Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket

Made for hunters on the move, the Monarch Pass offers superior warmth and wind protection in a wide range of conditions.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hunting Coat

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Billy2
Location: Oregon City, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A buddy of mine has this coat and told me how warm it was so I decided to purchase one as well. One of the best purchases ever in terms of a warm hunting coat. On cold windy days the coat is awesome. I recently purchased one for my daughter so that she can be as warm as I am on those cold hunting trips. Thanks Columbia for a great product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Monarch Pass Jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Mwade
Location: Twin Falls, ID
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket - I use it for layering. My only suggestion would be to build in a liner. It is typically my outer layer, and the cold wind can blow right through you heading back to camp on the four wheeler if you don't have a wind-resistant layer underneath.
The quality is excellent. Medium to heavy-weight wool, and has an excellent fit. No rips, tears, or missing buttons in 3 years of hunting.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Goat
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this jacket for many years. I honestly don't think you can hurt it. Tough as nails. One thing about it is that it is WARM to say the least. It has to be cold out. I use it for late season guideing, hunting, and running my trap line. They run a bit large in size. I am 5'9" tall and 140 lbs. Small fit me best. Awesome product for cold winter adventures.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Fisherman
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket. It fits well, and functions great. The thing I like most about the jacket is that it does not feel bulkey for a wool jacket. The hood fits well, and keeps you very warm. It covers your head well, while allowing you to see well with it up. I find myself always wearing this jacket when glassing ridges in Eastern Oregon. The camo pattern blends in well to the high desert.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coat for sneaking through thick timber

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
ScottyG
Location: Tigard, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is the mainstay of my hunting attire. It works very well in thick, wet, snowy timber. Very quiet and accomodates multiple layers which is a must because it does not keep out the wind, but is very warm even when wet.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wool jacket

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
moonwalker
Location: Iron Mountain Mi.
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am rather disappointed in my purchase of your monarch valley wool jacket. I bought this to replace my hunting jacket, that I have used for the last ten years. I spend many hours in my tree stand and was looking for a warm jacket to keep out the november cold here in the UP of michigan.I believe if the jacket had an inside liner to block the wind it would be much warmer.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wool Jacket

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
custerstrapdoor
Location: DFW
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very well made nice wool with good camo sceme....bought the shirt to match and plan to buy the pants as a set...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little big

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
mike277
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just a little big in size great jacket
Activities: Hunting Waterfowl, Hunting Big Game, Hunting Upland, Fishing - Freshwater
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monarch Pass

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
DR76
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, comfortable, roomy where it needs to be, reinforced areas of higher movement, just an all around great jacket. Love the added touch of the shell holders in the pockets.
I will say that I have found that Columbia products run big so whatever your regular size is, trust me, go the next size down on outerwear.
Activities: Hunting Big Game, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monarch Pass Jacket

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Dalilarson
Location: Kentucky
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely love this jacket and the companion pants. The range of weather conditions these garments excel in is far to great to list. I have never been stuck in conditions that had me wishing I had wore something else. I can say without a doubt this is my go to garment for almost all my hunting adventures. I purchased my first Monarch Pass wool jkt and Gallatin Range wool pants about ten years ago and have used them everywhere from the woods of Kentucky to the mountains of Colorado to the Badlands of North Dakota without a complaint. You simply cannot beat the versatility and function of the Columbia Sportswear wool hunting garments. Don't hesitate to pick this product up, you will not regret it!
Activities: Hunting Big Game
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Men’s Gallatin Range™ Wool Pant
4.6 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect but needs mittens to go with

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
jim327
These hunting clothes are amazing for hanging out in a deer stand all day with freezing temps. I like the two way zipper, drawstring to keep the wind out, and the elastic sewn into the front pocket to hold your rifle rounds. The only thing missing are the matching hunting mittens with the slit for the trigger finger.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Star
Location: Spanish Fork, Utah
My son had a jacket just like this and for 2 years I tried to find it in snow camo in a small. I finally found it recently and was very pleased with the jacket when it arrived. I like the fit and the look of the snow camo. Wool is an awsome fabric for the cold weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wool coat

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Forrest
Location: Wyoming
This is the best you can get for winter hunting/hiking etc. The elbows are double thick as well as the matching wool pants have double thick knees. If you've ever layed in snow for a period of time hunting you might realize that wearing 1 leopard print man thong, 1 pair of long johns, 2 pairs of pants, 1 "blizzard proof" coveralls your knees an elbows will still soak through an then youre wet and freezing. This is very warm, quiet gear. PS walk slow, you will work up a sweat in this gear in cold conditions. Hey columbia, could you make matching fingerless wool gloves (so you still have your trigger finger) with attatched mittens in the snow camo pattern? Just an idea, I'd buy'em
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super HOT Jacket

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
CycleT
Location: PDX
I bought this jacket both as a lifestyle piece and a hunting jacket. The fit is slightly roomy, especially considering that this jacket is HOT and you won;t need to layer too much to stay warm. Looking forward to the weather cooling off so I can use this more.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Monarch Pass™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Heinner
Location: New york
i like it
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.