outside. It's lightweight which is great. It will be servicable for so many activities.
Activities: Trail, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding jacket!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: York, PA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned a similar version of this jacket since 1998. I wear the
jacket in every season. It is outstanding! Lightweight, waterproof,
great wind protection and can be rolled for storage. My 1998 version
is like new but decided it was time for a new color.
The new 2011 version has minor changes but is still a quality jacket.
I would highly recommend this Columbia jacket!
Activities: Trail, Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Westlake, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As someone who wears an extended size, I am very pleased with this jacket. It not too long and the sleeves don't come to my knees! I work outside sometimes and the fit is great and gives me lots of freedom of movement without all the bulk. Good job!
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top notch quality

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
My husband loves the rich green colors in this jacket, and it's a perfect fit, plus a better rain resistance that his last CS jacket. Given that the last CS jacket lasted over three years, this should hold up for 5! You're the best Ma!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definately waterproof

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is true to size, good fit. It definately is waterproof. This jacket is worn during farm work outside. It also helps keep warm when windy. The fit is good and allows for movement while working. It also doesn't get too warm while working.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Lima, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a replacement and I love this jacket. I am not crazy about the new hood tightener, I like the older style better.
Activities: Commuting
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Watertight™ Jacket - Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works fine, needs hood re-design

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oxnard, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got the jacket to keep water out, and it does that just right. However the disign/fit of the hood leaves a bit to be desired. The darned thing is either too loose to stay put, or so tight that it restricts visibility. I have resorted to wearing a baseball cap under the hood to keep it out of my face and still protect my head/neck from the rain. Most jackets have this issue for me. I thought this one soved the problem, it didn't.
Dissappointing....
Activities: Camping, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>