Customer reviews for Columbia Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket

Columbia Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket

Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 8(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Farns
Location: Tampa FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this on a few day hikes and a five day. It does what it's supposed to do. Water beads up nicely, and I stayed dry while getting rained on a few times. I've had no issue with leaking a small minority have said. Just want to remind everyone to take proper care while washing, and it should hold up fine.
The vents in the arms are nice for breathability in between showers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME RAIN JACKET

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
MMW35
Location: Dundee, Oregon; Afghnstn; Papa New Guinea, Peru
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I rate the jacket as tue to size because in all Columbia Sportswear I size an XXL. I read other reviews which criticized the jacket for single zipper and seams neither of which were the case with my jacket. I walk for my exercise and it kept me dry but breathable during the first Pacific NW major storm of winter 2014. I pair the jacket with the Men's PFG Hydro Tech Packable Rain Pant it looks great in orange jacket and black pants. This is another high quality Columbia Sportswear product. I really cannot find other products that compare to what Columbia offers.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
AppleJackson
Location: Schroon Lake, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a long spring and getting through the summer in the ADKS... I love the jacket. It's done a great job at keeping me dry as well as cool. The main reason I bought this jacket was because of the massive underarm vents for summer showers. It's also a nice plus that it packs fairly small into it's own pocket to fit in my pack easily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks all accross the shoulders

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Delshin
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Its constructed well, and I wish it was waterproof. But it leaks like crazy all along the shoulders. I just don't understand how a new coat can leak like this. I want to say it has to do with it not being gore-tex. This is the first and last time I buy anything that is not gore-tex.
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Jacket for Rain

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
JacketMan
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is a great way to stay dry from the rain without the buildup of heat underneath. I use it for hiking, biking, running, jumping, or even around the house. The lightweight design makes it compact and easily packed into a backpack, or handy to handle by hand. The zipper design is also waterproof, yet maintains optimal gliding and can be zipped single-handed. For the price, pound for pound, this jacket is the best around.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stains easily + waterproof fail

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Ray99004
Location: Cheney, Wa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the way this jacket looks and feels but it gained some mysterious stain on the front almost immediately. It says that it is machine washable so I tried to wash the stain off with a little soap by hand. The result: the part I attempted to wash did not remove the stain but I did manage to deactivate the waterproof part of that area somehow so when it rains, that part gets especially dark and wet. As far as a 100$ rain jacket is concerned with eVAPorwhatever technology, I am disappointed it is this susceptible to the elements.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Zipper Mystery

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Kane
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Why can a customer not find a good rain jacket under $100 that has a 2-way front zipper any more? Be aware before you buy that this jacket does not appear to have a 2-way zipper (if that is important to you). Many manufacturers are going the way of one-way zippers unless you want to spend $150 or more.
I do not recommend this product.
-23points
10of 43voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's EvaPOURation™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike727
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got this jacket in the Green. I've really enjoyed it so far, and even took on a trip to climb Mt. St. Helens. I stayed very dry - and being able to pack up the jacket into it's pocket was a great feature to have when I didn't need to wear a shell. The hood was easy to adjust when it got windy - and I felt comfortable throughout the day, so I'm a believer in the EVAP. I really like the waterproof front zipper - and how it has a bit of a shine to it. Gives it a nice look rather than a storm flap. Bought the women's model for my fiance and she has really enjoyed it too!
I would recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.