Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Convertible™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Convertible™ Pant

Cold in the morning, sweltering at noon, chilly in the evening breeze. When fishing conditions are fickle, these convertible pants offer the perfect solution.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
22 out of 25(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Make them in cotton twill again!

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: California
I got some of these in a cotton twill a few years ago and they are far more rugged than the ones I got in rip stop nylon. Cotton also feels better (but it does take longer to dry). I wore my cotton PFGs to work. Best pants I ever had.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Convertable Pants=A

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: IDAHO rivers
Good looking, practical, well made.
A solid product at a good value.
I would prefer darker shades and colors to resist soiling.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fishing Pants

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Ocean Springs Ms
  • Expert
I have recently purchased a pair of these, Silver Ridge II and the Bllod and Guts pants for comparison. All are excellent pants for fishing but the Silver Ridge II seem a bit more comfortable than the these
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good all a round pant

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Washington
i like these pants for backpacking. They dry fast after fording a creek or rain. The zip off bottoms give you the ability to carry less by have shorts and pants in one. A long zip om the bottoms to help get over a boot or muddy shoes would be nice.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convertable Pant

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: The Great Northwest
Pants feel good when wearing, light weight, easy to pack
Drawbacks Cost, Don't come the right inseam.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best pants ever

PostedMay 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Anderson, SC
These are some of the best outdoor pants a guy could own.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pants

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
I first ordered the tall and they were way too long. I have a 32 inch inseam. The regular fit well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fishing Pants

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Kentucky
In order to get the waist size I need, I had to get a small. Unfortunately, because I'm 6' tall, the legs are too short. Can't get my waist size with the right length.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PFG Fishing Pants

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: MPLS, MN
After 9 years of canoeing, camping and fishing my old pair of PFG zip-offs are giving up. I expect years of service from my new pair. I really like the loose fit, pockets and quick dry features.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Field Pants for Rainforest

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Annapolis, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed some light-weight ripstop pants for working in a South American rainforest, and these pants worked great. The pants held together well, except the left cargo-pocket got caught 0n a branch and torn the pocket seam a little but nothing significant that a little sewing couldn't fix. I marched around the uplands and wetland streams of the rainforest and these pants kept me cool and they didn't get weighed down when wet. The pants say that they dry quickly, however they didn't dry while I wore them. I wear a Medium size and they fit well around the waist and have an elastic-waist to hug you (there is also belt loops). The length was a little too long. I'm 5'9" and if they were a little shorter they might have fit better in my rubber boots, as they often slid under my feet as I hiked. They were very breathable and I purchased a second pair for an upcoming trip.
I recommend these for hiking in hot/humid climates.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Boating, Other, Kayaking, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Rainy, Humid, Bug Infested, Hot
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using these pants for 4 years of sub-alpine bear hunting , hiking, climbing, fishing and September deer hunting. When they wore out after constant abuse I forgot what brand they were. This winter I searched all around for them and now I found them. These things rock. They kept the bugs off me and I could unzip them to let in a draft when it got really hot. If Columbia stops making them I will have a problem finding the replacement.
The only drawback is that there are not enough options on the inseam length.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Mountaineering, Camping, Boating, Hunting Big Game, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Bug Infested, Muddy, Rocky, Hot
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Titaniums

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bodega Bay, California
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No back pocket? Kind of light weight. like the old Titaniums better, but couldn't find them.
Activities: Fishing - Deep Sea
Conditions: Open Ocean
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the kayak angler

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Richmond, VA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I first purchased a pair back in 2011 and loved them so much that I asked for another pair this past Christmas. Well my wish was granted. To this date, I wear these pants every time I head out on the water. I especially love the quick drying feature of these pants. As a kayak angler, you will get wet, whether it is during the launch sequence of climbing into the kayak; out on the water as waves or fish splash water into the kayak foot well area; or on the recovery as you head in to call it a day. Even if the seat of your pants get wet, by the time I finish loading up all my gear after a day on the water, the pants are dry enough to sit in my car and not get the seat wet.
Now that the weather is warm enough, I use the pants for casual outings as well, and last weekend, I used the convertible feature and just wore the shorts portion for a fishing outing with the Central VA Heroes On the Water. Still comfortable and didn't bind or catch on anything as I was pedaling in my Hobie out on the water with my son.
I'll be buying another pair or two in the coming weeks for sure!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

look, feel, and fit great

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mi.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im a 32/ 30. I buy a 29 inseam when I can. The 30 lenth fits me well. They look and feel good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: WI and WY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants... they fit true to size in the waist. Normally I will wear a 36" inseam in dress pants. The 34" inseam is perfect. If they were longer they would be in the way.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too large

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the legs are VERY wide..bought these for my husband and it looks like a skirt on him and he has large thighs. The legs need to be more fitted..
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product wears well in high humidity areas

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In traveling to Guam and Okinawa,the humidity was extremely high. The pants really breathed and kept me much more cooler than khakis and jeans. The cargo pockets and zip off pants were a big plus. These are well made and very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs very very wide.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very baggy. If you are skinny, dont get them. If you are big-wide guy, than they might fit just fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is true to size. Bought the first pair in store and wanted more but not available. Found on line and also noted could order product in different inseam length which meant that I did not have to alter them. Love these pants, comfortable and easy care.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Convertible™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should be perfect

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Northridge, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have not worn them yet because my inseam is 29 so I have fix that portion. But since I liked the 'Blood & Guts' so much, these look and feel same as the 'B & G' and little wider at the bottom that is even better. Too bad that the size 30-30 no longer available in the line of 'B & G'. I am totally unexpected they come with a nice belt. This is wonderful. By the way, inseam measured 31" instead of 30".
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>