Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Permit™ Short

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Permit™ Short

Pocket connoisseurs will respect the incredible collection of (10!) storage options presented by this quick-drying and sun-repelling short.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Permit™ Short
Review 1 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love all the pockets!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Bertie
Location: Carmichael Ca
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts.. fit and feel great, and again love all the pockets!!!38
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great in desert heat!

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Orion
Location: The Milky Way
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These nylon shorts allow perspiration to evaporate very quickly, leaving me drier, cooler, and more comfortable than any shorts I've ever worn. I spend a lot of time in 100 degree + heat, and they are simply great. With sunblock, and the heat reflecting light color, I don't see how they could be improved.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mens Permit Shorts

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
HikerBiker
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first pair I ordered were too large at 36" waist. I sent them back and got the 34". They fit really well. I like all the pockets, especially the top one which holds my cell phone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fishing Gear

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Crawf
Location: Spring, TX 77373
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW! I wanted to ask Columbia if I could write a review, well I wear almost everything Columbia hats, shirts, pants, shorts, belts and even shoes. Recently as the weather has warmed some I purchased another pair of PFG shorts the 10" Permit short in carbon blue, I do a lot of fishing 12 to 14 times a month and recently got my bow in the mud and weeds and had to jump out to push my boat back a little but pushed to hard and boat and I both found deeper water, well I was fully dressed and hate to fish wet, well bucause I had on PFG gear I was dry in about 15 minutes, shoes shirts and shorts all dry, if you are active and sweat like I do no matter your sport you have to try this gear. It is truly worth every penny, light weight but tough and soaking wet to dry in minutes you will love it, I bought most of mine at gander mountain but recently starting shopping at columbia.com. In short I love columbia's active wear and I think anyone who is active and cares about staying cool and dry and their clothing lasting along time would feel the same. And let's face it that's just about everybody. Good Luck and Happy Fishing or whatever you do, gotta go catch some bass bye...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Returning them

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobby44
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The waist was fine. Need 12" inseam, too short, kind of like old man fishing shorts. Not as roomy as I would like. Material is great. Pockets are too shallow. These shorts would be good if there were more room in the front and rear with deeper pockets. I found 3 other brands of synthetic fiber shorts that are more current in regards to overall fit. If you like snug fitting shorts with shallow pockets, these are for you.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shorts are too long!

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
flyfysher
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They fit well and the material is light.
Overall, the functional aspect depends on YOUR NEEDS!
Columbia dropped the Super Bonehead Short from last year which was 'boneheaded.' Sometimes, when you are wet wading you want something a little shorter so the bottom does not get wet.
Columbia sacrificed function over fashion for freshwater fishing. They probably sell well for the boat fisherman crowd but for trout fishing and scrambling around, they definitely aren't as good as they used to be. Still, I understand the need for marketing. Gotta sell to the wanna be's!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Feel

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
3spots
Location: Savannah, GA/
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shorts are a must have! They have tons of storage for those outdoors items due to the many pockets. They are equally usefull in everday wearing. Soft and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Desertguy
Location: Surprise AZ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good light weight cargo/fishing shorts. A zip pocket someplace would be nice.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not bad

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Treman
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well built. Be careful on the size, though, the tag says 32", like I ordered, but it's at least 2" bigger.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the Cargo Shorts

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
jondadi
Location: Lonwood, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The lightweight material beats the heat compared to the cotton cargo shorts. Material also repels stains better too. I've worn the cargo chorts for years and one of the frustrations I've had is that the pocket pleat on the front of the shorts gets caught on cabinet door pulls. This has gotten very annoying. The Permit short does not have the same pocket design and is free from catching on cabinet door pulls or whatever else is in the way.
Great pair of shorts. I bought three pairs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Presnt To Myself

PostedJune 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Jbweld
Location: Oakland, Mississippi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these with a Birthday coupon as a present to myself specifically for kayaking. They are very comfortable, dry amazingly quickly, and are light as a feather. Love em! Will probably buy some more whenever they have a big sale or something!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shorts

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
CaptainBo
Location: Lower Keys and Key West
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed new shorts for fishing as I am a Backcountry Guide in the Lower Keys. They are almost too nice. My girlfriend suggested that I reserve them for night out on the town. Very comfortable and quick drying. Love them!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Permit™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Somewhat disappointed

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
MikeSFB
Location: Hollywood, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As someone who has bought Columbia product for many years I am disappointed in the QC of several of my recent purchases. I bought 5 pair of Permit shorts this past week and the quality is not consistent, seams not sown or zippers not right. I also bought a pair of Columbia sandals that have rough edges and are not that comfortable, they rub where they should not.
Activities: Boating
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.