Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Upland Jean™ II

Columbia Men's Upland Jean™ II

These reinforced jeans offer heavy-duty protection against the toughest cover.
Overall rating:
4.129 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
24 out of 29(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Review 1 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great fit.. waist a lil small

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Customer avatar
fits great thru the butt and legs but the waist is really tight for the size i got (36W34L).
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, comfortable

PostedSeptember 16, 2009
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Compared to other similar products I tried on they were the lightest and most comfortable. I have hunted hard for birds in the toughest cover imaginable with no damage whatsoever to these pants or my skin. They breathe well. Need to try rain and cold
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waist Size

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
I ordered four pair of these for hunting friends, three size 36 waist and one 34 waist. All those with the 36 waist were two small and not a normal 36 waist. The person with the 34 waist actually wanted a 32, but that was not offered. So the 34 waist actually fit good. We returned the 36 waist and re-ordered 38's and they fit good. It appears that the waist sizes are one size smaller than what you would normally order. Other than waist size they are great for wet days in the woods and brush.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time for Upland Hunting

PostedAugust 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Phoenix
Just received the upland jean and after trying them on they are extremely lightweight and comfortable but yet feel very sturdy. One thing to note, I did have to exchange them for a shorter length. I usually wear a standard 32 length but these pants ran long. They sent me back a 30 length and they worked out great. Can't wait to go out and chase some birds!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upland Jean II

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Utah
These jeans were purchased as a gift. Although I have not worn these jeans, the fact that my son wanted pair number three for hunting says alot about the quality and performance of this product. What he likes about the jean is that they are lightweight, breathable, durable through brush and water. In his words, they are Awesome pants and will continue to purchase them as long as they are manufactured. *****
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Upland Pant

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Adirondacks Mts and Lake Champlain Valley of NY
As a Professional Upland Guide I just about live in the thick Grouse and Woodcock covers. Traipsing these covers takes a lot out of upland pants. These Upland Jeans II are very comfortable and they really take a beating. For the money, you can't beat them.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy.

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado Rockys
Might be burrs on fabrics with furs but there ain't no stickers on me. Most of my friends came back with stickers and hitch hikers on their pants but not me. The men's upland jeans worked well and not only kept me warm they also seemed quite water resistant. Look forward to bird hunting this fall. I bought them a size bigger and longer and glad I did. This gives me room to wear what ever I need under to adjust to the different condidtions. Wish the front pockets were a little deeper.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended, But Go 1 Size Bigger

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton, OR
I wear a 34W jean and 35W dress pant. Purchased these in 34x34 and while the length is great, they do fit very snug. Have many pair of Columbia pants of all styles and most 34's seem to cut it, but if you get these jump to the 36W for sure. Either that or skip these and wear your favorite pants with some brush chaps.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Edwards, MS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just underwent bypass surgury and need to update my clothes. I decided to purchase a large amount of Columbia clothing and am very content with the look, feel and fit of all items. Highly recommend!
Activities: Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Other
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pockets Need Work

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just bought a pair of these for upland hunting. Wanted them for briars, thickets and multiflora rose.
Spent the day in them today. They run a tiny bit long in the length and a little shy in the waist. Other than that, very light, comfortable and water repellent. Briar protection seemed adequate.
However, even though designed for hunting and outdoor wear, the pockets are of the jean style. The front pockets are wide and shallow (not as deep as those in regular denim jeans) and things kept falling out of them while I was climbing logs, rocks, etc. The back pockets are a little deeper, but open, lacking either a flap / button or zip closure. As a result, I ended carrying my wallet, keys and pocket knife in my fanny pack or button down shirt pockets.
Realize these are meant to be the jean style, however it is obvious most customers are getting them for rugged outdoor use. Think they would be a very nice product if the pockets were improved.
Activities: Hunting Upland
Conditions: Other
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Upland Jean II

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed with product quality, customer service and ease of ordering. This was my first purchase and it definitely will not be my last! Thank you Columbia!
Activities: Hunting Upland
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Bug Infested, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants.... needs a small change.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wyoming, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only thing I would change on these pants is they need more of the briar protection. Add 3" to the top of what you already have.
Activities: Hunting Big Game, Hunting Upland
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Centerville, MA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs a little long on the inseam so they fit over boots well. The protective layer is nice and tough, a couple runs through some heavy briars and thorns and they still look new. No irritating pokes through the thigh with thorns. They are heavy enough to be worn without a second layer for all of New England's upland season. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Upland Jeans II

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Butler, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Upland Jeans II have been working great for me. I've use them in all types of terrain in PA from brush to thickets. Pants are comfortable. For the price they are a great product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Broxton,ga
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I ordered the upland jeans for my family and they love them. They hold up to harsh conditions and are easily cared for.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality materials

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Scottsboro, AL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the hunting pants as a gift for my husband. He is very happy with them and is looking forward to wearing them hunting in a few weeks. One issue that he mentioned was to have the pockets deeper and also a longer zipper. Other than these issues, the pants are made of good quality materials and he looks forward to wearing them for many hunting trips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good hunting pant

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Eastern WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore these pants on every upland bird hunt this year (about 10). Pants held up great. When it gets below sub freezing temperatures throw on a base layer and you are good to go. Fabric feels like it will hold up for further years to come. Maybe buy a size a little bigger. I did after reading other reviews and am happy I did.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable!

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Wasilla, AK
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a pair of these for over a year. I own a wood and metal shop and have worn these durable pants even when I'm welding. They are very stain resistant and still look as good as the day I bought them!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Double Wall Rugged

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oxford, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If your rough on your pants out in the field, these ones are for you.
They are a bit stiff, so make sure you get the right size or they feel quite funky and stiff.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Upland Jean™ II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great quality, poor cut for hunting pant

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great heavy material that seems like it would hold up in the field. Fits true through the waist and thighs but tapers to small leg opening at the bottom that does not go over the boot of most hunting boots. I had to regrettably send mine back.
Really wish they had these in a boot cut!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>