Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket

It’s your classic rain jacket , only smoother. Featuring a woven exterior that’s soft and smooth, not stiff and scratchy, this lightweight vented coat fights wet weather in style.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
52 out of 55(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Storm Shell

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
This is a fantastic shell that exceeds expectations for wet weather. It's light, packable and perfect for me when I'm up in the trees either taking photos or guiding zip line canopy tours. Very breathable yet still stands up with the best in a downpour. Awesome product!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Tech-nology

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Arnold, CA
Neither rain, snow, nor wind has been able to penetrate the Hail Tech. Hail test is pending, though I'm confident this jacket will hold up. It feels awesome, not the plasticky, clammy feel you get from some of the comparable shells out there. The cut is really nice, it moves very well when shoveling snow, etc. Just enough room to layer up with a thick fleece but not too baggy on its own. Really like the sealed zippers, perma-vented armpits, easily adjustable cinch cords, and adjustable hood. Also, the only thing I didn't like, the large size of the wrist cuff tabs, is actually a great feature and makes it easy to adjust the opening with gloves on. So, I'm a big fan of this jacket, can't go wrong.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Central New York
Kept me dry and kept the wind out when I was working outdoors one weekend. Just had to wear a coat underneath (cold out).
While I say it runs a bit big I think its more in my head because its so light it just feels more comfortable then my other rain jackets.
The only concern I have about it is that I did see the fabric take a bit of water when I was working in it (changed to a darker green color). It only seemed to do it in area the fabric moves allot but it happened in very small patches and even then I don't remember feeling any water in those patches.
Love the product so far, it just been a little cold to fully test it yet.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lightweight waterproof jacket.

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
This jacket fits perfectly, is lightweight, waterproof and makes a decent wind breaker. Great jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Rochester, MN
I can't get over how awesome this jacket is. I bought the red color and i just have to say, this is the most vibrant and beautiful red color that i have ever seen. Hands down! It looks nothing like the color online. There is no way any computer screen could do it justice! The material and quality of this jacket are just superb! I can't even begin to tell you how satisfied i am with Columbia's craftsmanship these day's. A Great material too, not the typical plastic tarpy feel that normal raincoats burden. This thing has a soft almost unbelievable coating. But, to my disbelief, it seemed to work!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's High Tech Rain Jacket

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: New Rochelle,NY
Excellent rain gear for the money. True fit and pockets as well as hood are great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain Jacket!

PostedJuly 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Stylish, comfortable, and keeps you dry!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice all around rain jacket

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
The jacket holds up well to the rain and the inside mesh keeps it from sticking to you. Could use better under arm vents. Maybe some deeper pockets.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for coastal weather

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
light and comfortable.great for hiking light.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Its what i wanted

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: arkansas
i was looking for the a product for the rainstorms in arkansas. Runs a bit big but its not bad at all.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: GA and FL
The jacket fits great, perfect for the everyday use and at the same time it can take on the heavy stuff also. All of the little things make this a great jacket; the adjustable storm hood, the vents on the sides, the smooth and soft exterior and the adjustable cuffs just to name a few, makes this a great all around jacket for a good price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unmatched for the Price

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Vermont Mountains
I got this to go along with the Silver Ridge omnitech pants. Color and active fit are unbeatable. the price is great for the amount of protection these offer. Sized for an active fit, so you can add a layer or two beneath
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything as advertised.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Hawaii
Money well spent! Light fitting, comfortable in and out of the rain, deep pockets, and a terrific snug fitting hood are a few of my favorite things about the best rain jacket I have ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Columbia customer

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: NorthCentral Pennsylvania
I just returned from a fishing trip that required the use of the jacket. It fits very well, kept the wet weather off me and was very comfortable. I purchased this jacket based on my previous clothing purchases of Columbia products and have been pleased with them all. They are priced fairly and the quality of the merchandise is exceptional. I wear Columbia clothing exclusively for all my outdoor and fishing trips. Great Products...Thank you for the opportunity to comment..
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
I was looking for something I could layer that would block out the wind, rain, and snow. Recently I purchased the Hail Tech Jacket and love it. It's light and flexible (not bulky at all!), yet holds heat well and vents when there's too much. I've paired it with a Fast Trek full zip fleece for the tail end of this winter and have been plenty warm the last few days when it's been between 25F to 35F with wind chills down to 15F. This jacket blocks the wind extremely well, which is a huge plus for walking from the train station to work in the city. The Hail Tech
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedMay 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Nice jacket, very comfortable and sheds rain very well. I ordered a size up thinking I would use this as a light weight jacket to layer with, but the XL is huge. Much bigger than other XL jackets I own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm getting ready to use it on a trip to Asia!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Humid, Hot
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight, waterproof, packable

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is very light weight, waterproof (nice water beads in the Pacific NW), and is easily scrunched or packed. It also has a way to use my existing liners from older Columbia jackets, without worrying about zipper compatibility.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: PNW
feels very light and the vented piece is needed for active hiking/running! looking forward to a long life staying dry in the PNW
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Hail Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Idaho

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a rain jacket that is very soft to the touch and extremely water proof. The gills do their job when it warms up and shed heat. I really like the breast pocket for holding a cell phone, it is very functional. I am 6ft tall 195lbs and the large fit perfectly, although I do not have much room left for layering.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>