Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant

Columbia Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant

Because cold has a way of creeping into your clothes and distracting you from the hunt, we’ve upgraded these cozy microfleece pants with Omni-Heat® thermal reflectivity for even more lightweight warmth.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Review 1 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and toasty

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bostonfisherman
Location: boston, ma
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased two of these pants when it went on sale. I wear them under waders in the spring and fall, and under rain gear in the winter when I do off shore ground fishing. The pants are roomy and have enough room for you to wear a base layer if needed. When worn with breathable waders, I didn't get sweaty and the fleecing line helped with air circulation. When worn with rain gear for offshore, I wear a base layer and these pants. It really keeps you warm fishing in 30 degree temperature and wind. The one drawback I don't like about these pants is the draw string. It's knotted and cut short so there is no room to tighten it. I had to replace the draw string with something longer. Overall, these pants are a great under layer that keeps you warm and you wear it without looking like a dork. It's like a pair of sweat pants but with better function.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JSA870
Location: Western NC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Omni-Heat wader pant is warm as toast. They are comfortable wearing in and out of waders. They are just roomy enough to add another layer if you need to without the bulk. The small thing I found I did not like is how the foot straps are sown in. They are not sown completely through the ankle cuff. It tends to make the ankle cuff stick out which requires me to adjust it back down in my waders for better comfort before I start fishing. Beyond that great product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wader pant

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
curly58
Location: Bama
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great pants to wear under your waders and even just as good to wear around the club house. They are warm and soft with a generous fit. I'll buy another...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for anyone outdoors in the cold!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chefbowpro
Location: Haw River, NC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought these for a trip Elk hunting. They worked so well, someone stole them! Good old Kentucky hospitality I guess.
Anyway, I really thought the 20% heat reflection was just a marketing ploy but seriously, I think it is higher. I would hike in to my set up stand and then wait to cool down and put the tops and bottoms on, then sit back and warm up. Absolutely perfect!
Great product and a great price using my rewards program. These are my all time favorites and I just bought my second pair to replace the stolen set.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Under-Wader Pants

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Higuma
Location: California and Utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's hard to find a layer for under your waders that is comfortable, warm enough on cold days, but doesn't make you sweat profusely when it warms up in the afternoon.
This is it.
It's a fairly thin and soft fleece pant with the Omni-Heat lining to keep you warm without the bulk. The elastic stirrups help keep everything in place slogging through the mud or water in your waders. They even have pockets and a zippered fly, so they are workable as pants for your drive to the marsh or creek in the morning.
Just what your waders needed on a cold day fly fishing or waterfowl hunting. Even with temperatures in the 50s, these were comfortable sitting in a blind all day.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product for waders and around camp

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coastout
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We bought these to try out under our breathable waders as we are not big fans of the neoprene waders (Too constrictive). Most of the guides wear thermals or sweats, but they have the tendency to bunch up or not keep you as warm. These wader pants have a stirrup in the foot so you don't have to tuck your socks in your pants. The Omni-Heat liner works great and the loose fit allows for full movement. Back at the camp, these are great for lounging around the fire and relaxing. Great product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty decent for wader pants

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
PeterV
Location: Bellingham, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They do feel a bit like regular sweat pants with elastic stirrups... I know they use the new high tech Columbia insulation but overall they feel like sweatpants with stirrups.
Unsure if they'd shrink or not, I ordered a size up. Definitely big, so I'm gonna dry them hot a few times hopefully to shrink them up a bit.
2 concerns I have with them:
1. The waist tie-string isn't very well thought out. Its just like a cheap pair of sweats, with the opposing tie ends just knotted at the ends. We all know that doesn't keep anything from slipping back inside the waistband. I've double knotted it in the hopes that it'll help a bit, but with no reinforcement around the waistband holes, I'm sure it'll stretch out and I'll lose the ability to tighten the waist. For the price paid, I would have wanted a bit more than stirrup'd sweats.
2. The stirrups are just elastic with a nominal amount of stitching to hold them on. I have concerns about the longevity before they tear off.
Overall though, they're warm and comfy and don't ride up, so they accomplish all that a good pair of wader pants are created to accomplish. I'd still recommend them, just with those caveats. :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great layer

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
CoastalBendJD
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
  • Expert
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are fantastic for duck hunting. With the Omni-heat lining I dont have to layer up so much for the same amount of warmth which ultimately gives me more space and movement in my waders.
Activities: Hunting Waterfowl
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Bug Infested, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent midlayer

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Genthar
Location: Escondido, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit is just a little loose, but it's still comfortable. Thermal regulation is excellent, staying comfortable in a wide range of temperatures. The stirrups are nice for keeping the legs down when slipping into a shell layer or to just keep them from riding up. They are also suitable to use just as an external layer if a shell isn't needed, though the look is a little baggy.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s PHG™ Wader Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
CaptNick
Location: Washington State
These are great I wear them undre my rain gear and waders. The only thing is that they run very big. I'm 5'11" and 200 pounds and have to wear a size Small.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.