Customer reviews for Columbia Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket

Columbia Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket

Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
10 out of 14(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Panama City Beach Florida
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what i needed. Light weight, dry, breathes really well. Great for summer rain showers or throwing a cast net.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lexington, KY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased one of these for my boyfriend and he loved it so much that we ordered another for my dad. Fits true to size - both men wear larges. Light weight enough to wear for hiking during summer storms. Both men love the underarm vents. Great piece for layering as well. Seems to be completely waterproof. Great quality and holds up well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plastic lining? Really?

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Charlotte, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased two rain jackets, one for myself and one for my daughter. The one I received for my daughter (Arcadia II) was exactly was she wanted with great fit and quality. This one that I ordered for me (Evapouration) fit just fine but I was very surprised to find it has a plastic lining which is not very comfortable to bare skin when wearing a short-sleeve shirt. Sending it back today.
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best rain jacket ever

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Golden, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immediately upon receiving this jacket I took it to RedRocks and gave it the ultimate test. An hour of rain & hail and with this jacket in conjunction with the Rebel roamer rain pants I was dry as a bone after the deluge passed. The water just beaded up but did not penetrate. Several people commented on what a great jacket that was. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for adventuring in the rain

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchase this jacket for a trip to Costa Rica. I'm a woman with broad shoulders, so I frequently wear a Men's jacket, because the Women's jackets are too tight in the shoulders for me. This was true here too.
We were caught in several downpours during a day in the rain forest and these jackets performed exactly as expected. Everything stayed dry, including my camera which I zipped under my jacket. It made the day very fun and enjoyable to continue trekking in the pouring rain, without being soaked to the skin. The vents are nice, because it was in the 90s. The sleeve cuffs are good for adjusting at the wrists (the sleeves are long for me). The hood performed well.
The jacket is somehow supposed to fold up into itself in an inner pouch or something. It would be nice it if came with instructions for folding into the pouch. We couldn't figure it out. All in all, it's a great jacket that I'll wear for many years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light Weight and Water Proof

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacket for a few months now and I think it is one of the best rainjackets available. This jacket is extremely light weight for a rain jacket. A lot of rain jackets, like Gortex ones, can be heavy because of the waterproofing but this one isn't. I will say the jacket could be a little more breathable; the zippers under the arms help a lot but you can still get a little warm.
In terms of quality, this jacket is well above par. All the seams are sealed on the outside and on the inside; the front zipper is also tightly waterproofed. However, the side pockets do not have the same zippers which would be beneficial (this is why four stars on quality). Another plus of this jacket is that it is extremely wind proof.
One last note...this jacket works great as on an add on in between seasons. Right now (in between winter and summer) this jacket works great as an outer layer. A winter coat is too much but just the rain coat isn't enough; this works great over a fleece or sweater or other light jacket. I am sure the same applies for the fall.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Tampa FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this on a few day hikes and a five day. It does what it's supposed to do. Water beads up nicely, and I stayed dry while getting rained on a few times. I've had no issue with leaking a small minority have said. Just want to remind everyone to take proper care while washing, and it should hold up fine.
The vents in the arms are nice for breathability in between showers.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME RAIN JACKET

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Dundee, Oregon; Afghnstn; Papa New Guinea, Peru
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rate the jacket as tue to size because in all Columbia Sportswear I size an XXL. I read other reviews which criticized the jacket for single zipper and seams neither of which were the case with my jacket. I walk for my exercise and it kept me dry but breathable during the first Pacific NW major storm of winter 2014. I pair the jacket with the Men's PFG Hydro Tech Packable Rain Pant it looks great in orange jacket and black pants. This is another high quality Columbia Sportswear product. I really cannot find other products that compare to what Columbia offers.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Schroon Lake, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a long spring and getting through the summer in the ADKS... I love the jacket. It's done a great job at keeping me dry as well as cool. The main reason I bought this jacket was because of the massive underarm vents for summer showers. It's also a nice plus that it packs fairly small into it's own pocket to fit in my pack easily.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks all accross the shoulders

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Its constructed well, and I wish it was waterproof. But it leaks like crazy all along the shoulders. I just don't understand how a new coat can leak like this. I want to say it has to do with it not being gore-tex. This is the first and last time I buy anything that is not gore-tex.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
18of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Jacket for Rain

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is a great way to stay dry from the rain without the buildup of heat underneath. I use it for hiking, biking, running, jumping, or even around the house. The lightweight design makes it compact and easily packed into a backpack, or handy to handle by hand. The zipper design is also waterproof, yet maintains optimal gliding and can be zipped single-handed. For the price, pound for pound, this jacket is the best around.
I would recommend this product.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stains easily + waterproof fail

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cheney, Wa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the way this jacket looks and feels but it gained some mysterious stain on the front almost immediately. It says that it is machine washable so I tried to wash the stain off with a little soap by hand. The result: the part I attempted to wash did not remove the stain but I did manage to deactivate the waterproof part of that area somehow so when it rains, that part gets especially dark and wet. As far as a 100$ rain jacket is concerned with eVAPorwhatever technology, I am disappointed it is this susceptible to the elements.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
18of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Zipper Mystery

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Why can a customer not find a good rain jacket under $100 that has a 2-way front zipper any more? Be aware before you buy that this jacket does not appear to have a 2-way zipper (if that is important to you). Many manufacturers are going the way of one-way zippers unless you want to spend $150 or more.
I do not recommend this product.
-33points
10of 53voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got this jacket in the Green. I've really enjoyed it so far, and even took on a trip to climb Mt. St. Helens. I stayed very dry - and being able to pack up the jacket into it's pocket was a great feature to have when I didn't need to wear a shell. The hood was easy to adjust when it got windy - and I felt comfortable throughout the day, so I'm a believer in the EVAP. I really like the waterproof front zipper - and how it has a bit of a shine to it. Gives it a nice look rather than a storm flap. Bought the women's model for my fiance and she has really enjoyed it too!
I would recommend this product.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.