Customer reviews for Columbia Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant

Columbia Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant

Men's Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
12 out of 16(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Review 1 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Waiter49
Location: Gloucester Courthouse, VA 23061, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants! They are just what I need for working with the dogs at the local humane society. I exercise and socialize the larger pit bull/terrier dogs at the shelter and we are required to wear long pants in order to avoid being scratched on the legs when these big energetic dogs may happen to jump on you. In the southeastern Virginia summer weather it's just too hot and humid to wear jeans. The Aruba pants are light and comfortable and make it possible for me to spend more time with the dogs since I don't feel so encumbered and hot and sweaty as I would if I were wearing jeans. Also, the cargo pockets are perfect for carrying treats for the dogs. The Aruba pants are so comfortable I feel like I'm walking around in my pajamas.
I did make one small alteration: I cut out the mesh lining. No big deal just a personal preference. Thank you Columbia. I'm going to order another pair in the Fossil color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect fishing pants if....

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Gary2
Location: Perry, FL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I take fishing trips to remote places, and I like these pants because of their versatility. The zip-off legs, built-in briefs, and drawstring waist allow them to triple as pants, shorts, or swim trunks, and allow me not to have to pack separate briefs. The zippers work more freely and reliably than those of other brands, and the pants are light so they dry easily, yet they are tough and durable. The cargo pockets are handy and the belt loops are the right size to accommodate most belts, including the 1 1/2 in. web belts I prefer. These would be the perfect fishing pants if you would go back to the old sizing, and add a zippered fly.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Case were change was not necessary

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike3964
Location: Georiga/Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own and wear many Columbia products, mainly used for fishing. I have to agree with others the change to the new style was not necessary. The sizing is small, XL have little room in the seat, as compared to the previous ones. These are made for activities, room in the seat is needed. I have notice that sizing recently in both pants and the long sleeve performance tees are all over the place. Can't order online with any confidence the sizing will fit. So thanks I live near BassPro Shop so I can at least try on for fit. Sometimes, its a large sometimes its an Extra large... Not sure what has happen to the quality control, but with the new offering from Body Armor and Ex-Officio, could spell trouble...
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice looking/easy on!

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Gerd
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased these for a family member who has Parkinson's. It is impossible for him to wear a regular pair of pants any more...we need pull-ons. He is so happy to have these, because they look like 'real' pants. The waist band is a abit stiff, and it is a little hard for him to pull them up, but that wouldn't be a problem for most folks. Super easy to take care of. Got them in both colors. Would like the same pull-on style to have regular pant legs without the zip off shorts. We're happy!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants for stroke victims

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Suesue
Location: West Linnm, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is completely paralyzed on his left side. We have looked and looked for long pants with elastic waistbands and these are the only ones that fit him and look either casual or dressy. He recently wore them to the Thurston High Hall of Fame with a sports jacket and looked great. We will order more!!
Thank you.
Sue Shields
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Go back to the fit of the Aruba III

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
MHTS
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I think this is a case of fixing it when it's not broken. The Aruba IV is a softer fabric, but the fit has changed. I will not be buying more until that changes back. I work in them daily so the fit difference is noticable and annoying. This is a piece of gear that you should not ever notice until you realize you haven't noticed it. Please change it back.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

smaller than they used to be

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
b0ing
Location: pacifica, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i ordered a duplicate pair of the "Mens's Aruba" pant so i would have 2 on hand. per the labels on both pairs, the new pair is the same size as the original pair i had ("XXL") but the new pair fits smaller everywhere. i went back and forth between the old and new pairs and confirmed you're making the new version of this pant smaller. i'll not likely buy another pair because of this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great comfort and durability. This is second pair we have ordered.

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
mimi55
Location: Mulino OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product is great for the outdoorsman. Fishing and rafting etc.
Only issue we had was paying 12. for 2 day delivery from Portland OR to Mulino OR and it took 5 days. However, that is a USPS problem. Just a heads up to Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST PANTS !

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
filmax
Location: New York,Forest Hills
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great.Those who complain about the ''mesh brief","elastic waistband" and "no zipper" need to open their eyes,read the description of the product and chose another which has everything they need.COLUMBIA PLEASE DO NOT CHANGE THE KEY ELEMENTS OF THIS MODEL !!! Leave the mesh brief,elastic waistband with loops, and the absence of zipper intact,it's exactly why i got these pants.There is no other company who makes a similar pant.PLEASE IMPROVE THE SIDE POCKETS,MAKE THEM A BIT DEEPER AND SQUARE.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional pants

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Pepjam
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore these the first time when I hike Mount Defiance. They were very functional for my purpose. Plenty of room throughout the pants for proper leg movement and were very lightweight. When I reached the top, I removed the lower half of the pant legs and made a nice pair of shorts for my hike down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Ron823
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants!!!!! To be able to change from shorts to long pants on vacation is AWESOME!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded My Expectations

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer avatar
longatthelake
Location: Liberty Lake, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are going to Africa next month and I ordered these pants for the trip. They are perfect. The fabric is just the right weight and the fit could not be better. They exceeded my expectatons in every regard. The zip off shorts are an added bonus.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
nack
Location: michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit great pants
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect pants

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
mort66
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been wanting a pair of Aruba's for a few years, but hadn't gotten around to purchasing a pair. They are just what I wanted. They are light weight for summer wear. They dry quickly if they get wet. They are the perfect casual wear.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product OK - Website vague and obscure in product descriptions

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
DisssAppointed
Location: Sacramento, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These pants are ok but once again the Colombia website did not mention a key element of the product - its inside web 'bathing suit' inner pants. It also doesn't mention that these pants have no zipper fly. Virtually every time I order something from the Colombia website, I get an unwanted, un mentioned surprise that was not mentioned in the product description.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No real elastic in the waist band

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
PalTravel
Location: Mitchell, or
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
They changed the amount of elastic in the pants so they don't really expand. This limits the fit of these pants. Medium was too tight and uncomfortable while the large was fall-off, too big. All other pants that are similar don't have the mesh lining, so you have to wear underwear. Also all the other similar pants have zippers. These pants are worn for field/irrigation work and USED to be the perfect pant...NO LONGER.
Please bring back more elastic, the mesh liner, and no zippers!
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's PFG Aruba™ IV Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but some flaws for my purposes

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Stevefie
Location: California
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these because they are lightweight and have good sun protection. They fulfill these requirements but I don't like the liner and the fact that there is no fly. The elastic waist band and rope tie is not very good so I use a belt and the pants do have belt loops. Nice deep pockets for tennis balls. Water repellant when I go kayaking. I will be looking to buy a second pair but I will first look to see if there is something similar without the liner and that has a fly.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.