Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket

It’s your classic rain jacket , only smoother. Featuring a woven exterior that’s soft and smooth, not stiff and scratchy, this lightweight vented coat fights wet weather in style.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
52 out of 55(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Storm Shell

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
matt4
Location: Ohio
This is a fantastic shell that exceeds expectations for wet weather. It's light, packable and perfect for me when I'm up in the trees either taking photos or guiding zip line canopy tours. Very breathable yet still stands up with the best in a downpour. Awesome product!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I miss my OmniTech

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
optides
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I bought this excellent jacket several years ago, and always found it one of the best, waterproof, breathable items I even had.
Its light but durable nature made it idea in summer storms, and with a heavier layer below, perfect in winter.
Unfortunately I lost my jacket somewhere in early June 2013, when it was actively in use during a Tropical Storm along the east seacoast. How did I lose it? No idea, left in a restaurant draped on back of a chair? Left in someone's car when it wasn't raining? No idea at all.
Now I can't replacement, much as I'd life it for summers coming storms, hurricanes, etc. The Columbia Outlet only has a small; I need XL at least (need room for my camera beneath it).
I hope Colombia produces this jacket again, come the fall season -- I'll be first in line for a new one!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Jonnie
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
your product was good and held up to a thunder storm beautifully. I didn't get wet and I am satisfied with this coat and highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome waterproof jacket!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Gallardo
Location: Costa Rica
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect, size is completely true, my heigh is 1.80 mtrs, 41 ich of chest and 37 ich of waist, and M size was exactly, when I wore the first time, I said "OMG!, custom built!! hehe" ... 100% waterproof, useful in your mountain adventures! or you can use if want to see to a movie... its so cool!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Plasm
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A couple loose threads here and there, and I wish there was an interior pocket, but otherwise a solid jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect water and wind proof

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
sparklwj
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went to Boston a week ago in Fab 2013. There was a severe storm and heavy snow there. This jacket is perfect water & snow proof. It's light weight but also wind proof. I just wore a sweater inside and I have to say this jacket totally kept me warm. It will be perfect if this jacket has an inside pocket
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
ARtroutguide
Location: Searcy, AR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rain jacket is storm proof! Absolutely the best rain jacket anyone could ask for. If there is rain in the forecast I know that when I put this jacket on I will be bone dry all day.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for the Texas saltwater angler

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Shoalwater12
Location: Port O'Connor, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was needing a waterproof shell to keep me dry during fall, winter, and early spring wadefishing excursions on the Texas coast. This is a perfect jacket for fishing Texas because it is lightweight and breathable, keeping you comfortable on those warmer days. It repels all forms of water you will encounter on the bay, either a rain-shower or spray from the boat on a choppy bay, but the most important thing for me was keeping my elbows dry for those deep wading needs. This jacket can also be worn during the coldest winter days if one layers properly, but by no means is the jacket designed to keep you warm. But it surely keeps you dry, and that alone makes this jacket a top choice for anglers on the Texas coast who fish year round.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

looks and fits great

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Mani
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheap. great quality. fits perfectly
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good fit

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim48
Location: BRISTOL, RI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too light weight for a ski shell, and fits tight in the chest area which is not good for layering. I am 6'2'' 230 lbs. , usually wear a 48'' chest size with 40'' waist.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byRangerScott
 
Please wait while more information about RangerScott is loaded.
Additional information about RangerScott could not be loaded.
onJuly 8, 2013
why would you give a 1 star rating based on the fact that it didn't fit you for your purpose? It's a rain jacket, not a ski shell.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bykblair3d
Long Island NY
 
Please wait while more information about kblair3d is loaded.
Additional information about kblair3d could not be loaded.
TY
onFebruary 28, 2013
thanks Jim48 for that I'l aprox same size.. did you get an XL or XXL?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 11 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Luis72
Location: Fremont, CA.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent light jacket. I'm glad I chose it over a North Face Jacket. It is very comfortable, doesn't feel cheap, like a NF jacket. It keeps me warm in the morning unlike the NF which is very thin. Overall I'm glad I went with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Quality

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
math4all
Location: Asheville, NC
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the perfect raincoat: comfortable, functional, and an excellent fit!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Water Repellent

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fennerinium
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I went camping with this jacket and when I got back home, I noticed that it really absorbed the smoke from our campfire. I washed it according to the fabric care directions, but unfortunately the smoke did not come out. I tried washing it one more time (hoping the detergent would at least mask the smoky smell). Unfortunately that second washing started to remove the water repellent. While parts of this jacket remain waterproof, there are many patches that are absorbing water and bleeding through to the inside.
Given the numerous five star reviews, I'll assume mine was a rare situation (or it is only designed to be washed once).
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hail Tech

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Sherry64
Location: Spanaway, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice jacket.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Hail Tech Jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
James007
Location: San Diego
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect for an outer layer and light enough to pack it wherever you go. You'll never have to leave it home. I received the package and wore it immediately in the rain. I love that it is not bulky. My only complaint is the sleeves are little long. I also do not like the amount of velcro attached to the sleeves because it is more than needed and will attract dirt, weeds and whatever. Other than those 2 very minor issues, I love this jacket. I am 5-10 170 with a 32-33 inch arm length and other than the sleeves a bit longer than I would like, the fit is true to size.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased with the appearance of the jacket.

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
MichelleO
Location: Export, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a little worried the color would be a different shade of green than on the screen but it was exact. A medium fit a little snug. He usually wears a medium but he's a teenager so his body is still changing so it could be him and not the jacket size.
He hasn't used it outdoors in the rain yet so we're not sure of jackets performance but coming from Columbia I'm sure it will live up to it's name. My husband and I have been wearing Columbia for the last 20 years.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
adfitz13
Location: Kidron
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, very comfortable and durable as well!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High-quality rain shell

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
toolongjohn
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product has already performed outstanding in the short time I've owned it. We've had both rain and snow during that time. Size is a little snug compared to similar Columbia jacket purchased in Fall of 2009 of the same size, XL. Maybe the fit has changed to a more Euro style?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windproof and Waterproof

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
JayChicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tested this jacket on a canoe trip in 30 degree weather. Lightweight and completely waterproof. The jacket was breathable, so despite sweating while paddling I did not get damp or cold. I'm amazed at how good this is for the price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too Small

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Cozroy
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very nice jacket and I was sorry to have to return it. I wear an extra large but this XL was just too small across the shoulders and in the chest area. I didn't exchange it for an XXL because the sleeves would have been too long since the XL sleeves were just right.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>