Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II

Columbia Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II

Featuring our all-new, exclusive bottomland camo, this lightweight game-season staple uses Omni-Heat® thermal reflective technology to retain copious body heat without adding bulk.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Review 1 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hunting jacket

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Scott503
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket at the begining of this last duck hunting season (sept. 2013) and it has been great. Very warm, lots of pockets, and it has a high waist/bottom of the jacket, which is very nice when you are out in the ponds, setting/retrieving decoys. It also has room for sixteen 12 gauge or 20 gauge rounds, plus seven pockets. Lots of storage room. It is the exact same pattern as my chest waders, and blends nicely to the Pacific NW foliage. All around great jacket. Worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best shell on the market

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LowCountryCharters
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ordered this jacket looking for a lightweight, fully waterproof shell to layer. the omni heat allows me to wear less layers which is great. awesome jacket
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A few changes

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ducker
Location: N Alabama
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hand warmer pockets could be a quarter larger, Zipper pull could be larger for old and cold hands.
Overall pleased with jacket.. Really waterproof.
For the price it should have come with a liner..
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very lite but also very warm

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
wowser
Location: Albertville mn.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fisrst impresson was that i thought it was awful lite to be wearing in the duck bllind but after puting on the coat the warmth just fills your body,very impresive.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shawn13
Location: Detroit Lakes, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality jacket from Columbia. The size fits me perfectly. If I could change 2 things it would be to make the shell holder removable (since I really don't use it) and to make the hand warmer pockets larger to fit bigger hands.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ron001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new Wader Widgeon II, and used it for the first time last weekend to go Duck hunting. It was below freezing, and the Wader Widgeon kept me warm, even after sitting in the blind for many hours with very little movement. I have to admit that when it came in the mail, I was a little surprised as to how light it was, and was afraid that it would not keep me warm. However, I was very pleasantly surprised, and would highly recommend this jacket to anyone that needs a light weight jacket that can be tucked into their waders.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Design flaws

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joliver
Location: La Center, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket appears to be performing well but there are a few design flaws. First the hand warmer pocket entrances are very small. My hands have to enter the pocket with some force. The main zipper is very small in design. This is hard to thread and use in the dark, cold and with gloves on. The durability of the main zipper is suspect but so far so good. The interior head band application does not work well while wearing a baseball cap or stocking cap. I had to cut the band inside to make it work. Fits great when wearing no headwear but most hunters always wear caps of some kind?? The shiny reflective interior is a warm idea but when you get warm and open the jacket you are wearing a tin foil flag for ducks to see. Cool idea but poor application for a hunting jacket. Some sort of wrist-let that would keep water from entering the sleeve would be good. Most all jackets in this application have wristlets? Most all of the comparable brands and models come with the liner. Buying the liner separate puts this jacket in the sky high price range. So far the jacket is ok but several design flaws that would have been caught buy a actual duck hunter could have made the coat perform at its price point. Though I am a long time user and supporter of Columbia this jacket did not meet my expectations of Columbia's product design and application. I will still purchase Columbia products I just cant endorse this one.
Sad in SW Washington
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
WaHunter
Location: Eastern WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket. This shell alone is pretty warm, but excellent when paired with the zip in jacket. It's fit a little small, I almost returned it for a medium, but when wearing chest waiters the jacket is great. No regrets would buy again. Lowest temperature I have been in yet was 29 degrees, I have no concerns about lower temperatures. I'm about 5ft 8. 165lbs.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelieveable Jacket

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JGP1945
Location: Brainerd MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't get any better !!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
DrewParker91
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although on the pricey side, this jacket is well worth it considering that I'll never have to buy another waterfowling jacket again in my life. Super cool design throughout, and the elastic in the hood is the greatest thing in the world!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very functional jacket

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
garyacc
Location: portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The integrated shell holders are a great feature. The hood fits well and allows movement without obstructing vision. Just the jacket I was after.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Waterfowl Shell

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Higuma
Location: California and Utah
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very well-designed waterfowl shell. It's fairly warm by itself due to the Omni-Heat thermal reflective interior, but it also readily fits another layer under it (even zipped in interchange-style, if you prefer). The quick-load shell tubes come with 12 and 20 ga. adaptors, which is a nice feature. The shorter waist is well-suited to going over chest-waders, but isn't awkwardly short by itself over regular pants. There are lots and lots of pockets for calls, shells, extra layers, gloves, wallet and keys, etc. The hood design is great, with a tight-to-the-head fit, and various adjustments so you don't loose the peripheral vision that is so critical to seeing waterfowl approaching your blind. It's just a great outer layer for waterfowling in wet weather!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product. It preforms like it should.

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Professor129
Location: South Hill, VA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow. Its warm,fits great and is waterproof. I have long been a fan of Columbia all the way back the Quad Parka days. Keep up the good quality work. Thanks for keeping me warm and dry.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very nice jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ekim113
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
To be honest, I have little experience with hunting clothing. I am new to the sport and still trying to figure things out.
I chose this jacket because I wanted something versatile (big game, waterfowl, upland bird) and I wanted the camo print to not be too obnoxious. I appreciate the matching bibs, but have not had an opportunity to wear them yet.
The chest ammo tubes are great. My friend laughed when he saw them, but stopped when he saw how well they worked with gloves.
The elastic waist is tough - I would prefer the adjustability of draw cords - especially when pairing the Jacket with a pair of waders. The jacket can ride up and stay up.
There is a pattern area of abrasion resistant coating on the right shoulder - maybe it is a rough spot to help seat the gun stock? Either way, great idea, but wrong shoulder. Not everyone is right handed. (You can send me a left handed model and I will return the gently used right hand model ASAP!).
Two trips on the Columbia River, sub-freezing (but dry), and I stayed toasty warm. Even better, I took my first duck. I think this jacket will work out quite well.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
firedux
Location: Redding, CA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shell jacket is great. It retains an amazing amount of heat for being so light weight. Also this jacket moves with you, it doesn't fight you when shouldering a shotgun. So far I've been able to find uses for all the pockets the jacket has. I'm not a hood wearer, but this jacket has changed that, the hood wears amazingly close to a ball cap. The speed loader shell tubes on the jacket are very handy.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A guy who likes to hunt

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heath25
Location: Southwest Washington
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Bought this jacket because I needed a new shell for wet weather waterfowl hunting. The very first time I used it I knew it was the best jacket I have ever had. When the rain started to come down sideways I put the hood on and I instantly warmed up with the great wind and rain proof qualties of this jacket. It was so cold my hands were freezing and I started to use the hand pockets. At first I though they were small and hard to get my hands in. But then as the wind picked up even more my hands were out of the elements and easily slid out of the pockets. The only downside of this jacket is for the pricetag it should come with the zip in liners as the previous models have.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Warhorse
Location: Lake Placid, NY
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket, very waterproof and great when the weather is less than ideal. With the jacket on I went into the river up to my neck and thought my day of hunting was over, however barely any water got into my waders, which really impressed me. Functionally, it is really lightweight while still being warm and does not obstruct gun pull up. Great jacket I would highly recommend it.
I usually run between a M and L depending on fit and in this case the M fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps you warm and dry with lots of pocket space

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
DirtybirdDwood
Location: Hooper, UT
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this coat to match my Waders in the Mossy Oak Breakup. I am pleased with the design and function of the coat. The quick reloading tubes are very convient when reloading with gloves. The winter hunts can be cold here in Utah but the omni-heat keeps you warm with just a base layer and a t-shirt underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
CaptPatrick
Location: Maine
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bought 3 of these now. The best waterfowl jacket system there is.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sintia
San Francisco, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Sintia is loaded.
Additional information about Sintia could not be loaded.
Warm enough on it's own?
Posted October 10, 2012
I'm looking to buy my boyfriend a nice hunting jacket for his boyfriend and have looked at a few good ones, sitka and this one are my top two, but will it looks like this is just a shell, do I need to buy a fleece to go underneath as well, if so which do you recommend? I want it to be warm enough.
Thanks!
Sintia
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Men’s Wader Widgeon™ II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Jacket

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Troutman
Location: Memphis, TN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First wearing was in the rain and sleet. Jacket performed superbly. I stayed warm and dry. All the items in the jacket pockets remained dry. I loved the warmth without bulk. When, I pair this jacket with the half zip, I can forget about the weather and focus on the hunt.
Activities: Hunting Waterfowl
Conditions: Rainy, Freezing, Humid
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>