Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket

Columbia Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket

Never be afraid to enjoy life’s mud puddles: this sleek jacket features a slightly longer length, Omni-Tech waterproof-breathable technology and full seam-sealing so you’ll stay dry and protected during all your rainy-day adventures.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
41 out of 45(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Water resistant, not waterproof

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
AppalachianEcologist
Location: Athens, GA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There are many things I like about this rain jacket-- the long length is practical, it's lightweight and portable, and the bright color (hibiscus) is great for visibility. I got a size up (I usually wear a small, bought a medium)in order to fit a sweater or jacket beneath it. Works great as a windbreaker for cold/windy weather. I searched through many options from many brands before choosing this rain jacket for my work.
Unfortunately, I just got back from a camping trip in which I was able to "test" my intended use for the jacket-- mild rain, and walking through wet vegetation. I was wearing a light jacket and t-shirt beneath the raincoat, and both of them were wet after about an hour. The rain soaked through the raincoat, through the jacket beneath it, all the way to my tshirt. The raincoat failed to perform its intended function completely.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket fits like a dress shirt

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Marty055
Location: Johnson City, TN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket is a very lightweight rain jacket which would lead you to believe you can wear a sweater or sweatshirt underneath it on a rainy day. I read some reviews and sized up one size and the jacket still fit me more like a dress shirt. The only thing that would fit underneath it would be a bra. I had to send it back and they won't even pay the return shipping even though it is clearly their fault. I'm normally not a complainer but this is ridiculous. I am now totally unimpressed with Columbia. I used to think of quality when I thought of them but not anymore. Now it's just cheap garbage like everything else. They have lost a customer!
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing raincoat

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Redfamily6
Location: Alabama, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I appreciate those who share reviews, good and bad. Hope this one is beneficial. Previous reviews stated this raincoat ran small, so I ordered a sized up to a Medium. I wear a small. Nevertheless, the medium was too small; its sizing compared to XS (returned it). Needing a coat roomy for layering, I ordered the XL, which fit nicely, not too big-a neat look. Upset about ordering the larger size, I took exact measurements. This XL is actually Medium sizing…so beware; this coat really runs slim - due to style or incorrect sizing (?). The sleeves are slim for layering but okay; they’re long and adjustable-Velcro or turned up (2 inch hem gives a neat appearance). Hood has great coverage. Contrary to reviews, the two-way zipper works fine (give a quick glance to align the tracks). Guaranteed rainproof, I tested its limits for cold/wind on a southern 8-degree, 20 mph windy day. Layering with a long-sleeved shirt, silk sweater, and fleece jacket, the coat did fairly well (not toasty warm but didn’t freeze either). NOW the cons! The coat (black) seemed to be a magnet for all dust, lint, airborne particles, none of which just brushed off. This is unacceptable for me, my job, and required travels. Also, there was a hole in the left pocket seam due to faulty sewing. Coat has crinkling sound and it wrinkles. I didn’t mind the used packing box, but it was barely taped together and parts of the garment hung out. Folks, returns are so costly and having to return this second coat due to sizing, poor quality and workmanship is frustrating. My first purchases with Columbia were so very disappointing that they’ve lost a customer.
I do not recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice looking style

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
NancyJ
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This rain jacket fits well and looks good. It is just the right length to keep you dry. The zipper from the bottom helps you to sit in the car and then zip up for walking. I totally recommend this jacket. Love having a hood also. The weight is good for packing in a suitcase. It takes up hardly any space and is real handy. Add a sweater underneath for warmth if needed.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Suebee65
Location: Bothell, WA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I live in the rainy northwest and have several rain jackets for different purposes but I still needed a lightweight jacket that covers my rear end, has some feminine styling and is in-between casual and dressy. This fits the bill. I bought the red because I wanted something that would make me more visible while out walking on dark rainy nights. I almost always buy dark colors when it comes to jackets so I was a little uncertain about such a bright color but I've gotten compliments on it already. I have only two complaints: it has no zippers under the arms to allow for venting on warmer days and it could use an interior zipper pocket. Overall a nice jacket and I would recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed feelings - but overall good

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Daisymae
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love how this fits and looks. So far works ok in terms of shedding rain. Just two complaints:
1)
The double zipper is very hard to engage - you have to really yank down on it in order to zip.
2) the cinch cords on the hood do not stay in place and are difficult to secure - so on a rainy windy day the hood keeps flying off
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stayed dry

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Tasmania
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5' 5", a size 12, usually in between a M and a L, read the reviews and bought an XL. I wore it over a long-sleeved tee and light polar fleece jacket - wasn't much room to spare, especially in the arms and shoulders. The sleeves reach almost to the first knuckles on my fingers, so I can easily curl my fingers in out of the rain, or velcro the sleeves snugly about my wrist. I'd prefer a longer jacket, as it barely reaches mid-thigh, but I walked for two hours in light rain, and stayed reasonably dry. A little damp around the cuffs.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fitted, classic looking jacket perfect for women:Awesome

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Krissie
Location: Danville, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how this jacket is fitted to a woman's figure! This is why some reviews say it runs small. It fits perfectly yr size w 1 cotton layer under it. If u need warmth (have a fleece or sweater under it) or have a fuller figure, choose the next size larger. I'm 5'7",150lbs,sz M.
The zipper is fine, but U need to make sure the 2 zippers are completely lowered & held on the one side, while inserting the bottom part of the other side of the zipper. Pull this bottom part completely down to the end of the 2 zippers. Then try to zip the coat. If the 2 ends of the zipper are uneven, it won't zip. This is true of most zippers.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So happy with this purchase!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Beavergirl
Location: West Linn, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Oregon where it rains....I wanted a longer length rain jacket that was waterproof. I searched many stores in person and on-line and kept coming back to this jacket. I LOVE it! I bought the hibiscus color and have had many compliments. I am about 5 ft 3 in and weigh 150 lbs. I bought the XL so that I could wear a fleece vest under it when more warmth needed. This works great. The sleeves are long.....but I can either turn them up or tighten up velcro at the wrists! Walked in a rainstorm last week and stayed perfectly dry. I also like how the hood can adjust with velcro in the back.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NW RAIN GEAR

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Slinnp
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Oregon, so rain gear is very important if you want to be able to function outdoors. I just needed a shell so i could use it all year warm or cold. The reviews and sizing guide say it runs small. I am 5'7" 150 lbs, normally i order a Medium so i sized up to a large. When I received the coat and put it on it seemed way to big. I put it on with a cardigan on underneath and it still had a lot of room. It was pouring rain out so I decided just to stick with it and wear it out for a walk. The hood had amazing coverage and room. No water got through at all, and i ended up being very warm after 30 minutes of walking. I decided just to keep it and I am happy I did. I wore it again with my Suit underneath and it fit with a just enough room to spare. I am happy I sized up and cant wait for the weather to get colder to bundle underneath!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Rain Jacket for the Pacific NW!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
briolechic
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this rain jacket! I live in Portland and we get pleenty of rain, so a good rain jacket is a must! This one works great, it is long (I am 5'7" and it hits well below the hips) and it is also thin so you could wear it in rainy weather no matter the temperature. There is still plenty of room to wear a thicker sweater underneath it as well. Overall a great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
mpaci9
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I live in Chicago and after last years terrible fall/ winter experience I quickly realized it was about function and not style, also that i had no coats with hoods. I bought this as my new fall coat and could not be happier! unfortunately it has been cold and rainy enough for me to break this out already and Ive gotten tons of compliments! im 5'8 and normally wear a medium/ small (i like my stuff more fitted) but after reviews reluctantly ordered the large, which im so glad i did! It fits just perfect, plenty of room for a layer underneath when it gets cooler and it is fitted and not boxy at all. Sleeves are freakishly long but i just rolled them up once and it looks like theyre supposed to be that way. I stay dry and warm and really love this coat. I wear this downtown for work everyday and it looks great with jeans as well as dresses or dress pants!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket but...

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Stef29
Location: Detroit, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
95% of the reviews on this site and other sites stated that the jacket runs small and recommended ordering a size larger. I did order a larger size but it was too big so I returned it. I am disappointed that Columbia does not cover the cost of shipping for exchanging an item. The closest store is over 2 hours away so I cannot return it to a store.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Johummingbird

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Johummingbird
Location: Buxton NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice raincoat, just what i was looking for, reviews warned of coat size running small so i ordered large, slightly large but fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NR125

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
NR125
Location: Asheville, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's been a little cold to wear this much, but it seems perfect for spring mist or rain. I'm out walking or hiking every day, so look forward to getting a lot of wear out of this coat. It's fitted and more stylish than other raincoats I've had. I like the bright red-orange because it makes me feel visible when walking along the side of neighborhood roads. The zip pockets, plus inside pocket are well positioned and are just big enough for a few dog treats or phone. The zipper and snaps are well constructed and the hood adjustable. All in all, a really nice coat that looks like it will wear well.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Defective Zippers!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Cathy66
Location: Ashland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had an immensely disappointing experience with this jacket! Although I loved the jacket itself, it came with a defective zipper. I could barely get it zipped up at all; it took many tries & much struggling, The 3rd time I wore it, the zipper stuck at the bottom & I could not unzip it. I ordered a replacement jacket of the same style, size & color, & it had the exact same zipper defect! I have to wonder about quality control at this point. I'm now waiting for a "Dusk2Dawn" jacket, hoping that there are no zipper issues.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLeahE16
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about LeahE16 is loaded.
Additional information about LeahE16 could not be loaded.
Zippers...
onSeptember 12, 2014
My experience is that Columbia zippers ALWAYS suck, so I'm guessing it's not defective, just the usual hard-to-zip Columbia zipper. :-/
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality of garment

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Eman
Location: portland OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am absolutely in love with columbia cloths..Iam addicted..I wish I can get passes to their employee store often..
I would recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Susi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I went a size up, as people recommended. Like the tailored fit and the bigger hoodie that stays up when walking...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great basic rain jacket

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
kapoth45
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Oregon, so it's essential to have a reliable rain jacket. This is my second from Columbia, and I love it. It's tailored well, so it isn't boxy and has a feminine feel. The hood is generous. It's also a bit long in the back, which is really what I was looking for.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Splash A Little™ Rain Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit for a woman's body!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
ziggyfontz
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have not had a chance to wear this jacket to test the elements yet, however, once I received the jacket, I of course, tried it on, and the fit was small (I went up a size) but it was cut so nice for a woman's body! It wasn't just boxy as so many jackets like this tend to be. It was also light weight, and felt like it would still breathe while keeping you dry! The hood is very large - so I feel I will be very protected from the rain!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>