Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big

Columbia Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big

These lightweight cotton shorts love being on the water as much as you do. Quick-draining mesh bellows on the pockets to prevent soggy-gear syndrome, while built-in sun protection lets you stay out longer without getting burned.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Review 1 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Half-Moon Shorts

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mathteacher112
Location: Anoka, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wearing the Columbia Half-Moon Shorts for many years. They are the best shorts I have ever found. The partial elastic waistband improves the fit at the waist. You have the option of wearing them with or without a belt given the flexible waistband. The legs are not too baggy and work well for active movement. The inseam is a little shorter than the current fashion of baggy cargo shorts, but the length and fit work for me. I don't know what I'd do if Columbia ever stopped making the Half-Moon Shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing always an issue

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
ankeji90
Location: Redlands,Ca
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Not true to size . Bring back Cliff Lakes style, your best yet.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sizing

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
stonemanii
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has the look and feel of a great product. I ordered a 3X from the big and tall offering but the actual size is two sizes smaller than the 3X products I own from other manufacturers. Get the size right and I'd say I'm completely satisfied.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

half moon shorts run small

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
rz22
Location: metro detroit
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when u ord the 1/2 moon shorts ord one size bigger. these shorts run small
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs small

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roger155
Location: Naples, Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Great pair of shorts but fit runs small and rise is too short compared to my other shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great summer product

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Riolo
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a summer short that would be functional in all my activities. This one fits the bill. The product is multifunctional and is very well made. In trying this on I found this to be a little bigger than most other shorts I am wearing. The pockets are all well constructed and overall product is very light. I am now looking to purchase other colors to round out my wardrobe.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizes have become much smaller.

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
tlr94
Location: Georgia
I will be returning the three pairs ordered. My nephew is still wearing his first PFGs but when we ordered new ones in the same size, they were so tight he couldn't wear them. I don't understand why the fit has changed so extremely!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PFG

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
suesox
Location: Maryland
These are the only shorts my husband will wear. He loves them. It's hard to fine good shorts in large mens sizes and this fits the bill.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ok

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
upmike
Location: Michiga n
The shorts are too big in the leg opening
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dannyxxxx
Location: Houston texas
hard to get a proper fitting on the internet but my concerns for these shorts were meritless. All good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Design

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimo
Location: Park City UT Tucson AZ
  • Expert
Love the design, run small. Normally Columbia 2XL fits. Not this time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort Plus

PostedJune 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cliff1234
Location: Portland, Oregon
Style, fit, function is right on. Best shorts I ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s PFG Half Moon™ Short — Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedApril 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jon1234
Location: Texas
I initially purchased a 4X but had to return it for a 5X (which created no problem due to Columbia's excellent return policy). The fabric feels both soft and durable. The fit, once overall size was resolved, is very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.